970 Kent Avenue (The Kent)
970 Kent Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn
BBL 3019257501 · BIN 3388495
- Year built
- 1930
- Type
- Condominium
- Floors
- 9
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 90% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)
Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,064
- 3 sales
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded sales
- 171
- On record
- 2005–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Kent would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Compare this loft building with specific nearby alternatives. The Kent occupies roughly 108,700 square feet of residential area across nine stories on a 35,600-square-foot lot — about 1,055 square feet per apartment by simple division, not a measured interior area or proof of larger apartments than nearby alternatives. Verify apartment area, ceiling height and light, and establish any price difference from Williamsburg or DUMBO through matched, dated sales.
The building's history is more interesting than its reputation suggests, and it has been mis-told. Press coverage has for years described 970 Kent as the former "Kaiser Underwear Factory." The company was Julius Kayser & Co. — a silk-glove maker founded in 1879 that grew, on the strength of a patented reinforced fingertip, into one of the largest apparel and accessories firms in the country. Its Brooklyn flagship began on Taaffe Place, a block west, and expanded across the block to Kent Avenue as the business scaled; by 1913 it employed roughly 2,500 people in Brooklyn alone. The complex outlasted most of its neighbors and was still operating into the 1950s. Nearly all of it survives, and nearly all of it is now housing.
The conversion happened in 2004, early in the cycle that turned this industrial corridor residential and well before the corridor had a residential market to speak of. Two setback penthouse floors with slanted roofs were added above the original mass. What the conversion preserved is what buyers now buy: twelve-foot ceilings, wide multi-pane windows on a deep floor plate, and open plans that take custom configuration well.
The structural facts a buyer should hold onto are less romantic. First, the tax position: the assessment roll shows no 421-a and no J-51 here, so there is no phase-out ahead; bills still change with assessments, rates and any bill-level benefits, so model them rather than assume. Second, the leasing posture: owners may lease immediately, with no holding period — which also means a meaningful share of the building may be tenant-occupied at any given time. Third, nothing here is landmarked, and recorded floor area sits below a simple comparison with the R7A allowance, which does not establish legal zoning floor area or permitted future work.
Architecture and unit composition
The lot is irregular, 292 feet wide on Kent Avenue and roughly 111 feet deep, and the building fills it. Nine stories rise to 126 feet; the top two levels are the added penthouse duplexes, set back with pitched roofs that read as a distinct later intervention from the street.
The profile describes one- and two-bedroom configurations and penthouses, but the building-area average does not establish that most interiors measure 1,000–1,100 square feet; verify each apartment’s measured plan. The consistent features are the ones the factory gave the building: ceiling heights around twelve feet, large multi-pane windows, deep open floor plates and wide-plank flooring in the converted units. A number of apartments carry private outdoor space, and upper-floor units on the west and north elevations take open city and Manhattan views across the low-rise blocks toward the Navy Yard.
Because the plans are open and the building has been through two decades of individual renovations, condition and configuration vary widely from unit to unit. Exposure, floor level, and whether a given apartment has private outdoor space are the three variables that separate one home here from another; there is no reliable line-to-line equivalence.
Building operations
The Kent runs as a full-service condominium with a doorman, a live-in superintendent and professional management — a heavier service package than most buildings at this price point in Bedford-Stuyvesant, and one that shows up in the common charges. The amenity set is modest but genuinely used: fitness center, children's playroom, central laundry, storage available for rent, and a landscaped interior courtyard with a walking and running track, which is the building's one unusual feature.
At 103 units the building has enough of a denominator to spread capital work, but it is a 1930-vintage industrial structure carrying a 2004 conversion, which is now more than twenty years old. Conversion-era systems — elevators, roofing, the building's mechanical plant, and the facade under its Local Law 11 cycle — may be reaching replacement age; current condition needs recent engineering reports and board materials. Ask for the reserve balance, the last three years of financial statements, the current capital plan and any assessment history, and ask specifically what conversion-era systems have been replaced and which have not.
The building exceeds 25,000 square feet, which places it inside the city's energy benchmarking and building-emissions regimes. Ask the managing agent to state the building's Local Law 97 position in writing.
Policy framework
Management-sourced records current to August 2026 describe a permissive stack, which is the building's competitive edge:
Pets: Allowed.
In-unit washer/dryer: Allowed.
Financing: Up to 90 percent of purchase price.
Subletting: Permitted, with owners able to lease immediately after closing. There is no waiting period, which is rare and is the reason this building draws investor capital.
Guarantors, gifted funds, and parents purchasing for an employed or student child: All permitted.
Storage: Available for rent rather than deeded.
Flip tax: Not documented in the records available to us.
Fees: Management-sourced records list a buyer application processing fee of $750, a credit check fee of $150 per applicant, a move-in/move-out fee of $600, and a closing document preparation fee of $350. A landlord lease fee of $250 is recorded on a monthly basis — a per-month charge and a per-lease charge are very different numbers for an investor, and the basis should be confirmed with the managing agent before underwriting a rental.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In/Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Document Preparation FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Rental or lease
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 monthly | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In/Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease Renewal FeePaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Lease FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Landlord | When Upon approval | Amount 250 Billed Monthly | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 90% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $435 per room a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $1.73 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, garden, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $53,349/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $43
- Modeled exposure split equally across 103 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The Kent trades as a dollars-per-square-foot loft product and should be benchmarked against converted industrial buildings rather than against the new-construction condominium stock on the surrounding avenues. Compare actual apartment dimensions and condition with loft conversions in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Clinton Hill, Bushwick and Williamsburg; the building-area average does not establish a size ranking or a location premium.
Two things distort naive comparisons. The first is renovation condition: twenty-plus years of owner alterations mean two apartments of identical size can be genuinely different products, and unrenovated inventory here should be priced as a project. The second is the tax line — the reported absence of development benefits does not establish higher total carrying costs than an abated competitor; compare each apartment’s current taxes, charges, assessments and financing costs, and the comparison that matters is a full carrying-cost comparison rather than a price comparison. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 30, 2026 | 110 | 1 BR · 1,008 sf | $985,000 | $977/sf | — |
| Jun 24, 2026 | 109 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,000 sf | $1,180,000 | $1,180/sf | +2.6% |
| Apr 1, 2026 | 512 | 2 BA · 1,034 sf | $1,100,000 | $1,064/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 28, 2025 | 104 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,071 sf | $965,000 | $901/sf | -3.4% |
| Dec 16, 2024 | 208 | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,000 sf | $999,999 | $1,000/sf | +1.5% |
| Nov 12, 2024 | 705 | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,062 sf | $995,000 | $937/sf | -5.2% |
| Dec 8, 2023 | 313 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,000 sf | $1,125,000 | $1,125/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 29, 2022 | G06 | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,013 sf | $840,000 | $829/sf | -6.6% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,064/sf (recorded) across 3 sales. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01925-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Kent, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 2 bedroom | 4 | $5,000 |
4 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2025. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Kent and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $998K (6 sales in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $35,772 to close, or 3.6% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $14,401
- Title insurance: $4,489
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $16,882
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Kent and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Kent. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Get the offering plan and Schedule A, because we do not have them. The public record disagrees with itself on unit count — 103 in Finance records, 104 in Department of Buildings filings — and the current lawful dwelling schedule requires reconciliation of the offering plan and amendments, approved plans, certificate of occupancy and fiscal records. Ask for the plan and all amendments, the current house rules, the last three years of financial statements, the reserve balance and capital plan, and any transfer fee.
Underwrite the current tax bill. There is no benefit burning off here, but future bills still change with assessments and rates. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost on this apartment and on any abated alternative.
Ask what has been replaced since 2004. Age alone does not establish condition; ask for recent engineering reports and board materials on the elevators, roof, mechanicals and facade.
Walk the transit and the block. The G at Classon Avenue is close, but this is an industrial-edge corridor with active Navy Yard traffic, and the character of the street varies block to block.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 970 Kent Avenue, also evaluate:
- Austin Nichols House (184 Kent Avenue) — the 1915 Williamsburg warehouse converted to condominium in 2016; the format's benchmark, at a materially higher price
- Clinton Mews (372 DeKalb Avenue) — heavy-timber industrial building converted to cooperative ownership in 1987–88, four blocks south; the tenure-and-vintage contrast
- 689 Myrtle Avenue (the Chocolate Factory) — the other well-known Bed-Stuy loft conversion; the closest same-neighborhood comparison
- 318 Knickerbocker Avenue (The Knick) — the 49-unit Bushwick conversion of three 1890s buildings; the same logic at boutique scale, with a buyer-paid flip tax
- 315 Gates Avenue — the Karl Fischer–designed Bedford-Stuyvesant condominium with garage and roof terrace; the new-construction alternative at smaller unit sizes
- 227 Taaffe Place — the surviving Kayser mill building one block west, converted to rental apartments; the same complex, a different tenure
- 75 Greene Avenue — a 1930 institutional building adaptively reused as a 22-unit Fort Greene condominium; adaptive-reuse peer at boutique scale
- The Sanctuary (264 Cumberland Street) — a former chapel and clergy residence converted to 13 Fort Greene condominiums; the small-scale conversion alternative
- 195 Willoughby Avenue (Willoughby Walk) — the large postwar Clinton Hill cooperative opposite Pratt; the co-op alternative at similar price points
- 185 Clinton Avenue (Clinton Hill Co-ops) — the wartime Clinton Hill cooperative campus; larger apartments, cooperative approval, lower carrying cost
- 360 Clinton Avenue — 1928 elevator apartment house on the mansion row, converted to cooperative ownership in 1983–84
More Bedford-Stuyvesant buildings
- 829 Bedford Avenue — 2005 condominium
- 859 Myrtle Avenue — 2018 condominium
- 92 Stockton Street — 2021 condominium
- Bedford Place, 906–908 Bedford Avenue — 2005 condominium
- Bommer Building, 272 Willoughby Avenue — 1920 condominium
- Clinton Hill Village, 963–965 Kent Avenue — 2003 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Bedford-Stuyvesant.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Kent?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com