195 Willoughby Avenue (Willoughby Walk)
195 Willoughby Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Clinton Hill, Brooklyn
BBL 3019050080 · BIN 3054896
- Year built
- 1958
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 287
- Floors
- 16
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Flip tax
- Seller-paid waiver fee of $145 per share - the corporation's by-law right to purchase at market value, waived for a fee; subject to board change. Plus $800 stock transfer administrative fee and NYS stock transfer tax at closing
- Financing
- Lenders generally finance 80-90% per the purchaser package; board must approve the recognition/Aztech agreement. Board-set minimum incomes: studio $40,000, 1BR $50,000, 2BR $60,000, 3BR $70,000
- Subletting
- Hardship only; board approval; two-year maximum; subtenant screened as a purchaser; rent capped at shareholder's carrying charges; sublet fee $4.00 per share per month; unsold after two years, apartment subject to sale to the corporation at transfer value
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted - shareholders must reside in the apartment they purchase
- Washer / dryer
- Prohibited
- Pets
- Max two per apartment; annual registration and re-registration with photos, inoculation proof, license, emergency caretaker, $100 annual fee (2002 rules) and homeowner's insurance naming the corporation; 5-foot leash; curbed off co-op property; barred from playground and laundry
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2017-02 (purchaser package) / 2014-09 (rules and regulations)). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2002–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $555K
- 17 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $395K – $1.6M
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 244
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Willoughby Walk would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
195 Willoughby Avenue is the tower that faces Pratt. The building fronts Willoughby Avenue directly across from the Institute's campus, which gives it the most legible address on the Willoughby Walk superblock and the reason its lobby served as the sales office through the conversion. It is also the larger of the two towers by room count — 989 rooms against 987½ next door — with a reported eighteen-line floor layout. The universal eighteen-per-floor claim does not reconcile with the stated 287 apartments across sixteen stories; confirm the actual floor schedule and non-residential or staff allocations.
The building exists because of urban renewal and belongs to its residents because of a buyout. The site was cleared under one of two Pratt Institute–area renewal projects of the early and mid-1950s; construction of the two towers was completed in 1959 under FHA mortgage insurance. When that financing arrangement failed, the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development took title on October 20, 1972 and operated the property for five years. Residents then organized: Willoughby Walk Apartments Corp. was formed as sponsor, a Section 213 cooperative was chartered in April 1975, and the group negotiated a purchase from HUD for $6,109,000, financed by a $5,978,000 purchase-money mortgage from HUD itself against roughly $900,000 of tenant subscriptions at $10 a share. The offering was accepted for filing in July 1976, the tenant participation threshold was lowered from 75 percent to 65 percent to get it done, seed money came from Citicorp Community Development, and title closed at midnight on September 30, 1977. The prospectus, written from a sales office in this building, argued the case in plain terms: a successful conversion would be "another stabilizing factor in the Clinton Hill neighborhood."
Nearly fifty years of resident control produced a cooperative that behaves like one. Shareholders must live in their apartments. Sublets are hardship-only, capped at two years, capped in rent at the shareholder's carrying charges, and charged at four dollars per share per month. Prospective purchasers face a financial review, a credit and tenant-screening report including a home visit, an interview with a shareholder screening committee, and a full board vote. And when an apartment sells, the corporation waives its own by-law purchase right in exchange for a waiver fee of $145 per share, paid by the seller; confirm the current rate and include it in the seller's estimate.
What the building gives back is scarce in Clinton Hill: terraces on eight lines per floor, landscaped grounds, a gated resident playground, on-site parking, and a Pratt-facing frontage that no infill condominium on a 25-foot lot can reproduce.
Architecture and unit composition
Building II is sixteen stories of brick over a reinforced-concrete frame, with a reported eighteen-line layout and 989 rooms in the cooperative's count; reconcile the actual apartments on each floor with the reported 287-unit total. Windows are aluminum casements operated by rotary closers; the 1973 engineering survey flagged their tendency to stay partly open at the top because the sash lacks stiffness, and window replacement has been a recurring project category in buildings of this construction ever since. Terraces are concrete slabs projecting from lines 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15 and 16 above the first floor. The same survey documented cracking, corner spalling and drainage pitch across a majority of them and noted that this tower's two compactor bulkheads and chimneys — converted from the original incinerators — are brick and integral extensions of the bulkhead masonry, unlike Building I's. Terrace slabs, railings and the roof are the three items a buyer should ask about by name.
The apartment mix is published by line. Studios sit in lines 2, 9 and 17 at two rooms, with a walk-in kitchenette and a dining area. One-bedrooms come in two shapes — a three-room version with a walk-in kitchenette in lines 5, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 14, and a 3½-room version with a kitchen-dining area in lines 1, 3, 16 and 18. Two-bedrooms run 4½ rooms with a bath and a half in lines 4, 12 and 15, with the 12 line carrying two full baths, and five rooms with a full kitchen, breakfast nook and dining area in the 15 line. The 13 line is the three-bedroom, 5½ rooms with a bath and a half. Every apartment was wired with a 208-volt air-conditioning outlet in the living room and a 120-volt outlet in each bedroom, and cooling runs through wall sleeves rather than units projecting past the façade.
The 1973 engineering survey describes direct-current elevator motors fed by roof machine-room motor-generator sets, a master television antenna and a lobby-switchboard intercom. Confirm current equipment and subsequent upgrades; the historical survey does not establish present condition.
Building operations
Willoughby Walk is run by its shareholders through an on-campus management office at 185 Hall Street. Security officers staff the lobbies, and a superintendent and maintenance crew handle the plant. Moves and deliveries require a property pass and a $200 refundable deposit, run weekdays between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. with no start after 4:00, and use the basement entrance. The cooperative provides free Saturday pest-control service to apartments that sign up.
The repair split is defined and belongs in every underwriting conversation. The corporation maintains heating, plumbing, electrical, gas and intercom systems, window frames, elevators, public areas and grounds. Shareholders are responsible for stoves, refrigerators, floor tile, window glass, terrace doors, plumbing fixtures, cabinets, counters and entrance doors, and for all decoration — with board approval and a management inspection required for replacements. Since November 10, 2008, shareholders have been required to carry comprehensive liability and property damage insurance naming the corporation as an additional insured, with annual proof.
The house rules run a graduated violation-fee schedule of $100, $200 and $300 with an internal affairs committee of board members hearing disputes. Audited financial statements for the corporation covering recent fiscal years are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and support trend-level diligence on carrying-charge growth, reserves and capital practice; current debt, reserve position and any live assessment should be confirmed with management at contract.
One document deserves attention from lenders and attorneys. Because this is a Section 213 cooperative, shareholders hold an occupancy agreement rather than a proprietary lease. In January 2014 the board resolved to insert a uniform end date of January 1, 2063 into every existing and future occupancy agreement, renewable in successive three-year terms, expressly because lenders had been reluctant to finance against what appeared to be a three-year term. Confirm the version in the seller's file matches.
Policy framework
Purchaser review: Application through the management office with a $500 non-refundable fee ($85 more for a home visit outside New York City), full income and tax documentation, credit and tenant-screening reports, a home visit, a screening-committee and board-member interview, then a full board vote.
Income minimums: Board-set by apartment size — recorded as $40,000, $50,000, $60,000 and $70,000 for studios through three-bedrooms. Confirm the current schedule.
Owner occupancy: Required. Additions to a stock certificate are limited to immediate family members who will live in the apartment, and they go through the same application process.
Subletting: Hardship only, board-approved, two-year maximum, subtenant screened as a purchaser, rent capped at the shareholder's carrying charges, $4.00 per share per month sublet fee. An apartment unsold at the end of two years is subject to sale to the corporation at transfer value under the sublease rider.
Pets: Two per apartment, annual registration and re-registration with documentation, fee and insurance; five-foot leash; curbed off cooperative property; barred from the playground and laundry room.
Washer/dryer: Prohibited.
Terraces: No enclosures without board approval; no storage, grilling, clotheslines or attachments to railings or ceilings; brick, railings and terrace ceilings may not be painted.
Closing costs: Seller-paid waiver fee of $145 per share; $800 stock transfer administrative fee; New York State stock transfer tax; off-site closing fees; a $300 delay fee if a closing runs beyond four hours through one side's fault.
Application and transaction fees
- Terms
- Seller-paid waiver fee of $145 per share - the corporation's by-law right to purchase at market value, waived for a fee; subject to board change. Plus $800 stock transfer administrative fee and NYS stock transfer tax at closing
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsHardship only; board approval; two-year maximum; subtenant screened as a purchaser; rent capped at shareholder's carrying charges; sublet fee $4.00 per share per month; unsold after two years, apartment subject to sale to the corporation at transfer valueSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
- Wait before a sublet
- 2 yearsSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedMax two per apartment; annual registration and re-registration with photos, inoculation proof, license, emergency caretaker, $100 annual fee (2002 rules) and homeowner's insurance naming the corporation; 5-foot leash; curbed off co-op property; barred from playground and laundrySource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $312 per room a monthMedian of 19 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.29 per square foot a monthMedian of 12 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $163,321/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $47
- Modeled exposure split equally across 287 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 10, 2026 | 305 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 750 sf | $590,000 | $787/sf | -3.3% |
| Sep 3, 2026 | 205 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 650 sf | $580,000 | $892/sf | -3.2% |
| Sep 2, 2026 | 1517 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,217 sf | $1,025,000 | $842/sf | -8.9% |
| Aug 26, 2026 | 702 | 1 BA | $395,000 | -1.3% | |
| Jul 15, 2026 | 518 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 850 sf | $555,000 | $653/sf | -3.5% |
| Jun 29, 2026 | 112 | 2 BR · 2 BA | $950,000 | +8.0% | |
| Jun 24, 2026 | 602 | 1.5 BA · 400 sf | $410,000 | $1,025/sf | -4.7% |
| Jun 23, 2026 | 1206 | 2 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,105 sf | $970,000 | $878/sf | -2.5% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $860/sf (recorded) across 6 sales. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 7, 2017 | 602 | $300,000 |
| Feb 2, 2010 | 1014 | $250,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01905-0080). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Willoughby Walk and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $555K (21 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 4, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,631 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,631
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Willoughby Walk and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Willoughby Walk. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The board process is thorough. Financial documentation, credit and tenant-screening reports, a home visit, a screening-committee interview, then a board vote. Build the package once, properly.
This is an owner-occupant building. No pied-à-terre, no investor purchase, and sublets only on documented hardship for a maximum of two years at a capped rent.
Buy the terrace deliberately. Lines 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15 and 16 above the first floor carry terraces and trade differently. Match comparables on that variable first.
Ask about terraces, windows, roof and elevators. The historical survey describes concrete terrace slabs, rotary-closing aluminum casements, roof flashing and DC elevator machinery. Confirm which remain, what has been replaced and the current capital plan.
Have your lender read the occupancy agreement. A Section 213 occupancy agreement with a January 1, 2063 uniform end date and three-year renewals is not the proprietary lease your lender's checklist expects. Surface it early.
What to know if you’re selling
Put the waiver fee in the net sheet on day one. The purchaser package lists $145 per share; confirm the current rate and share count, then compare it with brokerage, transfer taxes and other seller costs.
Screen the buyer for the board. Review owner-occupancy requirements, income criteria and the home-visit process before application; incomplete or ineligible applications may delay review, with timing dependent on the board and transaction.
Sell the Pratt frontage and the grounds. Facing the campus, with landscaped grounds, a gated playground and on-site parking, is the case against smaller new-construction inventory nearby.
Photograph the terrace as a room. Eight of eighteen lines are reported to have terraces; show the specific outdoor space and compare matched sales without assuming it outweighs floor, condition or layout.
Bring the financial record. A long, documented run of audited statements is an asset with buyers, boards and lenders alike; put it to work in the deal room.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 195 Willoughby Avenue, also evaluate:
- 185 Hall Street (Willoughby Walk) — the complex's other tower, same corporation and rulebook, Hall Street frontage and the management office
- 185 Clinton Avenue (Clinton Hill Co-ops, North Campus) — the wartime cooperative campus north of Willoughby Avenue at far greater scale
- 345 Clinton Avenue (Clinton Hill Co-ops, South Campus) — the same complex inside the Clinton Hill Historic District
- 135 Eastern Parkway (Turner Towers) — prewar Prospect Heights cooperative peer priced per room
More Clinton Hill buildings
- 166 Washington Avenue — 1901 condominium
- 185 Clinton Avenue (Clinton Hill Co-ops, North Campus) — 1944 co-op
- 185 Hall Street (Willoughby Walk) — 1958 co-op
- 215 Lafayette Avenue — 1868 condominium
- 217 Lafayette Avenue — 1868 condominium
- 218 Classon Avenue — 2022 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Clinton Hill.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Willoughby Walk?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com