Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfChelsea $1,779/sf ▴4%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1958
Willoughby Walk
185 Hall Street, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Buildings·Cooperative

185 Hall Street (Willoughby Walk)

185 Hall Street, Brooklyn, NY 11205

Clinton Hill, Brooklyn

BBL 3019050001 · BIN 3054892

At a glance
Year built
1958
Type
Cooperative
Units
287
Floors
16
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Not permitted
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Willoughby Walk sales history: 245 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at Willoughby Walk?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Flip tax
Seller-paid waiver fee of $145 per share - the corporation's by-law right to purchase at market value, waived for a fee; subject to board change. Plus $800 stock transfer administrative fee and NYS stock transfer tax at closing
Financing
Lenders generally finance 80-90% per the purchaser package; board must approve the recognition/Aztech agreement. Board-set minimum incomes: studio $40,000, 1BR $50,000, 2BR $60,000, 3BR $70,000
Subletting
Hardship only (job relocation, education, illness, or listed for sale six months at market price without a buyer); board approval; two-year maximum; subtenant screened as a purchaser; rent capped at shareholder's carrying charges; sublet fee $4.00 per share per month; HUD Section 213 sublease form
Pied-à-terre
Not permitted - shareholders must reside in the apartment they purchase
Washer / dryer
Prohibited - plumbing not designed for in-apartment machines
Pets
Max two per apartment; annual registration and re-registration with photos, inoculation proof, license, emergency caretaker, $100 annual fee (2002 rules) and homeowner's insurance naming the corporation; 5-foot leash; curbed off co-op property; barred from playground and laundry

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2017-02 (purchaser package) / 2014-09 (rules and regulations)). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

1BR median, 2023–2026
$568K
22 qualifying sales
Recent range
$360K – $1.5M
Listing discount
0.7%
Recorded transfers
245
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Willoughby Walk would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Willoughby Walk is a piece of 1950s urban renewal that its own residents bought out of federal ownership. The site was cleared under one of two Pratt Institute–area renewal projects of the early and mid-1950s; the two 16-story towers went up on the resulting superblock, with construction completed in 1959 according to the offering plan. The project carried an FHA-insured mortgage, and when that arrangement failed, the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development took title on October 20, 1972 and ran the property directly for the next five years.

What followed is the part of the story that shapes the building today. A group of residents incorporated Willoughby Walk Apartments Corp., organized a Section 213 cooperative in April 1975, and negotiated the purchase of the project from HUD — $6,109,000, against a $5,978,000 purchase-money mortgage held by HUD itself and roughly $900,000 raised from tenant subscriptions at $10 a share. The plan's own prospectus described Clinton Hill as a neighborhood "undergoing a renaissance" and cast the conversion as a stabilizing act. It very nearly did not happen: the required tenant participation was reduced from 75 percent to 65 percent along the way, the corporation borrowed seed money from Citicorp Community Development to keep the process alive, and the closing did not occur until midnight on September 30, 1977. The first shareholder-elected board met that November.

That origin explains almost everything distinctive about the rulebook. Willoughby Walk is a resident-controlled cooperative that has never been an investment vehicle. Shareholders must live in their apartments. Sublets are granted only on hardship, capped at two years, capped at the shareholder's own carrying charges, and taxed at four dollars per share per month. When an apartment sells, the corporation exercises or waives a purchase right of its own, and the waiver fee — $145 per share in the co-op's purchaser package — should be included in the seller's estimate after confirming the current rate. In 2014 the board even amended every occupancy agreement to carry a uniform January 1, 2063 end date, renewable in three-year terms, because lenders had balked at what looked on paper like a three-year tenancy.

The physical building rewards the discipline. Willoughby Walk's towers are brick slabs with balconies on eight of the eighteen lines per floor, laid out on landscaped grounds with a gated resident playground and surface parking — features to compare with the specific Clinton Hill alternatives under consideration, on a block near Pratt Institute and Myrtle Avenue.

Architecture and unit composition

185 Hall Street is Building I: sixteen stories, 287 apartments, 18 to a floor except the first, and 987½ rooms in the cooperative's own count. Construction is brick over a reinforced-concrete frame. Windows are aluminum casements closed by rotary mechanisms — a detail the 1973 engineering survey singled out because the sash lacked stiffness at the top, and a category of work that any current owner should ask about, since replacement windows in a building of this vintage are usually a shareholder or corporation project rather than an original condition. Terraces are concrete slabs projecting from lines 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15 and 16 above the first floor; the same survey documented cracking, corner spalling and drainage pitch across a majority of them in 1973, and terrace-slab and railing maintenance has been a recurring capital theme for buildings of this construction ever since.

The apartment mix is unusually legible for a postwar building because the cooperative publishes it by line. Studios run two rooms with a walk-in kitchenette and dining area. One-bedrooms come in two shapes: a three-room version with a walk-in kitchenette, and a 3½-room version with a proper kitchen-dining area. Two-bedrooms run 4½ rooms with a bath and a half, with the 12 line carrying two full baths, and a five-room version with a full kitchen, breakfast nook and dining area. Three-bedrooms are 5½ rooms with a bath and a half. Every apartment was wired with a 208-volt air-conditioning outlet in the living room and a 120-volt outlet in each bedroom — a genuine convenience in a building where through-wall sleeves, not window units projecting past the façade, are the rule.

Building records describe a compactor room on each floor, converted from the original incinerator system, and elevators running on direct-current motors fed by motor-generator sets in the roof machine room; they also list a master television antenna and a lobby-switchboard intercom. Whether this equipment remains in service, and its condition, needs confirming.

Building operations

Willoughby Walk runs as a hands-on, resident-governed operation with the management office on site at 185 Hall Street, Suite 101. Security officers staff the lobbies, a superintendent and maintenance staff handle the physical plant, and the cooperative provides free Saturday pest-control service to apartments that sign up. Moves and deliveries require a property pass and a $200 refundable deposit, run only on weekdays between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., and use the basement entrance.

The division of repair responsibility is spelled out and matters at underwriting. The corporation maintains the heating, plumbing, electrical, gas and intercom systems, window frames, elevators, public areas and grounds. The shareholder is responsible for stoves, refrigerators, floor tile, window glass, terrace doors, sinks, tubs, toilets, cabinets and counters, apartment entrance doors and all decoration — with board approval and a management inspection required for replacements. Small hardware items are repaired by staff on a charge-back for materials.

Shareholders have been required since November 10, 2008 to carry comprehensive liability and property damage insurance naming the corporation as an additional insured, with annual proof. The house rules also carry a graduated violation fee schedule — $100, $200, $300 and up — administered through an internal affairs committee of board members. Financial statements for the corporation are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and support trend-level diligence on carrying-charge growth and capital practice; the current mortgage position, reserve level and any live assessment should be confirmed with management.

Policy framework

Purchaser review: Application through the on-site management office with a $500 non-refundable fee (plus $85 for a home visit if the applicant lives outside New York City), full financial documentation, a credit and tenant-screening report including a home visit, an interview before board members and a shareholder screening committee, and then a full board vote.

Income minimums: Set by the board by apartment size, recorded in the purchaser package as $40,000 for a studio, $50,000 for a one-bedroom, $60,000 for a two-bedroom and $70,000 for a three-bedroom. Confirm the current schedule.

Owner occupancy: Required. Additions to an existing stock certificate are limited to immediate family who will live in the apartment.

Subletting: Hardship only, board-approved, two-year maximum, subtenant screened as a purchaser, rent capped at the shareholder's carrying charges, sublet fee of $4.00 per share per month. An apartment not sold by the end of the two-year period is subject to sale to the corporation at transfer value under the sublease rider.

Pets: Two per apartment, registered and re-registered annually with documentation, fee and insurance; five-foot leash; curbed off cooperative property; barred from the playground and laundry rooms.

Washer/dryer: Prohibited.

Parking: Surface spaces licensed to resident shareholders only, no commercial vehicles, no washing or repairs on site.

Closing costs: Waiver fee of $145 per share paid by the seller; $800 stock transfer administrative fee; New York State stock transfer tax; off-site closing fees; a $300 delay fee if a closing runs past four hours through one side's fault.

Application and transaction fees

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Seller-paid waiver fee of $145 per share - the corporation's by-law right to purchase at market value, waived for a fee; subject to board change. Plus $800 stock transfer administrative fee and NYS stock transfer tax at closing
Paid by
Seller

Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsHardship only (job relocation, education, illness, or listed for sale six months at market price without a buyer); board approval; two-year maximum; subtenant screened as a purchaser; rent capped at shareholder's carrying charges; sublet fee $4.00 per share per month; HUD Section 213 sublease formSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not permittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedMax two per apartment; annual registration and re-registration with photos, inoculation proof, license, emergency caretaker, $100 annual fee (2002 rules) and homeowner's insurance naming the corporation; 5-foot leash; curbed off co-op property; barred from playground and laundrySource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2017

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$316 per room a monthMedian of 26 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$1.34 per square foot a monthMedian of 12 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$94,421/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $27
Modeled exposure split equally across 287 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$10,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricevs. Ask
Sep 17, 20261501
1 BR · 1 BA
$625,000+1.0%
Sep 1, 20261009
1 BA
$360,000-1.4%
Aug 4, 2026414
1 BR · 1 BA
$650,000-1.4%
Jul 16, 2026602
1 BA
$385,000+0.0%
Jun 30, 2026911
1 BR · 1 BA
$500,000+0.0%
Apr 30, 20261607
1 BR · 1 BA
$555,000-2.6%
Apr 7, 20261710
1 BR · 1 BA
$575,000+0.0%
Mar 3, 20261401
1 BR · 1 BA
$560,000-2.6%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $789/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

716+221%
$190,000 2007 → $610,000 2023
602+196%
$130,000 2005 → $385,000 2026
1008+185%
$255,000 2013 → $650,000 2020 → $728,000 2022
410 · 650 sf+162%
$250,000 2005 → $456,000 ($684/sf) 2021 → $655,000 ($1,008/sf) 2025
1014 · 650 sf+137%
$230,000 2011 → $545,000 ($838/sf) 2022
View all 245 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01905-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Willoughby Walk and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $560K (19 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,650 to close, or 1.9% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,650

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Willoughby Walk and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Willoughby Walk. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Plan for a full board process. Application fee, financial documentation, credit and tenant-screening reports, a home visit, a screening-committee interview and a board vote. Assemble the package properly the first time.

You must live here. No pied-à-terre, no investor purchase, and sublets only on documented hardship for a maximum of two years.

Price the terrace. Lines 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15 and 16 carry terraces above the first floor and trade differently from the rest of the building. Match your comparables on that one variable before anything else.

Ask about windows, terraces and elevators. Aluminum casements with rotary closers, projecting concrete terrace slabs and DC elevator machinery, per the original specifications, are the three systems that define the capital conversation in a building of this vintage. Ask what has been replaced, what is scheduled, and for the most recent engineering reports.

Read the occupancy agreement, not a proprietary lease. This is a Section 213 cooperative: shareholders hold an occupancy agreement, now carrying a uniform January 1, 2063 end date renewable in three-year terms. Your attorney and your lender should both see it early.

What to know if you’re selling

Model the waiver fee into net proceeds. The purchaser package lists $145 per share. Confirm the current rate and unit share count, then compare the amount with brokerage, transfer taxes and other transaction costs.

Qualify the buyer before the board does. Review owner-occupancy requirements, income criteria and the home-visit process at the offer stage. Missing documentation may delay review, but the duration depends on the application and board process.

Lead with the grounds and the terrace. Describe the landscaped superblock, gated playground and on-site parking, and show any private terrace belonging to the apartment; confirm access and compare specific alternatives.

Price per room against the complexes, not the brownstones. The correct set is the neighborhood's large cooperative complexes; converted row-house co-ops on Waverly and Cambridge Place are a different market.

Document the renovation. Provide permits, board approvals and completion records for any renovation so buyers can assess the scope and compliance alongside condition, layout and price.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 185 Hall Street, also evaluate:

More Clinton Hill buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Clinton Hill.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Willoughby Walk?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com