
1021 Park Avenue
1021 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10028
BBL 1015140001 · BIN 1047926
- Year built
- 1929
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Avenue Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Our building profile and the source for this line differ. Confirm with building management.
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 1021 Park Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
1021 Park Avenue is a Rosario Candela building — and on Park Avenue, that is the highest pedigree there is. Completed in 1929 at the northeast corner of East 85th Street, with Kenneth M. Murchison and built by the Campagna organization, it belongs to the small canon of Carnegie Hill cooperatives that define pre-war Park Avenue living. What sets it apart even among Candela's work is its face: a genuinely dramatic neo-Gothic façade, complete with gargoyles, heraldic shields, and a crenellated parapet crowning the penthouse — a flourish rare on an avenue better known for restraint.
The building's appeal is the rare combination of architecture and intimacy. At just 27 apartments across 15 stories, 1021 Park is small even by Carnegie Hill standards, which means privacy, low density, and a board and staff that know every household. The layouts are Candela layouts — gracious, intelligently planned, with the proportions that make pre-war Park Avenue the benchmark against which the rest of Manhattan is measured.
Architecture and unit composition
The neo-Gothic detailing is the signature. Where most of Park Avenue's pre-war stock works in a quiet classical register, 1021 reaches for ornament — the gargoyles, shields, and battlemented crown give the building a silhouette that reads from blocks away. Behind that face, Candela's planning does the quieter work: well-scaled entrance galleries, formal rooms arranged for entertaining, and the room counts that pre-war Park Avenue buyers come for.
With 27 residences over 15 floors, the building runs low-density, and a recent program of capital work modernized the infrastructure — the basement was rebuilt to add a private storage room for every apartment, a renovated common laundry, a fitness center, and upgraded mechanicals with the capacity to convert from oil to gas. The building is in the Park Avenue Historic District, so exterior work is subject to LPC review and approval.
Building operations
1021 Park Avenue is run as a white-glove cooperative: a 24-hour doorman and a live-in resident manager, with a fitness center and per-apartment storage on premises. Financing is conservative by design — permitted up to 50% of the purchase price — and a 2.5% flip tax is paid by the purchaser at closing. The building is pet-friendly. Pieds-à-terre, co-purchasing, and parents purchasing for adult children are permitted, the latter typically considered case-by-case — a more flexible posture than many Park Avenue boards, though primary residence remains the building's center of gravity. Purchases clear through a full board application and interview.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Requires confirmationOur building profile and the source for this line differ. Confirm with building management.
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Managing Agent's Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $900 (Shareholder is an Individual) or $1000 (Shareholder is an Estate) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp Tax | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05/share | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/Occupants | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $550 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Bedbug Disclosure Form Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $25 | Refundable Not stated |
| Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/Occupants | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $35 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsWill be considered on a case-by-case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsWill be considered on a case-by-case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsSubletting discouraged. Requests will only be considered on a case-by-case basis. Approval in principle to sublet must be requested from Board explaining the reason for sublet before finding a Subtenant.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $38,942/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $116
- Modeled exposure split equally across 28 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Sublet policy
- Allowed but discouraged; case by case
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- Managing Agent's Fee $900 (individual) / $1000 (estate); Max financing 50%; no purchases into trusts
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 1, 2025 | 9A | 2 BR · 3 BA | $2,900,000 | -9.4% | |
| Jun 24, 2024 | 13D | 3 BR · 3 BA · 2,200 sf | $1,500,000 | $682/sf | — |
| Feb 23, 2023 | 105 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $500,000 | -16.0% | |
| Jan 26, 2023 | 4 | 3 BR · 4.5 BA | $4,975,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jul 6, 2022 | 6 | 3 BR · 5.5 BA | $4,700,000 | -5.6% | |
| Oct 21, 2021 | 5C | 5 BR · 4 BA | $5,405,000 | -9.2% | |
| Sep 13, 2021 | 6 | 5 BR · 6.5 BA | $8,350,000 | -12.1% | |
| Apr 2, 2019 | 3C | 4 BR · 5 BA | $6,050,000 | -5.5% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2024): a median $682/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2025. Median listing discount 5.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 4, 2004 | PHC | $3,850,000 |
| Jun 20, 2003 | 4 | $5,200,000 |
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01514-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 1021 Park Avenue and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 1021 Park Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 1021 Park Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Capital is the gate. Financing is capped at 50%, so plan for at least half the purchase price in cash plus the post-closing liquidity the board requires; confirm the current requirement from the application instructions. A 2.5% flip tax, paid by the buyer at closing, is part of your cost basis — confirm the current terms with management and budget it from the start. On use, the building is flexible: pieds-à-terre and co-purchasing are permitted, and parents buying for children are considered case-by-case, which widens the field of qualified buyers. The building is pet-friendly. Expect a board package and interview. The reward is a low-density, architecturally distinctive home in one of Carnegie Hill's most recognizable buildings.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the name and the face. "Rosario Candela" and the building's neo-Gothic crown are durable marketing assets that distinguish a sale here from the quieter pre-war stock around it. The use flexibility is a selling point — that pieds-à-terre and co-purchasing are permitted broadens your buyer pool relative to stricter Park Avenue boards. Price to the Carnegie Hill Candela tier, not the broader avenue — the relevant comparison set is the neighborhood's pedigreed pre-war cooperatives. Prepare buyers for a serious board. A fully documented, liquidity-strong package is essential; we help sellers vet buyers for board-readiness before accepting an offer so a transaction at this level doesn't stall.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 1021 Park Avenue, also evaluate nearby Carnegie Hill and Park Avenue cooperatives:
- 1020 Park Avenue — postwar (1962) cooperative directly across the avenue
- 1025 Park Avenue — Carnegie Hill co-op a block north
- 1036 Park Avenue — postwar Park Avenue cooperative (LPC dates it 1954–56) across the avenue
- 1000 Park Avenue — full-service pre-war co-op to the south
- 1100 Park Avenue — Carnegie Hill cooperative on the avenue
More Park Avenue buildings
- 1001 Park Avenue — 1928 co-op
- 1010 Park Avenue — 2018 condominium by Beyer Blinder Belle
- 1020 Park Avenue — 1962 co-op by Wechsler & Schimenti
- 1025 Park Avenue (The DeKoven House) — 1911 co-op
- 1035 Park Avenue — 1926 co-op
- 1036 Park Avenue — 1958 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 1021 Park Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com