124 East 84th Street
124 East 84th Street, New York, NY 10028
BBL 1015120059 · BIN 1047662
- Year built
- 1924
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 38
- Floors
- 10
- Amenities
- Central laundry room, bike room, private storage
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2025–2026
- $999K
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $850K – $1.3M
- Listing discount
- 2.9%
- Recorded transfers
- 31
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 124 East 84th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
124 East 84th Street is a study in the quiet end of the Upper East Side co-op market: a 1924 boutique pre-war of roughly four residences per floor, mid-block on a tree-lined street between Park and Lexington Avenues, two blocks from the 86th Street express station. It carries none of the avenue addresses' trophy pricing — and that is precisely its position. Buyers get the pre-war envelope, the boutique scale, and the block at a meaningful discount to the Park Avenue corridor one hundred feet west.
What distinguishes the building structurally is its policy framework. Listing records document 75 percent financing, permitted pieds-à-terre, permitted guarantors, gifting, and co-purchasing, and subletting after one year of residence. For purchases that rely on gifted funds, a guarantor, or a co-purchaser, confirm those terms against the current proprietary lease and application instructions before bidding.
The ownership paperwork has one wrinkle worth knowing: the conversion plan on file in The Roebling Research Library was first offered in January 1980 under Starlight Holding Corporation as sponsor-seller, while brokerage records date the completed conversion to 1984 — and the cooperative entity in city records ("124 E 84 St Tenants Corp") does not exactly match the corporation named in the 1980 plan. A refiled or restructured plan between 1980 and 1984 could explain it, but the records reviewed do not establish that. Treat it as a diligence item for your attorney to reconcile.
Architecture and unit composition
The building rises ten stories in red brick, its formality concentrated at the entrance — a canopy set into a broken-pediment limestone surround, two steps up from the sidewalk — with window reveals articulating the second and top floors. The original architect is not reliably documented in public records, and we decline to guess; the building reads as solid 1920s middle-Gold-Coast fabric, built in the same cycle that filled the Park-to-Lexington side streets with mid-rise apartment houses.
Inside, the roughly 37 apartments distribute at about four per floor — predominantly one- and two-bedrooms with pre-war proportions, plus larger three-bedroom combinations created over the decades (the unit count's drift from 38 in the offering plan to 36 in city records is the combination history made visible). Scale is the building's character: short hallways, few neighbors per landing, and a small number of residences to compare with the landing arrangements of larger avenue co-ops.
Building operations
The service model is boutique: a doorman attends the lobby from 8 a.m. to midnight rather than around the clock, with a live-in superintendent anchoring operations. Amenities are the useful pre-war basics — central laundry, bike room, private storage — with no gym, garage, or roof deck. Compare actual maintenance, assessments and included services with specific full-service alternatives; the shorter doorman schedule alone does not establish lower carrying costs. The cooperative's offering plan is on file in The Roebling Research Library; current financial statements should be requested through the managing agent during diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Selling price less brokers commission, attorneys fees (up to $1500) & transfer tax stamps multiplied by 3%
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Purchase
12 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $750 ($800 without broker) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for Estate | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $850 ($900 without broker) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer StampsPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount Equal to $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 10% of the annual rent paid in full at the onset of the sublease | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsSee policySource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 1 yearSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $703 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $14,442/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $33
- Modeled exposure split equally across 36 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 3% of net (selling price less broker commission, attorney fees up to $1,500, transfer tax stamps)
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; sublease fee 10% of annual rent (paid upfront); subtenant app $1,000; move-in/out $500 + $1,000 deposit
- Policies and fees
- Closing $750 ($800 w/o broker); estate $850 ($900 w/o broker); transfer stamps $0.05/share; buyer app $500 + $150 credit
- A per-share “stamp” charge is usually the New York stock transfer tax, which can be rebated in full on a claim filed with the New York State Tax Department (Tax Law §280-a). Ask the managing agent whether the line is the tax or an administrative charge, and how any rebate is handled.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 28, 2026 | 5D | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,250,000 | -5.7% | |
| Jan 28, 2026 | 1D | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $850,000 | -2.9% | |
| Jun 16, 2025 | 8D | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $999,000 | +0.0% | |
| Sep 16, 2022 | 5D | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,085,000 | +3.3% | |
| Jul 14, 2022 | 6D | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $985,000 | -1.4% | |
| May 11, 2021 | 9C | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,100,000 | -12.0% | |
| Jun 30, 2020 | 3 | 4 BR · 4.5 BA | $2,900,000 | -20.5% | |
| Dec 10, 2019 | 45C | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,000 sf | $1,995,000 | $998/sf | -5.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2019): a median $998/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 0.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01512-0059). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 124 East 84th Street and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $999K (3 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $12,296 to close, or 1.2% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,296
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 124 East 84th Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 124 East 84th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The policy stack is the headline. 75 percent financing, pieds-à-terre, guarantors, gifting, co-purchase, and one-year sublet seasoning make a flexible framework. If your purchase structure needs that latitude, this one deserves a look — but confirm every term with the managing agent, as policies evolve.
Calibrate the service model. The doorman covers 8 a.m. to midnight, not 24 hours. Assess how that schedule meets the household’s arrival and delivery needs, and compare actual carrying costs without assuming a savings from the coverage hours.
The location math is strong. The 4/5/6 express at 86th Street, Central Park and Museum Mile to the west, and the 86th Street retail spine to the north are nearby destinations. Walk the actual routes from the mid-block entrance.
Run the board numbers early. A 25-percent-minimum-down framework still comes with a board review; run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering, and have the conversion-history question (1980 plan versus 1984 conversion) on your attorney's checklist.
Verify the fee stack. The flip tax is not documented publicly, and sublet terms (one-year seasoning, three-year cap) come from listing records. Confirm both, plus any assessments, before contract.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the structure, not just the apartment. The building's financing and flexibility framework materially widens your buyer pool relative to stricter neighbors — co-purchases, guarantor-backed and gift-funded purchases, and pieds-à-terre. Marketing that names these policies outperforms generic pre-war copy.
Anchor to the side-street market, not the avenues. Your comparables are the boutique pre-wars between Park and Third in the low 80s, not 1000 Park or the avenue corners. Pricing against the right set shortens days on market.
Condition drives the spread. In a four-per-floor building, same-line comparables are scarce; renovated-versus-estate condition explains most of the price variance. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy if your unit is original.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 124 East 84th Street, also evaluate:
- 1000 Park Avenue — the Park Avenue corner anchor of the block; the prestige step-up
- 1045 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross pre-war co-op two blocks north; the avenue alternative
- 1100 Park Avenue — larger pre-war co-op at 89th; the full-service Carnegie Hill step-up
- 170 East 78th Street — boutique pre-war co-op on a comparable Park-Lexington side street
- 180 East 79th Street — Schwartz & Gross side-street pre-war with larger lines
- 130 East 75th Street — side-street pre-war co-op with a similar boutique proposition further south
- 12 East 87th Street — the Capitol; pre-war co-op off Fifth at a similar price band
- 19 East 88th Street — Carnegie Hill pre-war co-op; a comparison farther north
More Upper East Side buildings
- Trafalgar House (120 East 90th Street) — 1962 condominium
- 122 East 82nd Street — 1912 co-op
- 124 East 79th Street (The Belgravia) — 1985 condominium by Gruzen Samton Steinglass
- 125 East 63rd Street — 1922 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
- 125 East 74th Street — 1927 co-op by Lafayette A. Goldstone
- 125 East 93rd Street — 1924 co-op by George F. Pelham
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 124 East 84th Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com