Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1927
125 East 74th Street
125 East 74th Street, New York, NY 10021

125 East 74th Street

125 East 74th Street, New York, NY 10021

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1014090009 · BIN 1043076

At a glance
Year built
1927
Type
Cooperative
Units
28
Floors
9
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Flip tax
2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer

125 East 74th Street sales history: 51 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 125 East 74th Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

2BR median, 2023–2025
$1.4M
5 qualifying sales
Recent range
$375K – $1.7M
Listing discount
5.1%
Recorded transfers
51
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 125 East 74th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

This is a thirty-apartment building on a block that is otherwise churches, townhouses and one Park Avenue corner tower. Lot 9 sits between the Church of the Resurrection's parish buildings to the west and a run of 1870s row houses to the east, inside the original Upper East Side Historic District. The co-op's recorded floor area is more than seven times its lot area against a zoning maximum of four, a simple comparison that does not establish legal zoning floor area or what future work is permitted here or on the block.

Lafayette A. Goldstone designed it in the late 1920s for a single-purpose owner named for the address, and the offering plan on file describes a building conceived as a cooperative from the start: Indiana limestone at the base, rough red brick above, wood-burning fireplaces, soundproofing between apartments, high ceilings, individual storage rooms and a common laundry. Two elevators serve nine floors and a penthouse. The 1953 plan counted 30 apartments across 150 rooms plus eight servants' rooms — roughly five rooms to an apartment, which in 1920s planning means real foyers, staff wings and separate service entrances rather than open-plan square footage.

What the building is today is smaller than what it was offered as. The audited financial statements on file count 28 residential units, two doctors' offices and the superintendent's apartment. Combinations over seventy years — permitted expressly by the by-laws, which let the board re-group apartments and re-allocate shares on written request — appear to have taken the count down. Buyers pulling PLUTO will see 30 and 32; the cooperative's own accountants see 28 plus two professional units. Use the accountants' number.

The third thing that distinguishes this building is its balance sheet, and it cuts both ways. The reviewed statements describe an $815,000 mortgage refinanced in 2019 at 3.75 percent interest-only through August 2029, with an undrawn $250,000 line of credit. Confirm current balances, amendments and availability before assessing the debt burden. Against that, the audited statements are explicit that the governing documents do not require the corporation to accumulate funds for future major repairs, that no study of remaining useful lives has been done, and that no plan exists to fund future capital needs; major work is done as needed and paid for as it arises. The supplementary schedules on file show exactly what that means in practice — shareholder contributions for building improvements recorded in nearly every year from the late 1990s onward, including a chimney-liner contract of $435,000 and elevator door-lock monitor work in a single recent cycle. The reviewed statements describe assessment-funded capital work; that history does not establish current financial strength. Review present reserves, debt, maintenance and the capital plan together.

Architecture and unit composition

Goldstone gave the building a neo-Italian Renaissance elevation: a rusticated Indiana limestone base carrying English-bond rough-textured red brick above, with the ornament concentrated at the entrance and cornice rather than spread across the facade. LPC's record notes no significant alteration. The nine-story-plus-penthouse massing is typical of the mid-block Upper East Side apartment houses of the period, built to the street wall with a rear yard.

Apartment layouts follow the original room-count logic rather than square footage. The 1953 schedule of 30 apartments across 150 rooms, plus eight separate servants' rooms leased individually under their own proprietary leases, describes a building of five-room average apartments with staff space held apart. Where those servants' rooms and adjacent apartments have since been recombined, the resulting homes are larger and less regular than the original plan — the by-laws on file give the board discretion to permit combinations, conversions and share re-allocation, and the lower unit count in the audited statements suggests it has been exercised. Wood-burning fireplaces, inter-apartment soundproofing and generous ceiling heights were called out in the original marketing; confirm which survive in a given apartment. Two professional units at the base operate as doctors' offices and are carried on the corporation's books as such.

Building operations

A small full-service prewar house with a union staff, two elevators, a four-room superintendent's apartment, individual storage rooms and a common laundry. Fixed charges are dominated by real estate taxes rather than debt service, which is unusual and follows directly from the small underlying mortgage. Management is outside and professional. The most recent financial statements on file cover the corporation's operations in detail, including the union pension and health-fund exposure that comes with 32BJ staffing; those documents are available to clients' counsel during diligence.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Cooperative. You are buying shares in 123 East 74th Street Corporation together with a proprietary lease, not real property. Closings run on the board's calendar, not the contract's.

Transfer fee: 2 percent on the purchase of shares, payable to the corporation, per the notes to the audited financial statements on file. This is a documented figure, not a market estimate.

Assignment and subletting: Both require written board consent under the proprietary lease and by-laws on file. Current seasoning requirements, sublet term caps and fees were not established in the reviewed materials; request the current house rules from the managing agent before you write an offer.

Financing ceiling, post-closing liquidity and debt-to-income: Current terms were not located in the reviewed materials. Upper East Side prewar cooperatives of this scale commonly cap financing well below conventional levels and require substantial post-closing liquidity, but we will not put a number on this building that we cannot source. Ask the managing agent directly, and ask before you fall in love with an apartment.

Pied-à-terre, co-purchase, guarantors, gifts, trusts and LLC ownership: Not documented. Assume a board-discretion posture and confirm.

Pets: Current terms were not established in the reviewed materials. Confirm in the house rules.

Real estate taxes: No J-51, no 421-a, no exemption of any kind on the tax lot in the Department of Finance record, historically or currently. There is no exemption phase-out to model, but future bills still change with assessments, rates and any other benefits; check the current bill.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
2% of purchase price
Rate
2% of the purchase price
Paid by
Buyer

Source: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026

Purchase

9 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Non-refundable
Financing FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

8 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Sublease Fee to CorporationPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount 10% of the RentRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Corporate Sublet FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount 10% of the rent for the term of the leaseRefundable Not stated

Refinance

3 items

Management's “less refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Financing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Background Report FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $71 per Applicant; Self-employed applicants must pay $86 per applicant (check payable to Credit View Inc.)Refundable Not stated
Financing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Contact Transfer Agent for fee scheduleRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$922 per room a monthMedian of 10 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$3.85 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$15,470/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $43
Modeled exposure split equally across 30 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2025–30
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Safe
2030–35
Due
Next window (projected)
by Feb 2032
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The 28-apartment count and historic-district location do not establish turnover, ownership duration or competing supply. Review dated, classified sales and current listings, then assess whether the sample supports a building average and which line and condition adjustments are needed.

Per-room pricing can aid comparison where reliable, consistently defined room counts are available; cooperative tenure does not exclude price-per-square-foot analysis based on reliable interior measurements. Retain total price and adjust for exposure, ceiling height, fireplace, layout and any former servants’ space. Carrying costs should be read as maintenance plus a realistic assessment allowance, given the corporation's documented practice of funding capital work through shareholder assessments rather than reserves; a comparison against a building with a large reserve and a large underlying mortgage will look misleadingly favourable if you read the maintenance line alone. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jun 11, 20265B
1 BR · 1 BA · 950 sf
$1,215,000$1,279/sf-2.8%
Feb 20, 20262B
1 BR · 1 BA · 1,000 sf
$920,000$920/sf-2.6%
Jan 28, 20264B
1 BR · 1 BA
$1,540,000-17.9%
May 12, 20253C
2 BR · 1 BA
$1,400,000+0.4%
Feb 5, 20256A
2 BR · 1 BA · 1,080 sf
$1,695,000$1,569/sf+0.0%
Apr 29, 2024PH
4 BR · 3.5 BA
$5,500,000-1.8%
Mar 21, 20245B
1 BR · 1 BA
$1,125,000+0.0%
Jan 29, 20242C
2 BR · 1 BA
$1,025,000-14.6%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,186/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

4B+193%
$525,000 2021 → $1,540,000 2026
3C+88%
$745,000 ($828/sf) 2003 → $1,250,000 2021 → $1,400,000 2025
5B · 950 sf+52%
$800,000 2004 → $1,035,000 2014 → $1,125,000 2024 → $1,215,000 ($1,279/sf) 2026
2B · 1,000 sf+51%
$610,000 ($610/sf) 2004 → $977,500 ($978/sf) 2017 → $920,000 ($920/sf) 2026
7D+26%
$995,000 2006 → $1,150,000 2016 → $1,250,000 2022

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Oct 15, 20039C$1,235,000
View all 51 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01409-0009). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 125 East 74th Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.4M (5 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $55,800 to close, or 4.0% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $14,000
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Building transfer fee (flip tax), 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer per building management's published schedule, as of August 2026: $28,000
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $13,800

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest. Confirm the current transfer fee with building management; the linked calculator does not include it.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 125 East 74th Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 125 East 74th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Get the numeric policy stack in writing before you offer. The financing ceiling, post-closing liquidity requirement, sublet policy and pied-à-terre posture at this building were not established in the reviewed materials and cannot be inferred. In a 28-apartment cooperative, a single undisclosed threshold can end a deal after you have spent money on it. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against whatever the managing agent tells you.

Underwrite assessments, not just maintenance. The audited statements say plainly that no reserve funding is required, no reserve study exists, and capital work is done as needed. The shareholder-contribution schedule on file shows improvement assessments in most years going back to the 1990s. Budget for that pattern to continue.

The 2029 mortgage maturity is a date to put in your model. The underlying loan is small and interest-only at 3.75 percent through August 1, 2029. It will need to be refinanced or repaid then, at whatever rates prevail, and the corporation may choose to fund deferred work at the same time. Ask your attorney to read the current statements, not the 2019 ones.

Landmark status is real here. Windows, terrace work, through-wall units and anything visible from the street run through LPC in addition to the board, plus DOB where the scope of work requires a permit. Price renovation timelines accordingly, and run the Renovation Cost Calculator with a landmark contingency.

Confirm the corporate name at contract. The audited statements name 123 East 74th Street Corporation; the Department of Finance carries 125 E 74th Street Corp. Your attorney should reconcile the two on the stock certificate and in the lien search rather than discovering it at closing.

Do not confuse this building with its neighbours on East 74th Street. 175 East 74th Street sits on the same tax block at lot 33 but is a 1963 building of roughly 95 units and carries no landmark designation; 225 East 74th Street is on a different block entirely. Their economics, policies and pricing have nothing to do with this one.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the balance sheet. Present the reported $815,000 mortgage with its statement date, current lender balance and terms, assessment history, reserves and capital plan; that loan amount alone does not establish financial strength.

Correct the unit count before a buyer's analyst does it for you. Automated valuation tools will pull 30 residential units from PLUTO. The corporation's own accountants count 28 plus two professional units. The smaller number is the better story, and it is the one in the audited statements.

Document the combination. If the apartment incorporates former servants' rooms or an adjoining line, the share allocation and the board's re-grouping consent are part of the file. Having that ready shortens attorney diligence materially.

Price by room and by condition. Assess the dated comparable sample before determining whether a building average is useful; apartment count alone does not establish insufficient turnover. The comparable set is the surrounding Lenox Hill prewar cooperative stock, adjusted honestly for renovation state.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 125 East 74th Street, also evaluate:

  • 112 East 74th Street — prewar cooperative on the same street; a like-for-like comparison on address and scale
  • 120 East 75th Street — 1923 cooperative on the same tax block's north frontage, also in the Upper East Side Historic District
  • 103 East 75th Street — small prewar cooperative one block north; comparable share-ownership economics
  • 130 East 75th Street — mid-block prewar cooperative in the same corridor
  • 117 East 72nd Street — prewar Lenox Hill cooperative two blocks south, similar boutique scale
  • 114 East 72nd Street — prewar cooperative with comparable room-count layouts
  • 132 East 72nd Street — mid-block prewar cooperative; the same buyer pool
  • 109 East 79th Street — alternative farther north; confirm construction date and ownership structure before adjusting the comparison
  • 133 East 80th Street — small prewar cooperative in a historic district; comparable landmark constraints

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 125 East 74th Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com