The Theodore Roosevelt (125 Eastern Parkway)
125 Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn, NY 11238
Prospect Heights, Brooklyn
BBL 3011790061 · BIN 3029629
- Year built
- 1923
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 51
- Floors
- 6
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Subletting
- Proprietary lease as filed (1985) requires the Apartment Corporation's consent before a tenant-stockholder may sell or sublet; holders of Unsold Shares are exempt from that requirement. No term limits, fees or waiting periods documented in the plan reviewed. Current board policy unverified.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 1985 plan as filed). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2024
- $585K
- 2 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $505K – $2.3M
- Listing discount
- -2.3%
- Recorded transfers
- 65
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Theodore Roosevelt would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Theodore Roosevelt’s path to cooperative status included repeated ownership changes and foreclosures, and the deed record tells the story without embellishment. Between the referee's deed of January 1972 and the sponsor's purchase at a foreclosure sale in September 1983, 125 Eastern Parkway changed hands six times and went through foreclosure twice. Owners came and went at intervals of eighteen months. By the early 1980s the mortgage was held by Dime Savings Bank and the building was in the hands of a court-appointed receiver, whose report the sponsor bound into the offering plan.
That history explains the two most distinctive numbers in the file. The first is the price: the whole building was offered in January 1985 for $3,181,000 in cash against roughly $440,000 of assumed mortgage debt following the sponsor’s foreclosure-sale acquisition sixteen months earlier. A matched 1985 transaction comparison would be needed to characterize the offering price as low. The second is the discount. Tenants in occupancy could buy at approximately half the price paid by outside purchasers. The discount documents the original offering terms; it does not establish the sponsor’s motive, present shareholders’ purchase bases or how current sellers set asking prices. Evaluate current sales on their own terms.
The second thing to understand about the building is scale, and it cuts the opposite way from its taller neighbors. The six-story building has about 50,600 square feet of gross building area across 51 apartments, a ratio of roughly 990 square feet per apartment. That includes shared and service space and does not establish interior apartment sizes or their ranking against the twelve- and fifteen-story buildings nearby. The conversion plan described one full-time employee; compare current staffing, maintenance, reserves and capital costs with specific full-service alternatives before drawing a cost or buyer-preference conclusion.
The plan's unit count is a live paperwork problem and belongs in the diligence file rather than in a footnote. The cover allocates 15,905 shares to 51 apartments. The Introduction describes 52 residential apartments, of which 50 were to be sold, one held by the superintendent and one a cellar apartment occupiable only by an employee, and then gives a share total of 15,500. The Department of Finance records 51 residential units. The reconciliation exists in the share ledger and the amendments; an attorney should close it out early rather than at the closing table.
Finally, the location, which the plan itself names in the plainest possible terms: "the Brooklyn Museum area of Brooklyn." That is an accurate description of the building's market. It sits on the museum side of the parkway's Prospect Heights stretch, roughly midway between Grand Army Plaza and the Brooklyn Museum, and it draws buyers from both directions.
Architecture and unit composition
Six stories on a 12,900-square-foot lot, with about 101 feet of frontage on the parkway and roughly 107 feet of building depth. The Schedule A room counts in the 1985 plan were calculated by visual inspection, with the room identification for each apartment set out in a separate schedule — a detail worth remembering when comparing this building's room counts against a co-op that used the Real Estate Board of New York convention, which counts half-rooms.
The apartment plans are early-1920s middle-class Brooklyn: defined rooms, entry foyers where the plan allowed for them, and a mix that ran from small units through family layouts. The plan permitted the sponsor and any holder of unsold shares to change apartment size and layout by subdivision, combination or alteration of boundary walls, with share reallocation, which means the 1985 schedule is an imperfect map of the building in 2026. Confirm the actual configuration and share count of the specific apartment.
The superintendent's apartment is a live question rather than a settled fact. The plan says the corporation supplies apartment 2H to the superintendent rent-free and contemplates that he will eventually move to the cellar apartment, at which point the sponsor would sell 2H. Whether that happened, and whether 2H is now part of the sellable inventory, is a question for the managing agent.
Because the property is outside the Prospect Heights Historic District, interior and exterior alterations both proceed through board approval and Department of Buildings permits with no Landmarks review. On a six-story masonry building facing a scenic parkway, that is a meaningful simplification of a window or façade project. The financial effect of the permit framework depends on the specific work and documented costs; no price premium is established here.
Building operations
The plan's operating model was as lean as a 51-apartment elevator building gets: one full-time non-union superintendent housed on site, electricity to common areas, the elevator and the fuel-burner pilot, and a first-year maintenance budget of $157,955 against 15,905 shares. Apartments were separately metered, so each shareholder paid their own gas and electricity directly. Four decades on, the staffing, contracts and budget are all board-made; the cooperative's Department of Housing Preservation and Development registration names Narrows Management as managing agent for the current cycle.
The tax history is a period artifact. The sponsor did qualifying work, the City granted a Certificate of Reasonable Cost, and the plan projected 1985/86 real estate taxes of $9,765 for the entire property under J-51 benefits. Those benefits are finite by design and are long behind the building; the operative number is on the current bill, and the per-share tax allocation should be pulled rather than reasoned from the conversion documents.
Capital diligence for this 1923 masonry building includes the roof, parapet, façade, elevator, heating plant and risers. FISP applies to buildings higher than six stories; confirm DOB’s classification before assigning a mandatory cycle to the six-story building described here. In a corporation this size, each of them lands hard on a limited share base. Request three years of financial statements, the reserve balance, the assessment history, applicable façade-condition records and the underlying mortgage terms. Compare debt service with taxes, staffing, insurance, reserves and capital work before ranking maintenance drivers.
Policy framework
Purchaser review: Full cooperative board approval in the standard form. The proprietary lease as filed requires the corporation's consent before a shareholder may sell or sublet, with holders of unsold shares exempt from that requirement.
Alterations: The plan preserved the sponsor's and unsold-share holders' right to change apartment size and layout with share reallocation, subject to the apartment corporation's requirements. For an ordinary shareholder, alterations run through the board's alteration agreement and Department of Buildings permits.
Superintendent's apartment: Apartment 2H was supplied to the superintendent rent-free at conversion, with a contemplated move to a cellar apartment and a subsequent sale of 2H. Current status should be confirmed.
Flip tax or transfer fee: Not documented in the plan reviewed. Ask the board directly; a cooperative of this vintage may well have adopted one by amendment.
Pets, pied-à-terre, washer-dryer, sublet term limits, financing minimums: Not documented. Confirm against the current house rules and purchase application.
Landmarks: None applicable. Exterior alterations proceed through the Department of Buildings.
Application and transaction fees
- Terms
- 2% paid by the seller to 125 Eastern Owners Corp. at closing, on the gross sale price; seller completes a transfer fee affidavit. The affidavit (Appendix #5, p32; approved 9/04 by the Board, voted 6/06 by shareholders) applies the fee 'provided the sale price is higher than the purchase by more than 2% of the sale price'. Sellers also pay the Corporation's legal fees on the sale.
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building documents (house rules, 2016)
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building documents (house rules, 2016)
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsWritten Board approval required; Board interviews each person signing the sublease. Sublet Term one year, renewable at the Board's sole discretion (renewal request at least 60 days before expiry). Package due at least 3 weeks before lease start, incl. lender's written approval and shareholder's…Source: building documents (house rules, 2016)
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedPet owners liable for all damage; Board may order pets it deems threatening to be muzzled in common spaces. No number, size or breed limits stated.Source: building documents (house rules, 2016)
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $450 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.77 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $2,221/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $4
- Modeled exposure split equally across 51 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 25, 2026 | 6CK | 4 BR · 2 BA · 1,541 sf | $2,322,000 | $1,507/sf | +5.5% |
| Jan 8, 2026 | 2H | 2 BR · 1 BA · 1,005 sf | $1,255,000 | $1,249/sf | +9.1% |
| Sep 11, 2025 | 5A | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,690 sf | $2,200,000 | $1,302/sf | +10.2% |
| Oct 16, 2024 | 2F | 2 BR · 2 BA · 980 sf | $999,000 | $1,019/sf | -8.8% |
| Oct 7, 2024 | 3A | 1 BR · 1 BA | $505,000 | -3.8% | |
| Jun 27, 2023 | 4E | 3 BR · 2 BA | $1,325,000 | -3.6% | |
| Jun 26, 2023 | 6E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $665,000 | +2.3% | |
| Dec 14, 2022 | 5E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $685,000 | -1.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,722/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01179-0061). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Theodore Roosevelt and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2.2M (3 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $42,050 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $27,500
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Theodore Roosevelt and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Theodore Roosevelt. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Reconcile the unit and share count first. The plan says 51 apartments in one place and 52 in another, and gives two different share totals. The Department of Finance says 51 residential units. Your attorney should close that out against the share ledger before contract.
Ask what happened to apartment 2H. The superintendent's apartment was supposed to move to the cellar and 2H was supposed to be sold. Whether it was, and to whom, is a corporate-records question.
Get the underlying mortgage terms early. Obtain the current balance, rate and maturity, plus three years of financials and the assessment history. Compare debt service with other operating and capital costs; the 51-apartment count does not establish its share of maintenance.
Read the building's ownership history as a diligence prompt, not a warning. Two foreclosures and six owners between 1972 and 1983 mean deferred maintenance was the sponsor's inheritance. Forty years of shareholder governance have had time to correct it. Ask what has been replaced and when.
Verify the room-count convention. The 1985 schedule counted rooms by visual inspection. Compare like with like when shopping the parkway.
What to know if you’re selling
Name the location the way the plan does. The Brooklyn Museum area, midway between Grand Army Plaza and the museum, on the parkway. It draws from two directions and the listing should say so.
Explain the no-Landmarks position properly. Eastern Parkway is a scenic landmark; the buildings along it are not regulated by that designation, and the 2009 historic district stops at the parkway. Window and façade work here does not go through the Landmarks Preservation Commission.
Position against the parkway's six-story co-ops. Compare actual interior dimensions, room counts, exposure, condition and carrying costs across the parkway’s buildings; gross-area ratios and building heights do not establish apartment-size rankings or an appraiser’s conclusion.
Assemble the board package before the first offer. Financials, reserve balance, assessment history, house rules, sublet policy, flip tax, and the alteration approvals for any work done to the unit.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering The Theodore Roosevelt, also evaluate:
- 175 Eastern Parkway — 1922 six-story parkway co-op at the Brooklyn Museum end; the closest direct peer
- 135 Eastern Parkway (Turner Towers) — the neighborhood's largest prewar cooperative, four hundred feet east on the same block
- 41 Eastern Parkway — the twelve-story prewar co-op at the Grand Army Plaza end of the same block, with much larger apartments
- 230 Park Place — the Art Deco elevator co-op inside the Prospect Heights Historic District; the landmarked comparison
- 225 Park Place — Colonial Revival elevator co-op on the same landmarked blockfront
- 50 Plaza Street East — boutique prewar cooperative on the Grand Army Plaza arc
- 34 Plaza Street East — the large postwar cooperative on the same arc
- 44 Butler Place (Butler Plaza) — the prewar condominium alternative nearby, for buyers weighing tenure
- 235 Lincoln Place — Park Slope prewar co-op at comparable scale across Flatbush Avenue
More Prospect Heights buildings
- The Mark, 336 St. Marks Avenue — 2019 condominium
- The Mews at Grand Army Plaza (295 St Johns Place) — 1923 co-op
- The Prospect (149 Prospect Place) — 1870 condominium
- The Washington (35 Underhill Avenue) — 2005 condominium
- Vantage 238, 238 Saint Marks Avenue — 2008 condominium
- VI.V.IX, 659 Bergen Street — 2008 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Prospect Heights.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Theodore Roosevelt?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com