Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfChelsea $1,779/sf ▴4%
Full index →
Condominium · 2017
145 President Street
145 President Street, Brooklyn, NY 11231
Buildings·Condominium

145 President Street

145 President Street, Brooklyn, NY 11231

Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn

BBL 3003437501 · BIN 3422544

At a glance
Year built
2017
Type
Condominium
Units
17
Floors
7
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

145 President Street sales history: 26 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 145 President Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Subletting
Not documented. The Eleventh Amendment discloses that Sponsor rented five Unsold Residential Units for approximately $53,000/month in aggregate; sponsor rentals do not establish the rules for owner leasing, and no rental rules, minimum term or cap were located. Page asks for the current rental policy rather than stating one.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2020 (Eleventh Amendment)). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2019–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,648
floor-adjusted, 4 sales
Listing discount
0.8%
Recorded sales
26
On record
2019–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 145 President Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

President Street is one of the two streets the Landmarks Preservation Commission drew its 1973 Carroll Gardens district around, but only between Smith and Hoyt, where Richard Butts's 1846 platting set the houses behind their thirty-three-foot courtyards. Five blocks west, at the Hicks Street end, President Street is a different street entirely: row houses to the sidewalk, the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway corridor at the corner, and the Columbia Waterfront district beginning immediately beyond it. 145 President Street sits at that edge, and a buyer should walk the block and stand at the corner before doing anything else. Assess traffic, noise and air conditions for yourself alongside the apartment and building documents; their importance depends on your needs and should be discussed during diligence.

What Avery Hall built there is a seventeen-apartment condominium with a program far denser than the unit count suggests. Seven stories and seventy-five feet on a lot of about 8,500 square feet, carrying a cellar fitness room, bicycle storage in three separate locations, an art room off the lobby, sixteen parking spaces at the ground floor, a ground-floor medical community-facility unit, private roof terraces at the second floor and on both penthouses, and a public roof terrace at the top. Three apartments per floor from two through six, two penthouses above. That is a full amenity set on a boutique footprint. The building records roughly 3.84 FAR in an R6A district that allows about 3.00 residential; with a community-facility unit in the mix, that simple comparison does not by itself establish legal zoning floor area.

SLCE Architects is the architect of record, and the firm's involvement runs through the plan's own paperwork: the architect's letter setting the escrow for the permanent certificate of occupancy is signed by an SLCE partner. The sponsor's principals, Avi Fisher and Brian Ezra of Avery Hall Investments, were building three condominiums in the same few blocks at the same time — this one, 325 Henry Street and 161–163 Columbia Street — which is disclosed in the plan's financial section and is useful context for anyone reading the building's early history.

Two features of that history matter more than anything else in the file, and both are the kind of thing that quietly misprices a purchase.

The first is the sponsor common-charge abatement. Under the Sixth Amendment the sponsor escrowed three annual payments of $107,798.33 — after the first closing in June 2019, then in June 2020 and June 2021 — to subsidize unit owners' common charges. In the 2020 accounting the sponsor's monthly abatement contribution against closed units was $5,498 on total estimated monthly common charges of $15,184, which is to say roughly a third of the building's common charges were being paid by the sponsor rather than by the owners. That structure was always temporary. Any common-charge figure carried forward from the sell-out period understates the stabilized number, and a buyer relying on historical listing data will get the monthly wrong. Ask for the current budget and the current per-unit charge, and ignore anything from 2019 to 2021.

The second is the certificate of occupancy. As of the last amendment reviewed the building held a temporary certificate, renewable every ninety days, with $15,675 escrowed against the six items the architect listed as outstanding — including securing final certificates for the neighboring properties at 170 and 172 Union Street in order to comply with an easement agreement. A permanent certificate of occupancy that depends on work at a neighbouring property is an unusual condition, and while six years have passed, it is not something to assume has resolved. Ask management to produce the current certificate.

Architecture and unit composition

Seven stories, seventy-five feet, construction classification 1-B, R-2 occupancy, on an 8,514-square-foot lot in an R6A district. The tax roll records about 32,700 square feet of building area — roughly 29,900 residential and 2,750 commercial. The residential stack is legible from the certificate of occupancy: three units on each of floors two through six, two penthouse units on the seventh with private roof terraces, and a private roof terrace attached at the second floor. Deeded unit designations run 2A through 6C plus PH North and PH South.

The garden-level apartments on the second floor are worth singling out. The public land records identify two of them as garden units, and the certificate of occupancy attaches a private roof terrace at that level — outdoor space at the bottom of the building rather than only at the top, which is uncommon at this scale and is a genuine alternative for buyers who would otherwise be looking at row-house parlour floors.

Parking is sixteen spaces at the ground floor, held as separate condominium units and conveyed accordingly. As of the 2020 accounting, thirteen of them had closed and three remained with the sponsor. What conveys with a given apartment should be confirmed on the deed, not assumed from the listing.

Because the property is outside the Carroll Gardens Historic District, exterior work here proceeds through the Department of Buildings alone. The district's boundaries stop five blocks east, and nothing about this address requires Landmarks review.

Building operations

A seventeen-unit condominium is a small operating entity with an amenity load sized for a much larger one — a fitness room, an art room, a public roof terrace, three bicycle rooms, a parking garage and a community-facility neighbour at the ground floor. Review how the declaration and current budget allocate costs among the 17 residential units, 16 parking units and community-facility unit, including any expense-specific allocations. The residential count alone is not the denominator for every maintenance obligation.

The condominium's Department of Housing Preservation and Development registration names Sequoia Property Management as managing agent for the current cycle; the eleventh amendment recorded FirstService Residential in that role in 2020.

Request three years of financial statements, the current budget and per-unit common charge, the reserve balance, the minutes covering any assessment, the current certificate of occupancy, and the status of the sponsor's remaining units. For this building, inspect the roof and the two roof-terrace assemblies, the garage slab and its drainage, the elevator, the sprinkler and fire-alarm systems, and any water history at the terrace-to-apartment transitions; obtain inspection and repair records rather than inferring a failure pattern from building type.

The easements deserve their own question. The zoning lot comprises multiple tax lots; a parking access easement runs between this lot and an adjoining one; a light and air easement is recorded; and the permanent certificate of occupancy was tied to the neighbouring Union Street properties. Your attorney should read all of them rather than accept a summary.

Policy framework

Transfers: Condominium. Sales run through the board of managers' waiver of a right of first refusal rather than a board approval process. Confirm the current waiver procedure and turnaround time.

Sponsor control and board composition: Under the plan the sponsor retained control of the board until the earlier of the sale of 100 percent of the residential units or five years from the first unit closing. The first closing was June 6, 2019, so that period has run. Confirm the current board composition and whether the transition to unit-owner control is complete.

Leasing: The sponsor was renting its unsold residential units as of 2020. Ask for the current rental policy, including any minimum lease term or cap on rented units, and how many units are currently tenant-occupied.

Parking: Sixteen separately deeded parking units. Confirm what conveys with the specific apartment.

Common charges: Note the abatement history above. The stabilized charge is the current charge, not the sell-out charge.

Pets, move-in fees, alteration rules: Not documented in the amendments reviewed. Request the current house rules.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$599 per room a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$2.03 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, roof deck, garage, bike storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$15,628/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $77
Modeled exposure split equally across 17 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 2, 20256C
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,800 sf
$2,900,000$1,611/sf-3.2%
Apr 22, 20253A
4 BR · 3.5 BA · 1,940 sf
$3,625,000$1,869/sf+3.6%
Apr 9, 20253C
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,800 sf
$2,875,000$1,597/sf+4.5%
Feb 24, 20253B
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,432 sf
$2,320,000$1,620/sf-3.1%
Oct 16, 20244B
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,432 sf
$2,625,000$1,833/sf+7.1%
Aug 15, 20246B
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,432 sf
$2,600,000$1,816/sf-8.8%
Feb 2, 20246A
4 BR · 3.5 BA · 1,936 sf
$3,342,956$1,727/sf—
Oct 20, 20224C
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,796 sf
$2,800,000$1,559/sf+1.8%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,648/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

3A · 1,940 sf+37%
$2,650,000 ($1,369/sf) 2019 → $3,625,000 ($1,869/sf) 2025
5B · 1,432 sf+19%
$2,275,000 ($1,589/sf) 2019 → $2,700,000 ($1,885/sf) 2022
6A · 1,936 sf+11%
$3,013,000 ($1,556/sf) 2020 → $3,342,956 ($1,727/sf) 2024
3C · 1,800 sf+9%
$2,632,940 ($1,466/sf) 2020 → $2,875,000 ($1,597/sf) 2025
4C · 1,796 sf+8%
$2,600,000 ($1,448/sf) 2019 → $2,800,000 ($1,559/sf) 2022
View all 26 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-00343-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 145 President Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $2.89M (4 sales in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $116,721 to close, or 4.0% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $36,094
  • Mortgage recording tax: $41,688
  • Title insurance: $12,994
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $25,945

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 145 President Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 145 President Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Ignore any common-charge figure from 2019 to 2021. The sponsor was subsidizing roughly a third of the building's common charges under an abatement that ran out in 2022. Get the current budget and the current per-unit charge.

Ask for the current certificate of occupancy. The building was on a temporary certificate as of the last amendment reviewed, with an escrow held and a dependency on the neighbouring Union Street properties.

Have your attorney read the easements. Light and air, parking access, and a multi-lot zoning lot. This is not a single-lot building and the paperwork reflects it.

Ask how many units the sponsor still holds and whether they are rented. As of 2020 it held five residential units, three parking units and the community facility. Both the board and your lender care about the answer.

Stand at the Hicks Street corner. The western edge of Carroll Gardens is the expressway corridor. It is the address's defining condition and it should be your own judgment, not anyone else's.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the amenity load against the unit count. Seventeen apartments with a fitness room, an art room, bicycle storage, parking and a public roof terrace is an unusual combination in a Carroll Gardens boutique building.

Name the architect. SLCE Architects is the building's architect of record, and the firm's certification is in the plan's own record. That is a documented credential.

Present the common charge and the real estate tax together. Buyers coming from the neighborhood's cooperatives will misread the monthly otherwise.

Sell the outdoor space specifically. Private terraces at the second floor and on both penthouses, plus a public roof terrace for the whole building. In this neighborhood that competes with a house.

Have the condominium package ready. Financials, current budget, reserve balance, house rules, rental policy, the waiver procedure, the certificate of occupancy, the parking deed if one conveys, and the alteration approvals for work done.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 145 President Street, also evaluate:

More Carroll Gardens buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Carroll Gardens.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 145 President Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com