150 East 73rd Street
150 East 73rd Street, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1014070051 · BIN 1042858
- Year built
- 1922
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 43
- Floors
- 12
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District Extension
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditions
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2023
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 3BR median, 2023
- $2.4M
- 2 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $1.2M – $2.6M
- Listing discount
- 10.8%
- Recorded transfers
- 30
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 150 East 73rd Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
This is a Cross & Cross building, and that is the first thing to know about it. The firm that gave New York the City Bank Farmers Trust tower, the Tiffany store at 57th and Fifth, and a long run of the Upper East Side's best-mannered apartment houses designed this corner in 1922–1923, and the Landmarks Preservation Commission's own building record names them as architect. The result is a Colonial Revival corner block in brick over limestone, sitting on a gray granite base, with band courses and a ring of circular ornament under the cornice — restrained where a Fifth Avenue building of the same years would have been grand.
The second thing to know is that the co-op is old. The corporation was incorporated on January 4, 1949, and the tenant-ownership plan on file in The Roebling Research Library is dated September 16, 1949 — a document from the specific moment when postwar rent regulation and the threat of endless statutory tenancy pushed the better rental houses of the East Side into shareholder ownership. The plan is candid about its motive: uncertain tenure, uncertain rents, and maintenance standards that owners under rent control could not improve. It offered a fifteen-year proprietary lease, a cancellation option each September 30, and an explicit right to sublease and resell. Seventeen thousand seven hundred and forty shares were priced at $2.25 apiece against a purchase price of $871,653.05. The building today carries 18,255 shares; the difference is decades of hallway space sold into apartments, including eight shares issued in 2022.
The third thing — and the one that most directly shapes how the building runs today — is written into that same 1949 plan. The four ground-floor doctors' offices and the separate servants' rooms were deliberately not sold to shareholders. They were kept on a rental basis, and the income was retained by the corporation. Seventy-five years later the corporation still owns three ground-floor retail stores on Lexington Avenue and still depends on the rent they produce. That is the structural fact behind the building's recent assessment history, and it is discussed plainly below.
Architecture and unit composition
The 1949 plan's apartment schedule is the clearest surviving picture of how the building was laid out: four lines — A, B, C and D — running from the second floor to the eleventh, plus a penthouse. Room counts ran from five rooms and two baths in the smaller A-line apartments through seven- and eight-room, three-bath B- and C-line layouts to nine-room, three- and four-bath D-line apartments; the penthouse was offered as six rooms and three baths. In the vocabulary of the period that means classic-six through classic-nine plans with maids' rooms, defined foyers and separate service entrances.
Those plans have moved since. Department of Buildings filings across the past two decades record steady interior renovation, a 2016 application to divide the penthouse into two apartments, and a 2020 job relocating floor area between the two penthouse units. City records now count 43 residential apartments where the 1949 schedule offered roughly 44. Listing records over the years have described nine-foot-two ceilings, wood-burning fireplaces and herringbone floors in the apartments; those are unit-by-unit features, not building-wide guarantees, and should be verified line by line.
The building is in the Upper East Side Historic District Extension, which governs the exterior. The co-op replaced windows under a 2017 filing and completed a full facade restoration in the 2020–2023 cycle; both are the kind of work that requires Landmarks review, and any future window, storefront or ironwork change will too.
Building operations
The financial statements reviewed describe a Local 32BJ collective bargaining agreement with an April 20, 2026 expiration. Obtain the current agreement and payroll budget for 2026–2027; the historical expiration date does not establish today’s terms or costs. Total labor and related expense ran just over $1.04 million in 2023 against total operating expense of about $3.29 million.
Capital work, from the audited financial statements on file. In 2020 the corporation contracted for a $2,034,245 restoration of the building's exterior facade under the city's Local Law 11 facade safety program. As of December 31, 2023 that project was fully complete. A separate $208,200 sidewalk replacement contracted in May 2023 was also complete at year end. This is a building that has recently spent real money on the envelope — which is generally good news for a buyer, because the work is behind rather than ahead.
Review the underlying mortgage alongside capital needs and income. The statements for 2023 report a $3.3 million mortgage that matures January 1, 2028 and pays interest only at 3.71 percent. There is no amortization. Those statements also report an undrawn $750,000 unsecured line of credit available through the same January 2028 date. A 3.71 percent interest-only loan maturing in early 2028 will refinance at whatever rate the market sets then; if that rate is higher and the corporation does not pay the balance down, the debt-service line will step up. Any buyer's attorney should ask the board directly what the refinancing plan is.
Assessments have been a recurring feature, not an exception. The board levied capital assessments of $907,735 in 2022 and $483,299 in 2023, and approved a further $130,000 capital assessment in December 2023 to be billed across 2024. Separately, shareholders were assessed $267,735 in 2022 and $200,000 in 2023 to supplement operations because of shortfalls from commercial rent revenue, with another $100,000 operating assessment approved in December 2023 for 2024. There is also an annual assessment matched to the co-op/condo tax abatement, which is a common pass-through mechanic rather than a sign of stress.
Reserves and reserve planning. Cash and equivalents stood at $1,265,025 at December 31, 2023, up from $600,636 a year earlier. The corporation's governing documents do not require the accumulation of a reserve fund, and the auditors noted that no formal study of future major repairs and replacements has been prepared. The board's stated approach is to review capital needs with its engineer and to fund work through the credit line, maintenance increases or assessments as needed. Maintenance was billed at $147.50 per share in 2022, $157.81 in 2023, and $161.76 effective January 1, 2024.
Commercial income. The three ground-floor stores were let in November 2021, January 2022 and May 2023, with leases expiring in November 2031, January 2032 and May 2026. Minimum base rent was scheduled at roughly $411,000 for 2024. The near-term diligence question is the store whose lease ran out in May 2026: whether it has been re-let, and on what terms, feeds straight back into the operating assessments described above.
Tax certiorari proceedings seeking reductions in assessed value for tax years 2020/21 through 2023/24 were pending at the end of 2023.
Policy framework
The policy stack here is tight even by Lenox Hill standards, and two lines in it are unusual enough to price:
- Financing is capped at 50 percent of purchase price. That narrows the buyer pool. Refinancing is separately constrained: a shareholder may borrow the greater of the existing balance or 40 percent of appraised value, and cannot take an equity loan until three years after closing.
- The 3 percent flip tax is paid by the purchaser, not the seller. This is confirmed in both management-sourced records and the corporation's audited financial statements, which describe the transfer fee as "payable to the Corporation by the purchaser." Model it into the buy side, not the sell side — it is a real closing cost that many buyers assume is the seller's problem.
- Corporate purchase or lease is not permitted. Trust purchases and transfers into trust are considered case by case, as are pied-à-terre use, secondary residence, co-purchase, guarantors, parents purchasing for a child, and diplomatic purchase. Short-term rentals are prohibited.
- Pets are permitted with approval. In-unit washer/dryers are considered case by case — meaning some apartments have them and a new installation is a board decision, not a right.
- Subletting is permitted, but the current seasoning period, term cap and sublet fee are not published. Get them in writing from the managing agent before you underwrite a rental exit.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 3% of the gross sales price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Managing Agent Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $900 (Shareholder is an Individual) or $1000 (Shareholder is an Estate) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp TaxPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/Occupants | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $35 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- StorageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
This is a small share pool — 43 apartments — in a landmarked Cross & Cross building on a corner that most Lenox Hill buyers regard as prime; establish listing supply and turnover from actual records, and compare renovated and estate-condition transactions using consistent room definitions and reliable interior areas where available, rather than choosing a pricing metric solely from tenure or vintage. The 50 percent financing ceiling and the buyer-paid flip tax both compress the effective bid, and both are worth modeling explicitly rather than assuming the corridor default. Market statements here are indexed to the last complete year. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 6, 2023 | 8B | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,599,000 | -5.5% |
| Aug 16, 2023 | 9A | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,195,000 | +0.0% |
| Jun 15, 2023 | 4A | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $2,175,000 | -16.2% |
| Jan 19, 2023 | 3A | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,700,000 | -22.6% |
| May 18, 2022 | 6B | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,900,000 | -1.7% |
| Jun 8, 2021 | 7B | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $2,600,000 | -7.0% |
| Jun 16, 2020 | 5A | 2 BR · 3 BA | $1,940,000 | -7.6% |
| Mar 18, 2019 | 5C | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,375,000 | -5.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2017): a median $1,660/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2023. Median listing discount 1.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01407-0051). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 150 East 73rd Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 150 East 73rd Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 150 East 73rd Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the 2028 mortgage maturity. A $3.3 million interest-only loan at 3.71 percent maturing January 1, 2028 is a future funding issue to assess alongside commercial rent, capital work and current cash. Ask the board what it intends to do — pay down, refinance, or refinance larger — and price the maintenance consequence of each path.
Plan for at least 50 percent down. Fifty percent financing is the documented ceiling; confirm how the board applies it at the package stage. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer, and add the 3 percent purchaser-paid flip tax to your closing costs.
Read the assessment history as two separate stories. The capital assessments funded a completed facade restoration — money spent on an asset you are buying. The operating assessments covered commercial rent shortfalls — an income-side problem that recurs until the stores are stably let. They deserve different weight in your analysis.
Expect a substantive board package and interview. A 43-apartment prewar corporation with a 50 percent financing cap, no corporate ownership, and case-by-case treatment of trusts and pieds-à-terre reviews applications closely. Post-closing liquidity expectations are not published; ask the managing agent what the board has historically wanted to see, and prepare a complete, un-caveated package.
Confirm the exterior scope of anything you plan to change. The apartment is yours; the facade is not. Landmarks jurisdiction applies to windows, terrace railings, through-wall units and anything else that reads from Lexington or 73rd.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the completed capital cycle. The Local Law 11 facade restoration and the sidewalk replacement are finished and paid for. Buyers who have been burned by open facade projects elsewhere will value that; make sure their attorney sees it in the financials.
Address the flip tax before the buyer's lawyer does. Because the 3 percent is on the purchaser, sophisticated buyers will attempt to price it back into the bid. Decide in advance how you want to handle that conversation.
Qualify buyers on cash, early. Confirm a buyer can meet the 50 percent financing ceiling and other application requirements early. Screening can identify a mismatch, but does not guarantee board approval or establish the building’s most common failed-deal cause.
Price condition honestly. Prewar apartments of this scale renovate expensively and buyers now underwrite that cost openly. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 150 East 73rd Street, also evaluate:
- 1019 Lexington Avenue — the immediate neighbor, a 1924 building organized as a cooperative from the start; the closest possible like-for-like on the same avenue frontage
- 164 East 72nd Street — 1925 prewar masonry co-op a block south; comparable scale and side-street position
- 117 East 72nd Street — 1928 prewar co-op in the same Lexington-adjacent band
- 132 East 72nd Street — 1925, converted to cooperative ownership in 1960; a useful comparison on conversion vintage
- 168 East 74th Street — 1926 red-brick prewar converted from rental in 1953, one of the closest analogues on conversion history
- 112 East 74th Street — 1917 Robert T. Lyons prewar co-op; older stock, similar buyer
- 130 East 75th Street — 1928 Schwartz & Gross prewar co-op; the architectural step-across
- 103 East 75th Street — 1913 prewar co-op with an unusually detailed limestone base
- 157 East 74th Street — mid-1980s condominium; the alternative for buyers who cannot clear a 50 percent financing cap
More Upper East Side buildings
- 145 East 76th Street — 1999 condominium by SLCE Architects
- 145 East 84th Street — 1963 co-op
- 148 East 84th Street — 1930 co-op
- 150 East 78th Street — 2021 condominium by Robert A.M. Stern Architects
- 150 East 79th Street — condominium
- 150 East 93rd Street — 1923 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 150 East 73rd Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com