Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfTribeca $1,979/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1984
Trump Plaza
167 East 61st Street, New York, NY 10065

167 East 61st Street (Trump Plaza)

167 East 61st Street, New York, NY 10065

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1013960033 · BIN 1041986

At a glance
Year built
1984
Type
Cooperative
Units
154
Floors
36
Land
Ground lease; the building sits on leased land
The Roebling Team's building profile
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Flip tax
2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Trump Plaza sales history: 175 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Trump Plaza?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Financing
Up to 80% financeable (20% minimum down).
Subletting
Permitted with Board approval.
Pied-à-terre
Permitted.
Co-purchasing
Permitted.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,192
floor-adjusted, 5 sales
Listing discount
5.7%
Recorded sales
175
On record
2003–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Trump Plaza would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Trump Plaza is Donald Trump's deliberate cooperative — built when he chose the more selective coop structure over the easier condominium format. Trump told the NYT: "I wanted to buck the trend. There are a lot of people who want to live in a cooperative. […] Many people find a co-op's exclusivity, the unity it gives a building, comforting."

Architecturally, the building turns on its Y-shaped (trefoil) plan with five apartments per floor — an unusual configuration from Philip Birnbaum for the 154-unit cooperative. That geometry comes dressed in distinctive gestures, the wrap-around bronze-topped balconies and the two-story lobby waterfall that signaled the project's ambitions on a then-unfashionable stretch of Third Avenue. The most consequential development came decades later, with the 2014 ground-lease purchase: the building moved from a 40-year ground lease (originally carrying annual rent of approximately $1.2 million through 2023) to fee-simple ownership when the coop corporation bought the underlying land for $190 million.

Paul Goldberger reviewed Trump Plaza for the NYT with notable bemusement: the building "looks as if it might be the finest building in Caracas — all of this sleekness is chic in a particularly Latin way, quite uncharacteristic of New York, despite the lavish use of limestone."

Architecture and building operations

Donald Trump negotiated a 40-year ground lease with the underlying landowner with annual rent of approximately $1.2 million through 2023. The architect Philip Birnbaum, generally known for plainer designs, produced an unusual Y-shape with wrap-around bronze-topped balconies and a two-story lobby waterfall.

Paul Goldberger reviewed it for the NYT: "Looks as if it might be the finest building in Caracas — all of this sleekness is chic in a particularly Latin way, quite uncharacteristic of New York, despite the lavish use of limestone." Goldberger also concluded no one "could possibly mistake it for yet another Third Avenue high-rise."

The concrete and concrete-workers' union labor for the building was supplied by mobster Anthony "Fat Tony" Salerno, linked to Trump through Roy Cohn; in 1986 Rudy Giuliani and the SDNY indicted Salerno on racketeering tied to concrete bid-rigging at Trump Plaza and other contemporary projects.

In April 1984, Trump sued Birnbaum and Morton (owner of the diagonally-opposed Savoy) for $60 million for allegedly copying Trump Plaza's design (settled October 1984 with agreeing to redesign mid-construction).

The 2014 land purchase. The Trump Plaza coop corporation purchased the underlying land for $190 million in 2014, eliminating the ground-lease overhang and converting the building from a land-lease coop to a fee-simple coop. The building is now no longer a land-lease property, and maintenance has reportedly been reduced for unit owners.

Operations: 24-hour doorman; concierge; fitness center (relocated in 2016 from the basement to a first- and second-floor space previously used as the building superintendent's apartment); children's playroom (now occupying the former basement gym space); ground-floor retail (Lobel's Kitchen formerly here). Managed by the managing agent.

Policy framework

  • Type: Cooperative — board interview required
  • Pets: Permitted with board approval
  • Pied-à-terre: Permitted historically
  • Subletting: Permitted with board approval; standard duration restrictions
  • Financing: Up to 75% (typical); verify
  • Flip tax: Verify with managing agent — likely a meaningful flip tax tied to the land purchase financing
  • Gifting/trust: Permitted with board approval
  • LLC: Generally permitted (verify)
  • Foreign buyers: Notable international ownership history
  • Post-closing liquidity: Standard NYC coop expectations
  • Board interview: Required

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
2% of the Gross Sales Price
Rate
2% of the purchase price
Paid by
Buyer

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125.00 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

9 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Sublet FeeRecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Amount equivalent to 20% of the annual maintenance chargeRefundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Credit report feePer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125.00 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move In DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Sublet FeeRecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount An amount equivalent to 20% of the annual maintenance chargeRefundable Not stated

Refinance

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Please contact the Transfer Agent for the fee schedule for the proposed transfer.Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceUp to 80% financeable (20% minimum down).Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsPermitted with Board approval.Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedLimits statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$1,013 per room a monthMedian of 18 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$3.17 per square foot a monthMedian of 13 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, playroomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$187,733/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $89
Modeled exposure split equally across 176 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$46,950 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
2% of gross sales price (Buyer)
Sublet policy
Allowed; sublet fee 20% of annual maintenance; max 5 years over lifetime of ownership
Pied-à-terre
Allowed
Notable fees
App Processing $600 ($1,000 trust); Co-applicant/Guarantor $250 each; Credit $125/applicant; Move-in/Move-out $1,000 each; Closing Fee $800 (w/broker)/$850 + $0.05/share; Max financing 80%
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 10, 202612AB
4 BR · 2.5 BA
$3,050,000-12.7%
Sep 3, 202626C
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,600 sf
$1,950,000$1,219/sf+0.0%
Aug 28, 202620E
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,400 sf
$1,600,000$1,143/sf-5.6%
Apr 28, 20267D
1 BR · 1.5 BA
$962,500-3.7%
Apr 10, 202623D
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,000 sf
$1,272,500$1,273/sf-5.7%
Mar 23, 202611B
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,000 sf
$900,000$900/sf-18.2%
Jan 27, 202637C
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,500 sf
$2,673,000$1,782/sf-4.5%
Nov 19, 202531DE
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,413 sf
$2,550,000$1,057/sf-5.4%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,192/sf (floor-adjusted) across 5 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

32B+436%
$1,050,000 2008 → $5,625,000 2015
27A · 1,400 sf+120%
$790,000 ($564/sf) 2005 → $1,690,000 ($1,207/sf) 2020 → $1,735,000 ($1,239/sf) 2023
30A · 1,400 sf+95%
$925,000 ($661/sf) 2011 → $1,800,000 ($1,286/sf) 2024
10A+91%
$795,000 ($568/sf) 2004 → $1,521,500 2021
20B · 1,000 sf+88%
$800,000 ($800/sf) 2006 → $1,500,000 ($1,500/sf) 2015
View all 175 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01396-0033). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at Trump Plaza, last 36 months

$2,326median rent per room per month
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom2$6,795

Also $83 per sq ft per year (4 leases that report square footage). 4 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease October 2025. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Trump Plaza and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.95M (13 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $34,050 to close, or 1.7% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $19,500
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Trump Plaza and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Trump Plaza. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Notable residents

  • Former Kentucky Governor John Y. Brown Jr. and Phyllis George (Miss America 1971, sportscaster)
  • Dick Clark — TV personality
  • Martina Navratilova — tennis legend
  • Alo Alo restaurant (owned by Dino De Laurentiis and Brazilian partner Ricardo Amaral) opened in the building in 1985

Architectural register

The public records. page returned empty content. Steve Cuozzo of the New York Post wrote in 2016 that the area around Trump Plaza had been "a lost highway of tenements and boxy, bland apartment buildings" and that the project "inspired four more similarly configured towers on the avenue and lent some badly needed class to uptown east of Lexington Avenue."

What to know if you’re buying

The 2014 land purchase eliminated the ground-lease overhang. Building is now fee-simple; this is a structural pricing event versus the 2014-2018 land-lease-overhang period.

The Trump-developed cooperative structure is structurally distinguishing. Most Trump-developed buildings are condominiums; the cooperative format was a deliberate choice.

The Philip Birnbaum Y-shaped plan with five apartments per floor is operationally distinctive.

The Paul Goldberger "finest building in Caracas" review is real architectural-criticism context.

The international resident profile and the Brown/George/Clark/Navratilova historical roster anchor cultural-history positioning.

Comparable buildings


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Trump Plaza?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com