220 Berkeley Place
220 Berkeley Place, Brooklyn, NY 11217
Park Slope, Brooklyn
BBL 3010630026 · BIN 3024572
- Year built
- 1955
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 61
- Floors
- 6
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Slope Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Dogs
- Not permitted
- Cats
- Requires confirmation
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Financing
- Generally permitted, reviewed case by case; no published LTV ceiling (corporation resale procedure on file)
- Subletting
- Board consent required; non-family occupancy beyond one month also requires written board consent (purchase application / house rules)
- Pets
- Requires confirmation
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2003-06). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $743K
- 4 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $440K – $864K
- Listing discount
- -2.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 78
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 220 Berkeley Place would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
220 Berkeley Place is the building that tests what a Park Slope historic district actually is. It went up in 1955, eighteen years before the Landmarks Preservation Commission drew a line around these blocks, on a mid-block Berkeley Place site wide enough to swallow several rowhouses. When designation came in 1973, the Commission took the block as it found it — brownstones, a few flats buildings, and this six-story brick apartment house — and the co-op has lived under Landmarks jurisdiction ever since. For a buyer that means the same permit discipline that governs a neighbor's stoop applies to the building's windows and façade, without any of the compensating nineteenth-century detail that usually justifies the trouble.
What the building trades on instead is plan. Postwar apartment houses were laid out for the way people actually lived in them: squarer rooms, real closets, kitchens sized for appliances rather than for a cook, and bathrooms that were never carved out of a bedroom. Against the district's converted brownstone floor-throughs and its 1920s prewars, a 1955 building offers fewer decorative arguments and fewer compromises. Ceilings are lower and mouldings are absent; light and layout are frequently better. That trade is the whole purchase decision here, and it is worth making explicitly rather than discovering at the second showing.
The co-op itself dates to the tail of the first Brooklyn conversion wave. Title moved to 220 Berkeley Place Housing Corp. in February 1981, from Jack Sternklar and Stanley Gallant, after a decade in which the property changed hands repeatedly among investor partnerships — Kings Berkley Co., Gemehl Associates, Salvatore J. Zizza Associates. Forty-five years of shareholder governance later, the operating posture is conservative and legible: one resident superintendent, one laundry room, a compactor, no doorman, and a board that interviews every purchaser and every refinancing shareholder.
The pet rules merit review before an offer. The house rules prohibit dogs and require revocable written permission for other animals, while the September 28, 2026 management schedule lists pets as not allowed. The treatment of cats and other animals requires reconciliation. It is the first question a seller here should be prepared to answer.
Architecture and unit composition
The building occupies an 11,250-square-foot lot and holds about 43,900 square feet of recorded gross floor area across six stories — a ratio near 3.9 against the 3.0 residential FAR of the block's R7B contextual zoning. That simple comparison does not establish legal zoning floor area or what could be built on the site.
The 61 residences run to the postwar Brooklyn standard of studios, one-bedrooms and two-bedrooms, with the sixth floor carrying the building's best light and the mid-block position sparing the front line of avenue noise. There are no terraces and no through-floor units of the sort a brownstone conversion produces; the value spread between apartments is set almost entirely by floor, exposure and renovation state. Because the building runs a single passenger elevator bank and no freight car, moves are scheduled with the superintendent and the front door is attended while it is open — a small operational detail that also tells you the scale of the staff.
Building operations
220 Berkeley Place Housing Corp. has run the building since the 1981 closing, under professional management with a resident superintendent handling the physical plant. The corporation's financial records in The Roebling Research Library run back to the early 2000s, which supports trend-level diligence on maintenance growth, reserve practice and assessment history — the three questions that matter most in a self-contained co-op with no commercial income to lean on.
Review façade, roof, parapet, elevator, boiler and riser condition and planned work at this 1955 masonry building. FISP generally applies above six stories; confirm applicability to this stated six-story building before requesting statutory cycle filings. Exterior alterations require LPC review in addition to applicable DOB permits, but approval requirements alone do not establish relative cost or duration. Ask for the current capital plan, scope, bids and permit history.
Policy framework
Pets: The house rules prohibit dogs and condition other birds and animals on revocable written permission. The September 28, 2026 management schedule lists pets as not allowed; confirm the operative rule for cats and other animals without assuming either source supersedes the other.
Purchaser review: Full board package — two years of tax returns, income and cash-flow statements, business and personal references, a prior-landlord statement, proof of homeowner's insurance — followed by an interview. Recognition agreement and commitment letter are required where financing is involved.
Financing: The September 28, 2026 management schedule states maximum financing of 80% of purchase price; confirm current applicability and other approval requirements. Refinancing and home-equity borrowing require board consent on the same terms.
Subletting: The house rules require board consent, including non-family occupancy beyond one month. Management’s September 28, 2026 schedule adds one year of residence before waiting-list eligibility, a two-year sublease term, at most two one-year extensions and a cap of 20% of non-sponsor apartments. Confirm current availability and operative terms.
Alterations: Written notice to the board with the contractor's scope; anything structural or involving wall removal requires an engineer's certification at the shareholder's expense, licensed and insured contractors, and the corporation and managing agent named as additional insureds. Floors must be 80 percent covered.
Insurance: Every shareholder must carry general liability coverage with a current certificate on file.
Move deposits: $500 refundable in each direction; weekday moves only, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Flip tax: No flip-tax formula is established in the reviewed materials. Confirm the current adopted fee, if any.
Pied-à-terre: Considered case by case, according to the September 28, 2026 management schedule. Confirm current applicability against the operative rules and application.
Washer/dryer: In-unit washers and dryers are not allowed according to the September 28, 2026 management schedule. Confirm the operative rule and any apartment-specific exception.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Elevator Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $3,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Elevator Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $3,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elevator Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeConditional | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equal to three months maintenance plus parking, if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Elevator Move In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublet Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equal to three (3) months maintenance | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Alteration
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $250 minor, $450 major | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by case. Guarantors are required to submit a copy of the applicationSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsMust be a resident for 1 year before being placed on waiting list. Sublease limited to 2 year term. Renewals will be for 1 year. Cannot have more than 2 extensions. # of sublet apt cannot exceed 20% of non-sponsor apts.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Cats
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $360 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.42 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $14,018/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $19
- Modeled exposure split equally across 61 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9, 2026 | 5J | 1 BA · 550 sf | $485,000 | $882/sf | +0.0% |
| Aug 4, 2026 | 5F | 1 BA · 600 sf | $500,000 | $833/sf | +3.1% |
| May 27, 2026 | 1K | 1 BA | $440,000 | -1.1% | |
| Mar 5, 2026 | 4G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $864,300 | +8.7% | |
| Oct 30, 2025 | 3K | 1 BA · 400 sf | $475,000 | $1,188/sf | -1.0% |
| Feb 26, 2024 | 5B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $786,598 | -1.1% | |
| Feb 5, 2024 | 4H | 1 BR · 1 BA · 787 sf | $700,000 | $889/sf | +16.9% |
| Dec 5, 2023 | 5K | 1 BA | $444,000 | -4.5% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $858/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01063-0026). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 220 Berkeley Place and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $485K (5 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,369 to close, or 2.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,369
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 220 Berkeley Place and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 220 Berkeley Place. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Confirm the pet rule before you fall for an apartment. Dogs are prohibited under the house rules on file. This is not a policy that quietly goes unenforced in a building where every purchaser signs the rules as part of the board package.
Price the postwar plan honestly. You are buying closets, square rooms and a workable kitchen, and giving up ceiling height and original detail. That is a good trade for many buyers and a bad one for others; decide which you are before you compare this to a brownstone floor-through.
Landmarks applies even though the building is postwar. Windows and any façade work require LPC approval. Ask what the last window program cost and whether one is pending.
Read the board package requirements early. Two years of returns, multiple references, a landlord statement and an interview — the review is thorough, and the September 28, 2026 management schedule reports an 80% purchase-price financing ceiling, with other board requirements to confirm.
Model the carrying cost with no commercial income. There is no garage, no retail and no professional space subsidizing the budget. Maintenance and assessments carry the building.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the plan, not the vintage. Photograph the closets, the room proportions and the kitchen. The apartment's argument against a converted brownstone is functional, and it has to be shown rather than asserted.
Disclose the pet rule up front. Screening for it early costs you a few showings and saves you a dead contract after board submission.
Price against the district's mid-scale elevator co-ops. The right comparable set is the six-story buildings between Seventh and Eighth Avenues, not the Plaza Street and Prospect Park West towers with doormen and heavier maintenance.
Have the board package assembled in advance. In a building with a full financial review and an interview, a seller who can hand a buyer the exact requirement list shortens the deal by weeks.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 220 Berkeley Place, also evaluate:
- 235 Lincoln Place — 1937 co-op one block north; the prewar alternative at similar scale inside the same district
- 225 Lincoln Place — six-story 1920s co-op a block north; larger, with a documented flip tax and sublet framework
- 209 Lincoln Place — the ten-story 1928 elevator co-op a block north, with its own parking lot
- 140 8th Avenue — the 1936 Art Deco co-op at Carroll Street; the district's largest interwar apartment house
- 814 Carroll Street — 1950 co-op of similar postwar vintage a few blocks south
- 20 Plaza Street East — 1940 co-op on Grand Army Plaza; the larger, more service-heavy alternative
- 40 Prospect Park West — 1942 park-front co-op outside the district line
- 343 4th Avenue — the 2006 Fourth Avenue condominium; the condo-ownership alternative in the same neighborhood
More Park Slope buildings
- 219 St. John's Place — condominium
- 22 Eighth Avenue — 1883 co-op
- 22 St. John's Place, 22 St. John's Place · Park Slope — condominium
- 222 16th Street — condominium
- 225 14th Street — 2017 condominium
- 225 Lincoln Place — 1923 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Slope.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 220 Berkeley Place?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com