Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfChelsea $1,779/sf ▴4%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1940
20 Plaza Street East
20 Plaza Street East, Brooklyn, NY 11238
Buildings·Cooperative

20 Plaza Street East

20 Plaza Street East, Brooklyn, NY 11238

Park Slope, Brooklyn

BBL 3011690024 · BIN 3029311

At a glance
Year built
1940
Type
Cooperative
Units
100
Floors
6
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Doorman
Full-time doorman
Own an apartment at 20 Plaza Street East?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Pets
Cats and dogs understood to be permitted; conditions unverified.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents. Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 20 Plaza Street East would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Every other building of consequence on the Grand Army Plaza rim answers the oval with height. Rosario Candela's 1927 cooperative on the western arc goes up fourteen stories; the postwar slab next door at 10 Plaza Street East goes up fifteen. 20 Plaza Street East answers it with length. Six stories and 266 feet of curved frontage, the building tracks the geometry of the plaza the way a garden wall tracks a lawn, and it is the only address on the rim that reads as part of the plaza's ground plane rather than as an object standing on it. The entrance sits at the curve under a circular marquee, approached across a landscaped walk that bends with the street.

The date matters. 1940 is the closing bracket on the interwar apartment-house era in Brooklyn: within two years the War Production Board had halted private residential construction, and nothing of this scale went up again until the 1950s. What got built in 1940 is late Art Deco worked in a horizontal, streamlined register — bands rather than setbacks, mass rather than ornament — and this building is a legible example of that moment applied to a site that could not have been more prominent.

The plaza itself is the amenity, and it is permanent. Olmsted and Vaux laid out the oval as the northern entrance to Prospect Park in the 1860s; John H. Duncan's Soldiers' and Sailors' Memorial Arch went up at the center in the early 1890s; the Central Library closed the eastern edge in 1941, a year after this building was finished. None of that ground is developable. From the plaza-facing lines the outlook over the oval and into the park is protected by the plan of the city rather than by anybody's promise, and at six stories that outlook arrives through a tree canopy rather than above it — a materially different experience from the upper floors of the tall buildings on the same rim, and one that some buyers prefer outright.

Two structural facts deserve underwriting attention rather than admiration. The first is the professional space: five non-residential units and roughly 2,500 square feet of ground-floor office area sit on the corporation's books alongside the 100 apartments. Commercial income at a residential co-op is a cushion in the maintenance line and a complication in the tax and lending analysis, and a buyer should know how much of the budget it carries. The second is bulk. The lot is zoned R8X, which permits about 6.02 FAR; the building carries roughly 4.75. That gap — on the order of 37,000 square feet of unused floor area on an unlandmarked lot facing Grand Army Plaza — is a live asset that most brownstone-belt cooperatives simply do not have, and how the board thinks about it is a fair question.

The conversion came late. 20 Plaza Associates bought the building in April 1982 and did not close the cooperative until April 1984, at the tail of the Brooklyn conversion wave. Forty-two years of shareholder governance since then means a long financial record; review the current budget, audited statements, debt and any assessments.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is six stories of masonry on a 29,600-square-foot lot, with roughly 140,595 square feet of floor area and a frontage that follows the curve of Plaza Street East for 266 feet. That plan produces two things a rectangular lot cannot: a very long façade with a large number of front-facing lines, and interior geometry that changes as the building bends. Line position here is not just about exposure — it is about the angle at which an apartment meets the plaza.

The apartments follow the 1940 idiom: entry foyers, separated living and sleeping rooms, defined dining space in the larger lines, and closet counts that read as generous against later postwar stock. Unit sizes run from studios up through three-bedroom configurations, and the spread within the building is driven by three variables in roughly this order — whether the apartment faces the plaza, what floor it sits on, and how recently it was renovated. Because the building is only six stories, the floor premium is compressed relative to the tall buildings on the rim; the plaza-facing premium is not.

The ground floor carries the professional units. Buyers who want quiet should walk the specific apartment above or beside that space at a weekday hour rather than on a Sunday.

Building operations

20 Plaza Housing Corp. has run the building since the May 1984 closing. The service package documented for the building — full-time door staff, a resident superintendent, elevators, a children's playroom, storage cages, bicycle storage and a 24-hour laundry with a lending library — is a full-service operation, and it is the reason maintenance here reads heavier per room than at a self-managed brownstone conversion three blocks away. That is the trade, and it should be framed as one: the correct comparison across the two products is total monthly outlay, not the maintenance number in isolation.

One hundred apartments spread the fixed cost of that staffing more efficiently than the district's forty- and sixty-unit buildings can, and the commercial rent roll spreads it further. Ask management how much of the budget the professional units carry, what their lease terms are, and when they roll.

For a 1940 masonry building the recurring capital agenda is legible: FISP/Local Law 11 façade cycles across an unusually long elevation, roof and parapet, elevator modernization, boiler and riser work, and window replacement. The long frontage is a genuine cost factor — façade work is priced by area, and this building has more of it per apartment than a compact rectangular peer. Because the property is outside every historic district, that work proceeds through the Department of Buildings without Landmarks review, which shortens the calendar and lowers the cost against a comparable building inside the district line. Ask for the last two FISP filings, the reserve position, the assessment history and the board's capital plan. The corporation's financial statements are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and reviewed with clients during diligence; no managing agent is asserted here and the agent of record should be confirmed with the board.

Policy framework

Purchase: Standard cooperative board approval — full financial package, disclosure and an interview. Build the longer cooperative timeline into your contract dates.

Financing and minimum down: Not publicly documented. This is the policy most likely to reprice a deal late; get the board's current standard in writing before you bid.

Subletting: Building management's published schedule, as of July 2026, reports subletting permitted subject to board approval after two years of ownership. Confirm the current term limits, how often a shareholder may sublet, and the sublet fee before relying on it.

Pets: Cats and dogs are understood to be permitted. Confirm any weight, breed or registration conditions against the current house rules.

Flip tax, washer/dryer, pied-à-terre: Management's July 2026 schedule reports in-unit washer/dryers not permitted. Flip tax and pied-à-terre policy are not publicly documented. These are board-set, they change, and management's current answers are the ones that bind.

Landmarks: None applicable. Window and exterior alterations run through the Department of Buildings.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Application/ Administration Review FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Credit Report FeeConditional · Per applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $165 Per individual applicant named on the contract and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupantsRefundable Not stated
Expedited Closing FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 hr noticePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Power of AttorneyConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $200 per individual (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Power of AttorneyConditional · Per applicantPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $350 per individual (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Seller's Flip Tax FeePer shareRequiredPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $500 Per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Move-out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated

Sublet

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Administration Review FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Application FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Credit Report FeeConditional · Per applicantRequiredPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $165 Per individual applicant named on the contract and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupantsRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Move-out DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsSubject to approval and 2 years ownership requiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Wait before a sublet
2 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$365 per room a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$1.28 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Playroom, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$30,353/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $25
Modeled exposure split equally across 100 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$150 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Feb 11, 2026F23
1 BA
$599,000-4.2%
Nov 12, 2025A8
1 BR · 1 BA · 1,065 sf
$995,000$934/sf+0.0%
Jun 9, 2025C4
1 BR · 1 BA
$940,000+10.7%
May 22, 2025C7
2 BR · 1 BA · 1,200 sf
$1,250,000$1,042/sf+31.7%
Dec 10, 2024A23
1 BA
$380,000-5.0%
Nov 7, 2024D2
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,732 sf
$2,150,000$1,241/sf+7.8%
Jul 25, 2024D21
1 BR · 1 BA
$727,000+5.4%
May 21, 2024A3
1 BR · 1 BA
$549,000+0.0%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $988/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

D11+92%
$965,000 2013 → $1,850,000 2024
D21+82%
$400,000 ($556/sf) 2012 → $727,000 2024
D14+76%
$791,000 2012 → $1,395,000 2019
D1+69%
$385,000 ($482/sf) 2012 → $650,000 2021
F6+65%
$606,000 2006 → $950,000 2018 → $999,000 2021

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01169-0024). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 20 Plaza Street East and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $968K (6 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $12,178 to close, or 1.3% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,178

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 20 Plaza Street East and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 20 Plaza Street East. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Face the plaza or price the difference. The building's whole thesis is its frontage. Establish what the specific apartment looks at, then set your number against matched exposures rather than against the building's average.

Ask what the commercial space contributes. Five professional units and roughly 2,500 square feet of office area sit in the corporation's budget. Learn the rent roll, the lease terms and the renewal calendar before you underwrite the maintenance line.

Ask the board about the unused floor area. The lot is zoned R8X and the building is under-built by a wide margin on an unlandmarked site. Whether the board has ever studied a rooftop addition or an air-rights sale is a legitimate diligence question with real value implications either way.

Underwrite 266 feet of façade. FISP cycles are priced by area, and this building has a great deal of area for 100 apartments. Review the last two filings, the reserve balance and the assessment history.

Get every policy in writing. Minimum down and flip tax are not on the public record here, and management's July 2026 schedule gives the sublet and pet rules only in summary. Ask before you bid, not at board-package stage.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the arc. Photograph the curve, the marquee and the plaza outlook. No competing listing on either side of Grand Army Plaza can show the same frontage, and the six-story vantage into the tree canopy is a distinct product from the tower views on the same rim.

Sell the service package explicitly. Buyers arriving from the brownstone-belt co-op market will read the maintenance as high until someone explains what it buys — door staff, a resident super, elevators, a playroom, storage, bikes and a 24-hour laundry. Say it plainly.

Say that the building is outside the historic district. It is a cost and calendar advantage over a comparable co-op inside the Park Slope line, and most sellers never mention it.

Comp on exposure, not on address. Averaging the building's sales across plaza-facing and rear lines understates one and overstates the other. Anchor to matched 2025-forward comparables.

Have the corporation's file ready. Financials, reserve position, FISP status, assessment history and the current policy answers. A complete package shortens diligence and removes the buyer's discount for uncertainty.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 20 Plaza Street East, also evaluate:

  • 10 Plaza Street East — the fifteen-story 1959 co-op alongside it on the same arc; the postwar high-rise alternative at the same address quality
  • 34 Plaza Street East — plaza-rim cooperative peer a few doors along
  • 50 Plaza Street East — the smaller plaza-rim cooperative; the boutique alternative on the same street
  • 39 Plaza Street West — Rosario Candela's 1927 cooperative on the western arc, inside Extension II; the prewar-ornament answer to the same location
  • 1 Prospect Park West — condominium ownership at the plaza; different form, overlapping buyer
  • 135 Eastern Parkway (Turner Towers) — large full-service prewar cooperative on the parkway; the scale comparable
  • 175 Eastern Parkway — full-service parkway cooperative; a direct per-room comparable
  • 140 8th Avenue — the 1936 Art Deco co-op inside the Park Slope Historic District; the interwar alternative with Landmarks jurisdiction attached
  • 209 Lincoln Place — the ten-story 1928 co-op with its own parking lot; the height-and-view alternative inside the district

More Prospect Heights buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Prospect Heights.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 20 Plaza Street East?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com