10 Plaza Street East
10 Plaza Street East, Brooklyn, NY 11238
Park Slope, Brooklyn
BBL 3011690001 · BIN 3029306
- Year built
- 1959
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 126
- Floors
- 15
- Land
- Owned by the building's owners
- building documents (proprietary lease, 1981)
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Pets
- cats and dogs understood to be permitted; conditions not publicly documented
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents. Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2025
- $855K
- 9 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $800K – $2.4M
- Listing discount
- -1.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 102
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 10 Plaza Street East would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Grand Army Plaza is Brooklyn's ceremonial front door, and the buildings on its rim occupy a piece of ground the borough cannot make more of. The plaza is Olmsted and Vaux's northern entrance to Prospect Park, laid out in the 1860s; John H. Duncan's Soldiers' and Sailors' Memorial Arch went up at its center in the early 1890s; the Central Library's limestone curve closed the eastern edge in 1941. Everything built around the oval since has had to answer to that composition. The prewar rim answered it with ornament — Rosario Candela's cooperative at 39 Plaza Street West and its Jazz Age neighbors on the western arc. The postwar rim answered it with height and glass area, and 10 Plaza Street East is the clearest example on the eastern side: fifteen stories of 1959 brick, built to take the view.
The view is the building's thesis. From the upper floors the outlook runs across the plaza and over Prospect Park in one direction and toward the Downtown Brooklyn skyline in the other — an outlook a four-story brownstone-belt co-op cannot produce, and one the plaza's own geometry protects, because the oval and the park in front of the building are not developable. Brownstoner, covering apartments here, has put it about as plainly as it can be put: the appeal is the views, and it is also the location. What 10 Plaza Street East offers is not prewar detail — there is essentially none — but elevation, light, full-service operation, and a short walk to the 2/3 at Grand Army Plaza, the Saturday greenmarket under the arch, the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, and the park's Long Meadow.
The building's second useful fact is its relationship to the historic-district map, which in this part of Brooklyn is unusually consequential. Park Slope's district is one of the largest in the city — roughly 2,575 buildings across some forty blocks after the 2012 and 2016 extensions — and its rules shape the cost and calendar of every renovation inside the line. 10 Plaza Street East is outside it, and outside the Prospect Heights district across Flatbush Avenue as well, so window replacement, façade work, and any exterior alteration proceed through DOB alone. Against a converted brownstone in the district that is a real and quantifiable difference in the alteration path, one that rarely gets priced explicitly and probably should be.
The third fact is the operating model: an attended lobby, elevators, a central laundry, bike and storage rooms, and parking on site. Nothing on that list is exotic, and none of it is what the brownstone-belt co-op stock has. The neighborhood's converted row houses trade on garden access, floor-through layouts, original detail and party-wall condition; a building like this trades on services, elevation, and predictability. They are different products competing for overlapping buyers, and the honest comparison runs on carrying cost per room rather than on charm.
Architecture and unit composition
The building is a fifteen-story postwar masonry apartment house on the plaza rim — a slab of its moment, without the setbacks, cornices, or terracotta of the prewar buildings on the western arc. Its architectural interest is positional rather than decorative: height and plaza frontage together produce the light and outlook that define the apartments.
Layouts run in the postwar Brooklyn idiom — studios, one-bedrooms, and two-bedroom, two-bath configurations, with L-shaped living rooms that carve out a dining area without giving up the sitting area, parquet floors, and window walls sized for view rather than for period proportion. Line position matters here more than it does in most brownstone-belt co-ops, because exposure determines whether an apartment looks at the park and the plaza, at Downtown Brooklyn, or into the block behind. Nobody buys this building for the plaster.
The unit count is the one number to handle carefully. The Department of Buildings record shows 126 dwelling units; DOF's tax-lot file returns 134. Neither is the share ledger, and in a building of this vintage combinations are common enough that a specific apartment's shares and any prior combination approvals should be verified by your attorney rather than inferred from either source.
Building operations
Plaza Prospect Apartments, Inc. operates the building as a full-service cooperative. The documented service package — attended lobby, elevators, central laundry, bicycle room, resident storage, on-site parking — is the postwar standard and is the principal reason maintenance here runs heavier per room than at a self-managed brownstone conversion. That is the deal: you are buying staff and systems.
For a 1959 masonry building now well past sixty, the recurring capital items are predictable and should be diligenced specifically: FISP/Local Law 11 façade cycles, elevator modernization, roof and parapet work, window replacement, and the boiler and heating distribution plant. Ask for the last two FISP filings, the current reserve position, the assessment history, and the board's capital plan. The corporation's financial statements and the building's assessment record are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and reviewed with clients during diligence; the managing agent of record is not asserted here and should be confirmed with the board.
Policy framework
Purchase: Standard cooperative board approval — application package, financial disclosure, and interview. Build the longer cooperative timeline into your contract dates.
Financing and minimum down: Not publicly documented. Get the board's current standard in writing before making an offer; it is the single policy most likely to reprice a deal at the last minute.
Subletting: Not publicly documented. Confirm whether sublets are permitted at all, on what term, after what period of residency, and with what fee.
Pets: Cats and dogs are understood to be permitted; confirm any weight, breed, or registration conditions against the current house rules.
Flip tax, washer/dryer, pied-à-terre: Not publicly documented. These are board-set and change; management's current answers control.
Landmarks: None applicable. Exterior and window work runs through DOB.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Transfer fee of $35 per share, charged to the selling shareholder on resale and collected at closing when the shares transfer.
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building documents (financial statement, 2019)
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (using broker) $800 (no broker) | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Reports FeeConditionalRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 Per individual applicant named on the contract and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupants | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount 400 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Security Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $125 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Security Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $125 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Seller's Flip Tax FeePer shareRequired | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $35 Per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-in depositConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-out depositConditionalMove-out security fee will be deducted from deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| application submission without broker representation | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Reports FeeConditional · Per applicantRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 Per individual applicant named on the sublease and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupants | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Security Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublease FeeRecurringRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 15% Of the annual maintenance | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When Upon approval | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move in Security fee | Paid by Subtenant | When Upon approval | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-out DepositConditional | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In DepositConditional | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions2 years ownership requiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 2 yearsRests on the building's house rules, dated 2015, more than ten years old; confirm the current rule with management.Source: building documents (house rules, 2015)
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedUpon ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $372 per room a monthMedian of 16 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.37 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $38,917/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $24
- Modeled exposure split equally across 134 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25, 2026 | 12H | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,650,000 | +10.4% | |
| May 6, 2026 | 3A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,675,000 | $1,396/sf | +12.0% |
| Apr 14, 2026 | 16C | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,550,000 | -2.8% | |
| Dec 11, 2025 | 15A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,276 sf | $1,575,000 | $1,234/sf | +12.6% |
| Jul 8, 2025 | 7B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $855,000 | +0.6% | |
| May 6, 2025 | 7H | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,500,000 | $1,250/sf | +7.1% |
| Feb 14, 2025 | 3C | 3 BR · 3 BA · 2,048 sf | $2,400,000 | $1,172/sf | -2.0% |
| Dec 2, 2024 | 3J | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,287,500 | +3.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,210/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount -0.0% over ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 18, 2017 | 14G | $850,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01169-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 10 Plaza Street East and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.55M (9 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $29,863 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $15,500
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,363
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 10 Plaza Street East and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 10 Plaza Street East. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Buy the floor and the exposure. This is a view building. The difference between a park-and-plaza outlook and a rear line is the difference between two different apartments at the same address, and it should be the first filter on your comparables.
Get the board's policies in writing early. Minimum down, sublet rules, pets, and flip tax are not publicly documented here. Ask before you bid; do not discover them at board package stage.
Reconcile the unit count and verify the shares. DOB says 126, DOF says 134. Neither is the share ledger. Have your attorney confirm the specific apartment's share allocation and any combination approvals.
Diligence the capital plan, not just the financials. A 1959 building carries a façade, elevator, roof, and boiler calendar. Ask for the last two FISP filings, the reserve balance, the assessment history, and the board's five-year plan.
Understand that you are outside the historic district. Window and exterior work here does not go through Landmarks — a real cost and calendar advantage over a comparable brownstone-belt co-op, and one worth stating out loud when you are comparing the two.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the outlook and the plaza. The park, the arch, the Central Library, the Botanic Garden, the Saturday greenmarket, and the 2/3 station are the daily-life case, and the view from an upper floor is the one thing the surrounding brownstone market cannot answer.
Price per room against the postwar plaza and Eastern Parkway set. The right comparables are the full-service postwar co-ops on the plaza rim and along Eastern Parkway — not the district's brownstone conversions and not new-construction condominiums, which price on a different basis entirely.
Frame the maintenance honestly as a service package. Buyers coming from the brownstone-belt co-op market will read the maintenance line as high until someone explains what it buys. Explain it: staff, elevators, laundry, parking, and a building that runs itself.
Have the building's paperwork ready. Financial statements, reserve position, assessment history, FISP status, and the board's current policies. In a cooperative sale, a clean, complete package is a pricing asset — it shortens diligence and removes the buyer's discount for uncertainty.
Be accurate about geography. The address sits on the Prospect Heights side of the plaza with Park Slope across the oval. Buyers search both; represent the location precisely and let the plaza do the work.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 10 Plaza Street East, also evaluate:
- 20 Plaza Street East — the immediate neighbor on the same arc; the closest possible comparable on location and format
- 34 Plaza Street East — postwar plaza-rim cooperative peer a few doors along
- 50 Plaza Street East — smaller plaza-rim cooperative; the boutique alternative on the same street
- 39 Plaza Street West — Rosario Candela's Jazz Age cooperative on the western arc; the prewar answer to the same address
- 1 Grand Army Plaza (Richard Meier on Prospect Park) — the contemporary condominium on the plaza; different ownership form, same outlook
- 135 Eastern Parkway (Turner Towers) — large prewar full-service cooperative on the parkway; the scale comparable
- 125 Eastern Parkway (The Theodore Roosevelt) — parkway cooperative peer with a named prewar identity
- 175 Eastern Parkway — full-service parkway cooperative; the direct per-room comparable set
- 35 Prospect Park West — park-frontage cooperative on the Park Slope Gold Coast; the view comparable at a different price tier
More Prospect Heights buildings
- 1 Grand Army Plaza (Richard Meier on Prospect Park) — 2006 condominium
- 135 Eastern Parkway (Turner Towers) — 1926 co-op
- 175 Eastern Parkway — 1922 co-op
- 177 Saint Marks Avenue — 1880 condominium
- 20 Plaza Street East — 1940 co-op
- 205 Park Place — 1901 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Prospect Heights.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 10 Plaza Street East?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com