Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfChelsea $1,779/sf ▴4%
Full index →
1 Grand Army Plaza — stepped glass-and-balcony facade seen across the intersection at Grand Army Plaza
Photo: Thomson200 / CC0 1.0 · via Wikimedia Commons · Resized; no crop
Buildings·Condominium

1 Grand Army Plaza (Richard Meier on Prospect Park)

1 Grand Army Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11238

Prospect Heights, Brooklyn

BBL 3011727502 · BIN 3395389

DeveloperSDS Procida
At a glance
Year built
2006
Type
Condominium
Units
94
Floors
15
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditions
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Richard Meier on Prospect Park sales history: 176 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Richard Meier on Prospect Park?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Subletting
Condominium form. The offering plan states expressly that the condominium board does NOT have the right to approve or disapprove purchasers and imposes no limit on investor ownership; a unit owner must offer the Board of Managers a right of first refusal on the same terms, but an owner of an Unsold Unit is not required to. Current minimum lease term unverified.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2006 plan as filed). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2008–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,489
floor-adjusted, 3 sales
Listing discount
3.3%
Recorded sales
176
On record
2008–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Richard Meier on Prospect Park would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

There is exactly one Richard Meier building in Brooklyn, and it is standing on the most ceremonial piece of ground in the borough. Grand Army Plaza is Olmsted and Vaux's northern gateway to Prospect Park, and its ring is otherwise a collection of 1920s brick apartment houses on Plaza Street, John H. Duncan's Soldiers' and Sailors' Memorial Arch (1892), and Francis Keally's 1941 library. Into that composition, in the mid-2000s, went a white steel-and-glass slab designed by the architect of the Getty Center. The AIA Guide to New York City dismissed it as "a massive beached whale." The building has never stopped being an argument, and for a certain buyer that is precisely the appeal: total transparency, floor-to-ceiling glass on the park side, and a view down the Long Meadow that no other for-sale building in Prospect Heights can offer.

The site itself explains a great deal about how the building works. The land came from the Union Temple of Brooklyn, the religious corporation at 17 Eastern Parkway whose synagogue, daycare and playground share the property line. As part of the acquisition, the sponsor and the Temple recorded a Declaration of Covenants, Restrictions and Easements dated April 25, 2005, and that document still governs a surprising amount of daily life at 1 Grand Army Plaza. It created a separate Temple Unit of roughly 2,140 square feet within the condominium, conveyed to the Temple rather than sold. It reserved 55 of the garage's parking spaces for the Temple's use. It preserved the long-term lease of the Eastern Athletic Club, which dates to 1985, and gave residents interior access to the club through the Temple Unit. It carried construction restrictions for the Sabbath and holidays. A buyer at 1 Grand Army Plaza is buying into a genuinely unusual arrangement: a modernist condominium tower structurally interlocked with a synagogue and a health club, with the terms recorded and enforceable.

The unit count tells the story of the sellout. The plan accepted for filing on September 8, 2006 offered 114 residential units at a total of roughly $204 million. What actually got built and declared is a 94-residence building, because units were combined into larger homes as the market for the project developed. That is a favorable outcome for a resale buyer today — the surviving inventory is bigger and better-proportioned than the original schedule contemplated — but it means the plan's Schedule A is not a map of the building as it stands. Ask for the current declaration.

The condominium began operations on December 23, 2008, at the bottom of the cycle, and its early years show it. The board bought the superintendent's unit from the sponsor in October 2010 and still carries a mortgage against it. In February 2014 it took a ten-year, $2 million commercial loan to fund a roof and balcony waterproofing project — the single most consequential capital item in a building of this envelope. It litigated its sponsor over repair responsibility, won a partial judgment on liability in 2019, and settled all claims confidentially in mediation in 2021. In December 2020 it applied for a $2.5 million line of credit for capital projects, approved in March 2021. The sponsor sold its last residential unit in February 2020 and, as of the most recent audited statements reviewed here, retained only the garage unit.

None of that is disqualifying, and most of it is ordinary for a 2008-vintage glass building. It is, however, the actual operating history, and it is the part of this building that a marketing photograph will never show you.

Architecture and unit composition

The building rises fifteen stories over a sub-cellar and cellar, with a setback above the eighth floor that steps the mass back from Plaza Street East and produces the terraced upper tier. The elevation is Meier's signature vocabulary applied at Brooklyn scale: white metal panel, clear glass, projecting horizontal balcony slabs, and a rigorously flat, unornamented plane. The main residential entrance faces Plaza Street East and the arch; the garage entrance is on St. John's Place; the health club entrance is on Eastern Parkway through the Temple Unit.

Interiors follow from the exterior. Floor-to-ceiling glazing is the organizing move, and the west and south exposures — over Grand Army Plaza and toward Prospect Park — are the ones the building was designed around. North and east units look toward St. John's Place and Underhill Avenue and price accordingly. Most residences have private balconies. Cellar storage units were allocated to unit owners under the plan.

Two practical consequences follow from a curtain-wall building of this type, and both belong in a buyer's underwriting. The first is thermal and acoustic performance: full-height glass is spectacular and it is not free, and energy and comfort should be evaluated on the specific exposure rather than in the abstract. The second is the balcony-and-roof waterproofing question, which this condominium has already addressed once with borrowed money. Ask what was done in 2014, what has been done since, and what the current envelope condition report says.

The white-backing rule for window treatments deserves particular mention because it surprises buyers. It is written into the offering plan as part of the building's design scheme rather than left to the house rules, and every opening was built to receive concealed ceiling-recessed roller shades. Plan your window treatments accordingly.

Building operations

The condominium is a full-service building with an attended lobby, a resident superintendent housed in a unit the condominium itself owns, and an amenity structure that is unusual because part of it sits outside the building. The Eastern Athletic Club arrangement is the clearest example: residents have interior access through the Temple Unit, and the condominium carries a sports club membership expense at the building level that has moved substantially year to year. Confirm what the current agreement provides, what it costs the budget, and whether it is guaranteed for any term.

The operating budget also carries a line for the building's art program — a small, genuinely distinctive expense for a residential condominium, and a reflection of how the building has run itself.

The capital picture is legible and should be read in full. The 2014 waterproofing loan, the superintendent's-unit mortgage refinanced in 2015, and the 2021 line of credit are all documented in the audited statements, as is the disclosure, repeated by the auditors in the 2019 and 2020 statements, that the condominium had not commissioned a reserve study or adopted a funding plan for future major repairs. Ask management whether either exists now. The Roebling Research Library maintains the financial file and shares it with clients during diligence; confirm the current agent, reserve position and assessment history with management.

Policy framework

Purchaser approval: None. The offering plan states that the condominium board has no right to approve or disapprove purchasers and imposes no cap on investor ownership. Transfers run through the customary right of first refusal, and a holder of unsold units is not obliged to offer it.

Use: Residential. Changing a unit's certificate of occupancy for non-residential use requires board approval, and the plan provides that the board may unreasonably refuse.

Window treatments: All window treatments must have a white backing so that only white is visible from the exterior; openings were constructed to accept concealed roller shades.

Storage and parking: Cellar storage was allocated to unit owners under the plan. Garage spaces are rented, not owned, and the garage unit is a separate condominium unit; 98 of approximately 153 spaces are available to residents on a first-come basis, with 55 reserved for the Temple Unit.

Reserve fund: The offering plan provided no reserve fund, on the theory that a new building's major components would live out their expected lives. The 2019 and 2020 audited statements state that no reserve study had been performed and no funding plan adopted. Confirm with management whether either has been completed since. This is a real underwriting fact.

Property taxes: The sponsor filed for 421-a benefits and disclosed that they might not be in place at first closing. No phase-out year is asserted here. Verify the current bill on the specific unit.

Pets, subletting terms, minimum financing, flip tax: Not publicly documented in the records reviewed; confirm the current by-laws and house rules in writing.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
credit check feePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per personRefundable Non-refundable
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Sales Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Administrative FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $650Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Consumer Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per personRefundable Not stated
Lease Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Move Out FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move In DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditionsCondominium form. The offering plan states expressly that the condominium board does NOT have the right to approve or disapprove purchasers and imposes no limit on investor ownership; a unit owner must offer the Board of Managers a right of first refusal on the same terms, but an owner of an…Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2006
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$502 per room a monthMedian of 10 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$1.47 per square foot a monthMedian of 12 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$110,156/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $98
Modeled exposure split equally across 94 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
Assessed · 2015–20 to 2020–25
$2,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2015–20 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

421-a Tax Abatement

421-a exemption · full taxation begins FY2036
Long runway
~10 years of abatement remaining
Last year of benefit
FY2035
Years remaining
~10 yrs
Program
421-a (25-year)
What this means for you

A long-dated tax benefit still in place — a meaningful carrying-cost advantage today. Note the eventual step-up toward full taxes when the abatement ends.

Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2036 runs July 1, 2035 to June 30, 2036.

The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
May 27, 20267F
1 BR · 1 BA · 1,091 sf
$2,010,000$1,842/sf+0.8%
Feb 18, 20267A
1 BR · 1,043 sf
$1,500,000$1,438/sf—
Feb 2, 20264C
1 BR · 2 BA · 1,195 sf
$1,720,000$1,439/sf-4.4%
Nov 12, 20254F
4 BR · 3 BA · 3,199 sf
$4,800,000$1,500/sf-16.9%
Sep 29, 20253C
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,227 sf
$1,999,999$1,630/sf+0.3%
Sep 26, 20252D
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,526 sf
$2,175,000$1,425/sf-9.2%
Apr 30, 202511E
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,825 sf
$3,805,000$2,085/sf+4.2%
Mar 4, 20255C
1 BR · 2 BA · 1,076 sf
$1,755,000$1,631/sf+0.3%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,489/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

7F · 1,091 sf+157%
$782,000 ($717/sf) 2009 → $1,525,000 ($1,398/sf) 2024 → $2,010,000 ($1,842/sf) 2026
5L · 1,547 sf+130%
$980,000 ($633/sf) 2010 → $2,250,000 ($1,454/sf) 2019
11B · 2,125 sf+127%
$1,665,000 ($784/sf) 2009 → $1,800,000 ($847/sf) 2012 → $3,777,000 ($1,777/sf) 2016
2B · 1,195 sf+117%
$865,512 ($724/sf) 2009 → $923,000 ($772/sf) 2011 → $1,875,000 ($1,569/sf) 2022
3C · 1,227 sf+111%
$950,000 ($774/sf) 2009 → $1,575,000 ($1,284/sf) 2015 → $1,999,999 ($1,630/sf) 2025
View all 176 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01172-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at Richard Meier on Prospect Park, last 36 months

$77median rent per sq ft per year
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom2$7,500

3 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Richard Meier on Prospect Park and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $2M (9 sales in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $80,625 to close, or 4.0% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $20,000
  • Mortgage recording tax: $28,875
  • Title insurance: $9,000
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $22,750

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Richard Meier on Prospect Park and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Richard Meier on Prospect Park. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The view is the asset, and it is exposure-specific. Buy the Prospect Park and Grand Army Plaza side if that is what you came for. The difference between exposures here is larger than the difference between floors.

Read the DCR&E. The Union Temple easement package — the Temple Unit, the 55 reserved parking spaces, the health club access and non-competition terms, the Sabbath and holiday construction restrictions — is recorded, enforceable, and permanent. It is a genuinely interesting arrangement and it should be read, not skimmed.

Underwrite the envelope. A 2008 curtain-wall building that borrowed $2 million in 2014 to waterproof its roof and balconies has a documented envelope history. Ask for the current condition report, the post-2014 work, and the status of the line of credit.

The 2019 and 2020 audits report no reserve study. The auditors say so plainly. Ask whether a study or funding plan has been completed since; assessment risk in a building of this construction type is a live question, and the reserve position should be checked in the current year's statement, not a historical one.

Do not assume 421-a is still helping you. The plan filed for it; nothing here asserts what remains. Pull the specific unit's tax bill and run true monthly carrying cost.

The health club is an arrangement, not a fixture. Confirm the current terms before you value it.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the architect and the address. The only Richard Meier building in Brooklyn, on Grand Army Plaza, facing the arch. That sentence does more work than any amenity list, and it is factually unimpeachable.

Photograph the glass and the park. The building's argument is transparency and outlook. Interiors shot without the view undersell it badly.

Get ahead of the capital story. Waterproofing, litigation, settlement, line of credit — a buyer's attorney will assemble all of it. A seller who presents it first, with the current reserve position and assessment history attached, controls the narrative.

Separate your comparables carefully. Sponsor sales, early closings and resales are three different populations in this building's record. Price off recent arm's-length resales on comparable exposures.

Condominium purchase process. No co-op board admission; purchases run through the condominium's application and right-of-first-refusal process. Market that: it is a real difference from a cooperative purchase.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering Richard Meier on Prospect Park, also evaluate:

More Prospect Heights buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Prospect Heights.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Richard Meier on Prospect Park?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com