225 Lincoln Place
225 Lincoln Place, Brooklyn, NY 11217
Park Slope, Brooklyn
BBL 3010590055 · BIN 3024464
- Year built
- 1923
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 56
- Floors
- 6
- Land
- Owned by the building's owners
- building documents (financial statement, 2015)
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Slope Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Dogs
- Requires confirmation
- Cats
- Requires confirmation
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Sources differ on the rate or basis. Confirm with building management.
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Financing
- Total loans secured by the shares may not exceed 75% of the most recent appraised value; board approval and interview required for home-equity borrowing and refinancing
- Subletting
- Non-resident owners may sublease 3 years out of 5; one-year leases renewable at board discretion; sublessee interview; one month's maintenance security; sublet payment to the corporation of 20% / 15% / 20% of the succeeding year's maintenance in years 1 / 2 / 3
- Pets
- Requires confirmation
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2001-09-20 (flip tax memo); 1995-11 handbook base). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2024
- $703K
- 4 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $670K – $1.1M
- Listing discount
- -2.3%
- Recorded transfers
- 66
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 225 Lincoln Place would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
225 Lincoln Place is the block's wide building. Where 209 Lincoln Place went up tall on a narrow lot, this one went out — nearly 13,000 square feet of ground at the Eighth Avenue end of the block, six stories, a broad Federal-Revival brick front, and a plan that carries more than fifty apartments without ever leaving the rowhouse skyline. The LPC's district records credit Caughey & Evans with the design and Gordon & Berry with the development, and date it to 1923, which puts it at the very front of the wave of apartment houses that arrived in Park Slope between the wars. The Federal style designation in the Commission's file is the specific thing to look for on the street: a flat brick plane, disciplined window rhythm, and detail concentrated at the entrance rather than spread across the façade.
The building's more distinctive history is its conversion, one of the better-documented tenant negotiations in the Park Slope record. Bernard Levine and David Lidsky filed a non-eviction plan in July 1985 against a rent-regulated tenancy — seven rent-controlled apartments, thirty-six rent-stabilized and eight vacant. The plan was declared effective in July 1986 and then, unusually, the declaration was withdrawn: the property had just been sold, the Department of Law required that every subscriber be given a fresh right to cancel, and Lincoln-Washington Associates stepped in as sponsor. The Second Amendment that reset the offering records what the tenants extracted in exchange for going forward — new windows, upgraded electric service, a new or improved fence, a roof and boiler guarantee, a commitment to no major capital improvement rent increases, a modified reserve fund, payment of the tenants' attorneys' fees, and a transfer fee payable to the corporation on arms-length sales.
That last item still shows up in every deal here. The $60-per-share transfer fee went into the by-laws in 1986 and was directed to the reserve and working capital funds. It later became a percentage flip tax, and in 2001 the board did something co-op boards rarely do in writing: having raised the fee to 4 percent, it voted the rate down to 2.25 percent, retroactively, on the explicit ground that a flip tax above the neighborhood norm cannot be financed by a buyer's mortgage and was making apartments harder to sell. Whatever the current rate, that memo says something useful about how this board thinks about the marketability of its own shares.
The rest of the building's texture is that of a well-run mid-size Park Slope co-op with a single superintendent and no doorman: garbage collected floor by floor twice a day on weekdays, a laundry room with published hours, a $30 late fee that exists because the corporation historically ran no cushion against its mortgage payment, and a board that interviews purchasers, sublessees, refinancing shareholders and — a period detail that survives in the rules — house sitters staying more than a short visit.
Architecture and unit composition
Six stories of brick on a 12,994-square-foot lot, holding roughly 70,000 square feet of recorded gross floor area: a ratio near 5.4 against the 3.0 residential FAR of the block's current R7B contextual zoning. That simple comparison does not establish legal zoning floor area or what could be built on the block.
The 1985 Schedule A covered 51 apartments across 5,542 shares, weighted toward the one- and two-bedroom layouts that interwar Brooklyn apartment houses were built to sell, plus a basement apartment and a superintendent's unit outside the offering. Department of Finance now records 56 residential units. The most likely explanations are unit reconfigurations and differences in what each source counts, but the number is not something to take on faith: have your attorney confirm the apartment's shares, its maintenance allocation, and any combination or subdivision approvals in the corporate record. The building carries both a passenger and a service elevator — a useful practical difference from smaller district co-ops when it comes to moves and deliveries.
Windows are the alteration item to watch. They were part of what the tenants negotiated for in 1986, and any replacement program at this address runs through the Landmarks Preservation Commission as well as the Department of Buildings.
Building operations
225 Lincoln Apts. Corp. has run the building since the June 1986 closing. The conversion budget projected a single, non-union superintendent with a rent-free apartment and free utilities, a leased coin laundry, and a first mortgage held by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation at 12.955 percent — a reminder of the rate environment every mid-1980s conversion was underwritten in. The corporation has since amended its plan more than two dozen times, and The Roebling Research Library holds financial statements running from the mid-1990s through the mid-2010s, which supports genuine trend work on maintenance growth, reserve behavior and assessment history.
Department of Finance records show a documented alteration on the property dated to 2020. Establish what that work was, how it was funded, and whether any assessment associated with it is still running — that is the first question to put to management, ahead of the routine ones about FISP/Local Law 11 façade cycles, roof, boiler and elevator modernization.
Day-to-day, the service model is modest and clearly written down: the rules separate repairs the corporation covers (leaky faucets, damaged windows, damaged apartment entrances) from repairs the shareholder covers (exposed plumbing and heating fixtures, appliances, water damage caused from above), and renovation work requires board approval, engineer review where anything structural is involved, insured contractors and a $500 good-faith deposit.
Policy framework
Subletting: Non-resident owners may sublease three years out of five, on one-year leases renewed at the board's discretion. The sublessee is interviewed and must supply two years of returns, employer and landlord references, one month's maintenance as security and proof of insurance. The sublessor pays the corporation 20 percent of the succeeding year's maintenance in the first year, 15 percent in the second and 20 percent in the third. House sitters are permitted with board approval for no more than two months and must be the apartment's only occupants.
Purchaser review: Full package — two years of returns, pay stubs, contract, loan application and commitment, employer, landlord and character references, résumés — plus an interview with everyone on the loan application. The rules also bar business use of the apartment.
Financing and refinancing: Loans secured by the shares may not exceed 75 percent of the most recent appraised value; home-equity borrowing and refinancing require board approval and an interview.
Flip tax: $60 per share under the by-law amendment adopted with the plan's Second Amendment; a percentage flip tax was subsequently adopted, raised to 4 percent, and reduced to 2.25 percent effective September 20, 2001. Confirm the rate in force.
Governance: The proprietary lease may be amended only by lessees owning at least 66⅔ percent of outstanding shares; consent to a sale or sublet may come from the board or from holders of at least 65 percent of shares. Smoking is prohibited in all public areas.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 2.25% of purchase priceSources differ on the rate or basis. Confirm with building management.
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeeConditionalRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if presented with a broker, $800 if not presented by a broker | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Reports FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $165 per each applicant named on the contract and any guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Reproduction Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $195 | Refundable Not stated |
| Power of Attorney Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $275 if financing | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer FeeConditionalRequired | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $550 (800 if estate sale) | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount See Cover Letter | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet FeeRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount TBD - Please refer to the Cover Letter | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Cats
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $321 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 | 5A | 2 BR · 1 BA | $950,000 | +5.7% | |
| Jun 30, 2026 | 1F | 3 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,110,000 | +13.4% | |
| Jun 3, 2024 | 3D | 1 BR · 1 BA | $680,000 | +2.3% | |
| Apr 17, 2024 | 3G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $670,000 | -4.1% | |
| Nov 20, 2023 | 6G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $805,000 | +0.6% | |
| May 11, 2023 | 3E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 734 sf | $725,000 | $988/sf | +7.4% |
| Jan 27, 2023 | 3F | 2 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,075 sf | $995,000 | $926/sf | -20.4% |
| Dec 5, 2022 | 3C | 2 BR · 1 BA | $950,000 | +0.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2023): a median $952/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01059-0055). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 225 Lincoln Place and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 225 Lincoln Place and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 225 Lincoln Place. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Get the flip tax rate in writing before you set your number. The rate has moved — $60 per share, then a percentage, then 4 percent, then 2.25 percent in 2001. It is a seller cost that shapes the negotiation, and it cannot be mortgaged.
Confirm the pet rule. No new dogs since January 21, 1988, and no birds. If a dog is part of your household, this is a threshold question, not a detail.
Resolve the unit count and your share allocation. The plan offered 51 apartments; Finance records 56. Have your attorney tie the specific apartment to the current share ledger and maintenance schedule.
Ask what the 2020 alteration was. There is a documented alteration on the property in that year. Find out the scope, the cost, the funding and whether any assessment is still running.
Read the sublet economics, not just the sublet right. Three of five years is generous, but the sublet payments — 20, 15 and 20 percent of the following year's maintenance — change the arithmetic of holding the apartment as a rental.
What to know if you’re selling
Name the architects and the style. The LPC's file credits Caughey & Evans and records the building as Federal. Most six-story Park Slope prewars go to market unattributed; this one does not have to.
Lead with the sublet policy. Three years out of five, on written terms, is a genuine differentiator against neighboring co-ops with one-year-in-five rules or none at all. It reaches buyers who need optionality.
Disclose the flip tax early and precisely. Sophisticated buyers price it into the offer either way; ambiguity about the rate costs more than the rate does.
Comp against the block and the district's six-story tier. The right set is Lincoln Place and the surrounding blocks between Seventh and Eighth Avenues from 2025 forward — not the Plaza Street towers and not the brownstone floor-throughs.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 225 Lincoln Place, also evaluate:
- 209 Lincoln Place — the ten-story 1928 co-op a few doors west on the same block, with its own parking lot; the height-and-view alternative
- 235 Lincoln Place — 1937 co-op on the same block; the later interwar peer at smaller scale
- 220 Berkeley Place — the 1955 postwar co-op one block south; postwar plan logic and a stricter pet rule
- 140 8th Avenue — the 1936 Art Deco co-op at Carroll Street; the district's largest interwar apartment house
- 814 Carroll Street — 1950 co-op at similar scale a few blocks south, inside the same district
- 50 Plaza Street East — 1925 twelve-story co-op on Grand Army Plaza; the same decade at greater height
- 39 Plaza Street West — 1927 co-op on the Plaza, inside the 2016 Extension II; a useful contrast in district status
- 420 12th Street (Ansonia Court) — the Ansonia Clock Factory conversion in the 2012 Extension; the loft-character alternative in Park Slope
More Park Slope buildings
- 220 Berkeley Place — 1955 co-op
- 222 16th Street — condominium
- 225 14th Street — 2017 condominium
- 226 15th Street — 2008 condominium
- 228 13th Street (The Ainsley) — 2023 condominium
- 235 Lincoln Place — 1937 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Slope.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 225 Lincoln Place?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com