130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street)
130 Eighth Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11215
Park Slope, Brooklyn
BBL 3010710014 · BIN 3024928
- Year built
- 1950
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 72
- Floors
- 8
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Slope Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street) sales history: 80 recorded transfers
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $750K
- 5 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $675K – $1.3M
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 80
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street) would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The corner of Eighth Avenue and Carroll Street held one of the great Park Slope houses. Charles Feltman — the Coney Island restaurateur credited with putting a frankfurter in a split roll — commissioned Montrose W. Morris, the architect the Slope's wealthy went to, and got a palatial Romanesque Revival pile in the early 1890s. It stood for roughly sixty years. In 1950 it came down, and this building went up on the site.
That sequence is the whole economic history of Eighth Avenue compressed into one lot. The single-family mansions that made the avenue's reputation were unaffordable to maintain by the Depression, unsellable as houses after the war, and worth more as land than as architecture. What replaced them put seventy-two households where one family had lived. The marketing language of the day, quoted in the building's history, put it as a new era in which luxury had to be balanced by economy — which is a fair description of what the building is: a full-service address with door staff, an elevator and a garage, wrapped in a brick envelope that spends nothing on ornament.
The 1973 designation of the Park Slope Historic District placed later alterations under LPC regulation. The LPC's own report describes this building without enthusiasm, as an unadorned brick apartment house, and that assessment is worth understanding rather than resenting. The district was drawn around a coherent Victorian streetscape and it swept in the twentieth-century intrusions along with everything else. The practical consequence for a shareholder is identical either way: window replacement, façade alterations, entrance changes and rooftop work generally require LPC approval; qualifying maintenance may be exempt and some work can receive staff approval. Under the R7B contextual zoning that now governs the block, permitted bulk is 3.0 FAR and this building carries roughly 5.04 — a simple comparison that does not by itself establish legal zoning floor area.
The service model is the second reason to look here. Park Slope's cooperative stock is overwhelmingly self-managed brownstone conversions and small elevator buildings without staff. A full-time attended lobby inside the historic district is scarce, and a below-grade garage is scarcer still — district designation requires LPC review but does not categorically prohibit new parking; feasibility depends on site-specific zoning, approvals and design. Both are documented for this address and both should be verified specifically for the apartment you are considering.
The cooperative is young by neighborhood standards. Solico 130 bought from Park Carroll Co. in June 1986 and did not complete the conversion until 1988 (the conversion deed is reported as dated August 1 and recorded November 10, 1988), well after the wave that took most of the avenue's rental prewars co-op between 1980 and 1986. Thirty-eight years of shareholder governance is still a long record, but it is shorter than the buildings this one competes with, and the corporation's early financial history is correspondingly thinner.
Architecture and unit composition
Eight stories of brick on an 11,800-square-foot corner lot, holding roughly 59,520 square feet of floor area. The design does its work with massing rather than detail: chamfered windows turn the corner instead of a decorative quoin, and the Carroll Street elevation steps back rather than holding a flat streetwall, which gives the apartments on that side light and gives the block a break in scale. Against the Romanesque and Renaissance Revival houses immediately around it the building reads as plainly of 1950, and it does not pretend otherwise.
The apartments follow the early postwar plan: entry foyers, defined living and dining space in the larger lines, bedrooms off a hall, and a mix weighted toward one- and two-bedrooms with a smaller set of larger corner layouts. Ceiling heights and detail are postwar rather than prewar, and buyers who want plaster mouldings and parquet borders are shopping the wrong building. What this stock delivers instead is efficient square footage, good closet counts, and windows placed for light rather than for period proportion. Within the building the price spread is set by floor, by whether an apartment holds a corner or the Carroll Street setback, and by renovation state.
Because the property sits inside the historic district, the window program is a Landmarks matter rather than a shareholder decision. Ask what the co-op's current window policy is, whether a building-wide replacement has been approved or discussed, and what the Commission has permitted here before.
Building operations
130 Eighth Avenue Owners Corp. has run the building since the 1988 conversion. The documented operation — full-time door staff, a resident superintendent, elevators, a below-grade garage and an accessible lobby — is a staffed model, and it costs what staffed models cost. Seventy-two apartments carrying that payroll is a workable ratio, better than the district's forty-unit buildings and thinner than the ninety-plus buildings a block away, and it should be tested against the actual maintenance figure rather than assumed.
The garage deserves specific diligence. It is documented for the building and it is a genuine differentiator inside a historic district, but the Department of Finance's land-use record carries no garage area for the lot. Establish with management how many spaces exist, whether they are licensed to shareholders or operated commercially, what the charge is, how the waitlist works and how the income is treated in the budget.
For a 1950 masonry building now well past seventy, the capital agenda is predictable and should be diligenced by document rather than by description: FISP/Local Law 11 façade cycles, roof and parapet, elevator modernization, boiler and distribution, and windows. The corporation's recorded credit agreement with Apple Bank for Savings, executed in December 2018 at $2,000,000, is a useful anchor for the debt conversation, but the current position belongs in the financial statements. Ask for the last two FISP filings, the reserve balance, the assessment history, the underlying mortgage terms and maturity, and the board's five-year capital plan. The corporation's financial statements are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and reviewed with clients during diligence; no managing agent is asserted here and the agent of record should be confirmed with the board.
Policy framework
The cooperative's house rules, sublet policy, pet policy, flip tax and financing standards are not publicly documented in the materials available to us, and this page will not guess at them. Request all five in writing from management before an offer goes in, and read the purchase application, the current house rules and the most recent financial statements together rather than in isolation. What can be said with confidence is that the building operates in the standard cooperative form: board approval, a complete financial package and an interview.
One additional item belongs on the same list at this address: the garage. Whether a space conveys with the apartment, transfers by waitlist, or is unavailable altogether is a policy question with real monthly consequences in a neighborhood where off-street parking is close to unrepeatable.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 2% of the purchase price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Bedbug Inspector | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount To be determined | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurring | Paid by Subtenant | When Upon approval | Amount First Year: an amount equal to 20% of the monthly maintenance, Second and subsequent years: 5% increase to the fee for each one year renewal period | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublet Security Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount Equal to 1 month's maintenance | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Review Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by case. Guarantors are required to submit a copy of the applicationSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsMust reside in building for 2 years prior to subleasing. Term of sublease for 1 year at a time and can be renewed with prior Board approval.Source: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedWith Board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $511 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $22,880/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $26
- Modeled exposure split equally across 72 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 3, 2026 | 7G | 1 BR · 1 BA · 700 sf | $835,000 | $1,193/sf | +4.5% |
| May 7, 2026 | 6E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $750,000 | +0.0% | |
| Mar 12, 2026 | 7D | 1 BA | $367,500 | -18.3% | |
| Jun 25, 2025 | 1F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $675,000 | -15.5% | |
| Jun 17, 2025 | 8D | 1 BA · 400 sf | $390,000 | $975/sf | -2.3% |
| Feb 20, 2025 | 6B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $800,000 | +0.0% | |
| Dec 9, 2024 | 8C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,299,000 | $1,083/sf | +0.0% |
| Sep 19, 2023 | 5H | 1 BA | $445,000 | +12.7% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,146/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-01071-0014). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street) and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $750K (7 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,363 to close, or 1.5% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,363
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street) and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street). Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Establish the garage before you value the apartment. Spaces, terms, waitlist and cost. Inside a historic district this is the least replaceable thing the building owns, and the DOF file does not confirm it — management does.
Read the Landmarks position on windows. The building is in the 1973 district. Replacement is a Commission matter, and what the co-op has already been permitted to do sets the cost and calendar of what you can do.
Price the period honestly. A 1950 plan inside a Victorian district is a specific product. It wins on light, layout and services and it does not win on detail. Comp it against buildings that make the same trade.
Ask for the debt and capital file. A recorded $2,000,000 credit agreement from 2018 is a starting point, not an answer. Get the current mortgage terms and maturity, the reserve balance, the FISP history and the five-year plan.
Get all five policies in writing. Pets, sublets, flip tax, financing standard and the garage rule. The reviewed records do not establish these current terms; reconcile management's answers with the governing documents.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with staff and parking. A full-time attended lobby and a below-grade garage inside the Park Slope Historic District is a combination almost no competing listing can write. Confirm the specifics, then market them first.
Tell the site's story. The Feltman mansion by Montrose W. Morris stood on this corner until 1950. That is the kind of provenance a Park Slope buyer responds to, and it costs nothing to state accurately.
Have the building's answers ready. Because the policy framework is not public, the seller who can hand a buyer written confirmation of the pet, sublet, financing, flip-tax and garage rules removes the friction that stalls these deals.
Comp on two tracks. Anchor to the staffed elevator co-ops for carrying cost and to the Eighth Avenue prewars for location, and use matched 2025-forward sales rather than the building average.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 130 Eighth Avenue, also evaluate:
- 140 8th Avenue — the 1936 Art Deco co-op immediately south on the same blockfront; the district's largest interwar building and the closest possible location comparable
- 220 Berkeley Place — the 1955 postwar co-op two blocks north; the nearest peer on plan logic and period
- 209 Lincoln Place — the ten-story 1928 co-op with its own parking lot; the other district address where off-street parking is part of the deal
- 225 Lincoln Place — six-story 1920s co-op with a documented flip tax and sublet framework
- 235 Lincoln Place — 1937 co-op at smaller scale inside the same district
- 40 Prospect Park West — 1942 park-front co-op just outside the district line
- 35 Prospect Park West — 1929 eighteen-story park-front co-op; the tall prewar alternative
- 20 Plaza Street East — 1940 full-service co-op on the Grand Army Plaza arc, outside the district; the staffed-building alternative
- 420 12th Street (Ansonia Court) — the Ansonia Clock Factory conversion in the 2012 Extension; loft volume in Park Slope
- 300 8th Avenue — the 1920 co-op down the avenue, just outside the district line; the entry-price alternative on the same street
More Park Slope buildings
- 120 Prospect Park West — 1899 co-op
- 123 Sixth Avenue — 1880 condominium
- 125 Prospect Park West — 1916 co-op
- 132 Sixth Avenue — 1876 condominium
- 134 Berkeley Place — 1882 condominium
- 136 St. Marks Place — 2006
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Slope.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 130 Eighth Avenue (814 Carroll Street)?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com