241 East 76th Street
241 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1014310021 · BIN 1044075
- Year built
- 1959
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 92
- Floors
- 10
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $743
- floor-adjusted, 4 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.8%
- Recorded sales
- 118
- On record
- 2004–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 241 East 76th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
241 East 76th Street is what a working Upper East Side co-op looks like when the framework is built for flexibility: a 1959 full-service building of 92 apartments at the corner of Second Avenue, with a policy stack — 80 percent financing, pieds-à-terre, co-purchasing, parents buying for children, and unlimited subletting subject to a per-share fee, all per listing and brokerage records — that is materially more permissive than the prewar co-ops a few blocks west. For buyers who want doorman service and Lenox Hill convenience without a restrictive board posture, this building is one of the corridor's structural answers.
The location got a step-change upgrade in 2017 that the building's 1959 architects could not have priced in: the Q train at 72nd Street and Second Avenue put an express-quality subway within a three-block walk, transforming a corridor that had waited decades for the Second Avenue line. The 6 at 77th and Lexington remains the local alternative, with the 79th Street crosstown filling the east-west gap. Lenox Hill Hospital, the 70s retail spine, and the neighborhood's restaurant stock are all immediate.
Structurally, the cooperative has revenue most residential-only buildings lack: ground-floor commercial space along Second Avenue, an on-site garage, and laundry income — income streams visible in the audited financial statements on file with us. The building's planted roof deck is the amenity sleeper, a genuine outdoor common space in a price tier where roof decks are rarer than listings suggest.
Architecture and unit composition
The building rises 10 stories of postwar red brick across roughly 97 feet of frontage on East 76th Street, turning the corner onto Second Avenue above its retail base — about 75,000 square feet of residential area over the 92 units per city records. The inventory is classic postwar mid-market: studios through two-bedrooms with a layer of combinations, built on practical 1950s plans — defined foyers, generous closets, windowed kitchens in many lines — that renovate efficiently. Upper-floor units on the avenue carry open corridor views and light; side-street lines trade exposure for quiet. As with most buildings of this vintage, heating and cooling run through-wall rather than central systems.
Building operations
Full-service at the practical tier: 24-hour doorman, live-in superintendent, central laundry, bike room, private storage, the planted roof deck, and the on-site garage — parking by separate fee with board approval per listing records, an amenity that materially widens the buyer pool on a corridor where parking is scarce. Commercial and garage income supplements maintenance revenue, a structure documented in the audited financial statements on file in The Roebling Research Library; your attorney should review current financials, mortgage terms, and reserve posture during diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 2% of the sales price.
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $850 (Addl $250 If there is no broker) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer for LLC/Trusts/EstatesConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Administrative Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $425 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When Upon approval | Amount $500 must be given to the resident manager prior to reserving the elevator | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $500 must be given to the resident manager prior to reserving the elevator | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Disbursement Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $50 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease FeePer share · Recurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $30 per share per year | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $750 (Addl $250 if there is no broker) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $500 must be given to the resident manager prior to reserving the elevator | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When Upon approval | Amount $500 must be given to the resident manager prior to reserving the elevator | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublease FeePer share · Recurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $30 per share per year | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease Renewal Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $827 per room a monthMedian of 12 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $3.48 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $53,852/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $127,805/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $49 – $116
- Modeled exposure split equally across 92 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of sales price (payable by seller)
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; $30 per share per year sublease fee
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- Buyer application processing $850 (+$250 if no broker); credit check $150/applicant; recognition agreement $750; move-in/out deposits $500 each
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9, 2026 | 4I | 1 BR · 1 BA | $419,000 | -18.6% | |
| May 14, 2026 | 7B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $390,000 | -12.4% | |
| May 7, 2026 | 5D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 850 sf | $599,000 | $705/sf | +0.0% |
| Apr 8, 2026 | 2G | 1 BR · 1 BA · 550 sf | $380,000 | $691/sf | +1.3% |
| Mar 24, 2026 | 2HI | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,400 sf | $1,400,000 | $1,000/sf | -6.4% |
| Jan 14, 2026 | 2E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 700 sf | $510,000 | $729/sf | -7.3% |
| May 12, 2025 | 4F | 1 BR · 1 BA · 825 sf | $475,000 | $576/sf | -16.4% |
| Mar 14, 2025 | 10HI | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,400 sf | $1,540,000 | $1,100/sf | -5.2% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $743/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01431-0021). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at 241 East 76th Street, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 3 | $2,995 |
3 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2025. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 241 East 76th Street and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $493K (8 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,397 to close, or 2.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,397
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 241 East 76th Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 241 East 76th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The policy framework is the headline. Eighty percent financing, pied-à-terre use, co-purchase, parents buying, and open subletting with a per-share fee — per listing and brokerage records — make this one of the more flexible full-service co-ops in Lenox Hill. Investors and parent-purchasers screened out elsewhere should look here. Verify every policy in current form with the managing agent before offering.
The garage changes the math for drivers. On-site parking with board approval is scarce in this tier. If a space matters to you, confirm availability, current rates, and the waitlist before contract — not after.
Underwrite the income side. Commercial rent, garage, and laundry income reduce what maintenance alone must carry — but commercial income also carries vacancy risk. Have your attorney review the current financial statements against the historical ones on file with us.
Second Avenue is the trade. Corner-of-avenue living means retail at your base, traffic noise on avenue-facing lines, and the Q three blocks south. Spend time on the specific line's exposure at rush hour before deciding between avenue and side-street inventory.
Run the board math early. Permissive is not the same as pro-forma. The Co-op Board Qualification Calculator frames the package before you offer.
What to know if you’re selling
Market the stack, not just the unit. Sublet flexibility, 80 percent financing, the garage, and the roof deck reach buyer segments — investors, parents, pied-à-terre buyers — that generic Lenox Hill marketing misses. State the policies plainly in the listing.
Use dated, matched comparisons. The Q opened nearby in 2017, but that fact alone does not measure a price change. Compare relevant recent cooperative sales with adjustments for market date, layout, condition, service and costs; older sales and newer condominiums require those adjustments rather than an assumed direction of error.
Condition drives the spread. With 92 units of similar bones, renovated-versus-original is the pricing axis. Price estate units to the renovation math — the Renovation Cost Calculator makes the buyer conversation concrete.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 241 East 76th Street, also evaluate:
- 363 East 76th Street — the same street one avenue east; the closest like-for-like postwar comp
- 170 East 78th Street — postwar co-op two blocks north; the quieter side-street alternative
- 180 East 79th Street — larger postwar full-service co-op on the 79th Street crosstown spine
- 200 East 74th Street — postwar full-service co-op two blocks south
- 130 East 75th Street — the prewar co-op alternative toward Lexington
- 30 East 76th Street — the same street at Madison; the prestige step-up
- 240 East 79th Street — postwar co-op peer with a similar policy posture
- 255 East 77th Street — new-construction condo one block north; the new-product alternative at a different price point
More Upper East Side buildings
- 238 East 84th Street — 1962 co-op
- 240 East 79th Street — 1929 co-op
- The Eastmore (240 East 76th Street) — 1957 condop
- 243 East 77th Street — 1910 co-op
- 245 East 72nd Street — 1930 co-op by Emery Roth
- Astor Terrace (245 East 93rd Street) — 1985 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 241 East 76th Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com