30 East 10th Street
30 East 10th Street, New York, NY 10003
BBL 1005610009 · BIN 1009096
- Year built
- 1909
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 22
- Floors
- 12
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditions
- Doorman
- No doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,671
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 3.0%
- Recorded sales
- 19
- On record
- 2004–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 30 East 10th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The block of East 10th Street between University Place and Broadway is a boundary condition. One block west, the Greenwich Village Historic District begins and every façade is regulated. Here it does not. That single fact separates this building from its near neighbors in ways that show up in renovation timelines, in window replacement, and in what the building can do to its own street wall without asking permission.
What it holds is unusual for the Village: a twelve-story prewar building with two apartments to a floor and loft proportions inside them. Ceilings run to roughly eleven feet, spans are wide and largely column-free, and the plates carry north and south exposures rather than a single front. This is not the prewar apartment-house typology of Lower Fifth Avenue, with its foyers and maid's rooms and service stairs. It reads as commercial-loft construction adapted to residence, and the recorded share nomenclature — every apartment is simply an N or an S — is the tell.
The corporate history is legible in ACRIS. Title moved through a succession of holding corporations in the 1960s and early 1970s and came to rest with Littlepark House Corp. in October 1974. A proprietary lease appears in the record the following spring, and the first share transfers begin appearing shortly after. A J-51 benefit was initiated in 1978 against a certified alteration cost of roughly $225,000, which is consistent with a substantial capital program in that period rather than with new construction. The building has therefore operated as a cooperative for more than fifty years — long enough that a great deal of what a buyer needs to know now exists only in the corporation's own files. Review the current budget, audited statements, debt and any assessments.
The second structural fact is the retail. Roughly 5,500 square feet of ground-floor commercial space sits on the cooperative's tax lot, consolidated into a single store under a 2006 alteration. Commercial income of that scale, in a building of twenty-two apartments, is a meaningful component of the corporation's revenue and a meaningful influence on maintenance. Listing records also describe shareholders as holding membership in a limited liability company associated with the ground-floor retail space alongside their shares — a structure that would materially affect how that income is taxed and distributed. We have not been able to verify that structure against a governing document, and any buyer should have counsel confirm exactly how the commercial space is held before contract. It is the single most consequential open question at this address.
The third is the balance sheet as it appears from the outside. The underlying mortgage recorded in December 2019 is $1,450,000 with a $200,000 line — across twenty-two apartments, that is roughly $66,000 of underlying debt per unit. By the standards of Manhattan cooperatives that is very low leverage. It is also small enough that the corporation has limited borrowing capacity already drawn, which matters given what is happening to the façade.
Architecture and unit composition
The elevation is limestone-fronted over twelve stories, organized in the classical base-shaft-capital manner that governed loft and commercial building design in the first decade of the century. Bandcourses mark the transitions above the second, third and ninth floors. The window openings are deeply reveal-set, which gives the façade its depth and gives the apartments unusually thick sills. The crowning cornice visible in earlier photographs has been removed, a common outcome of mid-century cornice-removal campaigns and of the parapet work the building has undertaken since.
Inside, the plan is two apartments per floor across floors 2 through 12 — twenty-two apartments as originally configured. Ceiling heights of approximately eleven feet and wide, largely unobstructed floor plates mean these units renovate as lofts rather than as prewar apartments: open kitchens, flexible bedroom counts, and the room-count ambiguity that follows. Combinations have reduced the working inventory. The ninth and tenth floor north apartments now trade as a single duplex, and the top floor trades whole. That is why city records, Department of Buildings filings and listing records report unit counts anywhere from 20 to 22 for the same building; 22 is the original and correct configuration, and the discrepancies are combinations rather than errors.
Exposures are north and south. The building sits on the south side of East 10th Street, so the north apartments front the street and the south apartments look over the interior of the block toward East 9th Street. Neither exposure is view-protected by anything other than the existing built condition of the surrounding lots, and this block is not landmarked.
Building operations
The building runs lean. There is no doorman. The amenity set is a roof deck, bicycle storage, private storage and a keyed elevator that opens into the apartments — an arrangement that suits the two-per-floor plan and that buyers coming from full-service buildings should test in person, because it changes how packages, deliveries and contractors are handled.
The capital picture is active and is the most important operational fact at this address today. Department of Buildings records show a heavy-duty sidewalk shed installed in June 2023 and renewed in November 2024, a temporary shanty in January 2024, a façade repair filing in January 2024 covering masonry, pointing, lintels, sills, caulking and parapet work that was permitted in January 2025, and suspended scaffold filings in February 2024 and again in October 2025. That is a multi-year Local Law 11 cycle still in progress. It follows earlier parapet and masonry campaigns filed in 2012 and 2013 and a façade and roof program filed in 2007. Prewar limestone façades on unlandmarked lots are expensive to maintain and the record here shows a building that has been maintaining its own on a roughly decade-long rhythm.
Ask how the current cycle is funded and whether an assessment, maintenance increase or credit-line draw has been authorized. The reviewed records identify $1.45 million of underlying debt and a $200,000 line; obtain current balances, available credit, loan covenants and financial statements before judging borrowing capacity.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Cooperative. A purchaser buys shares in Littlepark House Corp. and takes a proprietary lease. Board approval is required and the board's decision is discretionary.
Everything else is unpublished. This building does not publish its financing ceiling, its post-closing liquidity requirement, its sublet policy, its flip tax, or its position on pied-à-terre, trust and LLC ownership. No offering plan, proprietary lease, set of house rules or audited financial statement for 30 East 10th Street is on file in The Roebling Research Library. We will not print numbers we cannot source. The buying section below lists what to request from the managing agent and why each item matters here specifically.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeeNon-Refunable | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Documentation Facilitation FeeConditionalConditions: If applicable | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $150 if lending bank requires funding approval at the closing | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Disbursement FeeConditionalConditions: If applicable | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount Amount not stated | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $700.00 for cash deals, $775.00 for financing per apartment | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $5,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $5,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1000 per day | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equal to one (1) month's common charges | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1000 per day | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out DepositConditionalConditions: If no damages | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $5,000 | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Move-In DepositConditionalConditions: If no damages | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $5,000 | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $700 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions1st Year Sublet Fee -25% of the Annual Maintenance. 2nd Year Sublet Fee -35% of the Annual Maintenance. 3rd Year Sublet Fee -45% of the Annual Maintenance.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedNo Aggressive BreedsSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditionsMachines must be electric and non ventingSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.27 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $13,754/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $52
- Modeled exposure split equally across 22 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
The building trades as a small-inventory Village co-op with loft interiors — twenty-two original apartments, a handful of which have been combined, in a market where floor plates of this size and ceiling height on a quiet Village block are genuinely scarce. Turnover is correspondingly thin: recorded share transfers have run at roughly one or two a year across the last two decades, so the same-building comparable set in any given year is very small.
Pricing is best analyzed by line and by floor rather than by building average. The north and south apartments are not equivalent products — street versus block-interior exposure, and different light — and the combined units at the top of the stack occupy a different tier entirely from the standard floor plates below. Renovation condition is the other principal variable; loft plates in original condition and loft plates fully rebuilt trade at materially different levels, and the building's low turnover means that condition-adjusted comparables often have to be drawn from neighboring buildings rather than from within.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 15, 2026 | 8S | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,650 sf | $3,150,000 | $1,909/sf | -3.1% |
| Sep 9, 2025 | 10N | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 3,200 sf | $5,850,000 | $1,828/sf | -10.0% |
| Jun 16, 2022 | PH | 3 BR · 2 BA · 3,700 sf | $8,750,000 | $2,365/sf | -14.6% |
| Dec 29, 2021 | 2N | 1 BR · 1 BA · 1,700 sf | $2,280,000 | $1,341/sf | +1.3% |
| Jun 28, 2019 | 8S | 3 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,650 sf | $2,750,000 | $1,667/sf | +0.0% |
| Jun 20, 2019 | 6S | 3 BR · 2 BA | $2,650,000 | -7.0% | |
| Aug 13, 2018 | PH | 3 BR · 2 BA · 3,700 sf | $6,900,000 | $1,865/sf | +0.0% |
| May 30, 2018 | 5N | 2 BR · 1,700 sf | $2,625,000 | $1,544/sf | +3.1% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,671/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00561-0009). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 30 East 10th Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 30 East 10th Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 30 East 10th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Get the policy stack in writing before you offer. None of it is published. Ask the managing agent, in writing, for: the maximum financing percentage; the post-closing liquidity requirement and how the board measures it; the debt-to-income ceiling; the flip tax and who pays it; the sublet policy, including any seasoning period, term limit and sublet fee; the board's stated position on pied-à-terre purchases, trust and LLC ownership, co-purchasing, guarantors and parental gifts; and the pet policy. In a building of twenty-two apartments these terms are set by a small board and are not always the same as what a neighboring building does.
Budget the board process realistically. A cooperative purchase here means a full board package — tax returns, statements, reference letters, a REBNY financial statement — and a board interview. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer, not after you are accepted, and assume the package-to-closing timeline is 60 to 90 days rather than a condominium's 30 to 45.
Resolve how the retail is held. Listing records describe shareholders as also holding an interest in a limited liability company connected with the ground-floor commercial space. That is not a standard cooperative structure. Have your attorney obtain the governing documents and confirm exactly what you are buying, how commercial income flows, and whether the corporation qualifies as a cooperative housing corporation under IRC section 216, which governs whether shareholders can deduct their share of mortgage interest and real estate taxes. The statute offers three alternative tests: at least 80 percent of gross income from tenant-stockholders, at least 80 percent of square footage in residential use, or at least 90 percent of expenditures made for the tenant-stockholders' benefit. Each shareholder's deduction remains subject to their own tax limits.
Read the façade file. There has been a sidewalk shed at this address since 2023 and permitted façade work since January 2025. Ask for the engineer's report, the scope, the contract price, the funding plan, and whether an assessment has been levied or is contemplated. Ask when the shed comes down.
Underwrite from the current bill. The J-51 benefit expired after tax year 1989, and the assessment roll shows no exemption on this lot. Check the current tax bill; taxes and maintenance can both change.
Test the exposure. North apartments front East 10th Street; south apartments face the block interior toward East 9th Street. They are different products in light, quiet and outlook, and the block is unlandmarked in every direction.
Expect the apartment to be a loft. Eleven-foot ceilings and wide open plates are the reason to buy here. They also mean fewer bedrooms per square foot than a prewar apartment house of the same size, higher heating and cooling loads, and sound transmission characteristics that reward walking the unit at night. There is no doorman.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the plate, not the address. The product here is a two-per-floor loft-proportioned apartment on a quiet Village block. Buyers comparing this to Fifth Avenue prewar co-ops are comparing the wrong thing; the right comparison is the Village and NoHo loft co-op inventory, where ceiling height, span and exposure drive price.
Have the building's numbers ready before the first showing. Because nothing is published, a serious buyer's attorney will ask for the financing ceiling, the flip tax, the sublet terms and the financial statements in week one. Sellers who have that packet assembled in advance close faster and give up less in negotiation than sellers who discover the terms alongside the buyer.
Address the shed directly. A sidewalk shed and an open façade program are visible from the sidewalk and will surface immediately. Presenting the scope, the funding plan and the completion timeline yourself is a much better outcome than letting a buyer's attorney find it and price in an unknown.
Turnover is thin, so pricing needs outside comparables. With one or two transfers a year, there may be no recent in-building sale that matches your line and condition. Expect to build the comparable set from neighboring Village and NoHo loft cooperatives and to defend it.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 30 East 10th Street, also evaluate:
- 38 East 10th Street — the same block, the same unlandmarked strip east of University Place; the closest direct alternative
- 15 East 10th Street (The Mayfield) — one block west, inside the Greenwich Village Historic District; the landmarked counterpart on the same street
- 41 University Place — cooperative on the same block front; comparable scale and boutique operation
- 63 University Place (The Albert) — the larger University Place cooperative alternative
- 47 East 9th Street — prewar cooperative one block south; different typology, same micro-market
- 832 Broadway — loft-plate cooperative on Broadway; the closest match on interior proportions
- 31 East 12th Street — small prewar cooperative two blocks north with comparable inventory scarcity
- 120 Fourth Avenue — loft cooperative east of Broadway; larger plates, similar buyer
- 20 East 9th Street (Brevoort East) — the full-service cooperative alternative nearby, for buyers weighing staff against space
More Greenwich Village buildings
- 25 Minetta Lane — 1939 co-op
- 28 East 10th Street (Devonshire House) — 1928 condominium by Emery Roth
- 29 West 10th Street — 1846 co-op
- 30 East 9th Street (The Lafayette) — 1955 co-op by H.I. Feldman
- 30 Fifth Avenue — 1923 co-op
- 30 West 13th Street — 1900 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Greenwich Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to Greenwich Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 30 East 10th Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com