30 East 21st Street
30 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010
BBL 1008490055 · BIN 1016220
- Year built
- 1897
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 13
- Floors
- 9
- Amenities
- Elevator and intercom. No doorman. This is a self-service loft building
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Ladies' Mile Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- No doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $1,164
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 2.7%
- Recorded sales
- 17
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 30 East 21st Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The blocks between Broadway and Park Avenue South in the low 20s were built out in the 1890s as the northern edge of Ladies' Mile — dry-goods stores below, manufacturing and showroom lofts above, in a dense run of masonry buildings that went up within a few years of each other. 30–32 East 21st Street is one of them: nine stories of brick in a neo-Renaissance idiom, designed by Ralph S. Townsend in 1897–1898 for John F. Scannell, a developer who built several speculative loft buildings in the district in the same years.
What makes it worth a buyer's attention now is not the facade but the arithmetic behind it. Thirteen residences occupy roughly 23,700 square feet of residential floor area. That is an average near 1,800 square feet, in full-floor and half-floor plates, in a building with a 50-foot street frontage and a 102-foot depth. Loft co-ops of this kind — small, quiet, structurally generous — are scarce in the Flatiron market, and zoning is part of the reason: the lot is zoned M1-5M, the listed residential FAR is zero, and the building's recorded floor area exceeds a simple comparison with the commercial FAR, which does not by itself establish its legal zoning floor area or what could be built here today.
The third fact, and the one most likely to surprise a buyer, is the ownership structure. This is not a single cooperative corporation. In April 1982 the building's owner conveyed it to two corporations at once — a residential cooperative and a separate commercial corporation — under a declaration recorded at the same time. Forty-plus years later, the commercial component still trades independently: the ground-floor commercial interest changed hands in January 2025 in an entity-to-entity transfer, and the commercial corporation carried its own bank financing in a 2021 recording. A buyer here is buying shares in the residential corporation, not in the building as a whole, and the relationship between the two corporations — cost sharing, roof and facade responsibility, voting, and the treatment of the commercial mortgage — is the single most important thing counsel should read.
Architecture and unit composition
Townsend's elevation is brick with neo-Renaissance detail, nine stories over a commercial base, on a 50-foot frontage. The building sits inside the Ladies' Mile Historic District, designated by the Landmarks Preservation Commission, and any exterior work — windows, storefront, facade repair, rooftop equipment visible from the street — requires an LPC permit in addition to a DOB one. That is a real constraint on alteration timelines and budgets, and it is also the reason the block's streetwall has survived intact.
Inside, the residences are lofts in the literal sense: large open plates with masonry bearing walls, high ceilings, deep floor plans and light concentrated at the front and rear rather than distributed. The recorded transfer history shows units lettered A and B on the lower floors, single-letter designations on several upper floors, and a penthouse at the top — a mix of half-floor and full-floor homes consistent with the 13-unit count over nine stories with commercial space at the base. Renovation work filed on individual units over the past fifteen years is consistent with conventional residential fit-outs rather than raw-space work.
Two features of the filing record are worth flagging because they bear on what a buyer is actually acquiring. Department of Buildings applications on this building carry inconsistent existing-occupancy codes — some filings show "RES," others show "COM," and dwelling-unit counts on filings range from seven to thirteen depending on the year and the applicant. And in November 2000 an alteration application to convert two commercial lofts in Use Group 6 into two Class A apartments in Use Group 2 was filed and disapproved. Neither of those is evidence of a problem, but together they mean the certificate of occupancy should be pulled and read before contract, and the specific residence's legal status confirmed against it.
Ownership structure
On April 15, 1982 the property was conveyed out of the prior ownership to 30 East 21st Street Owners Corporation (residential) and 30 East 21st Street Commercial Corporation (commercial), and a declaration establishing the arrangement was recorded by the outgoing owner. Both corporations appear together on the building's recorded financing: a 2013 mortgage consolidation with a commercial bank in the amount of $1,150,000 named both, and a 2021 consolidation in the amount of $1,300,000 named the commercial corporation.
Two practical consequences follow. First, the "underlying mortgage" question here does not have a single answer — a buyer should ask the managing agent specifically for the residential corporation's own debt, balance and maturity, not for a combined figure. Second, capital work on the shared building envelope is governed by whatever the 1982 declaration says, and in a nine-story landmarked masonry building with a recurring Local Law 11 obligation, that allocation matters. The Department of Buildings record shows facade repair filings in 2016 and sidewalk-shed and pipe-scaffold permits in 2016 — a normal cycle for a building of this age, and normal cost exposure.
The ground-floor commercial space has run as a restaurant use since at least 2003, when a change of occupancy from art gallery and offices to an eating and drinking establishment was filed and signed off. Buyers taking a lower-floor residence should ask about kitchen exhaust, delivery hours and vibration.
Loft Law, JLWQA and the legal path to residential use
This building's residential use was not created by a zoning change. The lot remains M1-5M — a manufacturing district in which residential conversion is contemplated under Article I, Chapter 5 of the Zoning Resolution rather than permitted as of right, and in which joint living-work quarters for artists (JLWQA) are permitted only by special permit of the City Planning Commission under Section 74-782.
On the evidence available in public records:
- No JLWQA certification for this building appears in the Department of Buildings filing record reviewed for this profile. The residences have been sold and financed as conventional cooperative apartments since 1982.
- No Interim Multiple Dwelling registration or Loft Board proceeding for 30–32 East 21st Street was located in the sources reviewed. The city's Loft Board maintains its IMD registry outside the open-data system; a buyer who wants certainty on this point should request written confirmation from the Loft Board directly.
- The affirmative evidence points to a plan-based conversion rather than a Loft Law legalization: the 1982 conveyance to the two corporations, the 1982 and 1983 J-51 conversion benefits taken against documented alteration cost, and the 1984 alteration recorded in PLUTO together describe a sponsor-led conversion completed on the ordinary track.
- No BSA variance for this lot surfaced in the records reviewed.
None of this is a substitute for the certificate of occupancy. The correct diligence sequence here is: pull the current CO, confirm the residential floors and unit count on its face, confirm the specific unit against it, and ask the managing agent in writing whether any unit in the building is subject to Loft Board jurisdiction.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Cooperative. Purchase requires a board package and an interview. Because this is a small building with a separate commercial corporation, expect the package to be reviewed by a board of shareholders rather than by an institutional committee, and expect the timeline to be governed by their availability.
Financing: 20 percent minimum down per listing records — permissive by cooperative standards, and typical of downtown loft buildings.
Post-closing liquidity: Not published. Small loft co-ops vary widely on this; ask the managing agent directly rather than assuming the downtown norm.
Subletting: Not documented in public records. In a 13-unit building the sublet policy is set by a very small board and can change with its composition. Get it in writing before contract if your plan depends on it.
Flip tax: Not documented in public records. Confirm with the managing agent before pricing a sale.
Pied-à-terre, trusts and LLC ownership: Not documented. The recorded transfer history shows both individual and trust ownership among the residential shareholders, which suggests trusts have been accepted at least on occasion, but that is an inference from recorded transfers and not a statement of policy. Ask.
Pets: Not documented in public records.
Real estate taxes: No abatement. All three J-51 benefits have expired, the last of them in tax year 2012. Underwrite the full tax line.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- See Amendment to By-Laws - 0.5% of gross sales price for shareholders owning their apartment prior to 12/19/2023, and 1.5% of gross sales price for shareholders owning their apartment after 12/19/2023
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400, $500 if financing | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $50 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $275 if financing | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Stock Sale Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $800 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Interview Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Moving Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Monthly Subletting FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 50% of the shareholder's monthly maintenance | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moving Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Recognition Agreement Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approval requiredSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedWith Board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $11,799/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $48,063/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $76 – $308
- Modeled exposure split equally across 13 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 4, 2025 | 3B | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,900 sf | $2,150,000 | $1,132/sf | -10.2% |
| Oct 7, 2022 | PH | 3 BR · 2 BA | $3,850,000 | -22.9% | |
| Jun 14, 2021 | 3A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,600 sf | $1,890,000 | $1,181/sf | -5.3% |
| Mar 4, 2020 | 7A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,600 sf | $1,898,000 | $1,186/sf | +0.0% |
| Apr 30, 2012 | 7A | 2 BR · 1,600 sf | $1,762,500 | $1,102/sf | -2.1% |
| Sep 2, 2011 | PH8A | 2 BR · 1,500 sf | $1,675,000 | $1,117/sf | -6.9% |
| Sep 8, 2010 | 3B | 2 BR · 2,000 sf | $1,650,000 | $825/sf | -2.7% |
| Nov 4, 2009 | 5B | 2 BR · 1,875 sf | $1,955,000 | $1,043/sf | -2.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,164/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00849-0055). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 30 East 21st Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 30 East 21st Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 30 East 21st Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Read the 1982 declaration before you read the financials. Two corporations share this building, and how costs, capital work, the roof, the facade and voting are allocated between them is set out there and nowhere else. Ask separately for the residential corporation's own debt, balance and maturity; the recorded financing names both corporations in one instrument and the commercial corporation alone in another, so a combined figure tells you nothing about your maintenance.
Pull the certificate of occupancy. DOB filings on this building carry inconsistent occupancy codes and dwelling-unit counts, and a 2000 application to convert two commercial lofts to Class A apartments was disapproved. Confirm the specific unit's legal residential status on the face of the CO.
Budget for landmark constraints. As a contributing building in the Ladies' Mile Historic District, windows, storefront and facade work require LPC approval — longer timelines and higher costs on both building-wide and unit-level exterior work.
No J-51 remains and there is no doorman. All three J-51 benefits expired, the last in 2012, and the roll shows no exemption; confirm on the current bill. And this is a self-service building — elevator and intercom, no staff at the door. Both belong in the monthly comparison against the doorman condominiums a block away.
Test the ground floor. A restaurant use has occupied the base since at least 2003. Visit a lower-floor residence in the evening.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the plate and the scarcity. Roughly 1,800 square feet of average residential area in a nine-story 1898 loft building on a landmarked block, in a zoning district where residential FAR is zero, is an argument no new building can make. Name the architect and the district precisely — Ralph S. Townsend, 1897–1898, contributing building in the Ladies' Mile Historic District, all of it verifiable from the Landmarks Preservation Commission's own records.
Get ahead of the two-corporation structure. Buyers' counsel will find it. Presenting the declaration and the residential corporation's own financials up front converts a diligence surprise into a non-issue.
Comparables are thin by design. With thirteen units and infrequent turnover, pricing has to be built from the loft market on the surrounding blocks rather than from the building's own history. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against condition before setting an asking price.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 30 East 21st Street, also evaluate:
- 33 East 22nd Street — loft cooperative one block north; the closest like-for-like in tenure, scale and vintage
- 21 East 22nd Street — 1911 industrial building converted to a cooperative in the 1980s; the nearest peer by conversion pattern
- 36 East 22nd Street (The Story House) — 1901 loft building converted to condominium; the condominium alternative on the next block
- 49 East 21st Street — 1913 prewar loft converted to condominium, on the same street
- 29 East 22nd Street — loft building on the same Broadway–Park Avenue South corridor
- 27 East 22nd Street (L'Elysee) — converted loft one block north
- 42 East 20th Street (The Bullmoose) — converted loft on the block immediately south
- 29 West 21st Street (Iron Lofts) — loft converted to residential and later to condominium; the west-of-Fifth alternative
- 32 West 20th Street — loft cooperative west of Fifth Avenue
- 21 West 20th Street — converted loft condominium in the same Ladies' Mile fabric
More Flatiron buildings
- 29 East 22nd Street — 1907 condop
- 29 West 15th Street — 1905 co-op
- 29 West 21st Street (Iron Lofts) — 1909 condominium by James E. Ware
- 30 West 15th Street — 1908 co-op
- 31 West 21st Street — 1907 condominium
- 32 West 20th Street — 1912 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Flatiron — read The Roebling Team Guide to Flatiron.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 30 East 21st Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com