- Year built
- 1961
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Dogs
- Not permitted
- Cats
- Not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditions
- Maximum financing
- 60% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2026
- $1.2M
- 17 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $875K – $2.7M
- Listing discount
- 4.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 130
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 35 Sutton Place would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
35 Sutton Place is a white-glove cooperative at the heart of one of Manhattan's most discreet residential enclaves. Built in 1961 as a full-service tower, it rises 21 stories along Sutton Place near the East River, delivering the combination Sutton buyers prize: a quiet, low-traffic address with river and 59th Street Bridge views, a deep service and amenity package, and the privacy of a small cooperative of just 128 homes.
The building's case is built on service and setting. It operates as a true white-glove co-op — 24-hour doorman and concierge, attended elevators, a live-in resident manager — with amenities that include a health club, an on-site garage, a secluded courtyard, and a roof deck framing the East River and the bridge. East-facing apartments look directly onto the water and the span of the 59th Street Bridge, the views that define the Sutton Place address. For buyers who want river-facing living in a calm, established enclave a short walk from Midtown's best, 35 Sutton Place is purpose-built for it.
Architecture and unit composition
This is a refined post-war cooperative: a 21-story brick tower built for full-service living, with the solid construction and practical layouts of the early 1960s. The 128 residences span studios through larger multi-bedroom homes, with the east-facing lines commanding the building's signature East River and 59th Street Bridge views. The building's smaller unit count gives it the feel of a private, low-density address — quieter and more personal than the larger towers of the period.
The amenity centerpiece is the roof deck, with its sweeping water and bridge outlook, complemented by a secluded ground-level courtyard that gives residents a rare pocket of green privacy in Midtown. Inside, the building's white-glove service is the throughline — attended elevators and a concierge are part of the everyday experience.
Building operations
35 Sutton Place runs as a full-service, white-glove cooperative. Staffing includes a 24-hour doorman and concierge, attended elevators, and a live-in resident manager, and the building maintains a health club, an on-site parking garage, private storage, a bike room, the courtyard, and the roof deck. Monthly maintenance reflects this depth of staffing and amenity, spread across 128 homes.
The building's policies are clear and established. Financing is capped at 60%. Dogs are not permitted. Pied-à-terre use and washer/dryer installation are considered on a case-by-case basis rather than as standing rights. As with any cooperative, purchases are subject to board review and an interview.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 2% of the contract sale price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
14 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Criminal Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Dog Registration FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 if a Board approved dog will be kept in the apartment | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Managing Agent's FeeConditionalRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $900 (If Seller is an Individual) $1,000 (If Seller is an Estate) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp TaxPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Parking for following month may be due at closing. Per House Rules, if relinquishing parking space, 60 days written notice to Account Executive is requiredConditional | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount To be determined | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Dog DepositConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1500 if a Board approved dog will be kept in the apartment. | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 60% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by case, board discretionSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Cats
- Not statedThe source permits pets without naming cats.Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditionsSome apartmentsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $630 per room a monthMedian of 20 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.91 per square foot a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, garden, garage, bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $74,981/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $49
- Modeled exposure split equally across 127 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of the contract sale price (Buyer, at closing)
- Sublet policy
- Not allowed
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 60%; Purchases in trusts not permitted; Managing Agent's Fee $900 (individual)/$1,000 (estate); Move-In/Out Deposits $2,000 each
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 | 3BC | 3 BR · 4 BA | $2,715,000 | +0.7% | |
| Aug 21, 2026 | 20A | 3 BR · 4 BA · 3,000 sf | $2,150,000 | $717/sf | -18.9% |
| Jun 22, 2026 | 10E | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $1,770,000 | +4.4% | |
| Jun 11, 2026 | 7B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,200,000 | -2.0% | |
| May 18, 2026 | 10F | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $1,350,000 | -3.6% | |
| Oct 29, 2025 | 11A | 3 BR · 4 BA | $1,600,000 | -5.6% | |
| Oct 29, 2025 | 18F | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,100,000 | $647/sf | +0.0% |
| Jun 23, 2025 | 10G | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $875,000 | -2.8% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $698/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 9, 2013 | 16A | $1,400,000 |
| Oct 15, 2003 | 5B | $525,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01372-0073). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 35 Sutton Place and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.27M (13 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 40% down would pay about $50,625 to close, or 4.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $12,750
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Building transfer fee (flip tax), 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer per building management's published schedule, as of September 2026: $25,500
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,375
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 60% financing limit. Confirm the current transfer fee with building management; the linked calculator does not include it.
Keep up with 35 Sutton Place and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 35 Sutton Place. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The river view is the asset. East-facing homes looking onto the East River and the 59th Street Bridge carry the building's value; interior and west-facing units are the entry points. At this address, exposure is the single most important variable — prioritize it.
Know the rules before you bid. Financing is capped at 60%, so plan your down payment accordingly; dogs are not permitted; and pied-à-terre use and in-unit laundry are case-by-case, not guaranteed. This is a financially conservative, owner-occupant white-glove co-op, and the board package and interview are part of the process.
The location is the quiet luxury of Sutton Place — a low-traffic, residential enclave by the river, a short walk from Fifth Avenue, the 59th Street Bridge, and Midtown's best dining and shopping, with the N, R, W, and 4, 5, 6 trains at 59th Street and the cross-town buses close by. It is among the most peaceful settings in central Manhattan, and that calm is precisely the point.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the views, the service, and the enclave. A white-glove Sutton Place co-op with a health club, a garage, a private courtyard, and an East River roof deck is a premium product — market east-facing homes on their water-and-bridge outlook and the building's full-service operation.
Set expectations on the rules. The 60% financing cap and the no-dog policy narrow the buyer pool to a specific, well-qualified owner-occupant; price and position to that buyer rather than fighting the building's profile.
Price to floor and exposure, with east-facing homes carrying the premium and interior units positioned as accessible entry points into a coveted address. Co-op resales clear through board approval, so a strong, well-documented package and a financially qualified buyer support that review. With durable demand for white-glove river-facing homes, well-presented apartments find their market.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 35 Sutton Place, also evaluate nearby Sutton Place and East River ownership options:
- 40 Sutton Place — the only condominium
- 16 Sutton Place — Sutton Place co-op near the river
- 45 Sutton Place South — white-glove Sutton South building
- 60 Sutton Place South — full-service river-facing co-op
- 25 Sutton Place South — a 1959 Sutton Place cooperative
- 1 Sutton Place South — 1927 Sutton Place cooperative by Rosario Candela with Cross & Cross
More Sutton Place buildings
- 25 Sutton Place South — 1959 co-op by Paul Resnick
- 30 Beekman Place — 1931 co-op by George F. Pelham
- 30 Sutton Place — 1928 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 36 Sutton Place South — 1949 co-op by Boak & Paris
- 40 Sutton Place — 1966 condominium
- 45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South) — 1958 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 35 Sutton Place?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com