16 Sutton Place
16 Sutton Place, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013690026 · BIN 1040544
- Year built
- 1960
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 54
- Floors
- 19
- Amenities
- Rooftop terrace, garden, central air conditioning; no fitness center, garage, or bike room per listing records
- Pets
- Not firmly documented in public records — verify with the managing agent
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2025
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2025
- $1.2M
- 7 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $1.1M – $2M
- Listing discount
- 5.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 56
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 16 Sutton Place would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Sutton Place proper — the two blocks of the avenue between East 57th and East 59th Streets — is one of Manhattan's smallest prestige addresses, and 16 Sutton Place is its principal post-war cooperative. The building went up in 1960 on the west side of the avenue, opposite the townhouse row on the street’s east side, which gives its east-facing apartments a low-rise outlook over the gardens and rooflines of some of the most storied small houses in the city, with light and river air beyond; the outlook varies by floor and is not protected without a recorded instrument. In a corridor where the marquee inventory is pre-war and fiercely board-gated, 16 Sutton Place is the address's accessible entry.
The building's paper trail is unusually good, because the original offering plan is on file in The Roebling Research Library. It settles facts the aggregator records get wrong: the building was completed and opened to tenants in July 1960 (not 1967, as brokerage records circulate); it stands 19 stories plus penthouse with 54 apartments, a superintendent's unit, and a separate servant's room; and the cooperative plan was first offered April 1, 1965 — early for the corridor — by The 20 Sutton Place Company, with Douglas L. Elliman & Co. as selling and managing agent. The same plan documents a detail about the sponsor: John M. Kokkins, a registered architect and builder, held 35 percent of the sponsoring partnership. The architect of record had his own money in the building.
The operating culture has preserved its 1960 service format to a degree few post-war houses can claim. The offering plan budgeted for a staff of twelve including elevator operators on both cars and a manually attended passenger elevator around the clock — and the building still runs an elevator-operator service today per listing records, alongside a full-time doorman, a garden, and a rooftop terrace. For buyers, that translates to an old-style attended building at a 54-unit scale, on a street where through traffic is minimal and the neighbors are townhouses.
Architecture and unit composition
The building is a fireproof red-brick slab with a limestone ground floor, sidewalk landscaping, and a discreet service entrance around the corner on East 58th Street — post-war construction executed conservatively for its street. The 54 apartments distribute across roughly five lines per floor, from one- and two-bedroom units through four-bedroom and combined configurations of 1,500 to 2,100+ square feet, topped by penthouse units. East-facing lines overlook the Sutton Place townhouse row toward the East River; western exposures face the midtown skyline. Combinations exist throughout the stack, and renovation grade — as in most buildings of this vintage — drives wide pricing dispersion between estate-condition and renovated units.
Building operations
This is a small full-service cooperative run on a traditional model: full-time doorman, attended passenger elevator, superintendent, garden, and rooftop terrace, managed by the institutional descendant of the firm the 1965 plan itself named as managing agent. There is no fitness center, garage, or bike room; buyers should weigh the attended-elevator service culture against amenity breadth. Cooking gas was bundled into maintenance at the offering, a carrying-cost detail worth confirming when comparing monthlies. The offering plan and audited financial statements are on file in The Roebling Research Library and available to clients during diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of gross consideration
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $50 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $888 per room a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.73 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, bike storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $8,328/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $12
- Modeled exposure split equally across 56 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of gross consideration
- Policies and fees
- Application Processing $300; Background $125/applicant; Closing Fee $800 ($850 without broker) + $0.05/share; Financing Fee $250
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 16, 2025 | 19B | 4 BR · 4 BA · 2,200 sf | $1,135,000 | $516/sf | -12.7% |
| Jun 12, 2025 | 11A | 4 BR · 4 BA | $1,600,000 | -5.6% | |
| Jun 3, 2025 | 14C | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,050,000 | -12.1% | |
| Feb 27, 2025 | 12C | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,290,000 | +0.0% | |
| Dec 13, 2024 | 3B | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,750 sf | $1,225,000 | $700/sf | -9.3% |
| Dec 21, 2023 | 13C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,500 sf | $1,165,000 | $777/sf | -16.5% |
| Dec 8, 2023 | 2A | 4 BR · 3 BA · 2,100 sf | $1,585,000 | $755/sf | -3.9% |
| Sep 8, 2023 | 18A | 3 BR · 4 BA | $1,600,000 | -4.5% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $420/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01369-0026). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 16 Sutton Place and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.23M (5 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 50% down would pay about $23,863 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $12,250
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,613
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 50% financing limit.
Keep up with 16 Sutton Place and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 16 Sutton Place. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The street is the asset. Sutton Place proper is two blocks long, lined with townhouses and a handful of co-ops, with cul-de-sac quiet and the river esplanade at its parks. Spend time on the block at different hours; the buyer who values this corridor tends to know it immediately.
Plan for 50 percent down. The documented maximum financing is 50 percent. Model your liquidity-after-closing accordingly — confirm the board's post-closing liquidity requirement and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.
The primary documents beat the listing copy. Public records circulate a wrong construction date and fuzzy unit counts for this building. We work from the offering plan on file; your attorney should work from the current financials, house rules, and proprietary lease, which will also settle the thinly documented pet, sublet, and pied-à-terre policies.
Underwrite the service model. The elevator operator and doorman are part of the service package. Review current staffing, payroll, taxes, debt and capital costs before ranking expense drivers; service titles and unit count alone do not establish a staff ratio or dominant budget line.
Transit is a walk. The 4/5/6/N/R/W at Lexington–59th and Lexington Avenue–53rd Street are each roughly half a mile; the latter has E and F service on weekdays approximately 6 a.m.–9:30 p.m. following the December 8, 2025 F/M swap. Check MTA schedules for other times. The corridor trades connectivity for quiet; price your commute honestly.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the format, not just the unit. Attended elevator, townhouse outlook, garden, roof terrace, two-block prestige street — this combination is nearly impossible to replicate at the building's price tier. The marketing should name it precisely rather than defaulting to neighborhood generalities.
Price to the corridor's value position. The buyer cross-shopping Sutton pre-war co-ops will read this building as the rational entry; the buyer cross-shopping generic Midtown East post-war stock will read it as a prestige upgrade at modest premium. Both narratives work — anchor to recent in-building trades, which we maintain unit by unit.
Disclose the fee stack early. The 2 percent seller-paid flip tax and per-share closing fee are material at this price point; build them into your net-proceeds math from day one with the Seller Closing Cost Calculator.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 16 Sutton Place, also evaluate:
- 1 Sutton Place South — 1927 river-front anchor by Rosario Candela with Cross & Cross; the corridor's pre-war pedigree benchmark
- 2 Sutton Place South — pre-war full-service co-op at the 57th Street gateway
- 40 Sutton Place — neighboring building north along the avenue; verify tenure and construction era
- 25 Sutton Place South — post-war full-service co-op with river orientation south of 57th
- 45 Sutton Place South — larger post-war co-op with garage and amenity depth; the convenience alternative
- 60 Sutton Place South — the corridor's big 1952 co-op on the river; more amenities, less intimacy
- 425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign) — the corridor's tower alternative with views and scale
- River House (435 East 52nd Street) — the East River corridor's trophy co-op; the aspirational step-up
More Sutton Place buildings
- 2 Sutton Place South — 1938 co-op by Emery Roth & Sons
- 12 Beekman Place — 1957 co-op by H.I. Feldman
- 14 Sutton Place South — 1929 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 20 Sutton Place South — 1953 co-op
- 25 Sutton Place — 1928 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 25 Sutton Place South — 1959 co-op by Paul Resnick
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 16 Sutton Place?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com