360 East 72nd Street
360 East 72nd Street, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1014460023 · BIN 1044862
- Year built
- 1963
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 34
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- None
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 360 East 72nd Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
360 East 72nd Street is one of the buildings that invented the post-war Upper East Side. Erected in 1963 as a 34-story rental occupying the entire First Avenue blockfront from 71st to 72nd Streets — designed, per architectural records, by Philip Birnbaum, the most prolific apartment-tower architect of the era — it was among the first of the East Side's residential supertowers, and its 1971 cooperative conversion (the conversion closing is documented to the day, May 27, 1971, in the audited financial statements on file) made it one of the neighborhood's earliest large-scale co-ops. With 436 apartments across three semi-independent wings, it operates at a scale closer to an institution than a typical co-op — and that scale is the source of its economics.
The building's defining capital decision came in 2007, when the cooperative proactively stripped its aging white glazed brick — a material with a documented citywide failure record — and reclad the entire facade in red brick, a project market records estimated at roughly $8 million. The recladding removed the white brick, but it does not establish the facade's current condition, which needs confirming from recent inspection reports. The building's subsequent audits record further capital spending — HVAC risers, LED conversion, elevators, a 2022 exterior-restoration contract.
The other structural advantage is income. The cooperative owns its commercial base — a JPMorgan Chase branch and a Morton Williams supermarket — and its garage, which together contributed well over $4 million in annual non-shareholder revenue at the most recent audit on file. Against roughly $8.5 million in maintenance revenue in that audit, the commercial and garage receipts are material. Their net contribution depends on associated expenses and lease terms, and does not by itself establish low current maintenance, which listing records say includes utilities. The trade-offs are documented too: a $30 million interest-only mortgage priced at 6.065 percent was scheduled to mature June 1, 2026; obtain the refinancing, extension or payoff outcome alongside current reserves and capital obligations. The supermarket relationship produced litigation in 2017 that the financial statements describe as tentatively settled; confirm its current status.
Architecture and unit composition
Birnbaum-era planning is the draw here: efficient, light-filled layouts with defined foyers, real closets, and windowed kitchens in many lines, distributed across three wings that give the building smaller-scale elevator communities within its 436 units. The mix runs from one-bedrooms through three-bedroom and convertible layouts, many already combined or converted (the building's listing history is full of 4.5-room units living as three-bedrooms). The setback tower form produces terraces on upper lines and open city, river, and skyline views from the higher floors. The 2007 recladding gave the exterior a more traditional red-brick character; inside, renovation quality varies line to line, and the post-war floor plates renovate easily.
Building operations
This is a fully staffed, income-supported co-op run at institutional scale: full-time doormen, concierge, valet services, an on-site management office per listing records, a renovated lobby, a 24/7 fitness center, an 18th-floor landscaped roof deck, a rear garden off the lobby, central laundry, bike room, and storage. The corporation's character shows in the details of its audits — it bought back the shares of an apartment at auction in 2019 and converted the unit into a children's playroom rather than reselling it. The offering plan, the 2018 by-laws, and recent audited financial statements are on file in The Roebling Research Library and available to clients during diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- None per brokerage records — verify at offer stage
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
23 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Administrative Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application FeeConditionalConditions: Only if not approved | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Background CheckPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing FeeConditionalConditions: Only if not approved | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Transfer FeeConditionalConditions: Only if the buyer is financing the purchase | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400 (payable to closing department) | Refundable Not stated |
| Administrative Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing FeeConditionalConditions: Only if not approved | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Cooperatives Closing and Service Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Not stated |
| First Month of maintenance bill | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount To be determined | Refundable Not stated |
| If Advance and additional preparation of documents need to be prepared for signature in advance of closingConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| If Purchase and/or Transfer of Ownership by Shareholder Involving a TrustConditionalConditions: Only if applicable | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New Stock and Lease | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Advance and additional documents need to be preparedConditionalConditions: Only if applicableFor signature in advance of the closing | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Affidavit of Lost Stock Certificate and Proprietary LeaseConditionalConditions: Only if applicableIncludes preparation of affidavit | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Cooperatives Closing and Service Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| For Extended closings that take over two hoursConditionalConditions: Only if applicable | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| If closing is adjuredConditionalConditions: Only if applicable | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| If Sales involves a TrustConditionalConditions: Only if applicable | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| If Sales involves an EstateConditionalConditions: Only if applicable | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Review of Power of AttorneyConditionalConditions: Only if applicable | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer Fee + $150Base Fee; Disbursements | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,200 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPets are allowed, except: Rottweiler, Pitbull, and Doberman PincherSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $496 per room a monthMedian of 38 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.87 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Valet
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, roof deck, garden, garage, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $18,632/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $575,075/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $3 – $104
- Modeled exposure split equally across 460 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Not Allowed
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 75%; corporate & diplomat purchase not allowed; minimum credit score 725; in-unit W/D not allowed
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 14, 2026 | C2205 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $895,000 | -5.7% | |
| Sep 2, 2026 | B803 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $670,000 | -7.6% | |
| Aug 27, 2026 | C3005 | 2 BR · 1 BA | $1,027,500 | -0.2% | |
| Aug 24, 2026 | B811 | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $775,000 | -4.9% | |
| Aug 19, 2026 | B610 | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,534 sf | $2,500,000 | $1,630/sf | +0.0% |
| Aug 12, 2026 | B709 | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,400 sf | $1,475,000 | $1,054/sf | +5.4% |
| Jul 8, 2026 | A306 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $935,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jun 24, 2026 | B405 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $910,000 | +4.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,194/sf (recorded) across 4 sales. Median listing discount 2.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 13, 2026 | A1410 | $1,684,000 |
| Jan 9, 2005 | C3203 | $915,000 |
| Jan 9, 2005 | A800 | $340,000 |
| Jan 9, 2005 | A311 | $1,200,000 |
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01446-0023). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 360 East 72nd Street and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $968K (26 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $12,178 to close, or 1.3% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,178
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 360 East 72nd Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 360 East 72nd Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Ask the mortgage question first. The $30 million interest-only first mortgage at 6.065 percent was scheduled to mature June 1, 2026. The refinancing terms can affect maintenance, so your attorney should confirm the outcome and read the most recent financials; we hold the audit history in the Research Library.
The commercial income is the building's quiet engine. Roughly $3.8 million in commercial rent plus garage revenue defrays shareholder carry. Understand the lease horizons — the supermarket lease runs to 2037 per the financials on file; the bank branch lease cycle should be confirmed at diligence — because that income is part of what you are buying.
Subletting is effectively off the table. Current brokerage records state subletting is not allowed. This is an owner-occupant building; investors should look elsewhere. Pieds-à-terre, co-purchases, and guarantors are accommodated per listing records.
75 percent financing and no flip tax keep transaction mechanics simple. That combination — generous financing, no transfer fee, utilities-inclusive maintenance — is unusual and buyer-friendly for the tier. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.
Check the assessment line. The lobby/fitness-center capital assessment documented in the financials runs through December 2025, and the board has historically run abatement-offset assessments. Confirm what is active on your specific unit's ledger before contract.
Wing matters. A, B, and C lines have separate elevator banks and somewhat distinct view and light profiles; the First Avenue exposure carries traffic energy, while upper-floor and west-facing lines buy quiet and open outlooks. Walk the specific line at different hours.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the operational record, not just the apartment. The 2007 recladding, the owned commercial base, the funded capital program, and utilities-inclusive maintenance are differentiators that survive attorney review. We provide the underlying documents from the Research Library to serious buyers' counsel.
Position against pre-war pricing. Your buyer may be cross-shopping pre-war Lenox Hill co-ops. Make the comparison on documented terms — 75 percent financing and pied-à-terre use permitted — and on true monthly cost, quantified with the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator.
Be ready for the mortgage conversation. Sophisticated buyers' attorneys will raise the 2026 maturity. Present the refinancing, extension or payoff documents early so buyers can assess the current debt; doing so does not establish a protected sale price.
Renovated units clear the spread. The gap between estate-condition and renovated pricing is wide in a building this large; same-line history is deep enough here to anchor pricing precisely, and we use it.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 360 East 72nd Street, also evaluate:
- Manhattan House (200 East 66th Street) — the landmarked benchmark of the post-war white-brick type; the prestige step-up
- 200 East 74th Street — post-war co-op two blocks north with a similar value profile
- 301 East 69th Street — white-brick Lenox Hill co-op; the closest like-for-like neighbor
- 233 East 69th Street — post-war co-op on a quieter side street
- 205 East 63rd Street — post-war co-op at the southern end of the corridor
- 175 East 62nd Street — post-war co-op alternative near the Treadwell Farm blocks
- 160 East 65th Street (The Phoenix) — the post-war tower alternative with condo-style views
- 350 East 72nd Street (The Chambord) — the 1986 condominium next door; the condo-mechanics alternative on the same block
More Upper East Side buildings
- Wellington Tower (350 East 82nd Street) — 1998 condominium
- The Fontaine (353 East 72nd Street) — 1975 co-op
- 359 East 68th Street — 1984 condominium
- 360 East 89th Street (Citizen360) — condominium by SHoP Architects
- Leighton House (360 East 88th Street) — 1990 condominium
- 363 East 76th Street (Sherman Towers) — 1963 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 360 East 72nd Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com