415 East 52nd Street (Sutton House)
415 East 52nd Street, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013640005 · BIN 1078257
- Year built
- 1956
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 287
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $732
- floor-adjusted, 6 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.1%
- Recorded sales
- 322
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Sutton House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
East 52nd Street past First Avenue is one of Manhattan's true cul-de-sacs — a quiet, river-ended block whose terminus is River House, the city's most storied co-op — and Sutton House is the block's post-war anchor. The complex is a piece of deliberate 1950s planning: three white-brick buildings — a 19-story tower on 53rd Street and two 12-story wings on 52nd — arranged around private interior gardens and a glass-walled lobby reached down a landscaped entrance court. Architectural records credit the design to John M. Kokkins and Stephen C. Lyras, who were also among the complex's original development syndicate; it was built as a luxury rental and converted to cooperative ownership in 1981 under an offering plan dated December 22, 1980, which — with its amendments and the proprietary lease — is on file in The Roebling Research Library.
The location logic is the same one that has organized this corridor since the 1920s: river adjacency without river-trophy pricing. Sutton House sits between the Sutton Place and Beekman Place enclaves, a block from the river esplanade, with the United Nations to the south and the 53rd Street garage giving drivers a direct on-off to the FDR — an underrated structural amenity in a corridor where parking is scarce. For more than five decades the complex also carried a piece of the city's dining history: Le Périgord, the French restaurant that opened in its First Avenue base in 1964 and served the neighborhood's diplomatic and old-guard clientele until 2017.
What we can document about the building's operations, we like. The board communications and audited financial statements on file show a co-op that raised maintenance meaningfully in 2018, then held 2020 to 2 percent; that built a dedicated contingency line into the budget specifically to protect capital reserves; and that pre-funded its Local Law 11 facade cycle from reserves rather than a shareholder assessment. That is the operating posture buyers should want from a 290-unit post-war house.
Architecture and unit composition
The complex's massing produces something post-war boxes rarely offer: most apartments face either the private interior gardens, the open river end of the block, or the Midtown skyline across low neighbors. The unit mix is broad — studios and one-bedrooms through two- and three-bedroom lines, plus combinations and penthouse units — with post-war proportions that combine well; multi-line combinations are an established pattern in the building per listing records. The white-brick envelope, glass lobby, and sunken entrance garden remain the complex's signature; the landscaped roof deck adds river and skyline outlooks on top of the tower.
Building operations
Full-service at scale: 24-hour doorman and concierge, live-in resident manager, fitness center, children's playroom, bike room, storage, central laundry, and the on-site garage. Management is institutional (the managing agent per the documents on file), and the operating record — maintenance history, budget structure, facade-program funding — is documented in board communications and audited financial statements in The Roebling Research Library. A holder of unsold shares still held a block of units as of the 2018 amendment on file; the current sponsor-related position is a standard diligence item for your attorney.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 60% of the Annual Maintenance or 2% Of Purchase Price, whichever is lower
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
12 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Not stated |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 Per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Maintenance ArrearsPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount To be determined | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Windows Air-Conditioner Deposit Fee - Held in EscrowPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $2,500 (Per window air-conditioner) | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
11 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $550 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount 10% of the monthly maintenance to be billed to the shareholders account monthly | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount 10% of the monthly maintenance to be billed to the shareholders account monthly | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance Fee:Paid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Transfer: trust
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $775 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Initial Review FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $510 fee Payable to Belkin Burden Goldman, LLP, | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Balance FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1650 Contribution fee Payable to Belkin Burden Goldman, LLP, | Refundable Non-refundable |
Transfer: add name
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $775 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsRestrictedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $588 per room a monthMedian of 39 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.08 per square foot a monthMedian of 20 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 60% of annual maintenance or 2% of purchase price, whichever is lower
- Sublet policy
- Allowed (Sublet Fee 10% of monthly maintenance, billed monthly)
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- Co-op sale: Application Fee $700, Financing Fee $300, Closing Fee $600, Move-In Fee $250 + $1,500 deposit; Window A/C escrow deposit $2,500/unit; Credit $150/applicant
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 8, 2026 | 2DA | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,400 sf | $1,200,000 | $857/sf | +0.4% |
| Aug 26, 2026 | 3CC | 1 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf | $630,000 | $700/sf | -9.4% |
| Aug 25, 2026 | 6MC | 1 BR · 1 BA | $670,000 | -2.2% | |
| Aug 25, 2026 | 10DC | 1 BR · 1 BA | $640,000 | -5.2% | |
| Aug 14, 2026 | 9AB | 1 BR · 1 BA · 1,000 sf | $725,000 | $725/sf | +3.7% |
| Aug 7, 2026 | 7HJ | 3 BR · 3 BA | $1,632,000 | +2.3% | |
| Jul 15, 2026 | 9AA | 2 BR · 1 BA · 1,000 sf | $690,000 | $690/sf | -1.4% |
| Jun 2, 2026 | 3EC | 1 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf | $700,000 | $778/sf | +0.1% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $732/sf (floor-adjusted) across 6 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01364-0005). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Sutton House and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $695K (28 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,156 to close, or 1.6% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,156
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Sutton House and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Sutton House. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The block is the quietest kind of Manhattan. A river-ended cul-de-sac with River House at its terminus, no through traffic, and the esplanade below. Buyers trading from Midtown's avenue corridors should walk the block twice — once at rush hour — to understand what they are buying.
Note the address geography. "Sutton House" sits between the Sutton Place and Beekman Place enclaves rather than on either — that placement is exactly why the pricing runs a tier below both. Do not confuse it with Southgate, the pre-war Emery Roth enclave across the street at 400–434 East 52nd; the two trade differently.
The policy stack is moderate, not loose. 75 percent financing, pied-à-terre flexibility, and pet-friendliness per listing records — but subletting is tightly seasoned and time-limited. Investors should look elsewhere; pied-à-terre buyers fit. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.
Underwrite the documented operating record. The 2018 maintenance reset, the contingency-fund discipline, and the reserve-funded facade program are all in the board communications on file with us. Your attorney should review the financials; the trajectory they show is of a board that corrected early rather than assessed late.
Drivers should price the garage in. An on-site garage with direct FDR access is rare inventory in this corridor and materially changes the carrying math against buildings that rely on outside parking. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator on the full stack.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the block and the gardens, not the category. "Post-war white-brick co-op" undersells the product. The cul-de-sac, the interior gardens, the glass lobby, the roof deck, and the FDR garage are the differentiated facts; lead with them.
Position against the enclaves on value. Your buyer is cross-shopping Sutton Place and Beekman Place pre-wars and the corridor's other post-wars. The argument is service parity and river adjacency at a discount per foot — make it with line-specific comparables, not building averages.
Expect diligence on the financials and meet it early. We provide serious buyers' counsel the audited statements and board communications from the Research Library up front; in a corridor where co-op financial quality varies widely, a documented operating record shortens negotiations.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 415 East 52nd Street, also evaluate:
- River House (435 East 52nd Street) — the cul-de-sac's legendary pre-war trophy co-op; the aspiration at the end of the block
- Southgate (400–434 East 52nd Street) — the Bing & Bing / Emery Roth pre-war co-op enclave directly across the street; the pre-war alternative at similar price points
- 2 Sutton Place South — Sutton Place cooperative; compare construction history, service and river outlook separately
- 25 Sutton Place South — full-service river co-op a few blocks north
- 45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South) — post-war river co-op peer
- 60 Sutton Place South — large post-war co-op with river frontage; the most direct scale comparable
- 1 Beekman Place — the Beekman enclave's anchor co-op; the white-glove pre-war contrast
- 425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign) — Emery Roth & Sons tower co-op; the corridor's post-war prestige tier
- 400 East 51st Street (The Grand Beekman) — the condo alternative one block west
- 430 East 58th Street (Sutton Tower) — new-development condo; the corridor's price ceiling
More Sutton Place buildings
- Southgate, 410 East 52nd Street — 1931 co-op by Emery Roth
- 411 East 57th Street — 1959 co-op by SLCE Architects
- The Southgate, 414 East 52nd Street — 1931 co-op by Emery Roth
- St. James Tower, 415 East 54th Street — 1983 condominium by Emery Roth & Sons
- 418 East 59th Street — 1988 condop
- 419 East 57th Street — 1927 co-op by George and Edward Blum
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Sutton House?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com