Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Condominium · 1924
The Griffon
77 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Buildings·Park Avenue·Condominium

77 Park Avenue (The Griffon)

77 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Murray Hill

BBL 1008940201 · BIN 1019166

CorridorPark Avenue
At a glance
Year built
1924
Type
Condominium
Units
106
Floors
14
Amenities
Landscaped roof deck with Empire State and Chrysler Building views, fitness center, central laundry, bike room, and private storage per brokerage records; no garage
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark
The Roebling Team's building profile
Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditions
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Maximum financing
90% of the purchase price
Doorman
Full-time doorman

The Griffon sales history: 141 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Griffon?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,226
floor-adjusted, 4 sales
Listing discount
4.2%
Recorded sales
141
On record
2003–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Griffon would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

77 Park Avenue is a structural rarity twice over: a pre-war condominium in a corridor dominated by pre-war cooperatives, and one of the earliest condominium conversions ever recorded in Manhattan. The declaration converting the building was recorded in the New York County Register's office in March 1973 as Condominium Plan No. 9 — a single-digit plan number, from the era when the condominium form was still a novelty in New York housing. The offering plan on file in The Roebling Research Library, first offered March 22, 1973 by the sponsor 77 Park, Inc., priced the entire 106-unit building at $5,574,239 — less than the cost of a single large apartment in the building's peer set today.

The building itself is a 1924 Georgian Revival apartment house by Margon & Glaser, red-brick and disciplined, with the early-1920s luxury program intact where owners have preserved it: high ceilings, hardwood floors, and wood-burning fireplaces in a number of residences. The market consequence is the same scarcity argument that powers the few pre-war condos uptown: buyers who want pre-war proportions and detail with condominium transfer mechanics and no co-op board interview have very few options on lower Park Avenue, and this is the principal one. One caveat is written into the building's DNA: as an early conversion, its governing documents carry a board right of first refusal on sales and a board-consent requirement for leasing, a more co-op-flavored framework than modern condos — investors should understand current administration of those provisions before underwriting rental flexibility.

The building's history carries one genuinely press-covered episode. In 1936, Special Prosecutor Thomas E. Dewey's vice investigation reached an apartment here, in a prosecution whose client ledger — reported to include a major-league baseball team owner and prominent executives — made citywide news; the historian James Trager, in Park Avenue: Street of Dreams, judged that the case probably inspired Harold Robbins' 1955 novel 79 Park Avenue. Ninety years on, the anecdote survives as Murray Hill texture rather than market fact, but it is the rare lower-Park-Avenue building with a footnote in both legal and pulp-fiction history.

Position does the rest of the work. The building sits four blocks from Grand Central, between the Morgan Library and the 42nd Street corridor, in the quiet residential register of Park Avenue south of the viaduct — the same per-square-foot discount to the uptown Gold Coast that defines the Murray Hill thesis, here with condo mechanics attached.

Architecture and unit composition

The building rises on the east Park Avenue blockfront between 38th and 39th Streets — 14 floors per city records (brokerage records cite 15–16; verify against the floor plans) — with roughly 106 residences running from studios through three-bedrooms. Layout quality is classic Margon & Glaser-era 1920s work: defined foyers, high ceilings, crown moldings and beamed ceilings in preserved units, and the wood-burning fireplaces that anchor the building's marketing in every cycle. Renovation quality varies widely across 106 units and five decades of condo ownership — from preserved-original interiors to full gut renovations with high-end kitchens — so unit-level condition, light, and fireplace presence drive the spread far more than floor count. Avenue-facing units carry the Park Avenue address premium; rear and side exposures trade quieter and lower.

Building operations

Full-service in the pre-war sense: doorman, concierge, and a service tradition that has included attended elevators since the rental era — the 1973 offering plan on file budgeted seventeen staff, including five elevator operators — supported today by a landscaped roof deck with Empire State and Chrysler Building views, a fitness center, central laundry, bike room, and storage per brokerage records. There is no garage. The offering plan and by-laws are on file in The Roebling Research Library; current financial statements, the staffing model, and the administration of the lease-consent and right-of-first-refusal provisions should be confirmed with the managing agent during diligence.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or GuarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Not stated
Labor and Elevator ChargePaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700 per dayRefundable Non-refundable
Processing and closing feePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $650Refundable Not stated
Transfer Agent Closing FeePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Labor and Elevator ChargePaid to the buildingPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $700 per dayRefundable Non-refundable
Processing FeePaid to the buildingPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $375Refundable Not stated
Transfer Agent Closing FeeConditionalConditions: If Orsid's attendance is requiredPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $1,000Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move in DepositConditionalConditions: If no damage. Please leave the check with the superintendent when the move in is scheduledPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $1,000Refundable Conditional; see terms
Move out DepositConditionalConditions: If no damage. Please leave the check with the superintendent when the move in is scheduledPaid to the buildingPaid by SellerWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $1,000Refundable Conditional; see terms

Rental or lease

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lease FeePaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to one (1) month common charges (either one or two years lease)Refundable Non-refundable
Move out FeePayable by existing residentPaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Non-refundable
Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or GuarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $650Refundable Not stated
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Move In FeePaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move out DepositConditionalConditions: If no damage. Please leave the check with the superintendent when the move in is scheduledPaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $1,000Refundable Conditional; see terms
Move in DepositConditionalConditions: If no damage. Please leave the check with the superintendent when the move in is scheduledPaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen At move-out and move-inAmount $1,000Refundable Conditional; see terms

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lease FeePaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to one (1) month common charges (either one or two years)Refundable Non-refundable
Sublease Renewal FeePaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Building FeePaid to the buildingPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount See alteration agreementRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Alteration Security DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount See alteration agreementRefundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
90% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$690 per room a monthMedian of 14 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$2.60 per square foot a monthMedian of 15 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$1.41 per square foot a monthMedian of 26 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$1.17 per square foot a monthMedian of 26 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, roof deck, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$54,215/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $43
Modeled exposure split equally across 106 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2025–30
Unsafe
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.

Inspection history
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Unsafe
2030–35
Due
Next window (projected)
by Feb 2032
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 8, 20262G
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 901 sf
$1,085,000$1,204/sf-8.4%
May 23, 202611E
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,850 sf
$2,588,000$1,399/sf-4.0%
Apr 8, 20263E
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,800 sf
$1,610,000$894/sf-2.4%
Jan 26, 20267C
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,000 sf
$1,220,000$1,220/sf-4.3%
Sep 26, 202510E
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,800 sf
$2,418,000$1,343/sf-3.1%
Sep 16, 20258G
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 800 sf
$1,210,000$1,513/sf-5.4%
Jun 23, 20258A
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,100 sf
$1,480,000$1,345/sf-4.2%
Jun 20, 20254C
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,000 sf
$1,250,000$1,250/sf-3.8%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,226/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2E · 1,653 sf+90%
$1,225,000 ($741/sf) 2003 → $1,995,000 ($1,207/sf) 2006 → $2,325,000 ($1,407/sf) 2017
6D · 1,400 sf+76%
$1,050,000 ($750/sf) 2010 → $1,850,000 ($1,321/sf) 2015
8A · 1,100 sf+52%
$975,000 ($975/sf) 2005 → $1,599,000 ($1,599/sf) 2017 → $1,480,000 ($1,345/sf) 2025
10E · 1,800 sf+50%
$1,610,000 ($974/sf) 2010 → $2,418,000 ($1,343/sf) 2025
12G · 850 sf+49%
$840,000 ($1,101/sf) 2005 → $1,250,000 ($1,471/sf) 2016
View all 141 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00894-0201; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at The Griffon, last 36 months

$73median rent per sq ft per year
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom4$5,475

5 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Griffon and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.27M (12 sales in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $55,817 to close, or 4.4% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $12,750
  • Mortgage recording tax: $18,408
  • Title insurance: $5,738
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $18,921

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Griffon and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Griffon. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The condo structure is the headline — with an early-condo asterisk. No board interview and condominium transfer mechanics, but the offering plan on file documents a board right of first refusal on sales and board consent for leasing — provisions closer to co-op practice than modern condo norms. Have your attorney confirm how the board currently administers both before you underwrite flexibility, especially for investor or pied-à-terre use.

Buy the unit, not the average. With 106 units across five decades of independent renovation, condition dispersion is wide. A preserved fireplace, a renovated kitchen, and an avenue exposure are each independently priced by this market; same-line history matters more than building-average $/sf.

The service model is the quiet differentiator. A doorman-concierge building with an attended-elevator tradition and a roof deck at Murray Hill pricing is a genuine scarcity. Weigh the payroll-driven common charges against amenity-building alternatives with the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator.

Verify the documents, not the folklore. The 1969 conversion date and 127-unit count that circulate in brokerage records are contradicted by the offering plan on file and city records (1973; 106 units). We provide the primary documents to your attorney — small discrepancies like these are exactly what diligence is for.

Price the corridor honestly. Grand Central proximity is the convenience and the caveat: weekday foot traffic on the avenue's commuter blocks is real. Spend time at the entrance at rush hour and on a weekend before deciding.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the structural scarcity. "Pre-war condominium, lower Park Avenue" is a three-word market thesis — there is almost no competing inventory that offers 1920s proportions, wood-burning fireplaces, and condo transfer mechanics in this corridor. Name it explicitly; your buyer's alternative is a co-op board.

Document the provenance. Margon & Glaser, 1924, Condominium Plan No. 9, the 1973 offering — the building's history is specific and verifiable, and we market it from the primary documents in the Research Library rather than listing-site boilerplate.

Condition and fireplaces drive the spread. Renovated units with working fireplaces and avenue light clear at meaningful premiums; original-condition interiors should be priced to the renovation math. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.

Mind the mansion-tax thresholds. The tax starts at $1 million and steps up at $2 million. Run the Mansion Tax Calculator at the intended ask and price around buyer psychology at the thresholds.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 77 Park Avenue, also evaluate:

  • 67 Park Avenue — the Schwartz & Gross pre-war co-op at the 38th Street corner of the same block; the like-for-like pre-war alternative with attended elevators and co-op mechanics
  • 50 Park Avenue — pre-war co-op at East 37th Street; the corridor's other classic pre-war full-service house
  • 20 East 35th Street (Goodhue House) — the neighborhood's pre-war condop benchmark off Madison
  • 160 East 38th Street (Murray Hill Mews) — the post-war full-service alternative on the same street
  • 10 Park Avenue — the corridor's larger pre-war co-op anchor near 34th Street
  • 80 Park Avenue — post-war building at 39th Street; the modern-layout alternative directly north
  • 35 Park Avenue — post-war full-service co-op two blocks south
  • The Morgan Library blocks of the Murray Hill Historic District — the townhouse-scale alternative for buyers trading service for charm

More Park Avenue buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Griffon?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com