823 Park Avenue (The Parkville)
823 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1014107504 · BIN 1043138
- Year built
- 1911
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 11
- Floors
- 13
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2007–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $2,961
- 2 sales
- Listing discount
- 2.9%
- Recorded sales
- 23
- On record
- 2007–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Parkville would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
823 Park Avenue is the rarest thing on the Park Avenue corridor: a prewar condominium. The avenue is a cooperative street almost without exception between 59th and 96th Streets, and the handful of condominiums on it are either postwar towers or new construction. 823 is neither. It is a 1911 Pickering & Walker apartment house that spent sixty years as a rental, survived three separate conversion attempts, and finally came to market in 2007 as eleven deeded condominium homes — a full-floor prewar Park Avenue apartment with no co-op board admission and owner leasing permitted, though pied-à-terre use is not; confirm financing and LLC or trust ownership rules in the current declaration and bylaws.
The architectural pedigree is the same as its neighbor's. Pickering & Walker built 829 Park Avenue — The Raleigh — at the East 76th Street end of the same blockfront, completing it in 1911, and built 823 immediately after; the two elevations are recognizably siblings: buff brick, a projecting center pier of windows framed by pilasters, a heavy bracketed bandcourse above the tenth floor. The firm belongs to the generation immediately before Candela, Carpenter and Cross & Cross, and its Park Avenue commissions are correspondingly scarce. 823 is the second of the two.
The building's twentieth century is the reason it ended up a condominium. It opened with twenty-three large apartments and, per historical newspaper reporting, was reported to house a substantial share of Social Register tenants by 1930. In 1940 the shareholders surrendered the building to its principal lender, and the bank's architects cut the twenty-three apartments down into thirty-eight small ones, adding push-button elevators, kitchenettes and glass-block partitions in the process. What had been a first-tier Park Avenue apartment house became a rental building of small units, and it stayed one for six decades.
The tenants defeated a conversion plan in the 1970s and a second in the 1980s that would have built a new structure on top of the existing one. In the early 1990s, after a developer lost the property for non-payment of taxes, the tenants ran the building themselves; it was sold at a city auction in 1994. The final resolution came in 2004, when — per historical newspaper reporting — a regulatory proceeding that had consumed more than 170 hearing dates ended with the remaining tenants taking buyouts. The building was sold that year to Property Market Group for a figure reported in the tens of millions, gutted under an Alteration Type 1 filed in December 2004, and reassembled by Barry Rice Architects into eleven apartments. The condominium declaration was recorded in September 2007; the first closings followed in December of that year.
What the reconstruction produced is the building's commercial argument today. Because the 1940s subdivision had already destroyed the original plans, the conversion was free to rebuild the plate from scratch — and it rebuilt it large. Nine or ten of the eleven homes are full-floor apartments of roughly 4,100 square feet with ten-foot ceilings and multiple fireplaces; below them is a maisonette with a terrace entered from the lobby, and above them a duplex penthouse. That is a Park Avenue apartment of genuinely prewar proportion, delivered with 2007 mechanical systems and condominium rules.
Architecture and unit composition
The lot runs 60 feet on Park Avenue and 100 feet deep, with a building footprint of roughly 50 by 78 feet — a small footprint by the standards of the avenue, which is what makes a single apartment per floor possible across thirteen stories. The elevation is buff brick above a limestone base, organized around a projecting central bay of three windows flanked by decorative pilasters, with two windows to either side. The entrance is a one-step-up, canopied opening set between fluted columns beneath a Classical entablature. Above the tenth floor a heavy bandcourse on large brackets carries a thin two-stringcourse cornice. The rooftop water tank remains exposed.
The rear of the building is where the conversion is legible. The Commission's refusal of a rooftop addition and its approval of a rear extension shaped the plan: the added depth went into the back of each floor rather than into a new top story, which is why the full-floor apartments run deep for a 78-foot building and why the building's height is unchanged from 1911.
Inside, the maisonette is a three-bedroom home entered three steps up from the lobby through a gallery, with a long living room with fireplace, a library with bar, a separate dining room adjoining a windowed eat-in kitchen, and a terrace. The full-floor apartments vary by floor; the eighth, as one example documented in listing records, carries five bedrooms, a living room and library each with a fireplace, a windowed dining room and a windowed eat-in kitchen. The duplex penthouse sits at the top. With eleven homes and almost every one a full floor, there is no line-by-line comparison to be made here — each floor is effectively its own product.
Building operations
The building runs as a small full-service condominium: attended lobby with doorman coverage, a live-in resident manager, a fitness center and wine storage. That is a modest amenity program by new-development standards and an appropriate one for eleven households; evaluate the envelope, staffing, amenities and other systems against the actual operating budget and current capital plan.
Façade is the live issue. DOB records show masonry work filed in late 2023, followed by pipe scaffold and sidewalk shed applications in early 2024 with permits renewed into 2026, on top of a prior cycle in 2016–2017. A 1911 masonry building on Park Avenue will carry a recurring Local Law 11 obligation indefinitely, and in a building of eleven units the per-apartment share of a full façade program is large. Any buyer should ask for the engineer's report, the scope and budget of the current work, the reserve position, and whether an assessment is in place or contemplated. The same eleven-unit denominator applies to mechanical replacement, elevator modernization and energy-compliance work.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Condominium — the operative fact for this building. Purchases run through a board right of first refusal rather than a cooperative approval. Pied-à-terre use is not permitted; confirm leasing and ownership-entity rules in the declaration, bylaws and house rules.
Pied-à-terre, leasing and entity ownership: Management’s page dated September 21, 2026 lists pied-à-terre use as not allowed, leasing as allowed and corporate purchase/lease as not allowed. It separately lists secondary-residence use as allowed; ask management to explain that distinction and confirm the specific proposed use and ownership structure in writing.
Financing: Not documented; confirm in the declaration, bylaws and house rules.
Pets and house rules: Not documented in public records. Request the house rules with the current budget.
Real estate taxes: No J-51, 421-a or other exemption appears on the lot. Individual unit lots may carry the standard cooperative/condominium abatement where the owner qualifies; that benefit is primary-residence based and is lost on a pied-à-terre or entity-held apartment. Model the specific unit's current bill.
Flip tax: Not documented in public records. Confirm any resale capital contribution with the managing agent.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 (if broker involved), or $750 (if no broker involved) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant (LLC required to submit fee for business credit check - if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Services Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Document Preparation Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Lease FeeRecurring | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $700 (if broker involved), or $750 (if no broker involved) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant (LLC required to submit fee for business credit check - if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Lease FeeRecurring | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lease Renewal Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $44,670/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $338
- Modeled exposure split equally across 11 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
823 Park combines prewar Park Avenue architecture and condominium tenure; matched sales are needed to establish any premium and its causes. The relevant comparison is not to the surrounding cooperatives, which require board approval and set their own financing, sublet and pied-à-terre rules, but to the small set of Park Avenue and upper Madison condominiums. Confirm trust, LLC and foreign-purchaser rules here in the current declaration and bylaws.
Two structural features shape the record. First, with eleven apartments and most of them full-floor, resale volume is inherently thin; the building can go a year or more without a trade, and a single transaction can appear to reset the level when it has mostly reset the floor. Second, the absence of any tax exemption means the carrying number is the full number from day one, which cuts differently against abated new construction than against the co-ops next door.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 18, 2025 | PH | 5 BR · 5.5 BA · 7,200 sf | $24,200,000 | $3,361/sf | -10.2% |
| Apr 23, 2025 | 7 | 5 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,200 sf | $10,750,000 | $2,560/sf | -10.4% |
| Apr 19, 2023 | 10 | 5 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,184 sf | $13,500,000 | $3,227/sf | -6.9% |
| Dec 8, 2020 | 6 | 5 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,184 sf | $9,775,000 | $2,336/sf | -1.8% |
| May 31, 2017 | 9 | 4 BR · 4,184 sf | $7,650,000 | $1,828/sf | -23.5% |
| Jun 5, 2015 | 4 | 5 BR · 4,184 sf | $13,350,000 | $3,191/sf | -2.9% |
| Jan 7, 2013 | 8 | 5 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,184 sf | $12,900,000 | $3,083/sf | -14.0% |
| Sep 27, 2012 | 10 | 5 BR · 4.5 BA · 4,184 sf | $13,000,000 | $3,107/sf | — |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $2,961/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. Median listing discount 2.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01410-7504; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Parkville and nearby.
Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with The Parkville and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Parkville. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
You are buying the tenure as much as the apartment. A deeded full-floor prewar condominium home on Park Avenue where leasing is permitted is scarce on this corridor; pied-à-terre use is not permitted, and entity-ownership rules should be confirmed in the declaration and bylaws. Price it against that scarcity, not against the co-op comparables on the same block.
Underwrite the façade. There is an active masonry program with permits renewed into 2026, on top of a prior cycle. In an eleven-unit building the per-apartment exposure is real. Get the engineer's report, the reserve position, and confirmation on assessments.
Confirm the unit count before running any model. DOB filings for this building carry both 11 and 12 dwelling units in different years. The recorded declaration created eleven. Automated valuation output built on the wrong denominator will be wrong.
Landmark constraints are live. The building is inside the Upper East Side Historic District, and exterior alterations such as window, terrace-railing and rear-yard changes generally require LPC approval; some maintenance is exempt and qualifying work can receive staff approval. The Commission has already refused a rooftop addition here.
Check abatement eligibility on the specific unit. The building has no exemption. The unit-level cooperative/condominium abatement, where it applies, is primary-residence based and disappears on an LLC purchase or a pied-à-terre.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with condominium tenure on a cooperative avenue. Deeded ownership with leasing permitted is the argument to make; pied-à-terre use is not permitted, and entity-ownership rules should be confirmed in the declaration and bylaws before marketing them.
Pair it with the Pickering & Walker attribution and the 829 Park relationship. The architectural provenance is real and documentable, and it separates 823 from postwar condominium alternatives.
Get ahead of the façade work. Scaffolding on the elevation depresses showings and invites discount. Present the scope, the budget, the reserve and the completion schedule as part of the offering rather than as a diligence discovery.
Expect a thin same-building comparable set. With eleven homes, pricing has to be built from floor-specific analysis and from the wider prewar-condominium set, not from a building average.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 823 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 829 Park Avenue — The Raleigh, the Pickering & Walker sibling on the same block, a year earlier and in cooperative tenure; the closest architectural comparison available
- 830 Park Avenue — prewar Park Avenue cooperative directly across the avenue; the tenure counterpoint
- 840 Park Avenue — prewar Park Avenue cooperative one block north; small-building co-op economics
- 900 Park Avenue — Park Avenue condominium; the postwar condominium alternative on the same corridor
- 985 Park Avenue — Park Avenue condominium in the upper corridor; comparable tenure, different vintage
- 1010 Park Avenue — new-construction Park Avenue condominium; the modern alternative for a buyer who needs deeded tenure
- 820 Park Avenue — prewar cooperative directly opposite; the immediate block comparison
- 815 Park Avenue — prewar Park Avenue cooperative one block south
- 1009 Madison Avenue — boutique Upper East Side condominium; the deeded-tenure alternative off the avenue
- 135 East 79th Street — new-construction Upper East Side condominium with large full-floor plates; the contemporary alternative at similar scale
More Park Avenue buildings
- 812 Park Avenue — 1927 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 815 Park Avenue — 1916 co-op by Lafayette A. Goldstone
- 820 Park Avenue — 1926 co-op
- 829 Park Avenue — 1910 co-op by Pickering & Walker
- 830 Park Avenue — 1910 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 840 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Parkville?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com