
941 Park Avenue
941 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10028
BBL 1015100001 · BIN 1047549
- Year built
- 1928
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- About 36
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Avenue Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 4BR+ median, 2023
- $11.2M
- 2 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $10.3M – $12.1M
- Listing discount
- 5.3%
- Recorded transfers
- 38
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 941 Park Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
941 Park Avenue is a prewar cooperative with duplex layouts described in the profile. Completed in 1928 to designs by Schwartz & Gross, it occupies the blockfront between 81st and 82nd Streets at the Lenox Hill / Carnegie Hill seam.
What sets 941 apart is its unit composition. The profile describes twelve- and thirteen-room duplexes in a building with about 36 apartments and sixteen stories. Dividing gross building area by the apartment count yields roughly 4,400 square feet per apartment, but that calculation includes non-apartment space and does not establish interior area. Confirm each apartment’s measured dimensions, ceiling heights, window sizes and surviving moldings.
Schwartz & Gross’s authorship connects 941 to the firm’s Park Avenue and Carnegie Hill portfolio. For buyers seeking a grand pre-war Park Avenue apartment in a small, intimate, white-glove building, 941 occupies a rarefied niche.
Architecture and unit composition
The building's defining feature is its grand duplex format. Most apartments are expansive twelve- and thirteen-room layouts spanning two floors, with the gracious entry galleries, sweeping stair connections, formal entertaining rooms, and separated service wings that characterize first-tier Park Avenue pre-war design. Ceiling heights are generous, windows are oversized, and original architectural detail — moldings, plasterwork, period fixtures — survives in varying degrees depending on each apartment's renovation history.
Roughly 36 apartments across sixteen floors is a building-wide ratio; it does not establish a comparative density ranking, privacy or apartment size. A small number of simplex apartments sit alongside the duplexes, but the duplex is the building's signature.
Building operations
941 Park operates as a full-service, white-glove pre-war Park Avenue cooperative. The staff includes a full-time doorman and an attentive building team, and the building offers a fitness room, a children's playroom, and private storage. Compare the actual services and facilities with the specific alternatives under consideration.
On house rules, pets are permitted. A 2% flip tax is paid by the seller on resale. Financing is capped: the building permits a maximum of $4 million in financing or 30% of the purchase price, whichever is less. Confirm current liquidity, occupancy and subletting requirements from the governing documents and application instructions.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of Purchase Price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $1,041 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $75,345/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $170
- Modeled exposure split equally across 37 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of purchase price
- Sublet policy
- Not allowed
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 12, 2023 | 7 | 5 BR · 5.5 BA | $12,113,500 | -6.8% | |
| Nov 30, 2023 | PHC | 4 BR · 4.5 BA | $9,625,000 | -3.3% | |
| Oct 19, 2023 | 5 | 5 BR · 6.5 BA · 4,600 sf | $10,300,000 | $2,239/sf | -1.9% |
| Aug 3, 2022 | 6 | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $7,500,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jun 7, 2022 | 5C | 4 BR · 4 BA | $10,100,000 | +1.0% | |
| Feb 7, 2022 | 4 | 5 BR · 4.5 BA | $9,600,000 | -18.3% | |
| Nov 30, 2020 | 2 | 5 BR · 4 BA · 5,000 sf | $6,575,000 | $1,315/sf | -5.4% |
| Jun 11, 2019 | 14 | 4 BR · 4.5 BA | $11,176,470 | -13.4% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2023): a median $2,239/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 5.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01510-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 941 Park Avenue and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 941 Park Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 941 Park Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Evaluate the actual duplex plan. The profile describes twelve- and thirteen-room, two-floor layouts, along with a fitness room and playroom. Verify the apartment’s room count, dimensions and permitted layout, and compare the current amenities directly with specific alternatives.
Describe the Schwartz & Gross design. Identify surviving architectural features and their condition; authorship alone does not assure future value.
Underwrite to the financing cap. With a maximum of $4 million or 30% financing, whichever is less, buyers should expect to bring substantial equity; confirm the board's current liquidity and occupancy requirements from its application instructions.
Budget the flip tax. The 2% seller-paid flip tax should be modeled into any resale analysis from the outset.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the duplex grandeur and Schwartz & Gross authorship. The 1928 vintage, the firm's pedigree, the palatial two-floor layouts, and the white-glove amenity set are the headline marketing assets.
Pricing requires apartment-level comparable analysis. With so few, so large apartments, floor, exposure, layout, and renovation history drive value far more than any building average.
Closing timelines are co-op standard. Plan for roughly 6–10 weeks from contract to closing, subject to board package and approval pacing; the 2% flip tax reduces net proceeds.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 941 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 940 Park Avenue — Blum brothers pre-war co-op directly across the avenue
- 935 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue co-op nearby
- 950 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue peer nearby
- 925 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue co-op nearby
- 911 Park Avenue — pre-war Lenox Hill Park Avenue peer
More Park Avenue buildings
- 930 Park Avenue — 1916 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 935 Park Avenue — 1923 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 940 Park Avenue — 1925 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 950 Park Avenue — 1921 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 951 Park Avenue — 1915 co-op by Robert T. Lyons
- 960 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 941 Park Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com