140 Charles Street (The Memphis Downtown)
140 Charles Street, New York, NY 10014
BBL 1006317502 · BIN 1011761
- Year built
- 1985
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 73
- Floors
- 21
- Landmark status
- Requires confirmation
- City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $2,438
- floor-adjusted, 3 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.9%
- Recorded sales
- 81
- On record
- 2003–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Memphis Downtown would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Memphis Downtown at 140 Charles Street is one of the tallest postwar buildings in the West Village — and the only NYC residential building consciously inspired by the Italian Memphis Group (Ettore Sottsass) postmodern design movement.
Nothing else in residential New York shares its Memphis Group-inspired postmodern architectural pedigree — the only building in the city to draw consciously on that design movement. The provenance arrives at unusual scale: a 21-story height that ranks among the tallest in the West Village. Within that tower, a 4-residences-per-floor configuration gives each level its own distinct layout.
Architecture and building operations
Rothzeid, Kaiserman, Thomson & Bee's 1985 design produced a 21-story postmodern condominium consciously inspired by the Italian Memphis Group movement led by Ettore Sottsass. Four residences per floor distribute across the building's floors.
Operations: 24-hour doorman; concierge; fitness center; private storage; landscaped roof terrace.
Policy framework — verify via The Roebling Research Library
- Type: Condominium
- Pets: Permitted under condominium framework
- Pied-à-terre: Permitted
- Subletting: Permitted under condominium procedures
- Financing: Standard condominium LTV
- LLC/trust/foreign buyers: All permitted
- Right of first refusal: Procedural only
Specific policy framework should be verified against the Roebling Research Library's offering plan and house rules at engagement.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $120 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Document Processing Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electric EscrowElectric charges for this building are back-billed. Any monies will be returned after our office has received final bill | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
Rental or lease
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $120 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Alteration
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Processing Fee | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security Deposit | Paid by Resident | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $917 per room a monthMedian of 8 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $3.70 per square foot a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $1.85 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.87 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $6,258/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $68,808/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $7 – $79
- Modeled exposure split equally across 73 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 25, 2025 | 6C | 1 BR · 1 BA · 783 sf | $1,600,000 | $2,043/sf | +7.0% |
| Sep 30, 2025 | 2ET | 2 BR · 696 sf | $3,250,000 | $4,670/sf | off-mkt |
| Sep 17, 2025 | 7A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,115 sf | $2,625,000 | $2,354/sf | +5.2% |
| Sep 5, 2024 | 3A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,115 sf | $2,125,000 | $1,906/sf | -6.6% |
| Jun 10, 2024 | 14A | 1 BR · 1 BA · 648 sf | $1,550,000 | $2,392/sf | -2.8% |
| May 13, 2024 | 4D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 718 sf | $1,350,000 | $1,880/sf | -18.2% |
| Apr 25, 2024 | 8E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 708 sf | $1,300,000 | $1,836/sf | +30.7% |
| Mar 6, 2024 | 16C | 1 BR · 1 BA · 783 sf | $1,550,000 | $1,980/sf | -11.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $2,438/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00631-7502). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Memphis Downtown, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 2 | $5,075 |
| 1 bedroom | 10 | $7,072 |
| 2 bedroom | 2 | $13,750 |
14 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease July 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Memphis Downtown and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $3.25M (4 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $137,547 to close, or 4.2% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $48,750
- Mortgage recording tax: $46,922
- Title insurance: $14,625
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $27,250
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Memphis Downtown and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Memphis Downtown. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Italian Memphis Group inspiration is structurally unique on Manhattan residential.
The 21-story height is among the tallest in the West Village.
The 4-residences-per-floor configuration supports unit-line evaluation precision.
The Greenwich Village Historic District Extension applies.
Comparable buildings
- 150 Charles Street — CookFox / Witkoff 2015; immediate Charles Street trophy peer
- 165 Charles Street — Meier 2006; immediate Charles Street trophy peer
- 173 & 176 Perry Street — Meier 2002; nearby West Village trophy peer
- Superior Ink (400 W 12th) — Stern 2009; nearby West Village trophy peer
- 99 Jane Street — Fox & Fowle 1997; nearby Far West Village peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More West Village buildings
- 136 West 13th Street — 1842 co-op
- 140 West 10th Street — 1887 co-op
- 139 West 13th Street — 1845 co-op
- 140 Jane Street — condominium by BKSK Architects
- The Greenwich Lane, 140 W 12th — 2015 condominium by FXCollaborative (Fox & Fowle / FXFOWLE)
- 141–145 West 13th Street (Village Mews) — co-op by Stephen B. Jacobs Group
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to West Village.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Memphis Downtown?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com