166 East 96th Street (The Abbey)
166 East 96th Street, New York, NY 10128
Carnegie Hill, Upper East Side
BBL 1015240044 · BIN 1048493
- Year built
- 1928
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 65
- Floors
- 16
- Amenities
- Caged storage, central laundry room, common garden, bike room; no garage, no roof deck, no balconies, no fitness room
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- Requires confirmation
- Flip tax
- 2.5% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Requires confirmation
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2025
- $995K
- 7 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $595K – $1.1M
- Listing discount
- 0.9%
- Recorded transfers
- 76
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Abbey would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Abbey sits on the south side of 96th Street near several transit connections: the 6 train half a block west at Lexington, the Q two avenues east at Second, the M96 crosstown at the corner, Central Park three blocks away, and Mount Sinai's campus just north. Evaluate the 1928 architecture and transit access alongside dated, matched sales; no measured boundary-street discount or Q-related change in that discount is established here.
The building itself is better than the boundary-street stereotype. Built in 1927–28 — designed by Howard Stokes Patterson per listing records — The Abbey presents red brick over a limestone-trimmed base, multipaned casement-style windows, and a gray-marble Art Deco entrance surround that gives the building its name-plate presence. The mid-block siting is unusually favorable: a public playground to the west, a school to the east, and the deep mid-block gardens of the large curved apartment building across the street give open light and air on multiple exposures today, depending on floor and position; none of these neighbors is a recorded view protection.
The third leg is the policy framework: sublets and pieds-à-terre are permitted with conditions, pets are permitted, and the financing maximum requires confirmation — 80 percent per some listing records, 75 percent per others. The conversion itself is documented end-to-end in our archive: the March 1980 offering plan, with its tenant-priced share offering and sponsor wraparound-mortgage structure, plus twenty-five amendments tracing the cooperative's evolution, are on file in The Roebling Research Library.
Architecture and unit composition
The Abbey rises 16 floors mid-block, with roughly four apartments per floor across a mix that runs from studios and one-bedrooms through two-bedroom lines around 1,200 square feet per listing records, topped by a small penthouse level. Pre-war bones are the product: defined foyers, real dining areas, casement-style multipaned windows, and wall construction whose actual sound transmission should be assessed in the apartment. Upper floors clear the low neighbors to open outlooks — north over the street toward the gardens opposite, south over the school and playground gap — and penthouse units carry terrace-level light. Renovation quality varies line to line, and the building's pricing tracks condition and exposure more than floor height alone.
Building operations
This is a lean, well-kept house rather than a full-service one: doorman coverage runs roughly 8 a.m. to midnight per listing records, with a live-in resident manager, central laundry, caged storage, a common garden, and a bike room. There is no garage, no roof deck, and no fitness room. Compare actual maintenance, assessments and services with specific full-service buildings rather than assuming a staffing-related cost saving. The house rules on file (1995 revision) document move procedures, service-elevator requirements, and provisions for professional offices in the building; the offering plan, amendments 1–25, and house rules are available to clients during diligence from The Roebling Research Library.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2.5% of the purchase price
- Rate
- 2.5% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $110 Per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney feeConditionalConditions: If applicable | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
| Power of Attorney Review FeePayable by Corporate Counsell | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement Fee, if applicableConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer Agent Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-in Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $110 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-in Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $100 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount Monthly sublet fee 25% of the annual maintenance charge | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsCase by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsOne year minimum and two year maximum term. Two (2) years of subletting out of every five (5) years is allowed.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by CaseSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedBoard ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $539 per room a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Garden, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $29,263/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $38
- Modeled exposure split equally across 65 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2.5% of purchase price (Seller)
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; sublet fee 25% of annual maintenance; 2 of every 5 years, 1yr min / 2yr max term
- Pied-à-terre
- Case by case
- Policies and fees
- App Fee $750; Credit Check $110/applicant; Move-in/Move-out deposit $500 each; Closing Fee $1,000; Max financing 80%
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 16, 2025 | 11A | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,140,000 | -0.9% | |
| Mar 25, 2025 | 15B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,125,000 | -6.3% | |
| Jan 22, 2025 | 1A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 953 sf | $595,000 | $624/sf | -0.8% |
| Oct 23, 2024 | 8B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $995,000 | +0.0% | |
| Oct 22, 2024 | 3B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $890,000 | -0.6% | |
| Aug 7, 2024 | 6A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,150 sf | $935,000 | $813/sf | -6.0% |
| Jul 14, 2023 | 16A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,112,500 | $927/sf | -19.1% |
| Jul 26, 2022 | 3D | 1 BR · 1 BA | $663,000 | -3.2% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $619/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 1.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 10, 2009 | 16C | $439,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01524-0044). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Abbey and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with The Abbey and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Abbey. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The policy framework is the draw. Pets are permitted, and sublets and pieds-à-terre are permitted with conditions; confirm the conditions with the board. Listing records conflict on the financing maximum (75 versus 80 percent) — confirm in writing, and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator as a screening check before offering.
Buy the light-and-air, not just the apartment. The playground to the west, the school to the east, and the gardens across the street keep some exposures open today, though no view is protected without a recorded instrument. Evaluate each line's specific outlook — the mid-block siting does more work for some exposures than others.
Calibrate service expectations. Part-time door coverage and the listed amenities should be evaluated alongside actual maintenance and assessments. If 24-hour staff is non-negotiable, this is the wrong building; if value and flexibility are the priorities, the trade is the point.
Walk 96th Street before you commit. It is a major crosstown artery feeding the FDR, busier than the side streets a block in either direction. Inspect traffic noise at the specific floor and exposure at different times — and weigh it against the transit access that the same street provides.
Verify the fee stack. The flip tax is undocumented in public records, sublet terms should be confirmed, and the house rules on file are a 1995 revision — your attorney should obtain the current versions of all governing documents during diligence.
What to know if you’re selling
Market the documented policies. Pied-à-terre use and subletting are permitted with conditions here. Confirm the conditions, the maximum financing and any co-purchase rules in the proprietary lease and house rules before the marketing states them.
Position against both sides of the boundary. Assess suitable sales south in Carnegie Hill and east in Yorkville with adjustments for tenure, services, condition and actual costs. Anchor pricing to same-line history first; the building's spread between renovated and original condition is wide.
Lead with the documentation. Provide the conversion plan, twenty-five amendments and dated house rules to buyers’ counsel, with current updates where available; the records support review but do not guarantee no surprises, shorter diligence or a completed deal.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 166 East 96th Street, also evaluate:
- 1175 Park Avenue — 1925 northern Carnegie Hill co-op; the Park Avenue step-up
- 1230 Park Avenue — pre-war co-op at the 95th Street corner of the avenue
- 131 East 93rd Street — 1923 Frank Braun pre-war co-op off Park; the closest like-for-like side-street comp
- 161 East 91st Street — 1941 co-op a block from the 92nd Street Y
- 50 East 89th Street (Park Regis) — 1974 Emery Roth & Sons tower; the full-service post-war alternative
- Carnegie Park (200 East 94th Street) — Davis, Brody-designed tower converted to condominium in 2014; the amenity-rich condo alternative
- 180 East 88th Street — boutique new-development condominium; a new-construction alternative; compare dated apartment-level prices
More Upper East Side buildings
- 164 East 72nd Street — 1925 co-op
- 165 East 62nd Street — new-construction condominium
- 166 East 63rd Street (Beekman Townhouse) — 1958 condominium by Emery Roth
- 167 East 61st Street (Trump Plaza) — 1984 co-op by Philip Birnbaum & Associates
- 167 East 78th Street — 1928 co-op
- 167 East 82nd Street (Merritt House) — 1929 condominium by Schwartz & Gross
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Abbey?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com