17 East 63rd Street
17 East 63rd Street, New York, NY 10065
BBL 1013780013 · BIN 1041021
- Year built
- 1901
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 5
- Floors
- 5
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Requires confirmation
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Dogs and cats
- Not permitted
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditions
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- No doorman
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 17 East 63rd Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
There are only so many ways to own a floor of a Gilded Age mansion on a Fifth-to-Madison side street, and this is one of the smallest. The house was built in 1901 by the brothers W. W. and T. M. Hall — speculative builders active as the Upper East Side filled in above 59th Street — to designs by Welch, Smith & Provot, a firm whose limestone-fronted town houses define long stretches of the East Sixties and Seventies. It was bought on completion by H. Bramhall Gilbert and his wife, the former Lila Brokaw, of the family whose own mansions stood a few blocks north on Fifth Avenue. It was exactly what it looks like: a single-family house for a family of means, on one of the widest side-street lots in the district.
The cooperative’s current count is five apartments; individual plans establish their layouts and interior dimensions. The lot measures 29.5 by 100.42 feet, while the recorded building gross area is about 14,840 square feet; lot depth does not establish the depth of each floor plate — and the cooperative holds five apartments. The gross-area-to-apartment ratio does not establish floor-through layouts or measured interior area; shared, service and lower-level space must be distinguished. Compare the specific apartment with suitable mansion conversions, town houses and larger cooperatives using dated prices, actual space, governance, services and carrying costs; no fixed discount or absence of ownership obligations is established.
The trade is governance and concentration. A five-apartment corporation has no professional staff to absorb a problem and no anonymity. Review the actual share allocations, reserve and budgets for façade and elevator work; five apartments and a designated limestone front do not alone establish repair costs or financial strain. The recorded financing history shows credit facilities in the low six figures, most recently in 2016; review the current budget, audited statements, reserve and any assessments. Small does not mean insulated; it means concentrated.
Location closes the argument. The house sits at the Madison Avenue end of its blockfront, adjoining the corner building at 710 Madison Avenue, inside both the Upper East Side Historic District and the Special Madison Avenue Preservation District. The first controls the facades; the second controls what Madison Avenue can become behind them. Protected context on a Fifth-to-Madison side street is not an amenity here. It is the asset.
Architecture and unit composition
The elevation is Beaux-Arts limestone over a rusticated base — the vocabulary Welch, Smith & Provot used across the district, and the classification the Landmarks Preservation Commission's own record for this lot carries. The house rises five stories with a partial upper level; PLUTO's 5.5-floor figure reflects that story rather than a sixth floor, and buyers reading the raw city data should not treat it as a discrepancy.
Because the building was converted rather than purpose-built as apartments, the apartments follow the house's original plan. Recorded share transfers identify them by simple designations — a lower-level unit, single-floor units, and at least one apartment combining two floors — which is the pattern a mansion conversion produces: piano-floor rooms with their original ceiling heights and window proportions on one line, upper bedroom floors on another, a garden-level residence beneath. Layouts, ceiling heights and outdoor space differ materially unit to unit, and no building-wide description substitutes for the floor plan and alteration history of the specific apartment.
Verify exposures in person. On a 100-foot-deep interior lot with buildings on both flanks, light comes from the street front and the rear, and the rear outlook is into the block. Where a unit has lot-line windows, understand what could be built beside them.
Building operations
This is a small self-contained house, not a full-service building: expect no doorman and modest, building-specific staffing rather than institutional service. The lot carries the elevator-cooperative classification, so there is an elevator to maintain — a meaningful fixed cost across five apartments.
Landmark status shapes operations more than it would elsewhere at this size. The described five-story house with a partial upper story is below FISP/Local Law 11’s higher-than-six-story threshold. Ordinary façade safety duties still apply; window and other exterior alterations generally require LPC approval, with specified maintenance exempt and qualifying work eligible for staff review; obtain the approvals required for the actual scope. Ask for current façade-condition reports, the last repair scope and its cost, the elevator's modernization history, the roof and the mechanicals — and ask what share of each fell to a single apartment.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of April 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Equal to $150 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Purchase Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $750 with a broker ($800 without a broker) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for Estate Sale | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 with a broker ($850 without a broker) | Refundable Not stated |
| NYS Transfer Stamps | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $0.05 a share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- Guarantors
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsAll purchasers names are required to be on the stock and leaseSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsSubject to board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsSubject to board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs and cats
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditionsSubject to board approvalSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.
See full Local Law 97 analysis →Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 19, 2024 | 3 | 3 BR · 3 BA · 4,155 sf | $7,850,000 | $1,889/sf | — |
| Oct 12, 2023 | 2 | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,126 sf | $3,600,000 | $1,693/sf | -15.3% |
| Sep 13, 2023 | 1A | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $4,000,000 | $2,353/sf | +1.3% |
| Sep 13, 2023 | 1 | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $4,000,000 | $2,353/sf | +0.0% |
| Sep 18, 2013 | 1A | 2 BR | $3,000,000 | -24.1% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2024) cleared a median $1,889/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 7.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01378-0013). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 17 East 63rd Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 17 East 63rd Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 17 East 63rd Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Reconcile the dated policy accounts. The page reports an 80% financing maximum and pied-à-terre permission, and its April 2026 management-attributed module includes pet and laundry terms. These reports do not independently establish the current operative rules. Obtain the proprietary lease, bylaws, valid amendments and authorized current policies, including unresolved sublet, liquidity, transfer-fee and entity-purchase terms.
Underwrite the financing ceiling first. The cited account reports an 80% purchase-price financing maximum; confirm the source’s effective date and current operative rule. In a five-share building that ceiling is a board decision rather than a market convention. Confirm the current maximum, the minimum down payment, and whether the board has approved financed purchases recently — recent practice should be reconciled with the operative governing documents and valid exceptions.
Obtain current liquidity requirements. The reviewed materials do not establish a formula or the causes of failed purchases. Ask for the current written requirements, then run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against that answer.
Resolve pied-à-terre use, trusts and LLCs before diligence. Pied-à-terre use is documented as permitted; confirm trust and LLC ownership in the proprietary lease and house rules, since an entity or trust purchase a condominium would not notice can be dispositive here. Subletting requires confirmation: assume no sublet rights until the managing agent says otherwise in writing, and price the apartment as owner-occupied rather than as an asset with a rental exit.
The board package and interview are the transaction. In a building this small, the interview is a conversation with your immediate neighbors, who share every capital decision. Present a complete, conservative package and be ready to discuss how you intend to use the apartment.
Read the financials as a five-line building. Request two years of financial statements, the reserve balance, any underlying loan and its maturity, and the assessment history — then apply your apartment's share allocation from the offering plan to every capital number. That is your exposure. And build the Landmarks review timeline into any renovation budget; run the Renovation Cost Calculator with it included.
What to know if you’re selling
Show the individual floor plan. The roughly 14,840 gross building square feet, five apartments and 29.5-foot lot describe the property, not each home’s usable area. Provide measured dimensions, layout and outdoor rights for the specific apartment.
Prepare the policy stack before you list. Reconcile the page’s dated policy accounts and obtain current written financing, sublet and pied-à-terre terms for buyers’ review; early documents do not guarantee a shorter transaction or prevent renegotiation.
Qualify buyers early, and document the capital record. A five-shareholder approval is not a formality, and the pool that clears it is narrower than the pool that can afford the apartment — screen on liquidity and ownership structure before accepting an offer. The facade cycle, elevator, roof and any recent assessment should be answerable from the building's own records.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 17 East 63rd Street, also evaluate:
- 4 East 62nd Street (Curzon House) — two Gilded Age mansions combined and converted to apartments; the closest structural analogue nearby, in condominium form
- 116 East 63rd Street — 1914 boutique pre-war cooperative with two residences per floor; the small-building alternative with conventional apartment plans
- 43 East 62nd Street — 1915 Renaissance Revival cooperative; a purpose-built pre-war house at similar scale and policy discipline
- 29 East 64th Street — 1922 neo-Renaissance cooperative one block north; same corridor, larger shareholder base
- 166 East 63rd Street (Beekman Townhouse) — a twenty-story condominium on the same street; the alternative for buyers who need financing flexibility
- 132A East 65th Street (The Touraine) — boutique new-construction condominium; the no-board-approval alternative at a higher price per foot
- 125 East 63rd Street (Colonial Mews) — cooperative on the same street east of Park; different scale and price tier
- 139 East 63rd Street (Beekman Estate) — 1962 cooperative; the post-war alternative on the same street
- 27 East 65th Street — post-war cooperative on a comparable side street; different architecture, similar board culture
More Upper East Side buildings
- 16 East 80th Street — 1886 co-op
- 16 East 96th Street — 1906 co-op by Clinton & Russell
- 16 East 98th Street — 1925 co-op
- 17 East 80th Street (The Warburg Mansion) — 1906 co-op
- 17 East 84th Street — 1923 co-op by George F. Pelham
- 17 East 89th Street — 1924 co-op by Gaetano Ajello
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 17 East 63rd Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com