
173-175 Riverside Drive
173-175 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10024
BBL 1012500067 · BIN 1034035
- Year built
- 1926
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 167
- Floors
- 16
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Riverside-West End Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 65% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
173-175 Riverside Drive sales history: 119 recorded transfers
- Financing
- Up to 65% financeable (35% minimum down).
- Subletting
- Not permitted — an owner-occupancy building.
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median
- $1.1M
- Recent range
- $950K – $5.4M
- Listing discount
- 3.6%
- Recorded transfers
- 119
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 173-175 Riverside Drive would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
173-175 Riverside Drive is J.E.R. Carpenter's largest Riverside Drive commission — a 1926 sixteen-story Italian Renaissance cooperative occupying the entire blockfront between West 89th and West 90th Streets.
The address carries a sports-history pedigree few cooperatives can match in the Babe Ruth residency, the New York Yankees outfielder having lived in the building. The architecture matches the marquee tenant: the Carpenter architectural pedigree brought the master of the Park Avenue 7-room plan to bear, his peak prewar Italian Renaissance vocabulary realized here at full-blockfront scale. Completing the picture is the Soldiers and Sailors Monument adjacency — sited directly across from the monument in Riverside Park, the building commands one of the most distinctive park-adjacent exposures on the corridor.
Architecture and building operations
The site previously held the 1900 neo-Georgian Clark-Potter mansion and the 1887 turreted residence of Cyrus Clark. J.E.R. Carpenter began construction in 1925 with completion in 1926. The architectural composition includes:
- Three-story limestone base
- Beige-brick facade
- Arched windows on ground, fourth, and top floors
- Limestone quoins
- Bandcourses above third and top floors
- Balustraded roofline
- Entrance adorned with pairs of fluted Corinthian pilasters
The building sits directly across from the Soldiers and Sailors Monument in Riverside Park and adjacent to the former Isaac L. Rice mansion (later Yeshiva Chofetz Chaim).
Operations: white-glove. 24-hour doormen, live-in resident manager, state-of-the-art windowed fitness center, children's playroom, game room, bike storage, central laundry, English-style garden with fountain, book club, lecture series, lending library.
The English-style garden with fountain, book club, lecture series, and lending library combine to produce one of the most substantive cultural amenity profiles among UWS cooperatives.
Policy framework
Verified across architectural coverage and broker reporting:
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Pets: Allowed
- Pied-à-terre: NOT permitted (significant buyer-screening fact)
- Financing maximum: 50% (minimum down 50% — high bar)
- Flip tax: 2%, buyer-paid
- Subletting: Board approval required
- Trust, LLC, foreign buyers: Case-by-case
- Post-closing liquidity: Substantial UWS reserves customary
- Board interview: Required
The 50% financing maximum is among the most restrictive on Riverside Drive. The pied-à-terre prohibition is structurally significant — plan primary-residence positioning at the application stage.
The building does not carry terraces, balconies, sundeck, or garage.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2%, buyer-paid
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit report feePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125.00 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement Servicing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Reserve Fund Transfer Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount 2% of the Gross Purchase Price | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
5 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing Application Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit report feePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125.00 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing Application Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Please contact the Transfer Agent for the fee schedule for the proposed transfer. | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 65% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $666 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.90 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Not allowed
- Pied-à-terre
- Not allowed
- Notable fees
- Reserve Fund Transfer Fee 2% of gross purchase price; max financing 65%; secondary residence not allowed
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 21, 2026 | 3H | 3 BR · 2 BA · 2,050 sf | $2,100,000 | $1,024/sf | -6.7% |
| Jun 10, 2026 | 12Z | 4 BR · 3 BA · 3,000 sf | $3,100,000 | $1,033/sf | -13.9% |
| Apr 24, 2026 | 6D | 4 BR · 3 BA · 3,000 sf | $5,400,000 | $1,800/sf | -3.6% |
| Oct 24, 2025 | 2L | 2 BR · 1 BA | $1,073,100 | -2.0% | |
| Sep 30, 2025 | 3C | 4 BR · 4 BA · 2,800 sf | $4,300,000 | $1,536/sf | -4.4% |
| Jul 30, 2025 | 13N | 3 BR · 3 BA | $3,150,000 | -1.6% | |
| Oct 18, 2024 | PHD | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $6,100,000 | -6.1% | |
| Jun 17, 2024 | 1G | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,800 sf | $1,622,500 | $901/sf | -4.3% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,257/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 15, 2003 | 14L | $695,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01250-0067). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 173-175 Riverside Drive and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $3.15M (7 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $61,800 to close, or 2.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $47,250
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 173-175 Riverside Drive and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 173-175 Riverside Drive. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Notable residents
- Babe Ruth — the New York Yankees outfielder lived in the building, anchoring its sports-history institutional context.
Architectural register ## What to know if you're buying
The Babe Ruth cultural anchor is real institutional context. Position prominently in materials.
The Carpenter architectural pedigree is real institutional credential. The architect's broader Park / Fifth Avenue body of work places 173-175 Riverside in the trophy prewar tradition.
The pied-à-terre prohibition is structurally significant. Plan primary-residence positioning at the application stage.
The 50% financing maximum is among the most restrictive on Riverside Drive. Plan accordingly.
The 2% buyer-paid flip tax is meaningful at closing. Factor into carrying-cost and net-proceeds calculations.
The book club, lecture series, and lending library are structurally distinctive cultural amenities. No peer Riverside Drive cooperative carries the same depth of cultural programming.
The Soldiers and Sailors Monument adjacency produces a structurally distinctive park-facing exposure. Verify line-specific configuration during walkthrough.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6 to 10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the Babe Ruth cultural anchor, the Carpenter architectural pedigree, and the book club / lecture series / lending library cultural amenity profile. All three are real structural advantages.
The full-blockfront configuration with Soldiers and Sailors Monument adjacency supports premium park-facing positioning.
The pied-à-terre prohibition narrows the buyer pool — position the building as a primary-residence trophy cooperative.
Pricing should reference recent comparable closings. The relevant comparable is the same line on a nearby floor, adjusted for condition, not a building-wide average.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard.
Comparable buildings
- 140 Riverside Drive (The Normandy) — Roth 1939 landmark; nearby Riverside Drive peer
- 137 Riverside Drive (The Clarendon) — Birge 1906; nearby Riverside Drive peer
- 180 Riverside Drive — Schwartz & Gross 1922; same-block Riverside Drive peer
- 100 Riverside Drive — Boak & Paris 1938; nearby Riverside Drive peer
- 14 East 90th Street — Carpenter 1928; same-architect Carnegie Hill peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Riverside Drive buildings
- 137 Riverside Drive (The Clarendon) — 1906 co-op
- 140 Riverside Drive (The Normandy) — 1939 co-op by Emery Roth
- 160 Riverside Drive — 1922 co-op by Gaetano Ajello
- 180 Riverside Drive — 1922 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 186 Riverside Drive — 1928 co-op by Emery Roth
- 190 Riverside Drive — 1910 condominium by Ralph S. Townsend
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Riverside Drive — read The Roebling Team Guide to Riverside Drive.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 173-175 Riverside Drive?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com