Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 2012
199 Mott Street
199 Mott Street, New York, NY 10012
Buildings·Condominium

199 Mott Street

199 Mott Street, New York, NY 10012

Nolita

BBL 1004807503 · BIN 1007184

At a glance
Year built
2012
Type
Condominium
Units
11
Floors
8
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Doorman
Full-time doorman

199 Mott Street sales history: 23 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 199 Mott Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2015–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,978
1 sale
Listing discount
0.6%
Recorded sales
23
On record
2015–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 199 Mott Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Nolita is a neighborhood of five- and six-story tenements. Ground-up residential construction here is rare, and where it happens it happens on a single lot at modest scale. 199 Mott is one of the small number of post-2010 buildings on this grid: eight stories, eleven residences, two retail units at the base, built to a design by Kutnicki Bernstein Architects for Alfa Development and completed into a first year of condominium operation beginning January 2015.

The building's distinguishing characteristic is not its architecture, which is a competent brick infill, but its environmental program and the way that program was written into the governing documents. 199 Mott is LEED Silver certified, per the developer, and unlike most buildings that carry a plaque, this one converted the certification into binding house rules. Owners must comply with the USGBC LEED certification process on a continuing basis. All paint used anywhere in the building, including inside residences, must be a specified zero-VOC line. Plumbing fixtures may be replaced only with fittings at or below defined flow rates — 1.75 gallons per minute for showerheads, 1.50 for faucets, 1.28 gallons per flush for toilets. The planted green roof covering half the roof area must be maintained and may not be walked on, because it functions as part of the building envelope. Smoking is prohibited throughout the building under the Environmental Tobacco Smoke Control prerequisite. Cleaning products must carry the EPA Design for the Environment label, and owners are directed toward FSC-certified wood.

The renovation rule is the one that matters most in a transaction. Any owner performing work in a residence must submit an Indoor Air Quality and Dust Mitigation Plan to the board: vents covered, high-efficiency filtration running continuously during and after work hours, entryway doors sealed, and for a full-floor residence, stairways and elevator passages sealed as well. That is a real constraint on a gut renovation and a real cost. A buyer planning to reconfigure a residence at 199 Mott should read the house rules and the alteration agreement before signing a contract, not after.

The second thing a buyer needs to understand here is the shape of the building's finances, and it is unusual enough to warrant plain description.

Architecture and unit composition

The lot is 4,955 square feet, mid-block, roughly 49 feet wide and 99 feet deep, with the building itself running about 69 feet deep — which is what leaves room for rear outdoor space and the setback terraces. The site is built to a FAR of 4.85 with two retail units at the base, and the Special Little Italy District governs the street wall and the ground-floor use.

Eleven residences across eight floors produces a mix rather than a repeating plate. The offering plan's Schedule A carries a three-bedroom of approximately 2,907 square feet at the base, paired A- and B-line two-bedrooms of roughly 1,225 to 1,229 square feet through the middle of the building, a three-bedroom of approximately 2,894 square feet on the seventh floor, and a penthouse of approximately 3,088 square feet. Roughly 3,120 square feet of exterior space is distributed across the inventory, concentrated at the base and the top. Private deeded basement storage is part of the offering.

Two building-scale features are worth walking. The elevator is keyed, so most residences open directly into the apartment rather than a public landing — a meaningful privacy and layout advantage in an eleven-unit building. And the common roof terrace sits alongside the protected green roof; understand where the usable deck ends and the planted assembly begins, because the house rules prohibit walking on the latter.

Building operations and finances

The most recent audited financial statements on file cover the year ended December 31, 2020. They describe the 2020 financial position, more than five years before this September 2026 profile; obtain current statements and do not assume that spending, reserves, ownership or funding arrangements persisted.

Building-wide common charges were $369,000 for the year, billed at $30,750 per month across all thirteen units. Against that, total operating expenses were $472,064. The single dominant line was security services at $284,009 — roughly sixty percent of the building's entire operating budget. This was the 2020 security-cost concentration; it does not establish current charges, staffing costs or budget flexibility. Compare later statements and the current staffing arrangements before drawing a present operating conclusion.

The consequences show in the balance sheet. The condominium recorded a net loss of $99,457 in 2020 and $24,240 in 2019. Members' equity fell from $103,617 at the end of 2019 to $4,160 at the end of 2020, on total cash of $111,801. The auditors also noted that management had omitted the supplementary information on future major repairs and replacements that generally accepted accounting principles require: the condominium had not conducted a study of the remaining useful lives of common-element components, and the board had not developed a funding plan. Where funds are needed for major work, the available tools are cash, borrowing, an increase in common charges, a special assessment, or deferral.

Two further facts from the statements are worth carrying into a negotiation. The sponsor still owned both commercial units at the end of 2020, carrying roughly eight percent of common charges. And in 2019 the condominium received $34,000 for granting construction access relating to work at the adjoining property at 75 Kenmare Street — a reminder that this is a mid-block lot with an active neighbor.

None of this is a reason to avoid the building. It is a reason to underwrite it properly. Ask for the current audited statements, the current budget, the assessment history since 2020, whether a reserve study has since been commissioned, whether the security staffing model has changed, and whether the sponsor still holds the retail.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Purchases close through a right-of-first-refusal waiver rather than a cooperative-style board approval.

Pets: Permitted only with express written consent of the board or managing agent, revocable for nuisance. Pets must be carried or leashed in public portions of the building and are not permitted on the roof.

Smoking: Prohibited throughout the building, including within residences, under the LEED Environmental Tobacco Smoke Control protocol.

Alterations: An Indoor Air Quality and Dust Mitigation Plan must be submitted to and accepted by the board before any work. Vent covering, continuous filtration, and sealed entryways are required; full-floor renovations must additionally seal stairways and elevator passages. Paint, plumbing fixture flow rates, cleaning products and wood sourcing are all specified in the house rules.

Working capital contribution: $5,000 per purchaser at closing under the offering plan. No separate flip tax is documented in the records reviewed; confirm current terms.

Quiet hours and construction: Amplified sound is restricted between midnight and 7:00 a.m.; instrumental and vocal music between 10:00 p.m. and 9:00 a.m.; renovation work is confined to weekdays, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eighty percent of the floor area of each residence, kitchens, baths, closets and foyers excepted, must be sound-attenuated.

Real estate taxes: The roll shows no exemption. Check the specific unit's current tax bill for any abatement before underwriting.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted only with the express written consent of the Board of Managers or managing agent, per the house rules on file; consent is revocable if the animal creates a nuisance. Pets are not permitted on the roofSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$2,553 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$5.27 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$1.83 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$3.44 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

199 Mott trades as boutique Nolita new construction, and comparisons can include similar post-2005 ground-up condominiums on the Mott, Elizabeth and Prince corridor as well as relevant tenement conversions, with adjustments for differences. The building's arguments are the keyed-elevator plan, the private outdoor space, the deeded storage, the roof terrace, and full-time attended coverage; compare current charges with the full budget rather than assuming the 2020 security-cost share remains current.

Dispersion inside the building is wide. A two-bedroom of roughly 1,225 square feet and a penthouse of roughly 3,088 square feet do not price on the same basis, and with eleven residences a building average conveys very little. Two variables move value most: private outdoor space, which is concentrated in a minority of the residences, and the operating posture — a buyer who reads the financial statements will price the reserve position and the security line into an offer, and a seller who has current statements in hand will control that conversation rather than react to it. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Mar 19, 20252
3 BR · 2,907 sf
$5,750,000$1,978/sf-2.5%
Apr 18, 20246B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,225 sf
$2,540,000$2,073/sf-2.3%
Mar 14, 20242
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,907 sf
$5,360,000$1,844/sf-0.6%
Mar 4, 2023PHA
3 BR · 3 BA · 3,088 sf
$10,000,000$3,238/sf+21.2%
Sep 13, 20225B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,227 sf
$2,625,000$2,139/sf-6.3%
Feb 11, 2022PH
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,821 sf
$6,597,068$2,339/sf—
Sep 29, 20204A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,229 sf
$2,775,000$2,258/sf—
Jun 4, 20204B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,225 sf
$2,712,500$2,214/sf-1.4%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,978/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 0.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

5A · 1,229 sf+12%
$2,978,837 ($2,424/sf) 2015 → $3,350,000 ($2,726/sf) 2017
3A · 1,230 sf+5%
$2,698,362 ($2,196/sf) 2015 → $2,825,000 ($2,297/sf) 2019
2 · 2,907 sf+3%
$5,600,375 ($1,927/sf) 2018 → $5,360,000 ($1,844/sf) 2024 → $5,750,000 ($1,978/sf) 2025
4A · 1,229 sf-8%
$3,003,837 ($2,444/sf) 2015 → $2,775,000 ($2,258/sf) 2020
5B · 1,227 sf-10%
$2,927,468 ($2,386/sf) 2015 → $2,600,000 ($2,119/sf) 2019 → $2,625,000 ($2,139/sf) 2022
View all 23 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00480-7503; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 199 Mott Street and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 199 Mott Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 199 Mott Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Read the financial statements before you bid, not after. In 2020, security services represented roughly sixty percent of expenses, year-end equity was $4,160, and the audit reported no reserve study or funding plan. Ask what has changed since and obtain current statements.

The LEED rules bind you personally. Paint, plumbing fixtures, cleaning products and renovation air-quality protocols are house rules, not aspirations. Price a renovation accordingly.

Smoking is prohibited inside the apartments. This is unusual and it is enforceable.

Confirm the pet consent in writing before contract. Consent is required, discretionary and revocable.

Ignore the PLUTO area figures for unit-level work. City data reports 17,893 residential and 6,160 commercial square feet; the offering plan carries 18,705 and 4,158. The plan governs.

Ask about the retail. The 2020 statements report that the sponsor owned both commercial units, then carrying roughly eight percent of common charges. Confirm current ownership, expense allocations and payment standing separately.

What to know if you’re selling

Have current audited statements ready. This is the diligence issue at 199 Mott. A seller who produces current financials, a reserve position and an assessment history controls the narrative; a seller who does not will negotiate against the 2020 numbers.

Lead with scarcity and plan. Ground-up construction in Nolita is rare, and a keyed-elevator building of eleven residences with private outdoor space and deeded storage is rarer still.

Position the LEED program as specification, not restriction. Zero-VOC finishes, a green roof, and a smoke-free envelope are genuine building qualities; the house-rule mechanics are what make them durable.

Compare relevant Nolita apartments across building types. Start with similar ground-up condominiums and include tenement or loft conversions where comparable, adjusting for plans, condition, services and actual costs.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 199 Mott Street, also evaluate:

  • 211 Elizabeth Street — Roman and Williams; a Nolita condominium to compare for design, layout and services
  • 250 Bowery — Morris Adjmi Architects, 2013; contemporary new construction two blocks east, at greater scale
  • 11 Prince Street — 1900 building converted to condominium; a prewar Nolita alternative; compare current charges, taxes and assessments
  • 8 Prince Street — 1915 building; the small prewar condominium alternative on the same corridor
  • 306 Mott Street — 1988 boutique condominium with loft-style layouts; the same street, an earlier generation
  • 87 Elizabeth Street — 1880 building; the tenement-scale conversion alternative
  • 195 Prince Street — 1879 SoHo tenement, now a condominium; larger plates, different economics
  • 285 Lafayette Street — early-20th-century factory converted to loft condominium; the large-loft counterpoint
  • 40 Bleecker Street — 2019 new construction with a full amenity program; the NoHo alternative at a higher service tier
  • 199 Chrystie Street — a recent condominium on the Bowery edge; compare its unit count, layouts and services separately

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 199 Mott Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com