Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Condominium · 2004
Vesta 24
231 Tenth Avenue, New York, NY 10011
Buildings·Chelsea·Condominium

Vesta 24 (231 Tenth Avenue)

231 Tenth Avenue, New York, NY 10011

Chelsea

BBL 1006957504 · BIN 1083568

CorridorChelsea
At a glance
Year built
2004
Type
Condominium
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

Vesta 24 sales history: 55 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Vesta 24?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2006–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,726
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
1.3%
Recorded sales
55
On record
2006–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Vesta 24 would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Vesta 24, at 231 Tenth Avenue and West 24th Street, is a boutique new-construction condominium completed in 2004 — and one of the early markers that the Far West Side of Chelsea had become prime residential ground. Designed by Garrett Gourlay with interiors by James D'Auria Associates for The Vesta Group, the 22-unit building sold out in roughly 36 hours at launch, an outcome that the press at the time read as a signal of West Chelsea's arrival.

The building's defining feature today is its position directly beside the High Line: the furnished common patio off the second floor overlooks the elevated park, and the building sits on a prominent West Chelsea block across Tenth Avenue from the full-block London Terrace complex. Architecturally, Vesta 24 is distinctive — the lower floors of the southeast corner are wrapped in large sheets of dark-stained wood, a rare treatment for a Manhattan residential building, set against light masonry, stone and glass above.

For buyers, the case is boutique condominium ownership — a right-of-first-refusal process rather than a co-op board interview, with owner leasing permitted and financing, pied-à-terre and entity-purchase rules to confirm in the declaration and bylaws — in a small, full-service building with a genuine High Line address.

Architecture and unit composition

Vesta 24 rises fourteen stories with asymmetrical massing — the wood-wrapped lower corner against light masonry, stone and glass — that distinguishes it from its neighbors. The 22 residences are predominantly large two-bedroom/two-bath homes of roughly 1,421 square feet, most with a terrace or balcony, topped by four full-floor penthouses with wood-burning fireplaces and private roof decks. Apartments carry in-unit laundry. The second-floor common patio overlooks the High Line directly.

Building operations

Vesta 24 operates as a boutique full-service condominium with an attended lobby / doorman and a full-time superintendent. The building provides an elevator, basement storage for all units, a bike room, and the furnished second-floor common patio overlooking the High Line; the four penthouses carry private roof decks. There is no on-site parking garage. The building is pet-friendly with no documented weight or breed limit. As at any boutique condominium, financing terms and any sublet specifics should be confirmed against current building rules at offer stage.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of April 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Credit Check Fee Per PersonPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per personRefundable Non-refundable
Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $750 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Working Capital Fund ContributionPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount 1 month's common chargesRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositConditionalPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Credit Check Fee Per PersonPer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per personRefundable Non-refundable
Processing FeeConditionalPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $750 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out DepositConditionalPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Refundable
Move In DepositConditionalPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Refundable

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing FeePaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount $250Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Security DepositPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount $500Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedUpon ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of April 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$12,434/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $47
Modeled exposure split equally across 22 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Policies and fees
Working capital fund = 1 month's common charges (condo sale); pets upon approval
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Vesta 24 has 22 residences; establish turnover, current inventory and absorption from dated sales and listing history rather than the unit count. Pricing scales with floor, exposure, light, outdoor access, and renovation: the four full-floor penthouses with private roof decks and fireplaces sit at the top of the range, and High Line-facing outlook is a durable value driver.

Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Dec 23, 20255A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,421 sf
$2,325,000$1,636/sf-6.8%
Jun 17, 20243A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,421 sf
$1,700,000$1,196/sf-26.1%
Jan 28, 202210A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,421 sf
$2,900,000$2,041/sf+0.2%
Aug 30, 20214B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,421 sf
$2,150,000$1,513/sf+0.0%
Aug 27, 20207B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,421 sf
$1,687,500$1,188/sf-21.5%
Aug 24, 20183B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,421 sf
$2,150,000$1,513/sf-2.1%
Feb 1, 2018PH2
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,647 sf
$5,550,000$2,097/sf-7.5%
Sep 28, 20175B
2 BR · 1,421 sf
$2,200,000$1,548/sf-8.3%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,726/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

10A · 1,421 sf+120%
$1,316,000 ($926/sf) 2006 → $1,545,000 ($1,087/sf) 2009 → $2,900,000 ($2,041/sf) 2022
8A · 1,421 sf+104%
$1,364,455 ($960/sf) 2006 → $1,340,000 ($943/sf) 2006 → $2,787,500 ($1,962/sf) 2015
PH4 · 2,505 sf+96%
$3,054,750 ($1,219/sf) 2006 → $6,000,000 ($2,395/sf) 2017
2B · 1,421 sf+85%
$1,120,075 ($788/sf) 2006 → $1,200,000 ($844/sf) 2006 → $2,075,000 ($1,460/sf) 2015
5A · 1,421 sf+84%
$1,262,630 ($889/sf) 2006 → $1,650,000 ($1,161/sf) 2007 → $2,325,000 ($1,636/sf) 2025
View all 55 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00695-7504; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Vesta 24 and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Vesta 24 and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Vesta 24. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The buying case is a High Line address in a boutique full-service condominium: a 2004 building with an attended lobby, a common patio overlooking the park, large two-bedroom layouts with private outdoor space, and condominium ownership — a right-of-first-refusal process and owner leasing permitted, with financing, pied-à-terre and trust or entity purchases to confirm in the current declaration and bylaws. The architecture and the park adjacency are the building's lasting differentiators.

Diligence should focus on the reserve fund and capital-project history of a small full-service building, the façade maintenance history (notably the distinctive wood cladding), and the specifics of any unit's terrace, fireplace, or penthouse roof deck. Note that there is no on-site garage. Floor, exposure and High Line outlook drive value here.

What to know if you’re selling

Sellers lead with the building's irreplaceable assets: a direct High Line position, the common patio overlooking the park, a distinctive architecture, and condominium flexibility in a full-service boutique building. The combination is rare in West Chelsea and should anchor any marketing.

Pricing should be benchmarked against the other West Chelsea condominiums along the High Line corridor, with adjustments for floor, exposure, outdoor space, and renovation. Check current competing listings and transaction history before describing supply as limited; the 22-unit count and High Line location do not establish sale timing or likely absorption.

Comparable buildings

If you're weighing Vesta 24, these nearby West Chelsea condominium buildings make a useful comparison set:

More Chelsea buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Chelsea — read The Roebling Team Guide to Chelsea.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Vesta 24?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com