24 Central Park South
24 Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
BBL 1012740057 · BIN 1035255
- Year built
- 1963
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2002–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 3BR median, 2025–2026
- $2.5M
- 2 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $2.5M – $3.2M
- Listing discount
- 3.7%
- Recorded transfers
- 28
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 24 Central Park South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
24 Central Park South is a white-glove cooperative on one of the most coveted residential blocks in Manhattan — the park-facing stretch of Central Park South between Fifth and Sixth Avenues, where a small number of buildings look directly across the southern edge of Central Park. Built in the early 1960s, it is an intimate 21-story cooperative of just 37 apartments, with floor-by-floor configurations and direct park views to verify for the particular residence.
The case for the building is the address and the scale combined. Central Park South is a short, prestigious corridor, and buyers should verify the specific apartment’s layout and exposure rather than assuming full-floor proportions from the building’s size. The building pairs that position with genuine white-glove service and an unusual financial feature: maintenance that includes all utilities, an inclusion to compare against actual charges and separately billed utilities elsewhere.
Architecture and unit composition
The building is a clean mid-century white-brick elevator tower distinguished by a curved roofline — a restrained, of-its-era design whose value lies less in ornament than in what it frames: open southern light and direct outlooks over Central Park from its north-facing residences.
The profile reports 37 apartments and 21 stories, but those totals do not establish the number of homes on each floor, full-floor layouts or unusual quiet. Layouts are described as one to four bedrooms; verify the specific plan, landing arrangement and area. Assess privacy, sound and the actual park outlook during visits rather than inferring them from density or height.
Building operations
24 Central Park South is a full-service white-glove cooperative: a 24-hour doorman and concierge, a recently renovated lobby, resident staff, and a fitness center. Its defining operational feature is that maintenance includes all utilities — an inclusion to confirm on the current bill; it does not establish lower total carrying costs. As an established cooperative, the building is owner-occupied in character, with admissions, financing requirements, and any subletting governed by the board and proprietary lease in the conservative posture typical of a Central Park South co-op. We brief buyers on the building's current policies before an offer.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of purchase price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Purchase
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeeConditionalRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $450 If this application is not presented by a broker this fee is $800 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Reports FeeConditional · Per applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 Per individual applicant named on the contract and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupants | Refundable Not stated |
| Packages Reproduction/Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Expedited Closing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 hr notice | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Power of AttorneyConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 per individual (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeeConditionalConditions: If financing a purchase | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $400, if financing | Refundable Not stated |
| Power of AttorneyConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $200 per individual (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Seller's Transfer Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $950 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 Per applicant - plus any additional occupants | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Reproduction And Messenger Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Not stated |
| Monthly Sublease FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount 20% Of the monthly maintenance fee | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
6 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Disbursements | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Disbursements | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $16,170/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $36
- Modeled exposure split equally across 37 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of purchase price (seller's transfer fee)
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 50%; monthly sublease fee 20% of monthly maintenance
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 12, 2026 | 3W | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,000 sf | $2,450,000 | $1,225/sf | +0.0% |
| Dec 19, 2025 | 5W | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 1,825 sf | $2,600,000 | $1,425/sf | -3.7% |
| Jul 10, 2025 | 2W | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,400 sf | $3,200,000 | $2,286/sf | -23.8% |
| Jul 12, 2022 | 11E | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,260 sf | $4,050,000 | $1,792/sf | -16.5% |
| May 31, 2022 | 5E | 3 BR · 4.5 BA · 2,450 sf | $3,500,000 | $1,429/sf | -17.6% |
| Dec 29, 2020 | 2SOUTH | 1 BR · 1 BA | $750,000 | +0.0% | |
| Dec 11, 2020 | 1920W | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,700 sf | $5,400,000 | $2,000/sf | -1.7% |
| Jan 7, 2019 | 2W | 2 BR | $3,200,000 | -7.6% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,304/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 7.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| May 1, 2026 | 19E | $2,800,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01274-0057). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 24 Central Park South and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2.7M (4 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 50% down would pay about $48,300 to close, or 1.8% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $33,750
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 50% financing limit.
Keep up with 24 Central Park South and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 24 Central Park South. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is a white-glove co-op purchase in one of Manhattan's premier locations — expect a board package and interview, owner-occupancy as the norm, and the conservative financing posture typical of Central Park South cooperatives. Evaluate the specific residence’s park exposure and verified layout alongside the 37-unit building’s service package. Maintenance reportedly includes all utilities, but that does not establish a total-cost advantage; compare current charges, included services, debt, reserves and assessments with actual alternatives. Buyers should weigh exposure above all — north-facing park views are the building's defining asset — along with floor, layout, and condition. We help buyers read the building, the line, and the board so the right apartment is pursued with confidence.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the park and the scale. Describe the particular residence’s verified park exposure, floor plan and service package. State which utilities maintenance includes, alongside current charges, without assuming full-floor scale or a total-cost advantage. Benchmark to white-glove cooperatives on Central Park South and the adjacent Fifth Avenue and Billionaires' Row tier rather than to broader Midtown stock, and position the specific apartment on its park exposure, floor, and condition. Measure turnover, active inventory and marketing times from dated records; the apartment count and park location do not establish scarce inventory or a guaranteed buyer response. We market 24 Central Park South resales to that buyer and against the right park-front comparison set.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 24 Central Park South, also evaluate these Central Park South and nearby park-front buildings:
- 50 Central Park South — park-facing residences on the same block
- 112 Central Park South — full-service park-front cooperative
- 200 Central Park South — large park-facing cooperative
- 210 Central Park South — full-service park-front co-op
- 240 Central Park South — landmark park-front rental building
- 220 Central Park South — Robert A.M. Stern park-front condominium
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 24 Central Park South?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com