Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1881
The Work of Art Lofts
242 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10012
Buildings·Cooperative

242 Lafayette Street

242 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10012

SoHo

BBL 1004960030 · BIN 1007551

At a glance
Year built
1881
Type
Cooperative
Units
8
Floors
5
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District Extension
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
No doorman

The Work of Art Lofts sales history: 13 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Work of Art Lofts?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,567
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
-2.5%
Recorded sales
13
On record
2005–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Work of Art Lofts would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

This is one of the oldest continuously cooperative loft buildings in SoHo, and the sequence in the public record explains why it feels different from the conversions around it. Work of Art Loft Corp. took title on December 30, 1977, buying the building directly from the chemical manufacturer that had occupied it since 1946. The Loft Law was five years away. The SoHo–Cast Iron Historic District Extension was thirty-three years away. PLUTO records an alteration year of 1986 — nine years after the shareholders bought it. That city field marks when an alteration began; it does not by itself establish the work's scope or the date residential occupancy was legalized, which the Department of Buildings filings and certificate of occupancy would show. On the record as it stands, ownership came first and the alteration of record followed. That is the founding pattern of artist SoHo, and here it is legible in the deed record rather than in folklore.

The building they bought was a factory, and a good one. John Sexton put up the northern half in 1881–82 as a five-story Queen Anne brick factory for Thomas W. Weatherbed. In 1897 the city finally executed the widening and extension of Elm Street into what became Lafayette Street, condemning hundreds of properties in whole or in part. This building lost several feet of depth. Rather than demolish, Sexton returned, moved the façade west to the new building line, re-assembled parts of his own 1881–82 elevation, and designed a new southern section in the same vein. The result reads as one building because it was designed twice by the same hand, and the LPC designation report says so directly. The detail that survives is the pleasure of the thing: rosettes on the steel lintels, foliated tympani at the fifth floor, a bracketed cornice with a central gable, and a gabled portico with fluted columns and a carved sunburst over the residential door.

The tenant list underneath is a hundred-year cross-section of downtown manufacturing — the United Art Glass and Lamp Manufacturing Co. in 1915, the Zalon Glove Co. in 1920, the Manhattan Bookbinder Co. in 1933, Beacon Chemical from 1946 to 1958, a reinforced-plaster sculpture works in 1982, and Bicycle Habitat in the ground-floor store from 1984 to 2010. When LPC designated the extension in 2010 it described the upper floors as remaining in commercial use, which is the Commission's way of recording a building whose residents held joint living-work quarters rather than conventional apartments.

For a buyer today, the structure is the story. Eight reported apartments, two to a floor, with interior areas to verify independently, in a corporation that has owned its own building since 1977 and has never taken a J-51 benefit. Two ground-floor commercial units are held outside the residential shareholder group. There is no staff, no amenity and no doorman. What there is instead is a very small, very old cooperative with unusually wide floor plates and a landmark façade — and a set of policy questions that are genuinely unpublished and must be asked directly.

Architecture and unit composition

The lot has fifty-six feet of frontage on Lafayette; its width alone does not establish current apartment layouts or areas. Recorded unit labels run north and south on floors two through five; confirm the current legal layouts, street exposures and depth from approved plans, including the recorded 2013 combination. The reported residential building area divided by eight does not establish a 1,500-square-foot average interior or ceiling heights. Verify the actual plans and measurements; the interior renovation filings on record describe relocating non-load-bearing partitions and plumbing within open volumes, not reconfiguring a fixed room plan.

The north elevation is exposed brick in two bays with segmental lintels, a consequence of the 1897 rebuilding. The roof carries a wood deck and fence. Individual apartment renovations are documented across the record — 4N in 2016, 5N in 2018, 5S in 2015, a second-floor apartment in 2016, a fourth-floor apartment in 2002 — so condition varies unit to unit and should be assessed apartment by apartment rather than assumed from the building.

Two attempts to add space above were made and neither succeeded. A 2003 alteration proposed renovating a fifth-floor apartment and adding a 525-square-foot penthouse; a 2009 alteration proposed a new rooftop addition. Both remain at plan-examination disapproved in DOB's records, neither reached permit, and the building is still five stories. The lot is now inside a historic district, which changes the calculus for any future attempt. Do not underwrite roof rights here.

Building operations

There is one passenger elevator and no staff. Capital work appears in the DOB record at the rhythm you would want from a small self-directed cooperative rather than in bursts: the gas boiler was replaced with two units in 2010, façade repair and repointing was filed in 2011, and a full roof program — membrane and flashing replacement, cracked masonry replacement, repointing, and new guard rails — was filed in 2018. Storefront work at street level followed in 2019 and 2020. Debris netting was filed over the adjacent plaza in 2020 for neighboring construction.

On the financing side, ACRIS shows the corporation's mortgage history: a National Consumer Cooperative Bank loan in 1992, an HSBC facility in 2001, a $1.1 million mortgage in 2011, and then in January 2019 a $1.5 million first mortgage together with a $200,000 facility, with the prior loan discharged at the same closing. The maturity date is not in the public record. Ask for it. In an eight-apartment cooperative, the underlying mortgage's maturity and terms are the single most consequential number in the financial statements, and it is not published anywhere a buyer can reach.

The two ground-floor commercial units are cooperative units held outside the residential shareholder group; the recorded transfers show the storefront shares moving to an outside commercial owner in 2017. Because they are shares rather than a lease, the corporation collects maintenance on them rather than market rent. How many shares are allocated to the commercial units — and therefore how much of the operating budget they carry — is a question the audited financials answer and nothing else does.

JLWQA occupancy, and what the 2021 rezoning changed

This is the single most important thing a buyer needs to understand about this building, and it is not obvious from a listing.

The apartments are joint living-work quarters for artists. DOB filings describe them that way as recently as 2013. Under the M1-5B zoning that governed the lot until December 2021, JLWQA occupancy was restricted to certified artists and other lawful occupants; eligibility and applicable statutory protections require unit-specific legal review.

The rezoning effective December 15, 2021 replaced M1-5B with M1-5/R7D inside a new Special SoHo-NoHo Mixed Use District, and the 2022 state amendment protects qualifying permanent occupants whose residence began on or before that date. Their protection should not be assumed to pass to a new buyer or tenant. Conversion to ordinary residential use requires City Planning Chair certification, recorded instruments, an Arts Fund contribution, necessary code work and a new or amended certificate of occupancy. The contribution began at $100 per square foot on December 15, 2021 and is adjusted annually; confirm the rate effective when paid.

A proposed occupant who is not eligible for JLWQA occupancy needs the applicable conversion before occupancy; an eligible occupant may be able to continue the existing use. The old $100 rate and an inferred 1,500-square-foot average cannot establish today’s conversion cost. Counsel and a design professional should confirm eligibility, measured conversion area, the current contribution and required work, then review legal obligations and cooperative documents to allocate the costs. Whether any unit in this building has been converted is not documented in DOB's online filings. Establish the current certificate-of-occupancy status of the specific apartment, and the board's position on conversion, before contract. The asking price does not establish those legal requirements or costs.

On the Loft Law: no Interim Multiple Dwelling registration appears in the records reviewed, and every DOB filing on the building carries the Loft Board flag as "N." The ordinary explanation fits — the cooperative took title in 1977, five years before Article 7-C, and its occupants have held shares rather than tenancies throughout. Confirm it with the managing agent rather than relying on inference, because former-IMD status carries an exemption from the SoHo/NoHo conversion and Arts Fund requirements and is therefore worth establishing definitively.

Policy framework

Management-sourced records document a flip tax of 1 percent of gross sale price, subletting permitted with board approval subject to a surcharge documented at 5 percent, pets permitted, and pied-à-terre use permitted. Those four are the extent of what is published.

The Research Library does not hold an offering plan for this building. The maximum financing percentage, the minimum down payment, any post-closing liquidity requirement, the board's posture on purchases by trusts, LLCs or other entities, on co-purchasing, guarantors and gifting, and any seasoning period before a sublet is permitted have not been verified in the materials reviewed; establish them from the governing documents and current application requirements. Obtain them from the managing agent in writing before making an offer. A financing ceiling or liquidity requirement discovered after acceptance can change affordability, but no transaction sample establishes it as the most common cause of failed deals here.

Application and transaction fees

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
1 percent of gross sale price per management-sourced records; confirm with the managing agent

Source: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Recent sales

Recorded share transfers include distinct units in 2005, 2011, 2012, 2015 — when four apartments transferred — and 2022, 2023 and 2025. Verify consideration, parties and transaction type before treating each as an independent market sale; those selected years do not establish regular turnover or a liquidity advantage over other small loft cooperatives.

Compare actual layouts, measured areas, floor, ceiling height, condition and exposure. Use dated, matched SoHo cooperative and condominium sales, adjusting for board requirements, financing, staffing, total costs and the specific occupancy status; no fixed condominium discount or identical north/south floor plan is established. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Dec 9, 20254S
2 BR · 1 BA · 1,350 sf
$2,115,000$1,567/sf-7.8%
Mar 3, 20233S
2 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,350 sf
$2,200,000$1,630/sf+5.0%
Jun 6, 20222N
1 BR · 1 BA · 1,340 sf
$2,075,000$1,549/sf-2.4%
Jun 17, 20152S
2 BR · 1,350 sf
$1,875,000$1,389/sf+10.6%
Mar 18, 20154N
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,300 sf
$1,910,000$1,469/sf+6.4%
Jan 5, 20124S
2 BR · 1,350 sf
$1,412,500$1,046/sf+0.0%
Feb 16, 20113N
1 BR · 1,300 sf
$1,210,000$931/sf-6.9%
Mar 29, 20053N
1 BR · 1,300 sf
$1,250,000$962/sf+8.7%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,567/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount -2.5% over ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

4S · 1,350 sf+50%
$1,412,500 ($1,046/sf) 2012 → $2,115,000 ($1,567/sf) 2025
3N · 1,300 sf-3%
$1,250,000 ($962/sf) 2005 → $1,210,000 ($931/sf) 2011
View all 13 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00496-0030). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Work of Art Lofts and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Work of Art Lofts and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Work of Art Lofts. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

You are buying shares, not real property. Title is in the corporation. You will receive a stock certificate and a proprietary lease. Your lender will be making a share loan against that collateral, recognized by a recognition agreement the corporation must sign — and in an eight-shareholder building, confirm at the outset that the board will execute one for your lender.

The board package and interview are the transaction. With eight apartments the board is effectively the whole building, and the review is personal rather than procedural. Assemble a complete package — two to three years of returns, verified assets, employment and reference letters, and a clean financial statement — and expect the interview to matter. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer.

Get the financing ceiling and the liquidity standard in writing first. They are not published. If the building permits only 50 or 60 percent financing, or expects two years of post-closing liquidity, that changes what you can bid — and finding out after acceptance may require financing changes or affect whether the purchase can proceed.

Price the JLWQA question. Establish the apartment's occupancy classification of record and whether conversion to Residential Use Group 2 has been done, is planned, or is being left alone. If conversion is required or chosen, obtain the current contribution rate, qualifying floor area, professional and construction costs, and counsel’s analysis of payment responsibility; the historical $100 base is annually adjusted.

Read the underlying mortgage. A $1.5 million first plus a $200,000 facility were recorded in January 2019, spread across eight apartments, but the maturity is not public, and a refinancing into a different rate environment could change maintenance. Review the current budget, audited statements, debt and any assessments.

Landmark status constrains the exterior. The storefronts, windows and façade are regulated. Window replacement and any street-facing change require a Landmarks permit. Budget time, not just money.

No staff, no doorman, no package room. The building is self-directed. Confirm how deliveries, contractors and building access are handled, and read the house rules on renovation hours and elevator use — with one elevator and eight apartments, a neighbor's gut renovation is felt.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the building's history and its landmark façade. An 1881 John Sexton factory, twice-designed, inside the SoHo–Cast Iron Historic District Extension, held by the same cooperative since 1977, is a genuinely distinctive provenance and it survives buyer diligence intact.

Correct the year built before a buyer finds it. The Department of Finance roll and most listing records carry 1910. The building dates to 1881–82 with an 1897–98 addition, per LPC's designation report and the original DOB dockets. Supply the correct record up front; it reads as authority rather than as a correction.

Have the policy stack ready in writing. The profile reports management-sourced pet, pied-à-terre, sublet and 1 percent transfer-fee terms, subject to current confirmation. Financing and liquidity requirements remain unverified. Obtain a dated current policy schedule and governing documents before marketing.

Address JLWQA proactively. Provide the current certificate of occupancy and the board’s written position, then have counsel establish the proposed occupant’s legal eligibility or required conversion path. The 2021 rezoning alone did not resolve every buyer’s occupancy rights.

Present the capital record. Filings show boiler work in 2010, façade work in 2011 and roof work in 2018; present them with the filings, and confirm completion and current condition with the managing agent.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 242 Lafayette Street, also evaluate:

  • 237 Lafayette Street — the 21-apartment loft cooperative on block 495, directly opposite; the nearest like-for-like in tenure and street
  • 292 Lafayette Street — an 1883–84 loft cooperative of thirteen apartments and a store; the closest match in vintage, scale and structure
  • 284 Lafayette Street — an 1891–92 loft cooperative of twenty residences; the larger Lafayette Street co-op alternative
  • 33 Greene Street — an 1873 loft cooperative with eight residences; the closest peer by shareholder count
  • 16 Crosby Street — an 1877 twelve-unit loft cooperative on Crosby Street; comparable governance at comparable scale
  • 106 Spring Street — a ten-loft cooperative, two per floor, in an 1890s store-and-loft building; the same plate logic
  • 169 Spring Street — a c. 1882 loft cooperative converted in 1979; the same pioneer-conversion generation
  • 101 Wooster Street — an 1893–94 nine-residence loft cooperative with a commercial unit; near-identical unit count and commercial structure
  • 102 Wooster Street — an 1891 store building converted to eight condominium residences plus a commercial unit; the condominium alternative at the same scale
  • 115 Mercer Street — an 1872 loft converted to eight residential and two commercial condominium units; the deeded-ownership comparison
  • 225 Lafayette Street — a c. 1926 loft converted to condominium in the mid-2000s; newer conversion, same corridor
Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Work of Art Lofts?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com