- Year built
- 1877
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 12
- Floors
- 5
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- No doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $1,711
- 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 1.1%
- Recorded sales
- 16
- On record
- 2005–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 16 Crosby Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Twelve apartments in a cast-iron warehouse that has stood since the summer of 1877, on a lot that runs the full block from Broadway to Crosby Street. That single fact — the through lot — explains almost everything about how this building lives and how it should be underwritten.
The building went up for Edward Mathews to designs by Schweitzer & Greve, commenced in November 1876 and completed on 30 July 1877. It was built simultaneously with its neighbour at 444 Broadway, for the same owner, by the same architects; the two were conceived as a pair and joined on the Crosby side, where they share a common facade. On Broadway the elevation is cast iron from the Long Island Iron Works — five stories, three bays, slender neo-Grec columns dividing the window bays, a pierced stylized arch set in front of the glass beneath each spandrel panel, and a bold projecting cornice with anthemion alternating with raised circular motifs above neo-Grec console brackets. LPC's designation report notes the effect recalls Richard Morris Hunt's building further up the street. On Crosby the treatment is deliberately plainer: nine bays of brick above a cast-iron ground floor, the utilitarian back-of-house face that Crosby Street was built to be.
The consequence for residents is unusual light. A 200-foot-deep lot with two street frontages means the apartments are not conventional loft plates with a front and a dark rear; they are through-block or near-through-block spaces with openings on both ends. The share transfers recorded in ACRIS carry unit designations of "F," "RN" and "RS" — front, rear-north, rear-south — three residences on each of floors two through five, which is exactly the twelve units PLUTO reports.
The second structural fact is the tenure. This is a cooperative, and one of the older artist-loft conversions in SoHo: the deed into Sixteen Crosby Street Owners Corp. was recorded on 30 June 1980, before the Loft Law, before the neighbourhood's institutionalisation, and long before SoHo lofts became a national trophy category. Shareholders here have in several cases held for decades — the recorded transfer history shows estates, revocable trusts and thirty-year holds turning over one at a time.
The third is that the building is genuinely small and genuinely undocumented. Twelve apartments share every capital item. No offering plan, proprietary lease or financial statement for this building exists in either of the document libraries we search. That is not a reason to avoid it — it is a reason to do the document work early, because the reviewed libraries lack those documents and the managing agent should be asked for the operative package.
Architecture and unit composition
Five stories on a lot of roughly 8,800 square feet, carrying about 42,100 gross square feet — approximately 33,400 residential and 8,700 commercial. The lot measures 24 feet on Broadway and runs 200 feet through to Crosby, where the building presents a 75-foot width; DOF flags the lot as irregular, and the plan is best understood as a narrow Broadway front opening into a much wider Crosby-side body.
Three residences per floor across four residential floors. Ceiling heights and window openings are those of an 1876 warehouse, and the interiors have been reworked repeatedly under DOB permits — mezzanines built and rebuilt (2000, 2007), partitions rearranged, air-conditioning replaced building-wide in 2017, a gravity tank disconnected and a new six-inch sprinkler main and alarm valve installed in 2008. Common areas were upgraded under a 2013 permit. The permits record work over time; completion and current condition need confirming.
There is no elevator lobby in the full-service sense. DOB classifies the building as an elevator apartment building, but at five stories and twelve units, the circulation is a loft building's circulation.
Building operations
Twelve residential shareholders and a ground-floor commercial tenancy on Broadway. This is a self-contained loft co-op, not a staffed building: expect a superintendent arrangement rather than a doorman, and expect the shareholders to be closely involved in how the building is run.
The reviewed instruments record approximately $1.0 million of debt around the 2005 and 2019 transactions. That historical amount does not establish the current balance, financial condition or leverage relative to value. The 2019 transaction added under $100,000 of new money and moved the loan to a new lender rather than levering up. Against that, twelve units is a small denominator: capital costs depend on the actual scope, financing and share allocations, rather than an automatic twelve-way split; any LPC review costs and timing depend on the work. The building's LPC file shows regular, small, permitted work; it does not by itself establish current condition.
Because no financial statement for this building is on file with us, the reserve position, the current operating budget, any live assessment and the underlying mortgage's maturity date were not established in the materials reviewed. They are the first four things to request.
The artist-loft question — JLWQA, and what December 2021 changed
This is the most important item on the page for a buyer, and it is one that routine diligence usually misses.
The apartments here are legally Joint Living-Work Quarters for Artists. DOB filings state it directly: a 2000 alteration describes the "renovation of existing JWLQ unit"; a 2012 alteration describes the "interior renovation of existing joint living work quarters for artist-in-residence at 2nd story in 5-story" building; the building's residential occupancy classification in DOB records is J-2. Under the M1-5B zoning that governed SoHo for four decades, this was the only lawful residential use in the district, and occupancy required certification as an artist by the Department of Cultural Affairs.
The December 2021 SoHo/NoHo rezoning changed the framework but did not automatically change any certificate of occupancy. The lot is now M1-5/R9X inside the Special SoHo-NoHo Mixed Use District. Under that text, joint living-work quarters existing on 15 December 2021 may be converted to conventional residential use only upon certification by the Chair of the City Planning Commission to the Commissioner of Buildings that the required instruments have been executed and recorded and that a contribution has been deposited in the SoHo-NoHo Arts Fund. A 2022 amendment deemed any non-artist who was a permanent occupant of a JLWQA unit as of 15 December 2021 to satisfy the artist requirement — which cured the exposure of occupants in place on that date.
What that leaves for a purchaser today is a live legal question rather than a settled one: whether this specific apartment's certificate of occupancy still reads JLWQA, whether the corporation has pursued or intends to pursue the conversion certification, and what the arts-fund contribution would cost if it did. Do not assume the 2021 rezoning resolved it. Have counsel read the operative certificate of occupancy, ask the managing agent whether the board has taken any position on conversion, and price the answer.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Cooperative. Purchase requires board approval following a full board package and, in the ordinary course for a building of this kind, an interview. The board's discretion is broad and it is not required to give reasons.
Financing ceiling, minimum down payment, post-closing liquidity requirement, sublet policy, flip tax, pied-à-terre use, pets, and purchase by a trust or an LLC: Not established in the materials reviewed. These terms live in the offering plan, the proprietary lease, the by-laws and the house rules, none of which we hold for this building. Small SoHo loft cooperatives vary widely — some permit unlimited subletting and pied-à-terre use, others prohibit both outright — so no default should be assumed here in either direction. Request the full document package from the managing agent before making an offer, and confirm the flip tax structure in writing, because in a twelve-unit building the difference between a percentage-of-price flip tax and a per-share flip tax is material to net proceeds.
Landmark constraint: The lot is inside the SoHo–Cast Iron Historic District. Primary-façade window replacement, storefront work, signage and rooftop equipment generally require LPC approval, with specified routine maintenance exemptions. Permit type depends on scope: some exterior work qualifies for staff approval, while other proposals need Commission-reviewed Certificates of Appropriateness. Coordinate any required DOB permit.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $50 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Fee to the Organization | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Guarantors
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $6,189/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $43
- Modeled exposure split equally across 12 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Recent sales
16 Crosby prices as scarce SoHo loft co-op product: through-lot residences in a designated cast-iron building, valued on light, ceiling height, floor level and condition rather than on amenities, of which there are none. The comparable set is the small artist-conversion cooperatives of the Crosby, Mercer, Greene and Wooster blocks, not the amenitised condominium conversions on Broadway and West Broadway, whose buyer pools and carrying costs are different. Evaluate the cooperative purchase rules and apartment-specific JLWQA occupancy requirements, and use matched sales to test any price difference from comparable condominiums.
Turnover is thin — this is a building where residences change hands roughly once every year or two across the whole stack — so pricing depends on line-specific and floor-specific analysis rather than on a building average. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 26, 2025 | PH5F | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,920 sf | $4,995,000 | $1,711/sf | -4.9% |
| May 12, 2023 | 2 | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,400 sf | $5,600,000 | $2,333/sf | -6.6% |
| Jun 10, 2021 | 2RS | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $5,300,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jun 4, 2021 | 4RN | 3 BR · 3 BA · 2,400 sf | $5,750,000 | $2,396/sf | — |
| Mar 23, 2017 | 2RS | 3 BR · 2,350 sf | $3,890,000 | $1,655/sf | +0.0% |
| Aug 26, 2016 | 2RN | 2 BR · 2,400 sf | $4,200,000 | $1,750/sf | +2.4% |
| Jun 11, 2014 | 4RN | 1 BR · 1 BA · 2,250 sf | $2,700,000 | $1,200/sf | -0.9% |
| Aug 16, 2011 | 3RN | 2 BR · 2,450 sf | $2,180,000 | $890/sf | -3.1% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,711/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 1.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00232-0009). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 16 Crosby Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 16 Crosby Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 16 Crosby Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Budget the document request into your timeline. With no plan located in the reviewed libraries, the board package requirements, the financing ceiling and the flip tax all arrive from the managing agent on the managing agent's schedule. Start that request the day you decide to bid, not after contract.
Underwrite the JLWQA status specifically. Ask for the certificate of occupancy, in writing, for the apartment you are buying. Resolve the apartment’s lawful occupancy and any conversion requirements before contract.
The through lot is the product. Two street exposures across a 200-foot depth is not something the neighbourhood's later, narrower conversions can reproduce. Walk the apartment at two different times of day before pricing it.
Ask what the board's posture is on the commercial space. A Broadway retail frontage is an income and a liability at once. Understand how the commercial component is held, what it contributes, and whether the corporation carries any exposure to a vacancy there.
Run the co-op math before you offer. Confirm the board's current financing and liquidity requirements from its application instructions — Co-op Board Qualification Calculator.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the through lot and the 1877 pedigree, not with square footage. The Schweitzer & Greve cast-iron front, the Long Island Iron Works ironwork and the designation-report entry are documentable facts that separate this building from the generic "SoHo loft" pool.
Assemble the document package before you list. Buyers' counsel will ask for the proprietary lease, the by-laws, the house rules, the current financials and the certificate of occupancy. Providing those documents early supports review, but does not guarantee a shorter closing timeline.
Be straightforward about the JLWQA classification. Explain the apartment-specific occupancy requirements early; buyer response and any pricing effect depend on the facts and transaction.
Price the renovation honestly. Loft interiors here have been reworked repeatedly under permit; buyers will compare a finished apartment against a raw one on a dollars-per-foot basis and back out the difference. Renovation Cost Calculator.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 16 Crosby Street, also evaluate:
- 45 Crosby Street — the closest peer in the portfolio: a twelve-residence SoHo loft cooperative with the same artist-occupancy history
- 42 Crosby Street — Crosby Street loft building two blocks north; different block, different building
- 30 Crosby Street — Crosby Street conversion between Grand and Broome
- 475 Broadway — cast-iron Broadway loft conversion in the same historic district
- 476 Broadway — Broadway loft building on the same avenue; a condominium that also includes cooperative-held apartments, so confirm the specific apartment's interest
- 33 Greene Street — small cast-iron loft building in the district's core
- 107 Greene Street — comparable boutique SoHo loft conversion
- 27 Wooster Street — small Wooster Street loft building; verify tenure
- 102 Wooster Street — SoHo loft conversion at similar scale
- 129 Lafayette Street — loft building on the district's eastern edge
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 16 Crosby Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com