
245 East 54th Street (The Brevard)
245 East 54th Street, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013280021 · BIN 1038575
- Year built
- 1977
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- About 444
- Floors
- 29
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Requires confirmation
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $629K
- 44 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $310K – $2.1M
- Listing discount
- 5.4%
- Recorded transfers
- 621
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Brevard would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
245 East 54th Street — The Brevard — is one of the largest residential buildings in its corner of Midtown East, a roughly 444-unit cooperative tower built in 1977 by the LeFrak Organization to a design by Emery Roth & Sons. Both names carry weight in New York housing history: LeFrak was one of the city's most prolific developers of large-scale rental and ownership housing, and Emery Roth & Sons designed a substantial share of Manhattan's mid-century apartment and office towers. The Brevard is a representative product of that partnership — a high-volume, full-service residential tower built to last.
Scale is the building's defining attribute and its core market argument. With several hundred apartments, The Brevard offers depth of inventory across studios and one-bedrooms, a full-service operation that the building's size supports, and an entry-to-mid-market price band that makes it one of the more accessible doorman cooperatives in central Midtown East. Buyers looking for a turnkey, full-service ownership home near the Midtown business district — without trophy pricing — are the building's natural audience.
The location sits on the edge of the Sutton and Turtle Bay areas, a quiet residential pocket close to Midtown offices, the United Nations, and the Second and Third Avenue retail spines. The Brevard is a cooperative; assess current operations and resale activity from management documents and dated transactions.
Architecture and unit composition
The Brevard presents as a light-brick high-rise of roughly 29 to 30 stories, typical of the late-1970s Emery Roth & Sons residential vocabulary: a clean, vertical tower built for volume and efficiency rather than ornament. The building's lobby and corridors have been refreshed in recent years.
The unit mix runs predominantly to studios and one-bedrooms, with the building's height producing a range of exposures and, on the upper floors, open city views. As a cooperative, apartments are valued on a price-per-room basis, with floor, exposure, and renovation condition the primary swing factors between comparable lines. The furnished roof deck takes advantage of the tower's upper-floor view envelope and is a building-wide amenity.
Building operations
The Brevard operates as a full-service cooperative: 24-hour doorman and concierge, central laundry, an in-building parking garage, and a furnished roof deck with panoramic views. The building's size supports a robust service operation and helps spread fixed costs across a large shareholder base — a structural advantage of large cooperatives.
Governance is by a board, and purchases are subject to board review and an interview. Earlier profile records report a 15-lb pet limit and permitted pied-à-terre use; the October 2026 policy panel does not confirm those details. Reconcile the current pet, pied-à-terre and sublet rules with management. The variable financial specifics — financing limits, flip tax, sublet terms, and post-closing liquidity expectations — should be confirmed at offer stage against the current house rules and most recent financials.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Flip TaxPer share | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $2 Per Share | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet FeePer share · Recurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $0.35 per share per month | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Corporate Sublet FeePer share · Recurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $0.35 per share per month | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Guarantors
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsNo subletting until after the shareholder has resided in the apartment as their primary residence for 2 years. Maximum of 5 years sublet over the life of ownership.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPets under 15 pounds are allowed. Visitors are not permitted to bring pets into the building. All pets must be registered and weighed at the management office.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $489 per room a monthMedian of 55 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.03 per square foot a monthMedian of 25 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $167,492/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $31
- Modeled exposure split equally across 444 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- $2.00 per share (buyer)
- Sublet policy
- Allowed after 2 yrs primary residence, max 5 yrs; fee $0.35/share/month
- Pied-à-terre
- Requires confirmation
- Policies and fees
- 80% max financing; pets under 15 lbs
Recent sales
245 East 54th Street includes studios and one-bedrooms. Establish the available comparable sample from dated transfers, using consistent room counts or reliable apartment measurements alongside total prices. Recorded transfers cluster in the entry-to-mid-market band that the building's layout profile supports, with upper-floor and better-exposed lines commanding the premium.
Compare this full-service, doorman cooperative in central Midtown East with matched prewar and new-development apartments using dated sales and current carrying costs. Renovation condition and exposure are the dominant variables between otherwise similar lines. Verify the most recent apartment-level closings against NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers and exclude any non-arms-length transfers from your comparable set.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 17, 2026 | 12HJ | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,055,000 | -6.2% | |
| Sep 16, 2026 | 6E | 1 BA | $339,000 | -5.8% | |
| Aug 14, 2026 | 8LM | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,600 sf | $1,650,000 | $1,031/sf | -12.0% |
| Aug 11, 2026 | 6G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $626,000 | -1.9% | |
| Jun 11, 2026 | 22A | 1 BR · 1 BA · 700 sf | $595,000 | $850/sf | -9.8% |
| May 15, 2026 | 3J | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,125,000 | $938/sf | -2.2% |
| May 8, 2026 | 3JK | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,125,000 | -2.2% | |
| Apr 21, 2026 | 29S | 1 BR · 1 BA | $615,000 | -5.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $885/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 10, 2009 | 12B | $320,000 |
| Dec 10, 2009 | 25C | $339,000 |
| Sep 22, 2003 | 6B | $325,000 |
| Aug 12, 2003 | 3A | $330,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01328-0021). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at The Brevard, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 13 | $3,995 |
Also $63 per sq ft per year (9 leases that report square footage). 14 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease May 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Brevard and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $650K (35 transfers in the past 24 months, since November 3, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,988 to close, or 1.7% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,988
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Brevard and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Brevard. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
It is a co-op — plan for the board. Purchases require board approval and an interview. Build your timeline and financial presentation around the process.
Price on rooms, not square feet. As a cooperative, the building trades on a price-per-room basis. Compare like lines and adjust for floor, exposure, and condition.
Check the available comparable set. Compare recent closed sales and current competing listings before judging negotiating conditions.
Confirm the financial framework at offer stage. Financing limits, flip tax, and sublet terms vary; confirm them against the current house rules.
Model the full carry. Maintenance plus financing plus any assessment is the real monthly number — get the building's most recent financials.
What to know if you’re selling
Comparable selection is everything. With deep in-building inventory, pricing depends on choosing the right recent comps and adjusting precisely for floor, exposure, and renovation level.
Lead with full-service value. Doorman, concierge, garage, and roof deck at an accessible price point are the marketing story for an entry-to-mid-market buyer.
Prepare the board package early. A clean, complete presentation shortens the path through board review and reduces the risk of a stalled closing.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 245 East 54th Street, also evaluate:
- 303 East 57th Street (The Excelsior) — large full-service Midtown East cooperative nearby
- 425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign) — 1970s full-service Midtown East tower
- 322 East 57th Street — Harry M. Clawson of Caughey & Evans's 1929-1930 Manhattan cooperative
- 225 East 36th Street (The Murray Hill Crescent) — postwar Murray Hill cooperative with a comparable full-service profile
More Midtown East buildings
- Dag Hammarskjold Tower, 240 East 47th Street — 1982 condominium by Gruzen Samton Steinglass
- 244 East 52nd Street (Minuet) — 2023 condominium by Isaac & Stern Architects
- 245 East 50th Street — 1980 condominium
- Loft53, 245 East 53rd Street — 2017 condominium
- 249 East 48th Street (Turtle Bay House) — 1957 condominium
- 249 East 50th Street — 2019 condominium by Isaac & Stern Architects
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Midtown East — read The Roebling Team Guide to Midtown East.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Brevard?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com