- Year built
- 1887
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 7
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the NoHo East Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- No doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $1,091
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 2.0%
- Recorded sales
- 23
- On record
- 2004–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 27 Bleecker Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Albert Buchman designed this building in 1887 for two owners assembling a commercial site on a block that was rapidly turning from Federal-era row houses into loft manufacturing. LPC records it as one of his last independent commissions before he formed Buchman & Deisler; his later firm's work fills three other historic districts downtown. What he built is a seven-story Romanesque Revival store-and-loft, five bays wide, with a one-bay projecting corner tower carrying a segmental-arch entryway and a terra-cotta tympanum, a rock-faced brownstone base with paneled cast-iron columns, beveled brick piers, radiating brick lintels, round-arched seventh-story windows and a pressed-metal roof cornice. Most of that is original. LPC's building entry is a short catalogue of what survives, and the exterior reads today essentially as it did in 1888.
The building resisted residential conversion longer than its neighbors. Fur and printing firms held it through mid-century; paper suppliers, garment makers, mannequin and novelty manufacturers followed. Conversion came in 1985, when 27-31 Owners Corporation bought the property and offered fifteen cooperative units.
The structural fact that distinguishes this building from a conventional NoHo loft co-op is what those units legally are. Twelve of them were offered as artists' Joint Living-Work Quarters, and purchasers of units on the second through seventh floors were required to represent that they held, or would obtain before occupying, certification as an artist from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs. That designation is not a marketing description. It is an occupancy classification with a certificate-of-occupancy consequence, and it should be checked against the unit’s current occupancy records during diligence.
The 2019 compiled financial statements provide a dated financial snapshot. At that year-end the cooperative carried no underlying mortgage — no mortgage payable on the balance sheet and no interest paid during the year. The offset is that real estate taxes consumed roughly three-quarters of total expenses, cash on hand was modest, the statements are compiled rather than audited, and the governing documents do not require funding a reserve. These historical figures do not establish current debt, reserves or borrowing capacity; request current statements and the board’s capital-funding plan.
Architecture and unit composition
Seven stories over a Bleecker Street storefront, five bays wide, with the projecting corner tower at the western end that gives the building its silhouette. The structure is steel and cast iron behind brick with brownstone and terra-cotta ornament. The upper floors carry paneled spandrels, decorative brickwork, carved panels, Corinthian orders and round-arched seventh-story openings; the roof cornice is historic pressed metal with dentils. Alterations since designation are documented in the LPC entry — the metal-and-glass storefront infill, the upper-floor entryway, replacement one-over-one sash — and the sidewalk retains historic granite and a steel-plated vault cover.
Apartments are full-floor and half-floor loft plates. With fifteen units across seven floors plus a basement and ground floor, layouts are large and shallow-columned, and light comes from the Bleecker Street elevation and from the rear, with the east elevation stuccoed and largely blind. Roof-deck and bulkhead work appears in the DOB record, including a bulkhead stair and roof deck replacement, so private roof access exists for at least some apartments; confirm which rights attach to a specific unit rather than assuming.
Buyers should also read the alteration history for the building envelope. DOB filings show a Local Law 11 facade repair cycle beginning in 2015 with a heavy-duty sidewalk shed, a sidewalk vault replacement completed across 2015–2017, and structural roof work in 2018–2019. That is a normal maintenance arc for a building of this age, and the vault replacement in particular is a large-ticket item that this building has already absorbed.
Building operations
The building runs without a doorman. The offering plan budgeted a part-time superintendent for refuse removal, hallway cleaning and minor maintenance, and the operating statements on file remain consistent with that model — total operating expenses at the last year-end were roughly half a million dollars, of which real estate taxes were about three-quarters, with maintenance and repairs, utilities, managing agent fees, insurance and professional fees making up the balance. There is no payroll of consequence and no amenity program.
Compare current maintenance per measured square foot with similar apartments; staffing and historical debt alone do not establish a cost advantage. The 2019 statements show no commercial rent roll and a modest cash balance, under a compilation-level accounting engagement rather than an audit. Confirm current reserves, debt and lending terms before assuming the cooperative can borrow for capital work.
Joint Live-Work Quarters for Artists — what buyers need to know
The offering plan on file describes the conversion of the existing building to a multiple dwelling containing twelve artists' Joint Living-Work Quarters, together with three additional units that under the zoning then in force could be used as artists' studios or for commercial and light manufacturing purposes. The plan allocates them specifically: the basement unit as an artist's studio, the two first-floor units for commercial and light manufacturing uses permitted by law, and the second- through seventh-floor units as joint living-work quarters for artists. The plan reproduces the Zoning Resolution's definition — occupancy by no more than four unrelated artists, or an artist and family maintaining a common household, with adequate work space, and with "artist" meaning a person certified as such by the Department of Cultural Affairs. Purchasers of the upper-floor units had to represent to the sponsor that they held or would obtain that certification.
Two things have changed since 1985, and one has not.
What changed is the zoning. The lot is now M1-5/R7X within the Special SoHo-NoHo Mixed Use District, the framework adopted in the December 2021 SoHo/NoHo rezoning, which permits residential use as of right in this area. The artist-certification requirement that attached to JLWQA occupancy in the old M1-5A and M1-5B manufacturing districts no longer governs new residential use here as a matter of zoning.
What also changed is enforcement practice, which had been light for decades before the rezoning — DOB filings on this building as recently as 2008 describe an existing artist studio on the first floor.
What has not changed on its own is the paperwork. A certificate of occupancy that designates units as joint living-work quarters does not amend itself when the zoning underneath it changes, and neither do a proprietary lease and offering plan that describe the units that way. A JLWQA designation on the C of O can affect an appraisal, a lender's willingness to finance, an insurance placement, and a buyer's ability to represent the unit as a conventional apartment on resale.
So: pull the current certificate of occupancy for BIN 1008448 before you go to contract, and ask the managing agent in writing whether the cooperative has amended the C of O since the 2021 rezoning, whether any unit remains classified as a JLWQA or as commercial or light-manufacturing space, and how the board treats artist certification today. Your lender should see the answer before your commitment issues, and your attorney should see it before you sign.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 3% of Sale Price (after 1-2 years of ownership), 2.5% if owned for 3-4 years, 2% if owned for 5-6 years, 1.5% if owned for 7-8, 1% if owned for 9+ years
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Purchase
14 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit/Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Disbursement Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePer hourRequired | Paid by Buyer | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $30 per hour | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePer hourRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $30 per hour | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Document Facilitation FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $150, if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 per loan | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Disbursement Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $75 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $750 (Financed Deals) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $700 (Cash Deals Only) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit/Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeePer hourRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $30 per hour | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In FeePer hourRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $30 per hour | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Security DepositUpon Board approval | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $5,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $700 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Guarantors
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedNo BirdsSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Recent sales
27 Bleecker trades as a small NoHo loft cooperative, which puts its comparable set among converted loft buildings in NoHo, NoLIta and the Bowery corridor rather than among the neighborhood's new-construction condominiums, whose closing mechanics, policy framework and buyer pool are structurally different. Within that set, pricing turns on floor plate, ceiling height, light, renovation condition and outdoor rights, with a wide dispersion between renovated and estate-condition apartments. The 2019 statements show taxes dominating expenses and no underlying mortgage at that year-end. Compare current charges, debt, reserves and measured apartment area before claiming a cost advantage from limited staffing and amenities. Compare the true monthly number rather than the maintenance figure. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 14, 2025 | 6B | 1 BR · 2 BA · 2,200 sf | $3,100,000 | $1,409/sf | +14.8% |
| Nov 10, 2023 | 5B | 2 BR · 2 BA · 2,200 sf | $3,425,500 | $1,557/sf | -2.0% |
| Aug 28, 2023 | 5A | 1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,236 sf | $2,225,000 | $1,800/sf | +1.1% |
| May 11, 2022 | 7B | 3 BR · 2 BA · 2,200 sf | $5,650,000 | $2,568/sf | +3.7% |
| Aug 6, 2021 | 4B | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,200 sf | $3,350,000 | $1,523/sf | -4.1% |
| Aug 31, 2016 | 3B | 3 BR · 2 BA · 2,200 sf | $3,850,000 | $1,750/sf | -8.3% |
| Feb 16, 2016 | 4B | 3 BR · 2 BA · 2,200 sf | $3,800,000 | $1,727/sf | -5.0% |
| Mar 3, 2011 | 5B | 3 BR · 2,200 sf | $2,700,000 | $1,227/sf | -3.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,091/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00529-0055). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 27 Bleecker Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 27 Bleecker Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 27 Bleecker Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Ownership is shares, not real property. Apartments here transfer as cooperative shares with an assignment of the proprietary lease. ACRIS records residential transfers on this lot predominantly under property type SP — single residential cooperative unit — alongside a small number of CP commercial cooperative unit transfers for the ground floor and basement. That recording pattern is the confirmation of tenure, and it drives the title work, the lender's product, and the closing timeline.
Resolve the JLWQA question first. Before anything else. See the section above. This determines whether your lender will lend, on what terms, and what you own.
Confirm the current board package and thresholds. Ask the managing agent, before you offer, for the maximum permitted financing, the required post-closing liquidity, the debt-to-income posture, and the board's treatment of guarantors, co-purchasers, gifted funds, trusts, LLCs and pieds-à-terre. The 1985 plan establishes only that board consent is required for sale, assignment and sublet, that it may not be unreasonably withheld, and that the board must respond within thirty days of a written application. The displayed July 2026 management schedule reports an 80% financing ceiling and a tiered seller transfer fee; confirm the applicable current figures and any exceptions with the managing agent.
Ask for the sublet policy in writing. Subletting is permitted with conditions, and the statements show no meaningful sublet revenue, so current practice is not established. If your plan involves renting the apartment at any point, resolve seasoning periods, term caps, and fees before contract.
Underwrite the tax line and the reserve position together. Taxes dominated the 2019 expenses, cash was modest and the governing documents on file do not require reserve funding. Confirm current figures and model the board’s actual proposed funding for capital work, including any assessment or borrowing.
Landmarks governs the exterior. Windows, storefront, the tower entryway, roof appurtenances visible from the street. Discretionary work needs a Certificate of Appropriateness; plan on the review calendar.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the architecture and the balance sheet. Describe the largely intact 1888 Buchman facade and historic-district setting. The 2019 compiled statements report no underlying mortgage at that year-end; obtain current evidence before making a present-day debt claim.
Get ahead of the occupancy classification. A buyer's attorney will find the JLWQA history. Handing over the current certificate of occupancy, the co-op's position on it, and the post-2021 zoning framework at the outset converts a deal-threatening surprise into a paragraph. The alternative is a renegotiation in week three.
Assemble the file before listing. Financial statements, the offering plan, house rules, the Local Law 11 and vault-replacement history, the roof work, and the board's current financing and sublet policy. In a fifteen-unit co-op with compiled statements, buyers' counsel asks more questions, not fewer.
Price the plate, not the building. Full-floor and part-floor lofts in a seven-story building vary widely by floor, ceiling height, renovation condition and outdoor rights. Start with line-specific sales and supplement them with adjusted building and neighborhood sales where needed.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 27 Bleecker Street, also evaluate:
- 10 Bleecker Street — 1890s loft building on the same block front; the nearest peer in vintage, scale and street
- 36 Bleecker Street (The Schumacher) — 1880s loft converted to condominium; same building type, different tenure and price tier
- 40 Bleecker Street — NoHo new-construction condominium; the modern alternative on the same street
- 7 Bond Street — boutique NoHo loft building one block north
- 27 Great Jones Street — small NoHo loft building with a comparable lean operating model
- 43 Great Jones Street — NoHo loft building on the same spine
- 200 Mercer Street — the NoHo courtyard loft cooperative; the other side of the neighborhood at similar tenure
- 195 Bowery — Bowery-corridor loft building; the eastern comparison
- 199 Bowery (NoLiTa Place) — Bowery condominium; the amenitized alternative
- 211 Elizabeth Street — small NoLIta building; the boutique low-density comparison
More NoHo buildings
- 21 Astor Place — 1890 condominium
- 22 Bond Street — 2016 condominium by BKSK Architects
- 25 Bond Street — 2008 condominium by BKSK Architects
- 27 Great Jones Street — 1868 condominium
- 28 East 4th Street — 1901 co-op
- 30 Bond Street
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across NoHo — read The Roebling Team Guide to NoHo.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 27 Bleecker Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com