271 Central Park West
271 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024
BBL 1012010029 · BIN 1031464
- Year built
- 1913
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 26
- Floors
- 14
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper West Side / Central Park West Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller.
- Financing
- Up to 75% financeable (25% minimum down).
- Subletting
- Permitted with Board approval; sublet fee escalates to 100% / 200% / 300% of monthly maintenance over years 1 / 2 / 3. Short-term rentals and AirBnB are not permitted.
- Washer / dryer
- Permitted in-unit.
- Guarantors
- Permitted.
- Managing agent
- Orsid New York
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2025
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- Recent range
- $1.3M – $9.3M
- Listing discount
- 2.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 27
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 271 Central Park West would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
271 Central Park West is one of Schwartz & Gross's two earliest Central Park West commissions — the other being the Brentmore at 88 CPW — and it predates the firm's prolific 1920s output by more than a decade. Completed in 1913, it belongs to the small cohort of prewar Central Park West houses built before the avenue's Art Deco era, and it was planned from the start as two large apartments per floor.
The building's defining trait is scale and rarity of turnover: just twenty-six apartments across fourteen stories, two to a floor, in a corner position that gives the east line direct Central Park frontage. Apartments seldom come to market, and when they do they range from grand prewar full-floors to the building's trophy duplexes.
Architecture and unit composition
Schwartz & Gross were among the most prolific apartment-house architects of early-twentieth-century Manhattan. At 271 CPW they worked in a Neo-Renaissance vocabulary with French Second Empire elements — a brick facade with faux balconies and a stone frieze of garlands and shields that lends the building a strong horizontal emphasis, distinct from the verticality of the Deco towers that would later rise up and down the avenue.
Developer Samuel A. Herzog assembled the lots in August 1912 and completed the building by September 1913. It leased quickly — roughly 60 percent rented by the middle of 1913 and fully leased by the time it opened — at yearly rents of $2,400 to $2,900. The original plan placed two apartments on each floor: the east apartments, facing Central Park, of nine rooms; the west apartments of eight, each with a library, separate dining and living rooms, a wood-burning fireplace, and dedicated staff rooms. The building converted from rental to cooperative ownership in the 1970s and runs today as a full-service house.
What the sales record shows
271 CPW trades thinly and across a wide range, as a twenty-six-unit prewar cooperative does, from ground-floor and lower units to park-facing and duplex apartments. The 3/4E duplex closed in 2015 and again in 2018; Penthouse 12W, the building's one apartment with private outdoor space, closed in 2010.
Value here turns heavily on line and exposure — compare park-facing east nine-room and west eight-room sales with adjustments for room count, area, floor and condition before isolating an exposure premium. The full recorded-sales history, with monthly carrying costs and asking-price context, is in the Data Room below.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Policy framework
271 CPW is a full-service cooperative. Documented terms include financing to 75% of the purchase price, a 2% flip tax paid by the seller, and subletting permitted with conditions; pet policy and trust and LLC posture are not uniformly published and should be confirmed with the managing agent at offer stage. Expect a board interview, and confirm post-closing-liquidity requirements and closing timing from the application instructions.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of purchase price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Purchase
29 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $325 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment FeeConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee within 7 business days of receiving both the new closing documents and approval to closeConditionalConditions: In-office (if available) or remote; If applicable; Whichever comes later not including weekends or holidaysPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $400.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $200.00 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment FeeConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing in another location, mail closingPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $1,100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Sale FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee within 7 business days of receiving both the new closing documents and approval to closeConditionalConditions: In-office (if available) or remote; If applicable; Whichever comes later not including weekends or holidaysPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500.00 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lost Stock & Lease FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $600.00 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $200.00 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT a Bank Attorney PresentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250.00 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250.00 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 Hours' NoticePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Undertaking FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $250.00 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250.00 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
14 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $650 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount 100% of maintenance to be paid on a monthly basis 1st year; 200% 2nd year; 300% for the 3rd year | Refundable Not stated |
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When At move-out and move-in | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount 100% of maintenance to be paid on a monthly basis 1st year; 200% 2nd year; 300% for the 3rd year | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building FeePaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Decorative $50, Standard $250, Major $1000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 5% of the total contracted work price or $50000 | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsPermitted with Board approval; sublet fee escalates to 100% / 200% / 300% of monthly maintenance over years 1 / 2 / 3. Short-term rentals and AirBnB are not permitted.Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Not verified
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $11,333/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $36
- Modeled exposure split equally across 26 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of purchase price (seller)
- Sublet policy
- Shareholder application fee $650
- Policies and fees
- Buyer move-in/move-out $1,000 each; move deposits $1,500 each
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 14, 2025 | 1D | 2 BR · 1 BA | $1,250,000 | -3.5% |
| Jul 9, 2025 | 3RDFLWEST | 4 BR · 3.5 BA | $4,900,000 | -6.7% |
| Mar 8, 2023 | 9E | 5 BR · 3 BA | $9,300,000 | -2.1% |
| Feb 28, 2022 | 4W | 4 BR · 3 BA | $4,680,000 | +7.6% |
| Mar 13, 2019 | 2FL | 4 BR · 3.5 BA | $5,500,000 | -21.4% |
| Sep 12, 2018 | 2NDFL | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $3,900,000 | +0.1% |
| Apr 24, 2018 | 3 | 6 BR | $17,750,000 | +0.0% |
| Nov 3, 2017 | 7E | 4 BR | $8,475,000 | -3.1% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2015): a median $2,833/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2025. Median listing discount 2.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01201-0029). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 271 Central Park West and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 271 Central Park West and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 271 Central Park West. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 271 CPW, also evaluate its Central Park West neighbors:
- 262 Central Park West (The White House) — Sugarman & Berger 1929 Italian Renaissance cooperative, the adjoining blockfront to the south
- 275 Central Park West — same-block building; confirm ownership and transaction terms
- 279 Central Park West — Central Park West cooperative to the north
- 241 Central Park West — Central Park West building; verify ownership form and era for comparison
- 295 Central Park West — Central Park West cooperative peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Central Park West buildings
- 241 Central Park West — 1930 by Schwartz & Gross
- The Orwell House (257 Central Park West) — 1906 co-op by Mulliken & Moeller
- 262 Central Park West (The White House) — 1929 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
- 275 Central Park West — 1931 by Emery Roth
- 279 Central Park West — 1988 condominium by Costas Kondylis & Partners
- The St. Urban (285 Central Park West) — 1906 co-op by Robert T. Lyons
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park West — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park West.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 271 Central Park West?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com