Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1925
37 Riverside Drive
37 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10023

37 Riverside Drive

37 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10023

Upper West Side

BBL 1011850042 · BIN 1031038

At a glance
Year built
1925
Type
Cooperative
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the West End-Collegiate Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Flip tax
2.5% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
Doorman
Full-time doorman

37 Riverside Drive sales history: 31 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 37 Riverside Drive?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

3BR median, 2024
$4.1M
3 qualifying sales
Recent range
$2.4M – $5.5M
Listing discount
9.6%
Recorded transfers
31
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 37 Riverside Drive would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

37 Riverside Drive is one of the quieter prizes of the West 70s — a 16-story neo-Georgian house designed in 1925 by Schwartz & Gross, the firm responsible for a remarkable share of the Upper West Side's most graceful pre-war apartment stock. It sits directly on the park-block of Riverside Drive at 76th Street, where the boulevard curves and Riverside Park drops away toward the river, giving upper floors open western light and water views that no later infill can reproduce.

What distinguishes the building is its scale of living. Across sixteen floors there are only 33 apartments — most floors carry just two residences — which means full-width, gracious layouts with the room counts, ceiling heights, and entry galleries that defined the era. Converted to cooperative ownership in 1944, it has been a co-op for the better part of a century.

For buyers, the appeal is specific: a true pre-war Riverside Drive co-op, two apartments to a landing, on a landmarked stretch a short walk from the express subway at 72nd Street. Compare identified apartments on Central Park West and Fifth Avenue using dated sales, maintenance, condition and financing terms.

Architecture and unit composition

Schwartz & Gross gave 37 Riverside Drive a restrained neo-Georgian face — warm brick above a limestone base, classical entry detailing, and the disciplined window rhythm the firm favored — calibrated to read as a dignified residential house rather than a showpiece. The corner siting at 76th Street is the building's great asset: river-facing rooms on the west elevation and side-street light to the south.

Inside, the two-per-floor plan produces large, gracious apartments with the hallmarks of the period — entrance foyers, separated entertaining and bedroom wings, hardwood floors, and high beamed ceilings. Layouts run to substantial three- and four-bedroom homes, with combinations on lower floors and a penthouse tier at the top. The building permits washer/dryers in residences, a meaningful convenience that not every pre-war co-op of this vintage allows.

Building operations

This is a full-service cooperative. A 24-hour doorman and a live-in superintendent anchor the staff, with a basement fitness room, bike room, private storage, and central laundry rounding out the practical amenities. Pets are permitted. The cooperative permits financing up to 75% of the purchase price, and a flip tax of 2.5% is paid by the purchaser at closing. As with most pre-war co-ops on the Drive, purchases are reviewed by a board, and the building is run for long-term owner-occupancy.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
2.5% of the gross sales price
Rate
2.5% of the purchase price
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

11 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Move out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount 350.00 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Move out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable

Refinance

4 items

Management's “less refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated
Background Report FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Not stated

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated
Background Report FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Contact Transfer Agent for fee scheduleRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$728 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$12,413/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $32
Modeled exposure split equally across 32 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$7,500 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
Corporate Flip Tax 2.5% of gross sales price (seller)
Policies and fees
Closing Fee $800 ($850 w/o broker) + $0.05/share; financing fee $350; transfer fee per Transfer Agent schedule
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Mar 19, 202612B
2 BR · 2.5 BA
$3,400,000-2.9%
Nov 7, 202411A
3 BR · 4 BA · 2,600 sf
$4,083,913$1,571/sf-18.2%
Jul 31, 20248A
3 BR · 3 BA
$5,500,000-11.3%
Feb 29, 20246B
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,930 sf
$2,440,000$1,264/sf-7.9%
Sep 1, 20224B
3 BR · 3 BA
$2,750,000—
Jul 8, 20221AB
4 BR · 2 BA
$2,450,000-9.2%
Jun 3, 202211B
2 BR · 2.5 BA
$2,675,000+7.2%
Apr 25, 20226A
4 BR · 3 BA
$3,450,000+15.2%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2024): a median $1,418/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 3.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

8A+100%
$2,750,000 2003 → $5,500,000 2024
15B · 1,800 sf+31%
$2,500,000 2009 → $3,285,000 ($1,825/sf) 2015
4B+24%
$2,225,000 2017 → $2,750,000 2022
1AB-16%
$2,921,250 2014 → $2,450,000 2022
PHA-25%
$2,750,000 2005 → $2,070,000 2014

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Nov 24, 200915B$2,500,000
Nov 14, 20038A$2,750,000
View all 31 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01185-0042). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 37 Riverside Drive and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 37 Riverside Drive and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 37 Riverside Drive. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Review current listings and dated transfers before judging availability or owner tenure; the 33-apartment count alone does not establish scarcity or justify a rushed offer. Underwrite the building as a classic pre-war purchase: a board package and interview, financing capped at 75%, and a 2.5% flip tax due from the buyer at closing.

A comparison with Central Park West or Fifth Avenue should identify actual apartments, dates and adjustments for space, condition, views and carrying costs rather than assume a persistent Riverside Drive discount. We help buyers read the floor plan against the building's two-per-floor logic, weigh western exposure and renovation condition, and benchmark the ask against recent Drive trades.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with what is genuinely scarce: a Schwartz & Gross pre-war on the park block of Riverside Drive, two apartments per floor, with river light and washer/dryers permitted in the home. Those are durable differentiators against the larger, more anonymous co-ops nearby.

Check current competing inventory and dated resale activity before choosing timing and price. Price the apartment's specific floor, exposure and condition rather than assuming an absence of competition or relying on a building average. We market Drive co-ops to the buyer who is specifically seeking pre-war scale and river outlook, present the board-package realities up front to keep deals on track, and manage the cooperative's review process toward a clean, on-time closing.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 37 Riverside Drive, also evaluate nearby Riverside Drive and West End Avenue pre-war cooperatives:

More Riverside Drive buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Riverside Drive — read The Roebling Team Guide to Riverside Drive.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 37 Riverside Drive?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com