382 Central Park West (The Olmsted)
382 Central Park West, New York, NY 10025
BBL 1018337501 · BIN 1074358
- Year built
- 1961
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 414
- Floors
- 19
- Landmark status
- Requires confirmation
- City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Financing
- No building-imposed financing cap (condominium); financing is subject to lender underwriting.
- Subletting
- Leasing permitted (condominium); Board/association review applies.
- Washer / dryer
- Not permitted (central laundry).
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
- Co-purchasing
- Parents purchasing for children permitted.
- Guarantors
- Permitted.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2001–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,077
- floor-adjusted, 8 sales
- Listing discount
- 2.8%
- Recorded sales
- 301
- On record
- 2001–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Olmsted would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Olmsted is the largest of the four Central Park West slab towers of Park West Village and was the earliest of the complex's conversions to condominium (1985, two years ahead of The Vaux's 1987 conversion). Scale is the headline: a 414-apartment building ranks among the largest residential condominiums on Central Park West, and that mass underwrites a comprehensive renovated amenity infrastructure — recently renovated fitness center, billiards room, large laundry room, newly renovated landscaped park with seating areas, on-site parking, bike room, children's playroom, storage, and live-in superintendent. What most distinguishes the building from its co-op neighbors is its investor-owner mix, substantially higher here, with a rental presence persisting from the pre-conversion era and some units still rent-stabilized under legacy tenancies.
The building was originally named "The CPW Towers" — renamed for Frederick Law Olmsted, co-designer of Central Park.
Architecture and unit composition
See the Park West Village development history detailed in the 372 Central Park West (The Vaux) profile, covering the complex's troubled development under Robert Moses and Samuel Caspert, the rescue by William Zeckendorf's Webb & Knapp and Alcoa, the Helmsley acquisition, and the conversions to condominium in 1985 (Olmsted) and 1987 (Vaux).
The Olmsted's red-brick slab facade has multi-railed balconies at its corners and above its entrance at the center of the building, with enclosed rooftop watertanks and discrete air-conditioning units. The grounds are landscaped to the standards of mid-century European urban planning. Recently renovated lobby and hallways (post-2015) brought the building up to current condominium standards.
The 1985 condominium conversion was contested in court; some units remain rent-stabilized under legacy tenancies. The 414-apartment scale supports a substantial operational baseline relative to peer Central Park West inventory.
Building operations
The Olmsted operates as a full-service Upper West Side condominium:
- 24-hour doorman and concierge
- Recently renovated fitness center
- Billiards room
- Large laundry room
- Newly renovated landscaped park with seating areas (shared common ground)
- On-site parking
- Bike room
- Children's playroom
- Storage
- Live-in superintendent
- Mid-century modern aesthetic preserved
Policy framework
As a condominium, The Olmsted carries broad policy flexibility:
- Type: Condominium
- Pets: Permitted (subject to unit owner's choice if leasing)
- Pied-à-terre: Permitted (condominium standard)
- Financing maximum: Up to 90% allowed
- Flip tax: None disclosed in public sources
- Subletting: Permitted under the declaration
- Trust ownership: Permitted
- LLC ownership: Permitted (routine)
- Foreign buyer: Permitted (routine)
- Right of first refusal: Standard condominium ROFR; rarely exercised
- Investor-owner mix: Higher than at neighboring cooperatives
- Closing timeline: 30 to 45 days condominium-standard
The investor-owner mix is structurally distinguishing — a substantial rental presence persists from the pre-conversion era, and some units remain rent-stabilized under legacy tenancies.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Administrative Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $550 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $165 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-in Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Waiver of Right of First Refusal | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Administrative Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Administrative Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
12 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change of Occupancy Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Leasing FeeRecurring | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $1,000.00 per Year of Lease Term | Refundable Not stated |
| Waiver of Right of First Refusal | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $165 for each applicant named on the Lease | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-in Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-in Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-year lease renewal | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| 2-year lease renewal | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $2,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Filing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Review Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $367 per room a monthMedian of 33 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $1.61 per square foot a monthMedian of 34 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $0.98 per square foot a monthMedian of 28 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $0.61 per square foot a monthMedian of 28 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, garage, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $20,413/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $4
- Modeled exposure split equally across 414 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Allowed
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 | 17E | 1 BA · 579 sf | $637,262 | $1,101/sf | -2.2% |
| Aug 25, 2026 | 16U | 1 BA · 545 sf | $690,000 | $1,266/sf | -13.6% |
| Jul 15, 2026 | 5Y | 1 BA · 648 sf | $611,000 | $943/sf | +1.8% |
| Mar 23, 2026 | 2B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 841 sf | $1,100,000 | $1,308/sf | +0.0% |
| Mar 16, 2026 | 16N | 1 BR · 1 BA · 887 sf | $989,500 | $1,116/sf | -0.8% |
| Feb 2, 2026 | 17F | 532 sf | $715,000 | $1,344/sf | off-mkt |
| Jan 20, 2026 | 15H | 1 BR · 1 BA · 750 sf | $820,000 | $1,093/sf | -6.3% |
| Jan 8, 2026 | 19N | 1 BR · 1 BA · 887 sf | $999,375 | $1,127/sf | +0.2% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,077/sf (floor-adjusted) across 8 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01833-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Olmsted, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 15 | $3,400 |
| 1 bedroom | 7 | $4,000 |
| 2 bedroom | 2 | $5,697 |
24 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Olmsted and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $850K (21 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $31,894 to close, or 3.8% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $12,272
- Title insurance: $3,825
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $15,798
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Olmsted and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Olmsted. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Notable residents
The building has historically maintained a privacy-oriented resident profile; the 414-unit scale supports the operational discretion of a large condominium.
What to know if you’re buying
The condominium structure with up-to-90% financing is the largest single competitive advantage. Plan accordingly.
The 414-apartment scale supports comprehensive operational infrastructure. Doorman, concierge, fitness, billiards, on-site parking, children's playroom all uniformly available.
The Park West Village shared landscaped grounds are structurally distinctive on CPW. Tennis courts, play areas, landscaped park, seating.
The 1985 conversion produced a long ownership cycle. Capital reserves, recent fitness center renovation, lobby/hallway 2015+ updates, and the investor-owner mix should be evaluated during diligence.
Some units remain rent-stabilized under legacy tenancies. Verify unit-level tenancy history during walkthrough.
The mid-century modern aesthetic is preserved. Buyers seeking prewar architectural texture should evaluate fit.
Closing timelines are condominium-standard. Plan for 30 to 45 days from contract through ROFR waiver to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the condominium policy flexibility, the up-to-90% financing, the recently renovated amenity infrastructure, and the Park West Village shared grounds. All are real structural advantages.
The SOM architectural pedigree and the Park West Village history are real institutional context. Position accordingly.
The 1985 condo-conversion provenance and the long ownership cycle support institutional pricing depth.
Pricing should reference recent recorded Park West Village transactions. Apartment-line-specific comparables should anchor positioning.
Closing timelines are condominium-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering The Olmsted, also evaluate:
- 372 Central Park West (The Vaux) — SOM 1961; immediate Park West Village condominium peer
- 392 Central Park West — SOM 1961; immediate Park West Village condominium peer
- 400 Central Park West — SOM 1960; immediate Park West Village condominium peer
- 279 Central Park West — Kondylis 1988; nearby CPW condominium peer
- 415 Central Park West (The Central Park View) — Deutsch & Schneider 1926; nearby CPW cooperative peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Central Park West buildings
- 360 Central Park West — 1929 condominium by Rosario Candela
- 370 Central Park West — 1917 co-op by Fred F. French Company
- 372 Central Park West (The Vaux) — 1961 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 392 Central Park West — 1960 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 400 Central Park West — 1960 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 410 Central Park West — 1929 co-op by Margon & Holder
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park West — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park West.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Olmsted?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com