400 Central Park West
400 Central Park West, New York, NY 10025
BBL 1018337504 · BIN 1055288
- Year built
- 1960
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 413
- Floors
- 19
- Landmark status
- Requires confirmation
- City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Dogs
- Permitted with conditions
- Cats
- Not stated
- Maximum financing
- 90% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Financing
- Up to 90% financeable (10% minimum down).
- Subletting
- Permitted.
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted.
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted — co-purchasing, parental purchasing, and guarantors all allowed.
- Tax status
- J-51 tax abatement (expiring 2026).
- Managing agent
- FirstService Residential
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2023). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,330
- floor-adjusted, 7 sales
- Listing discount
- 2.4%
- Recorded sales
- 324
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Park West Village would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
400 Central Park West is the northeasternmost of the four CPW Park West Village slab towers and was the latest of the complex's conversions to condominium (1991, four years after The Vaux's 1987 conversion and six years after The Olmsted's 1985 conversion).
At 413 apartments, it holds the largest unit count of the four CPW Park West Village towers, and that scale sustains a comprehensive amenity infrastructure — 24-hour doorman, fitness center, children's playroom, bike room, parking garage, and grounds shared with the rest of Park West Village. Those immaculately landscaped grounds, with their shade trees, strolling areas, and dedicated children's play spaces, are the connective tissue of the place: the four-tower complex organizes around a single large central green.
Architecture and unit composition
400 CPW stands just east and slightly north of 392 CPW. Neither building has a formal name; the two southern towers, 372 and 382 CPW, are The Vaux and The Olmsted, named for Central Park's designers, Calvert Vaux and Frederick Law Olmsted.
For complete development history, see the 372 Central Park West (The Vaux) and 382 Central Park West (The Olmsted) profiles.
The four-tower CPW grouping organizes around a large landscaped central green space — what Le Corbusier would have recognized as the "tower in a park" prototype, executed at residential scale by SOM, the firm that also delivered Manhattan House on the Upper East Side and Lever House on Park Avenue.
The 413 apartments distribute across the building's 19 floors. The building offers studios, one-, and two-bedroom units, many with private balconies and views of Central Park and the city skyline.
Building operations
400 CPW operates as a full-service Upper West Side condominium:
- 24-hour doorman
- Fitness center
- Children's playroom
- Bike room
- Parking garage
- Shared landscaped grounds with the rest of Park West Village
- Immaculately landscaped grounds with shade trees, strolling areas, and dedicated children's play spaces
Policy framework
As a condominium, 400 CPW carries broad policy flexibility:
- Type: Condominium
- Pets: Permitted
- Pied-à-terre: Permitted (condominium standard)
- Financing maximum: Typically 80% to 90% (lender-driven)
- Flip tax: None publicly disclosed
- Subletting: Permitted under the declaration
- Trust ownership: Permitted
- LLC ownership: Permitted (routine)
- Foreign buyer: Permitted (routine)
- Right of first refusal: Standard condominium ROFR; rarely exercised
- Closing timeline: 30 to 45 days condominium-standard
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant/adult applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublease FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount Equal to $47.77 Studio; $59.71 1 Bedroom; $71.65 2 Bedroom per month | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant/adult applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 90% of the purchase priceUp to 90% financeable (10% minimum down).Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2023
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2023
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2023
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Permitted with conditionsTenants who did not live in the building and did not have dogs as of April 30,2005 may not have dogs in their apartments.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Cats
- Not statedThe source permits pets without naming cats.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $322 per room a monthMedian of 28 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $1.27 per square foot a monthMedian of 33 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $0.94 per square foot a monthMedian of 25 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $0.37 per square foot a monthMedian of 25 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, playroom, garage, bike storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $14,704/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $3
- Modeled exposure split equally across 413 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Monthly sublease fee $47.77 (studio) to $71.65 (2BR)
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10, 2026 | 6F | 1 BA · 533 sf | $650,000 | $1,220/sf | -3.7% |
| May 7, 2026 | 12W | 1 BR · 1 BA · 823 sf | $1,111,111 | $1,350/sf | +11.7% |
| Apr 24, 2026 | 2R | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,142 sf | $1,575,000 | $1,379/sf | -1.6% |
| Apr 23, 2026 | 20B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 841 sf | $1,050,000 | $1,249/sf | -4.5% |
| Feb 26, 2026 | 4N | 841 sf | $950,000 | $1,130/sf | off-mkt |
| Feb 13, 2026 | 14R | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,209 sf | $2,180,000 | $1,803/sf | -0.9% |
| Jan 12, 2026 | 16R | 2 BR · 1,142 sf | $1,900,000 | $1,664/sf | off-mkt |
| Nov 17, 2025 | 17N | 1 BR · 1 BA · 887 sf | $1,420,000 | $1,601/sf | +1.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,330/sf (floor-adjusted) across 7 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01833-7504). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at Park West Village, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 11 | $3,600 |
| 1 bedroom | 19 | $4,450 |
| 2 bedroom | 5 | $6,695 |
35 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Park West Village and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $975K (23 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $35,180 to close, or 3.6% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $14,077
- Title insurance: $4,388
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $16,716
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Park West Village and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Park West Village. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Notable residents
The building has historically maintained a privacy-oriented resident profile; the 413-unit scale supports operational discretion typical of large condominiums.
What to know if you’re buying
The condominium structure with broad policy flexibility is the largest single competitive advantage. Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust, and foreign buyers all routine.
The 413-apartment scale supports comprehensive operational infrastructure. Doorman, fitness, parking garage, children's playroom, bike room all uniformly available.
The Park West Village shared landscaped grounds and the immaculately maintained common areas are structurally distinctive on CPW. Shade trees, strolling areas, dedicated children's play spaces.
The studio / one-bedroom / two-bedroom unit mix supports accessible Central Park-facing entry pricing. The affordable price-per-square-foot ranges relative to prewar inventory south of 92nd Street are real.
The 1991 condo-conversion provenance is the latest of the four CPW Park West Village towers. Verify capital reserve adequacy and any pending capital projects during diligence.
Many units feature private balconies and impressive Central Park / skyline views. Verify line-specific configuration during walkthrough.
Closing timelines are condominium-standard. Plan for 30 to 45 days from contract through ROFR waiver to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the condominium policy flexibility, the comprehensive amenity infrastructure, and the Park West Village shared landscaped grounds. All are real structural advantages.
The SOM architectural pedigree is real institutional context. Position accordingly.
The studio / one-bedroom / two-bedroom unit mix supports accessible-entry positioning.
Pricing should reference recent recorded Park West Village transactions. Apartment-line-specific comparables should anchor positioning.
Closing timelines are condominium-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 400 Central Park West, also evaluate:
- 372 Central Park West (The Vaux) — SOM 1961; immediate Park West Village condominium peer
- 382 Central Park West (The Olmsted) — SOM 1961; immediate Park West Village condominium peer
- 392 Central Park West — SOM 1961; immediate Park West Village condominium peer
- 279 Central Park West — Kondylis 1988; nearby CPW condominium peer
- 415 Central Park West (The Central Park View) — Deutsch & Schneider 1926; nearby CPW cooperative peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Central Park West buildings
- 372 Central Park West (The Vaux) — 1961 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 382 Central Park West (The Olmsted) — 1961 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 392 Central Park West — 1960 condominium by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
- 410 Central Park West — 1929 co-op by Margon & Holder
- 415 Central Park West (The Central Park View) — 1926 co-op
- 418 Central Park West (The Braender) — 1902 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park West — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park West.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Park West Village?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com