440 East 62nd Street (The Park Sutton)
440 East 62nd Street, New York, NY 10065
BBL 1014560026 · BIN 1045286
- Year built
- 1960
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 147
- Floors
- 19
- Amenities
- 24-hour doorman, live-in resident manager, on-site garage (25 garage spaces carry share allocations under the offering plan), landscaped roof deck, central laundry, bike room, private storage; central heating and air conditioning per listing records
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Dogs and cats
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $731
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 3.0%
- Recorded sales
- 175
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Park Sutton would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Park Sutton holds the corner where Lenox Hill's hospital corridor meets the Sutton Place orbit: a 19-story red-brick co-op at York Avenue and 62nd Street. Check the apartment's sightlines toward the neighboring university properties and Sutton Terrace gardens. Potential East River, bridge and skyline views depend on the apartment's floor and exposure. Rockefeller University identifies its neighboring Faculty House at 500 East 63rd Street as a 26-story residential tower, so the university frontage should not be treated as uniformly low and open. No light or view is protected without a recorded instrument.
The conversion paperwork is on file in The Roebling Research Library, and it contains details that matter at contract. The offering plan — first offered March 22, 1982, sponsored by York & 62nd Sponsor Corp. — allocated 15,474 shares across 143 apartments and 25 garage spaces. Garage spaces carrying their own share allocations is a distinctive structure: parking here is owned co-op property rather than a month-to-month license, which affects both value and transferability and should be understood precisely by any buyer who wants a space. The by-laws on file include cumulative voting for directors — a minority-shareholder protection that most Manhattan co-op by-laws omit — along with the standard governance machinery your attorney will review.
As a market proposition, the building is the full-service value play of its micro-market: 24-hour door staff, live-in resident manager, on-site garage, roof deck, and river-view lines at a wide discount to both the Sutton Place trophy co-ops five blocks south and the newer condo stock that has filled in the East 60s. The trade-offs are knowable and priced in: York Avenue traffic feeding the FDR's uptown entrance, and a longer walk to the Lexington Avenue trains.
Architecture and unit composition
Architectural records attribute the design to Leo Stillman, whose post-war practice ran from 1930s Art Deco through the brick apartment slabs of the 1950s and 1960s; the Park Sutton is late-period Stillman — a red-brick mass dressed at street level with a one-story white marble base and a stainless-steel marquee. City records log an alteration in 1987, in the conversion era. The roughly 147 apartments run from studios through three-bedroom configurations, with select terraced lines and combination units (the original plan's 143 apartments have been recut over four decades). Layouts are efficient post-war stock: foyers, dining alcoves, and long living rooms, with the premium inventory in the upper-floor B/C-line corners where river and bridge views open up. Central heating and air conditioning per listing records removes the window-unit clutter common to the vintage.
Building operations
Full-service: 24-hour doorman, live-in resident manager, porter staff, central laundry, bike room, private storage, roof deck, and the on-site garage whose 25 spaces trade under co-op share allocations per the offering plan. The building runs as an established, conservatively governed house; the by-laws on file set annual shareholder meetings each May and cumulative voting for the board. Current financial statements should be reviewed by counsel during diligence — we provide the conversion documents from The Roebling Research Library as the baseline.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $350 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Corporate Sublet Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Amount based on the attached schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsA Corporate Sublet Fee in an amount based on the schedule included in the sublease requirements will be billed to the shareholders maintenance account upon approval.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 2 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs and cats
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $542 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.91 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $135,456/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $77
- Modeled exposure split equally across 147 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- None stated ($0.05/share transfer stamp only)
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; corporate sublet fee per schedule billed to shareholder upon approval
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- App processing $600 ($1,000 trust); background $125/applicant; closing fee $800 ($850 w/o broker) + $0.05/share; move-in/out $350 each + $1,000 refundable deposit
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 28, 2026 | 9B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $599,000 | +0.0% | |
| Sep 14, 2026 | 15B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf | $640,000 | $711/sf | -4.3% |
| Oct 28, 2025 | 11E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 925 sf | $645,000 | $697/sf | -0.8% |
| Jul 9, 2025 | 17G | 1 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf | $507,000 | $563/sf | -2.3% |
| Apr 9, 2025 | 5C | 2 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf | $800,000 | $889/sf | -5.9% |
| Nov 13, 2024 | 10E | 1 BR · 1 BA · 976 sf | $620,000 | $635/sf | -1.6% |
| Jul 22, 2024 | 9H | 1 BA | $465,000 | -2.1% | |
| May 23, 2024 | 10A | 2 BR · 1 BA | $700,000 | -4.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $731/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 6, 2010 | 5D | $970,000 |
| Feb 14, 2005 | 4H | $325,000 |
| Jan 27, 2005 | 4H | $325,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01456-0026). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Park Sutton and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $630K (6 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,913 to close, or 1.7% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,913
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Park Sutton and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Park Sutton. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Underwrite the garage correctly. The 25 garage spaces carry share allocations under the offering plan — ownership economics, not a parking license. If a space conveys with the apartment or is separately available, your attorney should confirm the share structure, maintenance allocation, and transfer mechanics precisely. It is a genuine asset in a neighborhood where parking is scarce.
Resolve the pet question before you fall in love. Listing records genuinely conflict on whether pets are permitted. If a pet is part of your household, get the current house rules in writing from the managing agent before offering — not after.
Views are line-and-floor specific. Rockefeller University and the Sutton Terrace gardens front the east and north outlooks, but no view is protected without a recorded instrument; the bridge and river views from upper floors are the building's premium product. Price the specific exposure, not the building average.
Transit and traffic are the structural discounts. The N/R/W and 4/5/6 at 59th–Lexington and the Q and weekday M at Lexington–63rd are roughly a half-mile walk, the Roosevelt Island Tram is nearby, and York Avenue carries FDR-bound traffic. The pricing already reflects this — make sure your own commute math does too. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator on the full picture.
The board framework is moderate, not forbidding. 25 percent minimum down, sublets after two years with approval, and a documented posture accommodating pieds-à-terre, co-purchasing, gifting, and guarantors per brokerage records. Prepare the package accordingly — run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator first.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the view stack and the garage. River-and-bridge exposure plus owned parking is a combination few buildings in the tier can match. If your unit has either, the marketing should be built around it; if it has both, around nothing else.
Position against Sutton Place, not against the avenue. The pitch is the same river orbit at a structural discount. Name the documented policies in the marketing — 75% financing, pied-à-terre use permitted, subletting permitted with conditions — and confirm the current rules first.
Be precise about the conflicting records. Pets and current sublet terms are inconsistently reported across public records; a listing that states the current rules accurately (sourced from the managing agent) clears faster and survives attorney review. We document the policy stack from the building's own materials before going to market.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 440 East 62nd Street, also evaluate:
- 425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign) — the post-war prestige tower south of the bridge; the step-up in scale and price
- 1 Sutton Place South — the corridor's pre-war trophy co-op; the blue-chip alternative
- 2 Sutton Place South — Sutton Place building for comparison
- 35 Sutton Place — post-war co-op peer in the Sutton orbit
- 400 East 59th Street — the close-in post-war co-op alternative near the bridge
- 300 East 59th Street (The Landmark) — post-war co-op at Second Avenue; the transit-convenient alternative
- 425 East 63rd Street (The Royal York) — large full-service co-op one block north
- 435 East 65th Street — the mid-block Lenox Hill co-op three blocks north; similar tier with a no-flip-tax framework
- 167 East 61st Street (Trump Plaza) — the post-war condop alternative toward Third Avenue
More Upper East Side buildings
- 436 East 86th Street — 1973 co-op
- 437 East 86th Street — 1961 co-op
- 439 East 88th Street — 1915 co-op
- The Gregory House (440 East 79th Street) — 1956 co-op
- 444 East 87th Street — 1905 co-op
- 446 East 86th Street — 1959 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Park Sutton?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com