Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1928
65 West 95th Street
65 West 95th Street, New York, NY 10025

65 West 95th Street

65 West 95th Street, New York, NY 10025

Upper West Side

BBL 1012090006 · BIN 1031707

At a glance
Year built
1928
Type
Cooperative
Units
71
Floors
10
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
Requires confirmation

65 West 95th Street sales history: 102 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 65 West 95th Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

1BR median, 2023–2025
$720K
4 qualifying sales
Recent range
$663K – $1.6M
Listing discount
1.9%
Recorded transfers
102
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 65 West 95th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

65 West 95th Street is the kind of Upper West Side prewar co-op that gets overlooked because nothing about it is loud. It went up in 1928 on a side street between Central Park West and Columbus, ten floors of brick above an arched entrance, and it has been a rental for most of its life. What makes it interesting to a buyer in 2026 is not its architecture but its structure: it is a comparatively young cooperative with a comparatively liberal policy stack, and its finances are unusually legible in the record.

The corporation was incorporated on January 5, 1993, and ACRIS carries a deed on the tax lot dated the same day. That is the conversion. Public aggregators frequently date the conversion to 1983 or 1984, which appears to trace back to PLUTO's yearalter1 field of 1983 — an alteration year, not a conversion year. The audited statements settle it: this is a 1993 co-op, not an early-1980s one.

The second structural fact is the long tail of unsold shares. ACRIS records a March 2007 transfer of a large block of apartments in a single document to an institutional investor, in a package that also took in two other Upper West Side buildings, and a further transfer of a dozen apartments to a second investor in December 2013. That block has been sold down steadily rather than dumped: as of the most recent audited statements on file, 61 apartments were held by tenant-shareholders and nine remained with the holder of unsold shares, some occupied by rent-regulated tenants — the statements record amounts due under SCRIE, the senior citizen rent increase exemption program. Fifty-five distinct apartments have traded individually in ACRIS since 2006, in every year through the present, so this is a functioning ownership building rather than a rental in cooperative clothing. But the unsold-share percentage belongs in any financing conversation, and it is the first thing to ask the managing agent about.

The third is the policy stack: pieds-à-terre, co-purchasing, pets and in-unit washer/dryers are reported permitted, and subletting is permitted with conditions once residency is established. If those terms hold at the current board, they are the building's most valuable and least visible asset; confirm them in the current governing documents.

Architecture and unit composition

The 1928 house is a plain, well-proportioned brick apartment building with an arched, awninged entrance and the interior fabric of its period — beamed ceilings, hardwood floors and moldings in the un-gutted lines. It carries no ornamental program worth cataloguing and no designation report to catalogue it from. The New Building application number, 144 of 1928, is the only primary handle we have on its origin; DOB's electronic job records for this address begin in 2000, and LPC has never surveyed it because it falls outside the historic district boundary.

The apartment stack runs A through G on the typical floor, above a garden level lettered on the same system, with three penthouses at the top. Layouts in a 1928 side-street building of this size run from studios and one-bedrooms through classic sixes, and the building has absorbed a great deal of combination work over the past two decades: DOB filings record apartment combinations in 2007 (a multi-line project covering more than a dozen units), 2008 (the two penthouses), 2011 (a seventh-floor pair, filed as a legalization of earlier work), and 2020 (a ninth-floor unit joined to a penthouse with an internal stair). That history likely accounts for at least part of why unit counts differ between sources, and is why line-by-line comparables here need to be read against a floor plan rather than a letter.

Building operations

Staffing is modest and the operating statements show where the money goes: the largest single service line is a contracted lobby and security service, materially larger than the building's own payroll, alongside a live-in superintendent and porter staff. The building carries a central laundry room, bicycle storage, and rented private storage lockers, and management-sourced records describe a roof deck. There is no gym, no garage and no doorman payroll of the traditional kind.

DOB records show filings for façade repairs and a roof replacement in 2009, a new basement laundry room in 2014, an exterior restoration in 2016, a boiler burner retrofit and new chimney liner in 2017, and further façade work filed in 2023; the filings alone do not confirm completion or current condition. The audited statements for the most recent year on file record sidewalk replacement, Local Law 11 façade work and door replacement, plus a 50% deposit paid toward an elevator upgrade not complete at year-end. Ask directly whether that project has been finished and how it was funded.

Check the reserves against the capital work. Cash and the capital improvement fund together stood well under half a million dollars at the most recent year-end on file, against a building this size with a live Local Law 11 cycle and an elevator project in progress. The corporation also imposed a one-month assessment in 2019 to close a budget shortfall and offset a tax abatement passed through to shareholders, and raised maintenance 1.5% in 2019 and 5% in 2020. Taken together that describes a building funding capital work out of assessments and maintenance increases rather than a deep reserve — a legitimate way to run a co-op, and a fact a buyer should price; confirm the current position in the latest statements.

The underlying mortgage. The corporation refinanced with a co-operative bank on December 18, 2015 — a $4,750,000 first mortgage at 3.85%, ten-year term on a thirty-year amortization, maturing January 1, 2026, with a $500,000 revolving line that was undrawn at the most recent year-end on file. That maturity was handled ahead of time: ACRIS records a new first mortgage and companion line on November 21, 2025, with satisfactions of the prior loans the same day. The refinancing landed in a materially higher rate environment than 2015, and the debt-service line in the current budget is where that shows. Ask for the current year's budget rather than relying on the last audited statement.

Policy framework

Board package and interview. This is a cooperative: a purchaser buys shares in the corporation and a proprietary lease, and the sale is subject to board approval after a full package and an interview. The board is not required to give a reason for a rejection. Budget four to eight weeks from a fully signed contract to a board decision, and treat the package as the transaction's critical path.

Financing ceiling and post-closing liquidity. Neither is published, and neither is documented in the materials on file. Both are set by the board and both move. Establish the current maximum-financing percentage and the board's expectation for post-closing liquidity — commonly expressed as a multiple of the monthly maintenance and debt service — from the managing agent before making an offer, not after.

Flip tax. Documented in the by-laws as amended in 2006 and set by the board within a 0%–2% band; most recently set at 0% in the audited statements on file. A board can restore it. On a sale of any size the difference between 0% and 2% is real money, and the answer belongs in the seller's net sheet from day one.

Subletting. Permitted with conditions: reported permitted with board approval and, once residency has been established, without a fixed term limit. Confirm it in writing, because boards can revise sublet policy.

Pied-à-terre, trusts and entities. Pieds-à-terre and co-purchasing are reported permitted. Purchases in the name of a trust or an LLC are a separate question not established in the materials reviewed for this profile; boards that welcome pieds-à-terre often still require an individual on the proprietary lease with a personal guarantee. Ask the managing agent for the board's written position on trust and entity ownership.

Unsold shares. With nine apartments held by the holder of unsold shares at the most recent year-end on file, some of them occupied by rent-regulated tenants, a lender's sponsor-concentration test is a live question. Confirm the current count before you rely on a pre-approval.

None of these terms is published by the corporation. All of them come from the managing agent, and all of them should be re-confirmed for your transaction.

J-51 and carrying costs

65 West 95th Street has used the J-51 program repeatedly across five decades, which is itself a signal about how the building funds capital work. DOF's historical J-51 records show grants in 1974 (twelve years at a 90% abatement), 1982 (extended to fourteen years), 2006 (fourteen years, on roughly $152,000 of qualifying alteration cost, with the pool exhausted around tax year 2017), and 2014 (fourteen years, on roughly $92,000). DOF's current abatement detail carries a J-51 on the lot with a benefit window running January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2034, present in the rolls through the most recent year available.

Two cautions. A J-51 abatement is capped by the abatable cost of the improvement and stops when that pool runs out regardless of the stated window — the 2014 grant's remaining pool was small enough by the end of the published historical series that it may already be exhausted. And the annual credit here is a few thousand dollars against a building tax bill in the high six figures; spread across seventy apartments it changes nobody's monthly. Do not underwrite this building as an abatement play, and do not fear a burn-off cliff. Ask the managing agent for the current year's tax bill and the abatement line on it.

The separate co-op/condo property tax abatement, running on this lot since 1996, does reach shareholders — but only those using the apartment as a primary residence, and it is passed through by the corporation rather than credited to a unit directly.

Application and transaction fees

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
The by-laws as amended in April 2006 imposed 0.75% of the sale price or $4,000, whichever is greater; a later amendment lets the board set the rate anywhere from 0% to 2%, and the board had it at 0% as of the most recent audited statements on file. Confirm the rate in force at contract.

Source: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$537 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.24 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Roof deck, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$23,336/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $27
Modeled exposure split equally across 71 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
—
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2025–30
$11,500 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Pricing at 65 West 95th Street is best read per room rather than per square foot, which is the convention that survives in prewar co-ops for good reason: layouts here vary enough after twenty years of combinations that square-footage claims are unreliable. Value turns on floor, line, light and the depth of the last renovation, with the penthouse level and the combined upper-floor apartments at the top of the range and the garden-level homes at the entry point.

Against the wider Upper West Side co-op market, the building's arguments are its policy flexibility — pieds-à-terre, co-purchasing, subletting, in-unit laundry — and a price point below the Central Park West frontage two hundred feet east. Against them run thin reserves, a live capital program, a recently refinanced underlying mortgage at a higher rate than the loan it replaced, and an unsold-share block that some lenders will scrutinize. Partial-year data in a seventy-unit building with a handful of trades a year is not a signal.

Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Oct 15, 2025GE
1 BR · 1 BA · 780 sf
$645,000$827/sf-5.8%
Jun 5, 20254D
1 BR · 1 BA
$662,500-5.2%
Mar 18, 20246E
1 BR · 1 BA · 775 sf
$764,500$986/sf-1.9%
Mar 6, 20245G
1 BR · 1 BA
$675,000-3.6%
Nov 8, 20233FG
3 BR · 2 BA
$1,560,000-1.0%
Jan 31, 20238B
1 BR · 1 BA · 780 sf
$895,000$1,147/sf+0.0%
Jul 27, 20229D
1 BR · 1 BA
$819,000-1.2%
May 26, 20226A
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,400,000+7.7%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $827/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

PHA+74%
$820,000 2009 → $1,195,000 2014 → $1,369,000 2016 → $1,426,000 2021
4C+66%
$805,000 2009 → $1,335,000 2016
3D · 750 sf+65%
$435,000 ($580/sf) 2011 → $542,000 ($723/sf) 2013 → $719,000 ($959/sf) 2018
9D+62%
$505,000 2011 → $665,000 2015 → $819,000 2017 → $819,000 2022
2B+57%
$525,000 2010 → $880,000 2019 → $825,000 2020
View all 102 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01209-0006). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 65 West 95th Street and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 65 West 95th Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 65 West 95th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Ask three questions before you bid. The current maximum financing percentage, the current post-closing liquidity expectation, and the current number of apartments held by the holder of unsold shares. All three are gating items here, and none is published.

Get the current budget, not just the last audited statement. The underlying mortgage was refinanced in November 2025 and the debt-service line has changed; the statements you are handed may predate it.

Ask about the elevator project and the Local Law 11 cycle. A deposit was paid toward an elevator upgrade and façade work has recurred. Whether those are complete, funded, or ahead of you in an assessment is the difference between two very different carrying costs.

Confirm the flip tax rate in force, and get the sublet and pied-à-terre policy in writing. The flip tax sits at 0% in the documents on file and the board may set it as high as 2%. The permissive sublet and pied-à-terre terms are the building's best features and the most likely to have been tightened since the records we can see.

What to know if you’re selling

Flexibility is the headline. Pied-à-terre, co-purchasing, pets, in-unit washer/dryer and open-ended subletting after residency widen the buyer pool well beyond what a typical prewar Upper West Side co-op reaches. Confirm each with the managing agent and state it precisely in the marketing.

Get ahead of the financial questions. Buyers' attorneys will find the reserve position, the assessment history and the 2025 refinancing. Presenting them alongside the capital work they funded turns a defensive conversation into a credible one. Have the current unsold-share count ready too — it determines which lenders your buyer can use.

Price on the plan, not the letter. After two decades of combinations, an apartment's line tells a buyer less than its floor plan does.

Comparable buildings

More Upper West Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper West Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper West Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 65 West 95th Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com