Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1859
74 Reade Street
74 Reade Street, New York, NY 10007
Buildings·Tribeca·Cooperative

74 Reade Street

74 Reade Street, New York, NY 10007

Tribeca

BBL 1001500010 · BIN 1077435

CorridorTribeca
At a glance
Year built
1859
Type
Cooperative
Floors
5
Amenities
Elevator, cellar storage. No doorman; the building's scale does not require a resident superintendent
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Tribeca South Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Doorman
No doorman

74 Reade Street sales history: 17 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 74 Reade Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

Recent range
$3.5M – $3.5M
Listing discount
4.8%
Recorded transfers
17
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 74 Reade Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The building is sixty years older than the city data says. PLUTO carries 1915. LPC's own building database carries both 74 and 76 Reade Street at 1859–1860, Italianate, built on Trinity Church ground under lease to George Bradshaw and G. W. Read, to the design of James H. Giles — marble and masonry with a cast-iron cornice, a store below and lofts above. That is a mid-nineteenth-century Tribeca store-and-loft building, not a First World War-era warehouse, and the difference runs through everything from column spacing to floor loading to what Landmarks will permit at the façade.

The second fact worth stating up front is that this is a Loft Law building. The offering plan on file does not hedge about it: the residential occupants in the early 1980s held rights as tenants under Article 7-C of the Multiple Dwelling Law — the Loft Law — and Loft Board regulations governed who had the right to subscribe to shares in the cooperative. The plan warned, in its special risks, that the building had only a temporary certificate of occupancy covering five apartments, that permanent residential use required a permanent C of O, and that the cost of legalizing occupied units could be passed through to non-purchasing tenants as an Article 7-C rent adjustment. This is the standard anatomy of a Tribeca loft that was occupied before it was legal and then legalized under the 1982 statute.

The conversion itself came as a non-eviction plan. The original offering was filed April 19, 1982, amended that June, and the amended plan was accepted for filing on October 4, 1983 — nine apartment units and 970 shares, $1,345,000 in cash plus $285,000 of mortgage indebtedness, sponsored by Elan-Volcan Associates. Deeds into Reade Street Tenants Corp. were recorded in June 1983 and January 1984.

What followed was forty years of slow legalization and slow accretion, and it is unusually well documented. A penthouse was added to apartment 6E under an Alteration Type 1 filed in May 2000. The cellar and the first floor were converted from storage and commercial use to residential under two further Alteration Type 1 applications in 2003. The 1980s aluminum storefront was removed and the original storefront restored in double-glazed mahogany in 2003. Apartments were combined under TPPN 3/97 in 2015. And the building's certificate-of-occupancy history finally closed out in November 2019, when a final C of O was issued at R-2 occupancy for 11 dwelling units — the eleven residences of record today.

Architecture and unit composition

Five full floors plus a penthouse level, on an irregular 3,498-square-foot lot with about 57 feet of frontage on Reade Street and roughly 61 feet of depth. The building fills nearly the whole lot: 20,788 gross square feet, all of it residential today. The elevation is Italianate — masonry with marble and stone, and a cast-iron cornice — and the restored wood-and-glass storefront at grade dates to the 2003 restoration rather than to 1859.

Residences run east and west on each floor. Recorded share transfers cover 1E, 1W, 2W, 2ER, 2EF, 3E, 3W, 4E, 5E and 5W, plus the sixth-floor penthouse — which means the ground floor holds residences as well, an unusual configuration created by the 2003 conversion of the first floor and cellar. Average scale is roughly 1,890 gross square feet, but that average conceals real variation: the 2015 combination under TPPN 3/97 joined two apartments with a new convenience stair, the 2000 penthouse addition created a duplex at the top, and the ground-floor homes carry cellar space that the upper floors do not.

DOB filings across the 2010s read like a building working through deferred capital: façade renovation, repainting and repointing in 2014; lobby doors, windows and walls renovated the same year; a skylight replaced in 2014 and again in 2018; a sidewalk shed in 2013. Interior alteration filings for individual apartments run more or less continuously from 2009 to 2020, which is the ordinary rhythm of a loft co-op where each owner renovates on their own schedule.

Building operations

An eleven-residence loft cooperative with an elevator, cellar storage and no doorman. At this scale the corporation is not required to maintain a resident superintendent, and the operating budget reflects that: financial statements on file for the year ended August 31, 2018 show maintenance revenue of roughly $329,000 carrying the whole building, with real estate taxes alone absorbing about 52 percent of total income — a striking figure, and the single most important number for anyone underwriting monthly cost here. Repairs and maintenance and interest were the next two largest lines.

The balance sheet at that date showed roughly $790,000 in cash against total assets of about $1.88 million, with mortgage debt of approximately $1.23 million following the May 2017 consolidation and extension to $1,250,000. A retained deficit of roughly $805,000 appears on the same statements; in a small co-op that has been capitalizing improvements for decades, that is an accounting artifact more often than a distress signal, but it is worth having your accountant read the notes rather than the headline. These statements are reviewed rather than audited, which is common in buildings this size and which a buyer should know before relying on them.

Because the statements on file are several years old, the two things to request first from the managing agent are the most recent year-end statements and the current status of the underlying mortgage — balance, rate and maturity date. In an eleven-unit corporation, a refinancing at an unfavorable moment is felt directly in the maintenance line.

The conversion record

Original use and date: commercial store and lofts, 1859–60, per LPC.

The alterations that created and completed residential use: residential occupancy pre-dates the digitized DOB record and was legalized under the Loft Law framework in the early 1980s alongside the cooperative conversion. Two Alteration Type 1 applications in 2003 converted the cellar from storage and the first floor from commercial use to residential, adding partitions, a mezzanine, a kitchen, bathrooms and a new stair between the cellar and the first floor. A further Alteration Type 1 filed in April 2016 amended the occupancy classification from the prior code's RES to R-2 and reduced the dwelling-unit count from 12 to 11; temporary certificates of occupancy ran from June 2018 through early 2019, and the final certificate of occupancy issued November 29, 2019.

Zoning and JLWQA: C6-2A, residential as-of-right. No JLWQA designation appears in the records reviewed; DOB carried the building at J-2 and then R-2 occupancy.

BSA variance: none for this lot appears in public records.

Loft Law / IMD: yes — Article 7-C of the Multiple Dwelling Law, Sections 280–287, with Loft Board regulations governing subscription rights, per the offering plan on file.

J-51: initiated 1984; 12-year exemption; 50 percent abatement; certified alteration cost about $83,300. Benefits ran through the 1997 assessment year and are fully exhausted. The 1983 plan anticipated the application and warned that a permanent certificate of occupancy would be a precondition — the record shows the benefit was in fact granted.

Policy framework

The offering plan, by-laws, house rules and purchase application on file establish the structure. The current policy stack — the numbers a buyer actually needs — is not established by the reviewed documents; obtain current written terms from the managing agent and reconcile them with the operative governing documents.

Ownership form: cooperative. You buy shares and a proprietary lease. The corporation reports 1,339 shares issued of 1,500 authorized.

Board package and interview: documented and demanding for a building of this size. The purchase application on file calls for two years of signed tax returns, three months of bank statements, employment verification or a CPA letter if self-employed, two business and two personal reference letters per applicant, a bank reference, a loan commitment letter, three original recognition agreements where the purchase is financed, and a signed and notarized assumption-of-alteration form — or, where no alterations have been done, a notarized letter saying so. That last item is specific to a loft building with a long history of owner-executed work, and it means a buyer inherits responsibility for a predecessor's alterations. Have counsel read it. Non-refundable fees run $550 for the application plus $150 per applicant for credit checks, with roughly 7–10 business days for review.

Pets: the house rules on file use the traditional prewar formulation — no bird or animal may be kept without the express written permission of the lessor, and that permission is revocable. Confirm current practice in writing.

Obtain in writing before offering: the financing ceiling and minimum down payment; the post-closing liquidity standard; the sublet policy, including seasoning, duration cap and sublet fee; whether pied-à-terre purchase is entertained — the purchase application asks directly whether the apartment will be the buyer's primary residence; whether trusts or limited liability companies may take title and on what guarantees; and the flip tax or transfer fee, its measure and which side pays it.

Alteration rules. In a legalized loft in a historic district, house rules have to reach floor loading, sprinkler tie-ins, mezzanines, skylights and window replacement. Ask for the current rules and read them with your architect before you price a renovation.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedThe proprietary lease house rules on file permit no bird or animal to be kept without the express written permission of the lessor, revocable at will — the traditional prewar formulation, which in practice means pets by board consent rather than pets as of right. Confirm the current practice with…Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Recent sales

74–76 Reade prices as a Tribeca loft cooperative, and the comparison set is other legalized loft co-ops in and around the Tribeca South Historic District rather than the neighborhood's converted or ground-up condominiums. Loft co-ops here typically trade below condominium product per square foot — the discount for board approval, financing limits and sublet restriction — while offering more raw volume and, in this building, unusually low staffing cost.

Within the building, value separates on floor, on east-versus-west exposure, on whether an apartment has been combined, and on whether it carries the penthouse level or the ground-floor and cellar configuration created in 2003. Those are genuinely different products and should not be blended into a single per-foot number. With eleven residences and long holding periods, same-building comparables are thin, so pricing has to be built line by line. Indexed to the last complete year, the Tribeca loft co-op market has rewarded documented space and clean certificates of occupancy over finish level — which favors this building, whose C of O history finally closed out in 2019. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Mar 12, 20261EAST
4 BR · 3 BA
$3,500,000+0.0%
Mar 4, 20222ER
2 BR · 1 BA
$1,300,000+0.0%
Oct 7, 20211W
3 BR · 3 BA
$4,150,000-6.7%
Sep 2, 20213W
2 BR · 2 BA
$2,487,805-0.5%
Apr 13, 20212W
3 BR · 2 BA
$2,550,000-7.3%
Nov 25, 20192EF
1 BR · 1 BA
$800,000-10.6%
Aug 7, 20194E
2 BR · 2 BA
$2,050,000-8.9%
May 4, 20153W
2 BR · 1,500 sf
$2,600,000$1,733/sf+8.6%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2015): a median $1,733/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

1W+76%
$2,358,000 ($486/sf) 2005 → $4,150,000 2021
3W-4%
$2,600,000 ($1,733/sf) 2015 → $2,487,805 2021
View all 17 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00150-0010). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 74 Reade Street and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 74 Reade Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 74 Reade Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Read the 2019 certificate of occupancy, and read the Loft Law history behind it. This building spent nearly forty years between its first temporary C of O and its final one. That story is over, and the closure is an asset — but the specific apartment's legal configuration is what the C of O describes, and it should match what you are buying.

Take the assumption-of-alteration form seriously. The board package requires you to assume responsibility for prior owners' alterations, or to certify that none were made. In a loft building with a fifty-year renovation history, that is a real allocation of risk. Have counsel review the alteration files for your apartment before you sign.

Underwrite the tax line, not the maintenance line. Real estate taxes have run above half of total income here. Ask the managing agent for the current tax bill and the most recent assessment, and model a tax increase, not just a maintenance increase.

Ask about the underlying mortgage. It was consolidated and extended to $1,250,000 in May 2017. Get the current balance, rate and maturity, and ask what the board's plan is at maturity.

Landmark constraints apply here even though they do not apply next door. This lot is in the Tribeca South Historic District; 108 Duane Street on the same block is not designated. Window, storefront, skylight and other exterior alterations generally require LPC approval before the relevant DOB permit; some maintenance is exempt and eligible visible work can receive staff approval.

Run the numbers on the real figures. Use the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator once you have the financing ceiling and liquidity standard in writing, and the Renovation Cost Calculator against a scope your architect has reviewed.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the 1859 date and the documentation behind it. LPC's building database carries this building at 1859–60 by James H. Giles on Trinity Church ground. That is a far better story than PLUTO's 1915, and it is verifiable.

Lead second with the closed certificate of occupancy. A final C of O issued in November 2019 at R-2 occupancy for eleven units resolves the question that hangs over most legalized Tribeca lofts. Say so plainly and have the document ready.

Be ready for the tax question. A buyer's attorney will find the tax-to-income ratio in the financials. Better to explain it in advance — it is a function of a small building carrying a Tribeca assessment with no commercial income to offset it — than to have it surface as a surprise.

Price the configuration. Penthouse duplex, combined apartment, ground-floor-plus-cellar and standard half-floor are four different products in an eleven-unit building. A building average will mislead.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 74 Reade Street, also evaluate:

  • 66 Reade Street — the neighbor on the same tax block, likewise inside the Tribeca South Historic District
  • 108 Duane Street — also block 150, but a condominium and not designated; the clearest illustration of how the district boundary cuts this block
  • 57 Reade Street — Reade Street building across the street; compare its construction, scale and unit plans separately
  • 97 Reade Street — Reade Street loft conversion a block west
  • 100 Reade Street — the western end of the same corridor
  • 134 Duane Street — small Duane Street loft cooperative
  • 142 Duane Street — Duane Street loft building of similar unit count
  • 87 Chambers Street — Chambers Street loft conversion one block south
  • 65 Worth Street — Worth Street loft building
  • 52 Thomas Street — boutique Tribeca loft alternative
  • 9 White Street — small-scale Tribeca loft cooperative to the north

More Tribeca buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Tribeca — read The Roebling Team Guide to Tribeca.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 74 Reade Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com