1065 Park Avenue (The Carlton Park)
1065 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10128
Carnegie Hill, Upper East Side
BBL 1015160001 · BIN 1048040
- Year built
- 1969
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 110
- Floors
- 30
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Avenue Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Financing
- Up to 75% financeable (25% minimum down).
- Subletting
- Not permitted — an owner-occupancy building.
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted.
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
- Managing agent
- Orsid New York
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median
- $637K
- Recent range
- $560K – $4.7M
- Listing discount
- 2.2%
- Recorded transfers
- 112
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Carlton Park would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
1065 Park Avenue — marketed as The Carlton Park — is one of the architecturally distinctive post-war Park Avenue commissions and one of three post-war buildings on the corridor specifically recognized by the Historic Districts Council's "Six to Celebrate" program. The 30-story Stephen C. Lyras-designed tower was constructed between 1969 and 1973 in the modernist tower-in-the-park idiom — set back from Park Avenue's lot line behind a small landscaped plaza, with a deep arcade producing the building's distinctive ground-floor architectural argument.
The tower-in-the-park architectural composition was a direct product of New York City's 1961 zoning resolution, which encouraged free-standing towers with surrounding public amenities (plazas, arcades, landscaped open spaces) in exchange for the bulk-and-height bonuses that would otherwise have produced street-wall construction at the lot line. The Park Avenue residential corridor produced only a small number of tower-in-the-park residential commissions — 1065 Park is among the most architecturally consequential — and the building's structural distinction from the corridor's broader pre-war street-wall tradition is meaningful.
The Historic Districts Council's "Six to Celebrate" Park Avenue 2015–16 recognition specifically identified 1020 Park (Gustave W. Iser, 1962), 1036 Park (Wechsler & Schimenti, 1963), and 1065 Park (Lyras, 1969–73) as the three architecturally consequential post-war buildings within the broader Park Avenue Historic District. The HDC recognition explicitly addressed the architectural significance of the post-war Park Avenue building boom — the 1955–1975 building cycle that produced approximately 15 substantial new residential buildings on the corridor and that the LPC's 2014 Park Avenue Historic District designation specifically protects as contributing context within the corridor's architectural identity.
Stephen C. Lyras's prior partnership in Kokkins & Lyras produced 650 Park Avenue (1963) and 16 Sutton Place. The Carlton Park represents the firm's late-career solo work and a structurally distinct architectural argument from the firm's 1963 650 Park commission — modernist tower-in-the-park rather than the white-glazed-brick mid-century idiom at 650.
The 30-story scale is among the taller residential commissions in the Carnegie Hill section of Park Avenue. The 110-apartment count places the building among the more institutionally scaled post-war cooperatives on the corridor.
Architecture and unit composition
The 110 cooperative apartments distribute across the building's 30 stories in configurations ranging from one-bedroom apartments through three-bedroom configurations. The modernist tower-in-the-park architectural composition produces apartment configurations with the layout discipline of the late-1960s building cycle — substantial floor-to-ceiling glazing on the upper-floor apartments, full-width exposures, and the architectural finish specifications characteristic of the 1969–73 luxury construction.
Pricing is set apartment by apartment: configuration, floor, and exposure drive the spread across the one- through three-bedroom inventory, with combined apartments and the upper-floor full-width exposures at the top of the range.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Building operations
The Carlton Park operates as a full-service cooperative with full-time doorman, concierge, and live-in superintendent. The amenity infrastructure includes central laundry, bike storage, and common storage; central air-conditioning is standard across the apartment inventory. The building does not carry an on-site garage; nearby commercial parking serves the corridor.
The landscaped plaza and deep arcade — the architectural products of the building's 1961 zoning tower-in-the-park concession — function as both architectural amenities and ground-floor public-space infrastructure.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 1% from buyer and 1% from seller- total of 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
13 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Applicant or Guarantor FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 (if there is more than one co-applicant or financial statement form, if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Building Administrative FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $325 (Per applicant named on the contract for detailed reports and $125 Per applicant named on the contract as guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupants) for standard reports | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 (If applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditionalConditions: If financingPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $400 (If Financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Monthly Maintenance ChargeConditionalConditions: If closing takes place after the 10th of the monthPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount Equal to maintenance and charges up to the time of closing) | Refundable Not stated |
| POA FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 per individual (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer Agent Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer Agent Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing remotelyPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1100 (closing remotely) | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (If applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 (per applicant) for standard reports & $325 (per applicant) for detailed reports | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (If applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $250 for type I, $1000 for type II, and $2500 for type III | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Building FeePaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $1500 for type II and type III | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $15,000 for type II and type III | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSubletting not allowed except in special circumstancesSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $758 per room a monthMedian of 17 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $93,533/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $74
- Modeled exposure split equally across 106 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of purchase price (1% buyer + 1% seller), at closing
- Sublet policy
- Not allowed except in special circumstances
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Notable fees
- Max financing 75%; personal liability insurance min $1M at closing
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 12, 2026 | 18BCD | 4 BR · 4 BA | $4,678,750 | -1.5% |
| Jul 27, 2026 | 8A | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,545,000 | +2.0% |
| Jul 1, 2026 | 3A | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,450,000 | +3.2% |
| Jun 12, 2026 | 3B | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,225,000 | -7.5% |
| Jun 12, 2026 | 3C | 1 BR · 1 BA | $735,000 | -2.0% |
| Jun 1, 2026 | 27C | 1 BR · 1 BA | $775,000 | +0.0% |
| May 11, 2026 | 3BC | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $1,960,000 | -4.2% |
| Jan 14, 2026 | 11A | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $1,950,000 | -2.5% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $958/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01516-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Carlton Park and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.25M (16 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $25,669 to close, or 2.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $12,450
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $13,219
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Carlton Park and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Carlton Park. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Stephen C. Lyras architectural pedigree is real. Among the corridor's most architecturally consequential post-war commissions; HDC "Six to Celebrate" recognition is a real institutional credential.
The tower-in-the-park architectural composition is structurally distinctive. Among the few residential commissions on Park Avenue executed in this architectural idiom; the surrounding landscaped plaza and arcade are real architectural features.
The 30-story scale produces substantial upper-floor exposures. Apartment views from the upper floors look out across Carnegie Hill and the broader Upper East Side; Park Avenue exposures look across the avenue.
The HDC "Six to Celebrate" Post-War Park Avenue recognition is institutional. Recognition is for the architectural significance of the post-war Park Avenue building boom, not for individual building age — and explicitly places 1065 Park alongside 1020 Park and 1036 Park as the corridor's architecturally consequential post-war commissions.
Confirm operational specifics during due diligence. Specific board approval framework, financing structure, flip tax, sublet policies, post-closing liquidity requirements, and the LL11 façade cycle on the 1969–73 vintage should be reviewed against current management documents.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6–10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the Lyras architectural credential and the HDC recognition. Both are real institutional credentials within the broader Park Avenue corridor.
The tower-in-the-park architectural composition is structurally distinguishing. A real marketing point that distinguishes the building from peer Park Avenue cooperative inventory.
Pricing requires apartment-level comparable analysis. The relevant comparable is the same apartment line on a nearby floor, adjusted for condition, not a building-wide average.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 1065 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 650 Park Avenue — Kokkins & Lyras 1963; the second Lyras-firm Park Avenue commission
- 1020 Park Avenue — Wechsler & Schimenti 1962; HDC "Six to Celebrate" peer
- 1036 Park Avenue — Wechsler & Schimenti 1963; HDC "Six to Celebrate" peer
- 1075 Park Avenue — Blum brothers 1929; pre-war Park Avenue peer
- 1130 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue peer
More Park Avenue buildings
- 1049 Park Avenue — 1919 co-op by Bottomley, Wagner & White
- 1050 Park Avenue — 1923 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 1060 Park Avenue — 1923 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 1070 Park Avenue — 1928 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 1075 Park Avenue — 1923 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 1085 Park Avenue — 1926 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Carlton Park?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com