- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 7
- Ownership structure
- Cooperative; the city classifies the tax lot as a condominium (a condop structure)
- The Roebling Team's building profile
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Subletting
- Permitted with Board approval. Short-term rentals and AirBnB are not permitted.
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
- Co-purchasing
- Not permitted.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $2,426
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 2.4%
- Recorded sales
- 27
- On record
- 2004–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 164 Bank Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
164 Bank Street (Sopilia Soap Factory) is a 1890s former soap factory converted in 1981 to cooperative ownership — among the original West Village industrial conversions.
It is a building whose character is rooted in its 1890s soap-factory provenance, and in the 1981 early-conversion timing that put it among the first wave of West Village industrial conversions. The two combine in a 30-34-unit boutique scale that has kept the original loft fabric intimate.
Policy framework — verify via The Roebling Research Library
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Specific policy framework verified at engagement via offering plan and house rules
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $50 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Flip Tax | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount See Flip Tax Calculation Document for details | Refundable Not stated |
| Waiver Processing Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Security Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $50 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Review Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Security Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease Renewal Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $100 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsPets are Not Allowed for SublettingSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Local Law 97
This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 emissions caps apply. No regulatory capital pressure from this law specifically, current or 2030.
See full Local Law 97 analysis →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 26, 2025 | 3A | 1 BR · 1 BA · 683 sf | $1,360,000 | $1,991/sf | -2.2% |
| Jul 16, 2024 | 4A | 1 BR · 750 sf | $1,375,000 | $1,833/sf | +1.9% |
| Jun 30, 2023 | 4B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 725 sf | $1,401,008 | $1,932/sf | +1.9% |
| Feb 11, 2022 | 5B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 683 sf | $1,375,000 | $2,013/sf | off-mkt |
| May 25, 2021 | 10B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 683 sf | $1,320,000 | $1,933/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 18, 2019 | 4B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 775 sf | $1,487,400 | $1,919/sf | -0.5% |
| Sep 18, 2017 | 6B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 683 sf | $1,500,000 | $2,196/sf | -4.8% |
| Apr 23, 2015 | 8B | 683 sf | $1,510,000 | $2,211/sf | off-mkt |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $2,426/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00638-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 164 Bank Street and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 164 Bank Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 164 Bank Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Comparable buildings
- 99 Bank Street (The Ross Building) — D&J Jardine 1890; nearby Bank corridor peer
- 100 Bank Street — 1955; nearby Bank corridor peer
- 75 Bank Street (Abingdon Court) — Margon / Bing & Bing 1938; nearby peer
- The Waywest (380 West 12th) — 1898 conversion; nearby industrial-conversion peer
- 720 Greenwich Street (The Towers) — 1898 conversion; nearby industrial-conversion peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More West Village buildings
- 160 Leroy Street — condominium by Herzog & de Meuron
- 160 West 11th Street — 1853 condop
- 161 Perry Street — 1911 co-op
- 165 Charles Street — 2006 condominium
- 165 Christopher Street — 1964 co-op
- 166 Perry Street — 2008 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across West Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to West Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 164 Bank Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com