Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1910
17 Thompson Street
17 Thompson Street, New York, NY 10013
Buildings·Cooperative

17 Thompson Street

17 Thompson Street, New York, NY 10013

SoHo

BBL 1002270055 · BIN 1002947

At a glance
Year built
1910
Type
Cooperative
Units
7
Floors
7
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted with conditions
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted with conditions
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
No doorman

17 Thompson Street sales history: 10 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 17 Thompson Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2007–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2021
$1,303
1 sale
Listing discount
0.0%
Recorded sales
10
On record
2007–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 17 Thompson Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

This is a real Loft Law building, and the paper trail says so in plain language. The alteration filed in March 2003 describes the work as converting an existing loft building to joint living-work quarters for artists on floors two through seven in compliance with Article 7-B of the Multiple Dwelling Law. The follow-on alteration filed in January 2007 goes further: it changes the use of the cellar through the seventh floor from factory to Class A apartments, again under Article 7-B, and recites that the building is a registered interim multiple dwelling under Loft Board application J10581. That sequence of filings — factory, then artists' quarters, then Class A apartments — is the compressed history of downtown loft housing, filed for one narrow building over four years; confirm completion and the current legal use from the building's records.

The legalization took a long time to finish. Temporary certificates of occupancy ran from 2012 through 2020, and the final certificate of occupancy was not issued until May 14, 2024. For a buyer that is good news arriving late: the building now holds a final certificate rather than a rolling temporary one, which removes a diligence problem that sat over the property for more than a decade.

The zoning changed underneath the building as well. The 2021 SoHo/NoHo rezoning replaced the old M1-5A and M1-5B manufacturing districts with the Special SoHo-NoHo Mixed Use District, and this lot now carries M1-5/R10 within it. Under the prior regime, residential occupancy in this part of SoHo generally required artist certification; under the new framework, residential use is provided for directly, and the Zoning Resolution establishes a SoHo-NoHo Arts Fund contribution as the mechanism for converting joint living-work quarters for artists to conventional residences. What that means practically for a specific apartment here — whether any artist-certification condition still attaches to a particular unit, and what a conversion would cost — is a question for the cooperative's counsel and the managing agent, not one this page can answer. It is the single most important thing to ask about before signing.

Structurally the building is small and plain: 24 feet of frontage, 79 feet deep, seven stories, roughly 13,400 gross square feet with commercial space at the base. Seven reported apartments across seven floors do not establish individual layouts. Review approved plans and the share schedule, including the six-dwelling-unit CO discrepancy and the commercial interest; the fee schedule alone does not establish ownership structure.

Architecture and unit composition

The lot is 1,896 square feet — a single narrow parcel — and the building fills it, 24 feet by 79 feet, rising to a roof about 83 feet above the sidewalk. Roughly 9,500 square feet is residential and 3,872 square feet commercial, of which about 1,500 square feet is retail at grade. Built FAR is 7.05 against a residential FAR of 10.0 in the M1-5/R10 district; that simple comparison does not establish legal zoning floor area or what additional construction would be permitted.

Verify each residence’s actual plan and dimensions within the 24-foot-wide building; the count-to-floor ratio does not establish full-floor layouts, and light depends on the specific windows and obstructions. Listing records document terraces or balconies at some residences and a shared outdoor entertainment space. The Department of Finance carries the building under class C6, the walk-up cooperative class; listing and management-sourced records both document an elevator, so the class code understates the building and should not be read as a description of the services.

Building operations

This is a small, self-managed-scale cooperative with an outside managing agent and no doorman. There is an elevator, an intercom, and common roof-level outdoor space. Everything else — packages, maintenance response, capital sequencing — runs through the managing agent, and the cost of an elevator, a masonry facade and a Local Law 11 cycle falls on seven apartments in proportion to their shares. That arithmetic is the central operating fact of a seven-unit building and it should be underwritten directly: ask for the current reserve balance, the assessment history, and the facade inspection status.

Real estate taxes — no exemption on the roll. The historical J-51 roll records no J-51 anywhere on this tax block, and the fiscal 2027 assessment roll shows no meaningful exemption on the lot — a market value of roughly $6.19 million against an exemption line of $2,290, which reflects an individual shareholder benefit rather than a building program. The roll shows no 421-a and no 485-x. Abatements apply at the bill level, so check the building's tax bill before relying on that.

Policy framework

Everything below comes from management-sourced records on file and should be confirmed with the managing agent before contract. No offering plan for this cooperative was located in either document library, so the proprietary lease and house rules are the governing documents and neither is public.

Financing ceiling: 80 percent. Twenty percent minimum down; confirm the current limit with the managing agent.

Post-closing liquidity: Not stated in the records reviewed. Assume the board applies a discretionary standard and prepare the package accordingly.

Board package and interview: A full cooperative package with references, financials and a credit authorization, processed through the managing agent, followed by a board interview. Virtual board interviews are permitted per current management-sourced records.

Subletting: Permitted with board approval, with a sublet fee of $200 per month on a residential sublease and $300 per month on a commercial sublease. Short-term rentals and hosting-platform stays are prohibited outright. No maximum sublet term appears in the records reviewed — ask for it.

Pied-à-terre and secondary residence: Permitted with conditions, including board approval. Confirm the conditions in the proprietary lease and house rules.

Ownership structures: Co-purchase, guarantors, parents purchasing for an employed or student child, corporate purchase and diplomatic purchase are all permitted with board approval. Trust ownership is not addressed in the records reviewed and should be raised with the managing agent early, because a board that considers each structure case by case can still decline a particular one.

Pets and in-unit laundry: Both permitted with board approval. Smoking is prohibited.

Fees per management-sourced records: buyer application processing $700, non-refundable; credit check $20 per applicant; refundable move-in and move-out deposits of $500 each; refinance processing $150; alteration application $500 with a refundable security deposit equal to 10 percent of the renovation cost, capped at $10,000.

Flip tax: Not documented. No transfer fee appears in the material reviewed. That does not mean none exists — the proprietary lease governs, and a seller should confirm it before setting a net-proceeds expectation.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of June 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $20 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $20 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Refinance

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $150Refundable Non-refundable

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ResidentWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Security DepositPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount Equal to 10% of the total renovation max. $10000.Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Guarantors
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Co-purchasing
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of June 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$1,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Use dated recorded transfers to assess the amount of same-building sales evidence; the seven-apartment count alone does not establish turnover. The reviewed ACRIS history records nine cooperative share transfers between 2007 and 2025 under separately named purchasers. Names and recorded consideration alone do not establish arm’s-length transactions, beneficial ownership or the absence of sponsor control; confirm current holdings and share allocations.

Two adjustments matter in analysis. First, co-op loft pricing in southern SoHo turns on the plate and the light, not on services; a full-floor loft with two exposures and a terrace prices against other converted loft co-ops between Canal and Broome, never against full-service Tribeca condominium product. Second, the absence of any abatement means the tax component of maintenance is what it appears to be from day one, with no schedule to model — but it also means the number is fully loaded, and a buyer comparing carry against abated new-development inventory nearby is not comparing like with like. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jan 3, 20255
2 BR · 2 BA
$2,475,000+10.0%
Aug 10, 20212
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,650 sf
$2,150,000$1,303/sf-18.9%
Nov 21, 20142
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,650 sf
$1,950,000$1,182/sf+8.4%
Aug 19, 20134
1 BR · 1 BA · 1,600 sf
$1,720,000$1,075/sf+0.0%
Aug 13, 20126
2 BR · 1,650 sf
$1,850,000$1,121/sf-7.3%
May 30, 20072
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,650 sf
$1,625,000$985/sf-4.4%
Mar 16, 20077
2 BR · 1,600 sf
$2,050,000$1,281/sf+3.0%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2021): a median $1,303/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2025. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2 · 1,650 sf+32%
$1,625,000 ($985/sf) 2007 → $1,950,000 ($1,182/sf) 2014 → $2,150,000 ($1,303/sf) 2021
View all 10 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00227-0055). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 17 Thompson Street and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 17 Thompson Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 17 Thompson Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Ask the artist-occupancy question first. Records show filings converting the building to joint living-work quarters for artists in 2003 and to Class A apartments in 2007, and the lot now sits in the Special SoHo-NoHo Mixed Use District created in 2021. Whether any certification condition still attaches to the specific apartment — and what the SoHo-NoHo Arts Fund framework would require to clear it — is a question for the cooperative's counsel. Do not assume it is resolved because the certificate of occupancy is final.

Read the 2024 certificate of occupancy against the share allocation. It records six dwelling units; the assessment roll records seven cooperative apartments. Confirm which line the apartment you are buying occupies.

Seven apartments carry the whole building. Elevator, facade, roof, Local Law 11. Ask for the reserve balance, the assessment history and the facade cycle status in writing before you are in contract.

The financing ceiling is generous; the package still is not automatic. Eighty percent financing with 20 percent down is permissive, and every ownership structure is permitted only with board approval. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering, and prepare for a genuine interview.

There is no abatement and no landmark constraint. Taxes are full freight. Exterior alterations need DOB permits and board approval but no LPC permit, which removes one approval layer compared with buildings three blocks north inside a designated district.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the final certificate of occupancy. After twelve years of temporary certificates, a final one issued in May 2024 is a selling point that survives attorney diligence. Present it up front.

Have the loft history documented, not implied. The 2003 and 2007 alteration applications and the Loft Board registration are the provenance of this building. A buyer's counsel will find them; a seller who has already assembled them controls the narrative.

Confirm the flip tax before you price. It is not in the public record. Get the answer from the managing agent and build it into the net sheet rather than discovering it at contract. Run the Seller Closing Cost Calculator once you have it.

Comparables are scarce by design. Nine recorded share transfers in eighteen years is not a data set. Build the case from converted loft cooperatives in southern SoHo and Hudson Square of similar vintage and unit count, and price the specific floor.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 17 Thompson Street, also evaluate:

  • 83 Thompson Street — SoHo loft building a few blocks north; the closest peer by street and scale
  • 131 Thompson Street — SoHo loft building with 38 homes
  • 140 Thompson Street — SoHo building on the same street; useful for calibration
  • 57 Thompson Street — SoHo residential building on the same corridor; verify its ownership structure
  • 14 Wooster Street — SoHo loft building on Wooster Street, inside the cast-iron district; the designated-district alternative
  • 105 Wooster Street — small SoHo loft condominium; boutique cast-iron comparable
  • 27 Wooster Street — SoHo loft condominium with fifteen homes
  • 51 Canal Street — loft building on the Canal Street corridor; similar bones, different submarket
  • 161 Grand Street — loft building on Grand Street; a broader downtown comparable
  • 173 Grand Street — small Grand Street loft building; useful per-foot calibration
  • 10 Sullivan Street — the new-construction alternative in the immediate area, at a different price tier
Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 17 Thompson Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com