
194 Riverside Drive
194 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10025
BBL 1012510071 · BIN 1034108
- Year built
- 1901
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 41
- Floors
- 7
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Riverside-West End Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
Every recorded sale at this building, 1998–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,032
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded sales
- 40
- On record
- 1998–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 194 Riverside Drive would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
194 Riverside Drive is a 1901 Ralph Townsend commission, a small seven-story apartment house within the Riverside-West End Historic District.
The design combines Italian Renaissance palazzo, Edwardian, and Parisian influences, and the plan matched that ambition: the original 13-room three-apartments-per-floor configuration delivered a boutique full-floor scale uncommon among peer Riverside Drive buildings.
A notable architect lore: Townsend is reported to have lived in a boat offshore while the building was being constructed and later in the building itself.
Architecture and building operations
Ralph Townsend's 1901 design produced a seven-story turn-of-the-century cooperative at 194 Riverside Drive between West 91st and West 92nd Streets. Originally designed with three 13-room apartments per floor, the building exemplifies the boutique full-floor scale that characterized the most architecturally consequential turn-of-the-century Manhattan apartment houses.
The facade is composed of classical elements: a rounded corner, chamfered corners facing the Riverside Drive entrance, large limestone quoins, window entablatures, bandcourses, a rusticated granite base, a cornice, and wrought-iron window railings.
The style is an amalgam of Italian Renaissance palazzo, Edwardian, and Parisian influences.
The 41-apartment configuration (after combinations from the original three-per-floor) places 194 Riverside in the most boutique tier of Riverside Drive cooperatives.
Policy framework
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Pets: Verify with managing agent
- Pied-à-terre: Verify with managing agent
- Financing maximum: Verify with managing agent at offer stage
- Flip tax: Verify with managing agent
- Subletting: Board approval required
- Trust, LLC, foreign buyers: Case-by-case
- Post-closing liquidity: Substantial UWS reserves customary
- Board interview: Required
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer of SharesPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $550 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 20% of the monthly maintenance billed to the shareholder monthly. | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 20% of the monthly maintenance billed to the shareholder monthly. | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
15 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 if financing | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer of SharesPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
Transfer: trust
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Transfer: estate
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 if financing | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer of SharesPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $600 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.90 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $8,948/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $18
- Modeled exposure split equally across 41 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 5, 2026 | 5C | 4 BR · 2 BA · 2,645 sf | $2,595,000 | $981/sf | +0.0% |
| Jan 14, 2025 | 4B | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,400 sf | $1,600,000 | $1,143/sf | -3.0% |
| Jun 30, 2021 | 4EF | 5 BR · 3 BA | $4,350,000 | +13.0% | |
| May 11, 2021 | 7E | 3 BR · 2 BA | $3,025,000 | -16.0% | |
| Feb 16, 2021 | 7F | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,450 sf | $1,725,000 | $1,190/sf | -1.4% |
| Dec 7, 2020 | 1C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,425 sf | $1,300,000 | $912/sf | -3.7% |
| Jun 18, 2020 | 3CD | 4 BR · 3 BA | $3,637,125 | -6.7% | |
| Jun 10, 2020 | 6D | 3 BR · 2 BA · 2,400 sf | $2,761,028 | $1,150/sf | +6.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,032/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 25, 2010 | 1C | $1,129,000 |
| Dec 10, 2009 | 5F | $595,000 |
| Dec 9, 2009 | 6A | $1,295,000 |
| May 30, 2003 | 2A | $875,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01251-0071). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 194 Riverside Drive and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 194 Riverside Drive and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 194 Riverside Drive. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Italian Renaissance / Edwardian / Parisian amalgam is architecturally distinguishing. No peer Riverside Drive cooperative carries the same architectural-history depth at the boutique seven-story scale.
The original 13-room three-apartments-per-floor configuration is real institutional context. Verify which lines preserve original configuration during walkthrough.
The Ralph Townsend architect-as-resident lore anchors cultural-history positioning.
The boutique 41-unit scale supports operational intimacy. Plan board diligence accordingly.
The Riverside-West End Historic District designation provides exterior protection.
Verify specific policy framework with managing agent at diligence stage. Public-source policy depth is thinner than peer large-scale Riverside Drive cooperatives.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6 to 10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
Comparable buildings
- 180 Riverside Drive — Schwartz & Gross 1922; nearby Riverside Drive peer
- 173-175 Riverside Drive — Carpenter 1926; nearby Riverside Drive peer
- 222 Riverside Drive — Fox & Fowle 1989; nearby Riverside Drive condominium peer
- 140 Riverside Drive (The Normandy) — Roth 1939 landmark; nearby Riverside Drive peer
- 137 Riverside Drive (The Clarendon) — Birge 1906; same-period Riverside Drive peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Riverside Drive buildings
- 180 Riverside Drive — 1922 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 186 Riverside Drive — 1928 co-op by Emery Roth
- 190 Riverside Drive — 1910 condominium by Ralph S. Townsend
- 210 Riverside Drive — 1910 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 214 Riverside Drive (The Chatillion) — 1901 co-op
- 222 Riverside Drive — 1989 condominium by FXCollaborative (Fox & Fowle / FXFOWLE)
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Riverside Drive — read The Roebling Team Guide to Riverside Drive.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 194 Riverside Drive?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com