The Greenpoint (21 India Street)
21 India Street, Brooklyn, NY 11222
Greenpoint, Brooklyn
BBL 3025307502 · BIN 3422087
- Year built
- 2018
- Type
- Condominium
- Condominium residences
- 95
- Floors
- 39
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Flip tax
- None
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Flip tax
- No flip tax described in the offering plan; every purchaser, sponsor sale or resale, contributes 2 months' Tower Common Charges to the working capital fund at closing
- Subletting
- Permitted; by-laws in Part II govern the transfer waiver procedure
- Pied-à-terre
- No restriction documented; confirm occupancy rules in the by-laws and house rules
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2020-04-30). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2019–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,623
- floor-adjusted, 2 sales
- Listing discount
- -1.3%
- Recorded sales
- 122
- On record
- 2019–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Greenpoint would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Greenpoint is the building that finished the argument the 2005 Greenpoint–Williamsburg rezoning started. That action converted roughly 175 blocks of East River shoreline from manufacturing to residential zoning, attached an Inclusionary Housing bonus to waterfront tower sites, and required each developer to build and hand over a piece of continuous public esplanade. For a decade the Greenpoint end of the strip produced mostly announcements. The tower at 21 India Street — 39 stories plus a penthouse level, flanked by two five-story wings across most of a block — was the first building on the northern waterfront to deliver the whole package: height, a public shore walkway conveyed to the City, an inclusionary component, a ferry landing at the door, and a for-sale condominium at the top.
The ownership structure governs everything downstream, so a buyer has to understand it first. The condominium is not the whole building. Ninety-five residences on floors 28 through 40 were offered under a plan accepted for filing on June 5, 2017 with an aggregate offering of $143,585,000. Everything below sits inside a single Rental Unit the sponsor retained, alongside Retail, Community Facility, and Parking Units likewise never offered. One address, one staff, one amenity program, two tenures stacked on each other. Owners get the full amenity floors plus a third-floor lounge and terrace reserved to them alone; rental residents may buy access to the shared spaces from the Rental Unit owner for a monthly fee.
The venture — Mack Real Estate Group, Palin Enterprises, and Urban Development Partners, sponsoring through 10 Huron FS Condo LLC — engaged Ismael Leyva Architects as both design architect and architect of record. The design is disciplined rather than expressive: a legible base, a long shaft with a regular window grid, crown floors given over to larger three-bedroom and penthouse layouts. What the height buys is what Greenpoint's low-rise fabric cannot offer — open Manhattan exposure across the river from floor 28 up, exactly where the for-sale inventory begins.
Two pieces of public-realm engineering belong in any diligence conversation. Under the site's Restrictive Declaration, a sponsor affiliate had to build the Shore Public Walkway between the tower and the shoreline and convey it to the City, and could not obtain a temporary certificate of occupancy until the Parks Department certified it substantially complete. And the six-story condominium next door at 23 India Street was built expressly to secure the Inclusionary Housing bonus that produced this tower's floor area and to qualify the property for 421-a; the two are joined in the Hurondia West Homeowners Association, share a parking unit, and split certain management payroll. Greenpoint's affordable-housing arithmetic is unusually legible here: the height of the tower and the existence of the building beside it are the same transaction.
For sellers, the operative fact is that this is a sold-out, seasoned condominium in a neighborhood where most large waterfront towers never went to market at all. By the twelfth amendment in 2020 the sponsor held exactly one unsold residence, and ACRIS records its last sponsor deed for a residence in August 2020, so resale supply here is priced by owners rather than by a sponsor's absorption schedule.
Architecture and unit composition
The 95 condominium residences run from the 28th floor to the penthouse level, with the floor plate contracting as the tower rises. Floors 28 through 32 carry ten residences each on lines A through K — studios, one-bedrooms, and two-bedrooms, with A and K at the corners. Floors 33 through 37 carry six larger residences on lines A through F, adding three-bedroom layouts. Floors 38 and 39 carry five each, the penthouse floor five more.
Schedule A gives the original scale precisely. Interior area across the 95 units totals 100,133 square feet, plus 7,243 square feet of terraces held as tower limited common elements. The smallest residence offered was 550 square feet (the F-line studio, from $760,000); one-bedrooms ran roughly 723 to 931 square feet, two-bedrooms 1,088 to 1,288, three-bedrooms 1,398 to 1,624. The dearest in the original offering was 38A, a 1,624-square-foot three-bedroom with three and a half baths and 456 square feet of exterior space, at $2,900,000; PHA, the same interior footprint on the penthouse floor with less terrace, was offered at $2,805,000. Across the condominium the initial offering worked out to roughly $1.51 million per residence and roughly $1,434 per interior square foot — a 2017 number useful today mainly as a baseline for measuring how far individual lines have moved.
Terraces are the differentiator inside the inventory: 33B and 33E were offered with 497 square feet each, 38A with 456, while other lines on the same floors have none. Because the surrounding blocks are low-rise in every direction except south, exposure and terrace allocation drive value here more than square footage alone. Same-line comparables are the pricing anchor; building averages are not.
Building operations
The Greenpoint runs as a full-service building with a single staff serving both tenures: the offering plan budgeted a property manager, an assistant manager, a resident manager housed in an on-site rental apartment, two handymen, ten concierge and security staff, and six porters, all at prevailing-wage terms, with the lobby attended around the clock. Amenity operations split across two floors — fitness, yoga, basketball, and laundry on the second; billiards room and speakeasy, party room, children's playroom, and lounges on the third, opening onto terraces. The third-floor tower lounge and terrace are reserved to condominium owners. Bicycle storage runs to 236 spaces, free by unit size.
Governance is layered. A condominium board governs all five units — tower, rental, retail, community facility, and parking — while a Tower Committee created by that board manages affairs specific to the residential section, and above both sits the Hurondia West Homeowners Association shared with 23 India Street. Resale purchasers should expect the documents to reflect all three layers, and should read the allocation of shared costs between tower and rental sections closely; in a building where 368 apartments and 95 residences share amenity floors and a payroll, that allocation is the operating budget.
As of April 30, 2020 — the plan's twelfth amendment — the working capital fund held $268,334.15 and the reserve fund $305,797.63, with $1,750,000 held in escrow against the work remaining for a permanent certificate of occupancy. That escrow is worth confirming as closed out in current diligence.
Policy framework
Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC and foreign purchase: Leasing by owners is permitted; pied-à-terre, LLC and foreign purchase are not documented, so confirm them in the declaration, bylaws and house rules. Resale transfers proceed through the condominium's waiver procedure rather than cooperative-style board approval; the mechanism sits in the by-laws in Part II of the plan. A foreign-government purchaser must expressly waive sovereign immunity.
Flip tax / transfer fee: No flip tax is described in the offering plan. Every purchaser, sponsor sale or resale, contributes two months' Tower Common Charges to the working capital fund at closing.
Storage: Storage rooms exist on tower floors but were reserved by the sponsor to rent, lease, or license rather than sell.
Property taxes: The 25-year 421-a exemption runs at 100 percent of the exempted increase for years 1 through 21, then 80, 60, 40, and 20 percent across years 22 through 25. The plan's later amendments report taxes on the sponsor's last unsold unit in single-digit dollars per month, consistent with the exemption standing in its full-benefit years. Confirm the commencement year on the current bill rather than assuming it.
Pets: Governed by the house rules in Part II of the plan; confirm with management before contract.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- No flip tax described in the offering plan; every purchaser, sponsor sale or resale, contributes 2 months' Tower Common Charges to the working capital fund at closing
Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, April 2020
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report/Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $120 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Working Capital Contribution | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Equal to two (2) months of common charges | Refundable Not stated |
| Administrative Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $50 per lessee | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In / Elevator Usage Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out / Elevator Usage Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Review Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Review Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, April 2020
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $399 per room a monthMedian of 10 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $1.55 per square foot a monthMedian of 12 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, residents' lounge, playroom, garage, bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $16,884/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $593,856/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $3 – $107
- Modeled exposure split equally across 463 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →421-a Tax Abatement
- Last year of benefit
- FY2044
- Years remaining
- ~19 yrs
- Program
- 421-a (25-year)
A long-dated tax benefit still in place — a meaningful carrying-cost advantage today. Note the eventual step-up toward full taxes when the abatement ends.
Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2045 runs July 1, 2044 to June 30, 2045.
The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 28, 2026 | 38C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,181 sf | $2,212,500 | $1,873/sf | -0.6% |
| Feb 26, 2026 | 31E | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,288 sf | $1,950,000 | $1,514/sf | -6.9% |
| Dec 19, 2025 | 30K | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,123 sf | $2,075,000 | $1,848/sf | -7.8% |
| Jul 11, 2025 | PHE | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,146 sf | $2,075,000 | $1,811/sf | -7.8% |
| Jun 25, 2025 | 35B | 1,112 sf | $2,050,000 | $1,844/sf | — |
| Apr 24, 2025 | 33C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,194 sf | $1,900,000 | $1,591/sf | +0.0% |
| Dec 4, 2024 | 32H | 1 BR · 755 sf | $1,200,000 | $1,589/sf | -4.0% |
| Dec 2, 2024 | 35C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,194 sf | $1,667,500 | $1,397/sf | -4.7% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,623/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount -1.3% over ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-02530-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at The Greenpoint, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 5 | $5,200 |
| 2 bedroom | 5 | $7,995 |
11 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Greenpoint and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2M (8 sales in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $85,625 to close, or 4.3% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $25,000
- Mortgage recording tax: $28,875
- Title insurance: $9,000
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $22,750
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Greenpoint and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Greenpoint. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
You are buying the top thirteen floors of a mostly rental building. That structure produced the full-service staff, the deep amenity floors, and the owner-only lounge and terrace a 95-unit standalone condominium could not support. Read the cost allocation between tower and rental sections in the condominium documents, and understand that the Rental Unit is a single institutional owner with a seat at the table.
Model the 421-a taper, not just the current tax line. Schedule A priced every original unit with and without the exemption, and the difference on a two-bedroom ran near a thousand dollars a month at 2018 assessments. Run True Monthly Carrying Cost against both the current bill and the post-taper scenario.
Line and terrace selection carry the value. Terrace allocation is uneven across lines on the same floor, and Manhattan exposure is why the for-sale inventory starts at the 28th floor.
Confirm what conveys. Storage rooms were reserved to the sponsor to license rather than sell. Get storage and bicycle allocation in writing.
The transit calculus is ferry-first. The India Street landing is at the doorstep; the G at Greenpoint Avenue is the nearest subway, a walk east.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the tax position and document it. In a Greenpoint market where the newest inventory carries full unabated taxes, a documented remaining 421-a term is a marketing asset. Bring the tax bill and the schedule to the table rather than letting a buyer's attorney discover it.
Sell the owner-only amenities explicitly. Buyers touring a building with 368 rental apartments will ask what separates ownership from a lease; the tower lounge and terrace and the deeded interest are the concrete answers.
Price to the line, referenced to original basis. The sponsor deeded all 95 residences between March 2019 and August 2020, so original pricing on your line is knowable from the offering plan and the recorded deeds, and buyers will reconstruct it.
Be precise about the structure in marketing. The clean version — 95 owned residences on floors 28 through 40, one managed rental component below, one shared staff, an owner-only amenity tier — closes faster than an ambiguous one.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering The Greenpoint, also evaluate:
- 29 Huron Street — a 171-unit Greenpoint condominium a block away; the lower-rise alternative on the same waterfront blocks
- One Domino Square (346 Kent Avenue) — Williamsburg's trophy new-development condominium; the closest peer in scale and amenity depth, at a higher price tier and without an abatement
- The Edge (22 North 6 Street) — the Northside waterfront's first large condominium towers; the earlier generation of the same rezoning
- 2 Northside Piers — Northside waterfront condominium tower on a comparable service model
- Austin Nichols House (184 Kent Avenue) — the Cass Gilbert warehouse converted to condominiums; the loft alternative on the same shoreline
- Front & York (85 Jay Street) — DUMBO's full-amenity benchmark, for buyers shopping amenity tier rather than location
- One Brooklyn Bridge Park (360 Furman Street) — park-front waterfront living in Brooklyn Heights; comparable service depth in a different register
More Greenpoint buildings
- Manhattan Avenue Condominiums, 450–460 Manhattan Avenue · Greenpoint — 2009 condominium
- The Ella Condominium, 82 Guernsey Street — 2003 condominium
- The Glass House on Green Street — condominium
- The Huron (29 Huron Street) — 2023 condominium
- The Lumin, 173 McGuinness Boulevard — 2022 condominium
- The New Condos, 128 Newton Street — 2006 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Greenpoint.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Greenpoint?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com