Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1925
Dylan House
241 West 36th Street, New York, NY 10018
Buildings·Cooperative

241 West 36th Street (Dylan House)

241 West 36th Street, New York, NY 10018

Fashion District

BBL 1007860020 · BIN 1014440

At a glance
Year built
1925
Type
Cooperative
Units
26
Floors
16
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pied-à-terre
Permitted with conditions
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
Requires confirmation

Dylan House sales history: 24 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Dylan House?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2024

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2024
$1,029
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
5.6%
Recorded sales
24
On record
2004–2024
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Dylan House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Dylan House is the Garment District's loft conversion in its purest and least romanticized form. The building went up in 1925 as a sixteen-story fireproof manufacturing loft — store and offices on the ground floor and mezzanine, factories on every floor above — and in 1979 a sponsor offered it as fifteen residential/work units, one per floor, to buyers who would be responsible for making the conversion legal themselves.

That last clause is the whole story, and it is documented rather than remembered. The offering plan on file is unusually candid about what it was not promising. The building sat in an M1-6 manufacturing district east of Eighth Avenue, where residential occupancy was not permitted as of right. Converting the upper fifteen floors required a variance from the Board of Standards and Appeals to allow the lofts as joint living/working quarters — the artists' occupancy category that legalized most of SoHo and NoHo in the same decade — together with a modification of the Multiple Dwelling Law covering rear-yard access and room dimensions. The sponsor retained an architect to file for the variance. But the plan states plainly that neither the sponsor nor the corporation undertook responsibility for obtaining the variance, obtaining the certificate of occupancy, or performing the work required for either. The obligations of the sponsor were, in the plan's own phrasing, strictly limited. That work fell to the cooperative and its shareholders, floor by floor.

The record of the following decades reads accordingly. Con Edison would not supply gas to the lofts until a certificate of occupancy issued, so early shareholders installed electric ranges and electric water heaters. Some floors were still under commercial leases at closing, and a purchaser took his floor subject to the sitting tenant. DOB filings from 2004 through 2007 carry the Loft Board indicator, consistent with the building having had Interim Multiple Dwelling status under Article 7-C of the Multiple Dwelling Law — the 1982 Loft Law that gave legal standing and a legalization pathway to exactly this class of residentially occupied manufacturing building. PLUTO records the building's first alteration of record in 1998, which is the plausible date of full residential legalization; the loft-board indicator falls away from DOB filings after 2008. A buyer should ask the managing agent for the current certificate of occupancy and for any residual Loft Board docket history before contract, because the paper trail here matters more than in a conventional prewar co-op.

What that history bought the current shareholders is the thing the building actually sells: full-floor lofts. Fifty-five feet of frontage, ninety-nine feet of depth, windows front and rear, a structural bay rhythm you can read from the street in the spandrel relief, and — on floors that were never subdivided — an entire level entered from a keyed elevator. There is a rear roof terrace at the second-floor setback and terraces at the top of the building. Nothing about the plan is prewar-apartment-house; everything about it is prewar-factory, which is the point.

The third thing that matters is brand new. On August 14, 2025, the City Council adopted the Special Midtown South Mixed-Use District, and 241 West 36th Street is inside it. The lot moved from M1-6 in the Special Garment Center District to M1-9A/R12 with a mapped residential FAR of 15.0. For a building that spent forty-six years as a legally awkward residential use in a manufacturing district, that is a structural upgrade: residential occupancy on this lot is now a conforming use rather than a tolerated one, and the building sits at 13.72 built FAR against 15.0 permitted. Whether the roughly 1.3 FAR of unused residential floor area is developable, transferable or simply theoretical is a question for zoning counsel and the board — but it did not exist as a question in 2024, and it does now. Buyers should confirm the mapping for this specific lot on the city's zoning map before relying on it; the Council's adopted version removed the R12 district from portions of the surrounding blocks.

Architecture and unit composition

The 1979 architect's report describes the building precisely: sixteen stories, fireproof steel and concrete, brick and masonry facades, columns encased in masonry, stairs and elevator shafts enclosed, a rectangular plot 55'6" wide by 98'9" deep. The street wall carries a projecting sill course at full building width, lower sills at the second and third floors, and above the third floor deep-set windows — three sash flanking a fixed central glass panel — set in large masonry openings between the columns. The spandrel and column planes step in and out slightly, giving the facade a subtle relief that reads as structure rather than ornament. The east wall abuts the neighbor to the lot line; the west wall is plain brick with inset windows from the seventh floor up.

The apartments follow the plan's original logic. Floors that were never divided are full-floor lofts of roughly 4,300 square feet gross; divided floors run as front (F) and rear (R) halves, and the building's unit designations — 3F, 3R, 6R, 7R, 9F, 10F, 10R, 12F, 12A — record that history directly. The top of the building carries a duplex penthouse configuration over the sixteenth floor. Ceiling heights, window walls and open spans are factory-scale throughout; kitchens, baths, heating and cooling were installed unit by unit by shareholders rather than delivered by a sponsor, so condition varies enormously between apartments and renovation quality is the single largest driver of value inside the building.

Building operations

Dylan House runs as a small, capital-conscious cooperative under professional management. The elevator core is two passenger cabs plus a freight elevator; the lobby has been restored in marble; entry is by video intercom with a package room and virtual doorman service, and there is a bike room and resident storage.

The capital record is legible in the public filings. The cooperative filed exterior renovation work in 2006–2007 with a heavy-duty sidewalk shed, filed again for facade repair in 2013, and filed for a rooftop solar array in 2019, a masonry and terra-cotta repointing campaign in 2023 — again under a heavy-duty shed — and a new chimney liner in 2024. The filings show recurring facade work, not its completion or the facade's current condition; a buyer should read the last two facade filings and the most recent engineer's report as a matter of course.

On the debt side, ACRIS records an underlying mortgage carried with a commercial bank and consolidated at $1.7 million in December 2022, replacing a facility that dated to 2013. Ask the managing agent for the maturity date and rate, and for the current reserve position and any live assessment; audited financials for this building are not in The Roebling Research Library and should be requested from management during diligence.

Policy framework

Purchaser approval: Full cooperative board package and interview. This is a small board on a small building, and it reads packages closely.

Financing: 20 percent minimum down payment per management-sourced records — permissive by prewar co-op standards and consistent with the building's loft cohort rather than with the Park Avenue tier. Confirm the current ceiling with the managing agent before you write an offer.

Subletting: Governed by paragraphs 15 and 21 of the proprietary lease. The 1979 plan expressly permitted a shareholder who subdivided a floor to sublet the second unit while retaining the shares. Current seasoning requirements, term caps and sublet fees are not published.

Pets and pied-à-terre: Both permitted with board approval per management-sourced records.

Trust, LLC and co-purchase structures: Not published. Small loft boards vary widely here; ask before you structure.

Flip tax: Not documented in the offering plan and not published. Get the current structure — flat, per-share or percentage-of-price — in writing before you set an asking price or a net-proceeds expectation.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not verified
Pied-à-terre ownership
Permitted with conditionsCase by case, board discretionSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted with board approval per management-sourced records — small petsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Virtual or video entry
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Package room
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$1,620/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $5
Modeled exposure split equally across 26 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$16,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Dylan House trades as a Garment District loft co-op, which is a distinct and narrow market. Pricing is driven by three things in order: how much of a floor the apartment is, the quality and vintage of the shareholder-installed renovation, and outdoor space. Full-floor lofts and the penthouse configuration sit at the top of the building's range; half-floor front and rear units sit meaningfully below it. Because the interiors were built out privately over four decades rather than delivered by a sponsor, two apartments of identical footprint can price very differently, and per-room or per-square-foot averages across the building are close to meaningless as a negotiating anchor. Same-line and same-configuration comparables are the only reliable read. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Dec 16, 20243F
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,584 sf
$1,300,000$821/sf-13.3%
Nov 25, 20242
4 BR · 3 BA · 4,000 sf
$3,075,000$769/sf-16.8%
Apr 26, 2023PH
3 BR · 3 BA
$3,000,000+0.0%
Dec 15, 20227R
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,550,000-3.1%
Jul 21, 202110R
2 BR · 1 BA
$1,235,000-1.2%
Mar 3, 20212
4 BR · 3 BA · 4,000 sf
$3,400,000$850/sf-5.6%
Feb 11, 20206R
3 BR · 2 BA
$1,575,000-1.3%
Dec 5, 201712A
3 BR · 2,800 sf
$2,650,000$946/sf-6.2%

Market read. Most recent trades (2024) cleared a median $1,029/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

7R+63%
$950,000 ($704/sf) 2004 → $1,200,000 ($889/sf) 2013 → $1,550,000 2022
10R+5%
$1,175,000 2013 → $1,157,000 2013 → $1,235,000 2021
2 · 4,000 sf-10%
$3,400,000 ($850/sf) 2021 → $3,075,000 ($769/sf) 2024

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Jan 1, 201310R$1,175,000
View all 24 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00786-0020). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Dylan House and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Dylan House and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Dylan House. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

You are buying shares, not real property. A block of shares in Dylan House, Ltd. and a proprietary lease. The board approves you; the board can decline you without stating a reason. Build the package for a small, document-literate board: two years of returns, a clean liquid-asset statement, and a debt-to-income presentation that does not require interpretation. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before you offer, not after.

Twenty percent down is the floor, not the target. Management-sourced records give a 20 percent minimum down payment, which caps financing at 80 percent, but the board can also weigh post-closing liquidity beyond the down payment. Ask how many months of maintenance and debt service the board expects held after closing. Ask the managing agent what the board has actually approved recently, and present liquidity rather than leaving it to be inferred.

Get the certificate of occupancy and the loft history in writing. This building converted before its legalization was complete. Confirm the current C of O, its permitted occupancy classification, and whether any Loft Board matter remains open. Your attorney should also confirm that the specific apartment's configuration matches the approved plans — floors here were subdivided and recombined repeatedly.

Ask what the 2025 rezoning means for this lot. Residential use is now conforming and the building sits below its mapped residential FAR. That is upside, not a liability, but confirm the mapping for lot 20 specifically and ask whether the board has taken any position on unused development rights.

Underwrite renovation, not condition. Systems inside these lofts were installed by shareholders. Assume you are pricing kitchen, baths, HVAC and electrical unless the seller can document otherwise. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your offer.

Confirm the fee stack before contract. Flip tax structure, sublet policy and fees, move-in and move-out deposits, and the underlying mortgage maturity. None of these are published; all of them are obtainable.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the floor plate. Describe the approximately fifty-five-by-ninety-nine-foot building footprint, then document the specific apartment’s interior area, exposures and elevator access. Compare actual new-construction alternatives without claiming that no equivalent exists at any price.

Document the renovation. Permits, plans, sign-offs and appliance vintages. In a building where every interior was privately built, the seller who can prove the work clears at a premium and the seller who cannot gets discounted to the buyer's worst assumption.

Put the capital record in the setup. The 2023 masonry and terra-cotta repointing, the 2019 solar array, the modest underlying mortgage. Buyers' counsel will find all three; leading with them shortens diligence and protects price.

Explain the rezoning proactively. Most buyers will not know that the lot moved into the Special Midtown South Mixed-Use District in 2025 or what it means for a residential building in a former manufacturing district. It is a good fact. Tell it.

Prepare the buyer for the board. Requirements vary by building and lender. Screening buyers against this building's application requirements before accepting an offer is worth more than an extra round of price negotiation.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 241 West 36th Street, also evaluate:

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Fashion District.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Dylan House?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com